DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Status of Claims
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-3 and 9 in the reply filed on 5/28/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1 and 4 have been amended such that the common technical feature requires an arrangement of rolls under water-cooling and air-cooling conditions. This is not found persuasive because the common technical feature between these inventions is a quenching apparatus and as Kuroda discloses a cooling unit including at least one pair of rolls which are capable of rotating a peripheral speed equal to a running speed of the metal sheet where the rolls are capable of movement where the rolls can cause the metal sheet to run in the bath as well as where the rolls are farther from the metal sheet, Kuroda discloses the common technical feature of the quenching apparatus and the method of operating the apparatus does not differentiate the common technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4-8 and 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/28/26.
Thus, claims 1-3 and 9 are examined in this office action of which claim 1 was amended in the reply dated 5/28/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the bath that does not contain the cooling medium" in the 4th and 5th lines from the end of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While there is a previous recitation of “a bath that contains a cooling medium” there is no previous recitation of a bath that does not contain the cooling medium. Claims 2-3 and 9 are also rejected as they depend from claim 1 and do not solve the above issue.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. As claims 3 and 9 are directed to the quenching apparatus of claims 1 and 2 respectively and claims 3 and 9 recite that the quenching apparatus is installed on an exit side of a soaking furnace of a continuous annealing facility, where the quenching apparatus is installed does not further limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 4422623 A of Kuroda.
As to claim 1, Kuroda discloses a cooling unit with water quenching means including a reservoir filled with water for water quenching a steel strip (Kuroda, claim 3), meeting the limitation of a quenching apparatus that cools a metal sheet. Kuroda discloses a cooling unit where a strip is passed between 4 rollers where upper rollers are moved in the vertical direction by a screw or oil pressure cylinder (Kuroda, col 3, lines 52-58 and Figs 5-7), meeting where there are at least one pair of rolls capable of rotating at a peripheral speed higher than or equal to a running speed of the metal sheet, and are capable of achieving distances from each roll of the at least one pair of rolls and the metal sheet are changeable and where there is a movement mechanism that is capable of having the pair of rolls such that the metal sheet is disposed between them or disposed as positions farther from the metal sheet than the positions where they are disposed in the case where quenching is performed. Kuroda discloses a bath that contains a water in which the metal sheet is immersed and runs and at least one pair of rolls disposed such that the metal sheet running in the bath is interposed between the at least one pair of rolls in the bath (Kuroda, Figs 5-7 where the strip 5, goes under the water and is guided between rollers 12a, 32, and 32a under the water).
While Kuroda does not explicitly state that in a case where quenching in which the metal sheet is immersed in the cooling medium is performed: causing the metal sheet to run in the bath that contains the cooling medium, and in the bath, cooling the metal sheet by rotating at least one pair of rolls disposed such that the metal sheet running in the bath is interposed between the at least one pair of rolls at a peripheral speed higher than or equal to a running speed of the metal sheet, and in a case where the quenching in which the metal sheet is immersed in the cooling medium is not performed: causing the metal sheet to run in the bath that does not contain the cooling medium, and disposing the at least one pair of rolls at positions farther from the metal sheet than positions where the at least one pair of rolls are disposed in the case where the quenching is performed, this is functional language that is a description of what the apparatus does rather than its structure. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP § 2114. In this case, Kuroda discloses a bath capable of containing water, pairs of rollers disposed such that the metal sheet runs between the rolls in the bath, and a screw or oil pressure cylinder, meeting the limitation of a movement mechanism which can move the pair of rollers to contact or not contact the metal sheet moving through the bath. Thus, Kuroda discloses an apparatus structure that is capable of carrying out the recited functional language.
As to claim 3, as the claim is directed to the quenching apparatus of claim 1, where this apparatus is installed does not further limit the claimed structure of the quenching apparatus, see 112(d) rejection above. Nevertheless, Kuroda discloses a continuous annealing apparatus where the quenching apparatus is installed on an exit side of a soaking furnace (Kuroda, col 3, lines 52-55 and FIG. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4422623 A of Kuroda in view of JP H08-295946 A and its English translation of Yuasa.
As to claim 2, Kuroda discloses the quenching apparatus of claim 1, see claim 1 rejection above. However, Kuroda does not explicitly disclose where the at least one pair of rolls are configured to rotate in a reverse direction to a running direction of the metal sheet.
Yuasa relates to the same field of endeavor of a method and apparatus for cooling steel sheets, and more particularly to a method and apparatus for preventing non-uniform cooling in the width direction of a steel sheet when using an immersion type cooling device in an online controlled cooling process, a direct quenching process, or a reheating process (Yuasa, paragraph [0001]). Yuasa teaches where the roll provided in the immersion tank for moving cooling water in the opposite direction of movement of the steel plate and where the speed of the rollers is independently variable (Yuasa, paragraph [0007]). Yuasa teaches that this makes it more difficult for the vapor film at the width end of the steel plate to escape, extending the boiling time of the film at this location, and preventing supercooling of the width end of the steel plate caused by three-sided cooling (Yuasa, paragraph [0008]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute rollers which can rotate in the opposite direction and independently variable in speed as taught by Yuasa into the quenching apparatus disclosed in Kuroda, thereby making it more difficult for the vapor film at the width end of the steel plate to escape, extending the boiling time of the film at this location, and preventing supercooling of the width end of the steel plate caused by three-sided cooling (Yuasa, paragraph [0008]).
As to claim 9, as the claim is directed to the quenching apparatus of claim 2, where this apparatus is installed does not further limit the claimed structure of the quenching apparatus, see 112(d) rejection above. Nevertheless, Kuroda discloses a continuous annealing apparatus where the quenching apparatus is installed on an exit side of a soaking furnace (Kuroda, col 3, lines 52-55 and FIG. 4).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733