DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 09/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4,10,15,20-21,25-28 and 32 have been amended. Claims 24 and 31 have been canceled in this amendment. New Claims 33-34 have been added in this amendment. Claims 1-6,8-23,25-28,30 and 32-34 are still pending in this application, with claims 1,25-26 and 34 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim Objections have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of Claims 1-6,8-23,25-28,30 and 32-34 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1,26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5 and 9,13 of copending Application No. 18/568721 (hereinafter “Fang”) respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/580497
Co-Pending Application 18/568721
Claim 1, A method of wireless communication comprising: transmitting, by a wireless communication device, a channel state information (CSI) report using a first beam; monitoring, by the wireless communication device, for an implicit beam switch indication during a time window, the implicit beam switch indication corresponding to acceptance of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) information indicated by the CSI report; and switching, by the wireless communication device, to a second beam from the first beam based on the implicit beam switch indication, the second beam different from the first beam.
Claims 1,5 An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: transmit, to a base station, a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a beam switch; and perform the beam switch based on the CSI report and an absence, for a period of time after transmission of the CSI report, of a downlink control information (DCI) including a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication.
Claim 26, An apparatus configured for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a channel state information (CSI) report using a first beam; communicate an implicit beam switch indication during a
time window, the implicit beam switch indication corresponding to acceptance of Transmission configuration
Indicator (TCI) information indicated by the CSI report; and switch to a second beam from the first beam based on the implicit beam switch indication, the second beam different from the first beam.
Claims 9,13 An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, from a UE, a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a beam switch; and perform the beam switch based on the CSI report without transmitting, for a period of time after transmission of the CSI report, a downlink control information (DCI) including a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) indication.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1,5 and 9,13 of co-pending application by Fang contains every element of claims 1 and 26 respectively of the instant application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,8,10,23,26-27,30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola et al. (US 2022/0232546 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Hakola”) in view of GONUGUNTLA et al. (US 2022/0263557 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Kwak”).
Regarding Claims 1,25-26 and 34, Hakola discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communication and a method, comprising: at least one processor (Hakola Fig.11 A processor): and a memory (Hakola Fig.11 A memory) coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: transmit a channel state information (CSI) report using a first beam (Hakola Fig.8B A measurement report (i.e. CSI) sent); monitor for a beam switch indication associated with the implicit beam switch operation during a time window (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0350-357] A COT(i.e. time window)), the beam switch indication corresponding to acceptance of TCI information indicated by the CSI report (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0350-357] A beam switch command for switching to the UE reported beam (i.e. acceptance)); and switch to the second beam from the first beam based on the beam switch indication, the second beam different from the first beam (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0350-357] The switch to another beam).
Hakola does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI report includes Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) information, and wherein the TCI information is associated with a second beam and indicates an implicit beam switch operation for the second beam
However, Kwak from the same field of invention discloses wherein the CSI report includes Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) information (Kwak Para[0134,0243,0248] The RSRP report (i.e. CSI) makes TCI state (i.e. information) known (i.e. active) before switching command is received), and wherein the TCI information is associated with a second beam and indicates an implicit beam switch operation for the second beam (Kwak Para[0134,0243,0248] The RSRP report indicating for a target TCI state (i.e. second beam)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola to have the feature of “wherein the CSI report includes Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) information, and wherein the TCI information is associated with a second beam and indicates an implicit beam switch operation for the second beam” as taught by Kwak. The motivation would have been to reduce processing time (Kwak Para[0279]).
Regarding claim 8, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola further discloses receive a RRC message indicating a TCI list configuration, the TCI list configuration indicating a list of configured TCI states for the apparatus to use (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0253-254] The TCIs provided via RRC).
Regarding claim 10, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola further discloses wherein the beam switch indication is: a TCI indication DCI which indicates an implicit TCI as implied by the CSI report (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim); receiving a TCI indication DCI, Which indicates an implicit TCI as implied by the CSI report or not receiving DCI indicating a TCI (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0256] The DCI is used for implicit indication); not receiving a DCI indicating a TCI (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim); or receiving a MAC-CE confim1ing an implicit TCI indication in the CST report (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Regarding claim 23, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola further discloses transmit or receive data using the second beam responsive to switching to the second beam (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0392] A data transmitted or received).
Regarding claim 27, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola further discloses determine the second beam based on a TCI state in the CSI report: and determine whether to accept the implicit beam switch operation to the second beam, wherein the beam switch indication is transmit1ed responsive to determining to accept the implicit beam switch operation (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0350-357] The beam switch command after CSI report).
Regarding claim 30, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola further discloses wherein the CSI report is received from a user equipment (UE), transmit or receive data to the UE or from the UE using the second beam responsive to switching to the second beam (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0392] The UE sends CSI report. A data transmitted or received).
Regarding claim 33, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Kwak further discloses wherein the TCI information includes TCI state information, wherein the TCI state information implicitly activates one or more TCI states, and wherein the implicit activation of the one or more TCI states implicitly indicates the implicit beam switch operation for the second beam from the apparatus (Kwak Para[0134,0243,0248] The RSRP report indicating for a target TCI state to be known).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola to have the feature of “wherein the TCI information includes TCI state information, wherein the TCI state information implicitly activates one or more TCI states, and wherein the implicit activation of the one or more TCI states implicitly indicates the implicit beam switch operation for the second beam from the apparatus” as taught by Kwak. The motivation would have been to reduce processing time (Kwak Para[0279]).
Claims 2-4,9 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola in view of Kwak and further in view of GONUGUNTLA et al. (US 2022/0263557 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Gonuguntla”).
Regarding claim 2, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose prior to switching to the second beam: transmit a second CSI report: receive a MAC CE indicating a group of configured TCIs to activate: activate the group of configured TCIs; select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs; and generate the CSI report to indicate the particular active TCI, wherein the second beam is indicated by the particular active TCI, and wherein switching to the second beam is responsive to the beam switch indication.
However, Gonuguntla from the same field of invention discloses prior to switching to the second beam: transmit a second CSI report: receive a MAC CE indicating a group of configured TCIs to activate: activate the group of configured TCIs; select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs; and generate the CSI report to indicate the particular active TCI, wherein the second beam is indicated by the particular active TCI, and wherein switching to the second beam is responsive to the beam switch indication (Gonuguntla Fig.7 Para[0104] A multiple CSI reports sent, MAC-CE received, TCI state indicated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “prior to switching to the second beam: transmit a second CSI report: receive a MAC CE indicating a group of configured TCIs to activate: activate the group of configured TCIs; select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs; and generate the CSI report to indicate the particular active TCI, wherein the second beam is indicated by the particular active TCI, and wherein switching to the second beam is responsive to the beam switch indication” as taught by Gonuguntla. The motivation would have been to improve performance during TCI state switch (Gonuguntla Para[0014]).
Regarding claim 3, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola further disclose receive a DCI indicating the particular active TCI, wherein switching to the second beam is further based on the DCI (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0256] The DCI is used for implicit indication). Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose prior to switching to the second beam: generate the CSI report to indicate a group of configured TCIs to activate; activate the group of configured TCI ls based on the beam switch indication; select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs; transmit a second CSI report indicating the particular active TCI.
However, Gonuguntla from the same field of invention discloses prior to switching to the second beam: generate the CSI report to indicate a group of configured TCIs to activate; activate the group of configured TCI ls based on the beam switch indication; select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs; transmit a second CSI report indicating the particular active TCI (Gonuguntla Fig.7 Para[0104] A multiple CSI reports sent and TCI state indicated, a beam switching command is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “prior to switching to the second beam: generate the CSI report to indicate a group of configured TCIs to activate; activate the group of configured TCI ls based on the beam switch indication; select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs; transmit a second CSI report indicating the particular active TCI” as taught by Gonuguntla. The motivation would have been to improve performance during TCI state switch (Gonuguntla Para[0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola further discloses second time window (Hakola Fig.7,8B,9 Para[0350-357] A COT(i.e. time window)). Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose prior to switching to the second beam: generate the CSI report to indicate a group of configured TCIs to activate: activate the group of configured TCIs based on the beam switch indication: and select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs: transmit a second CSI report indicating the particular active TCI: and monitor for a second beam switch indication during a second time window, the second beam switch indication corresponding to acceptance of TCI activation information indicated by the second CSI report, wherein switching to the second beam is further based on the second beam switch indication responsive to the second implicit beam switch indication.
However, Gonuguntla from the same field of invention discloses prior to switching to the second beam: generate the CSI report to indicate a group of configured TCIs to activate: activate the group of configured TCIs based on the beam switch indication: and select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs: transmit a second CSI report indicating the particular active TCI: and monitor for a second beam switch indication during a second time window, the second beam switch indication corresponding to acceptance of TCI activation information indicated by the second CSI report, wherein switching to the second beam is further based on the second beam switch indication responsive to the second implicit beam switch indication (Gonuguntla Fig.7 Para[0104] A multiple CSI reports sent and TCI state indicated, a beam switching command is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “prior to switching to the second beam: generate the CSI report to indicate a group of configured TCIs to activate: activate the group of configured TCIs based on the beam switch indication: and select a particular active TCI of the configured TCIs: transmit a second CSI report indicating the particular active TCI: and monitor for a second beam switch indication during a second time window, the second beam switch indication corresponding to acceptance of TCI activation information indicated by the second CSI report, wherein switching to the second beam is further based on the second beam switch indication responsive to the second implicit beam switch indication” as taught by Gonuguntla. The motivation would have been to improve performance during TCI state switch (Gonuguntla Para[0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the time window is an activation time window, wherein the time window starts from a first time offset from after transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from after transmission of the CST report transmission.
However, Gonuguntla from the same field of invention discloses wherein the time window is an activation time window, wherein the time window starts from a first time offset from after transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from after transmission of the CST report transmission (Gonuguntla Fig.12 Para[0141] A time between CSI report and estimated TCI switch delay).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “wherein the time window is an activation time window, wherein the time window starts from a first time offset from after transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from after transmission of the CST report transmission” as taught by Gonuguntla. The motivation would have been to improve performance during TCI state switch (Gonuguntla Para[0014]).
Regarding claim 28, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein communicating the beam switch indication includes to: transmit a transmission during the time window; or refrain from transmitting a transmission during the time window.
However, Gonuguntla from the same field of invention discloses wherein communicating the beam switch indication includes to: transmit a transmission during the time window (Gonuguntla Fig.7,12 Para[0104] A PDSCH PDCCH sent); or refrain from transmitting a transmission during the time window (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “wherein communicating the beam switch indication includes to: transmit a transmission during the time window; or refrain from transmitting a transmission during the time window” as taught by Gonuguntla. The motivation would have been to improve performance during TCI state switch (Gonuguntla Para[0014]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola in view of Kwak and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0149305 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 5, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI report is an implicit activation CSI report and wherein the apparatus activates a group of TCIs without receiving a TCI activation.
However, Zhou from the same field of invention discloses wherein the CSI report is an implicit activation CSI report and wherein the apparatus activates a group of TCIs without receiving a TCI activation (Zhou Para[0335,0341] A BWP switching at inactivity timer (i.e. no response) and a cell group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “wherein the CSI report is an implicit activation CSI report and wherein the apparatus activates a group of TCIs without receiving a TCI activation” as taught by Zhou. The motivation would have been to improve bandwidth part management (Zhou Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI report is an implicit indication CSI report, and wherein the apparatus switches to the second beam without receiving a TCI indication.
However, Zhou from the same field of invention discloses wherein the CSI report is an implicit indication CSI report, and wherein the apparatus switches to the second beam without receiving a TCI indication (Zhou Para[0335,0341] A BWP switching at inactivity timer (i.e. no response)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “wherein the CSI report is an implicit indication CSI report, and wherein the apparatus switches to the second beam without receiving a TCI indication” as taught by Zhou. The motivation would have been to improve bandwidth part management (Zhou Abstract).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola in view of Kwak and further in view of DU et al. (US 2024/0171997 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Du”).
Regarding claim 11, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the time window is a confirmation time window, wherein the confirmation time window starts from a first time offset from after transmiss10n of the CSI report and wherein the confirmation time window ends from a second time offset from after transmission of the CSI report.
However, Du from the same field of invention discloses wherein the time window is a confirmation time window, wherein the confirmation time window starts from a first time offset from after transmiss10n of the CSI report and wherein the confirmation time window ends from a second time offset from after transmission of the CSI report (Du Para[0053] A time between valid report and TCI activation received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “wherein the time window is a confirmation time window, wherein the confirmation time window starts from a first time offset from after transmiss10n of the CSI report and wherein the confirmation time window ends from a second time offset from after transmission of the CSI report” as taught by Du. The motivation would have been to increase data rate per user (Du Para[0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the time window is a rejection time window, wherein the time window starts from a first time offset from transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from transmission of the CSI report wherein the rejection time window comprises a time window for rejecting an implicit beam switch operation, and wherein switching to the second beam occurs at or after the start of the rejection time window.
However, Du from the same field of invention discloses wherein the time window is a rejection time window, wherein the time window starts from a first time offset from transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from transmission of the CSI report wherein the rejection time window comprises a time window for rejecting an implicit beam switch operation, and wherein switching to the second beam occurs at or after the start of the rejection time window (Du Para[0053] A time between valid report and TCI activation command received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “wherein the time window is a rejection time window, wherein the time window starts from a first time offset from transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from transmission of the CSI report wherein the rejection time window comprises a time window for rejecting an implicit beam switch operation, and wherein switching to the second beam occurs at or after the start of the rejection time window” as taught by Du. The motivation would have been to increase data rate per user (Du Para[0002]).
Claims 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola in view of Kwak, Du and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2016/0353510 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 12, Hakola in view of Kwak and Du discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose wherein the confirmation time window corresponds to a window where an implicitly indicated beam is used temporarily and the apparatus monitors for confirmation of continued use of the implicitly indicated beam, and wherein switching to the second beam occurs at or after the start of the confirmation time window.
However, Zhang from the same field of invention discloses wherein the confirmation time window corresponds to a window where an implicitly indicated beam is used temporarily and the apparatus monitors for confirmation of continued use of the implicitly indicated beam, and wherein switching to the second beam occurs at or after the start of the confirmation time window (Zhang Para[0035] A beam switching timer used while waiting for a response and start initial beam alignment procedure if timer expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “wherein the confirmation time window corresponds to a window where an implicitly indicated beam is used temporarily and the apparatus monitors for confirmation of continued use of the implicitly indicated beam, and wherein switching to the second beam occurs at or after the start of the confirmation time window” as taught by Zhang. The motivation would have been to improve intermittent disconnection handling (Zhang Para[0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Hakola in view of Kwak and Du discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose receive a message during the confirmation time window; and determine to keep using the second beam based on the message.
However, Zhang from the same field of invention discloses receive a message during the confirmation time window; and determine to keep using the second beam based on the message (Zhang Para[0035] A beam switching timer used while waiting for a response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “receive a message during the confirmation time window; and determine to keep using the second beam based on the message” as taught by Zhang. The motivation would have been to improve intermittent disconnection handling (Zhang Para[0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Hakola in view of Kwak and Du discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose wherein no message is received during the confirmation time window, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine to keep using the second beam based on not receiving a message during the confirmation time window.
However, Zhang from the same field of invention discloses wherein no message is received during the confirmation time window, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine to keep using the second beam based on not receiving a message during the confirmation time window (Zhang Para[0035] A beam switching timer used while waiting for a response and start initial beam alignment procedure if timer expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “wherein no message is received during the confirmation time window, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine to keep using the second beam based on not receiving a message during the confirmation time window” as taught by Zhang. The motivation would have been to improve intermittent disconnection handling (Zhang Para[0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Hakola in view of Kwak and Du discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose receive a message during the rejection time window: and determine to switch to a third beam based on the message.
However, Zhang from the same field of invention discloses receive a message during the rejection time window: and determine to switch to a third beam based on the message (Zhang Para[0035] A beam switching timer used while waiting for a response and switch when response is received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “receive a message during the rejection time window: and determine to switch to a third beam based on the message” as taught by Zhang. The motivation would have been to improve intermittent disconnection handling (Zhang Para[0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Hakola in view of Kwak and Du discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose wherein no message is received during the rejection time window, and determine to keep using the second beam based on not receiving a message during the rejection time window.
However, Zhang from the same field of invention discloses wherein no message is received during the rejection time window, and determine to keep using the second beam based on not receiving a message during the rejection time window (Zhang Para[0035] A beam switching timer used while waiting for a response and start initial beam alignment procedure if timer expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “wherein no message is received during the rejection time window, and determine to keep using the second beam based on not receiving a message during the rejection time window” as taught by Zhang. The motivation would have been to improve intermittent disconnection handling (Zhang Para[0005]).
Claims 18 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola in view of Kwak and further in view of Fan et al. (US 2023/0268973 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Fan”).
Regarding claim 18, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose monitor a second time window for a second indication, wherein switching to the second beam is based further on the second indication.
However, Fan from the same field of invention discloses monitor a second time window for a second indication, wherein switching to the second beam is based further on the second indication (Fan Fig.4,5b A multiple windows are used for beam switching process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “monitor a second time window for a second indication, wherein switching to the second beam is based further on the second indication” as taught by Fan. The motivation would have been to improve performance during beam switch (Fan Para[0003]).
Regarding claim 32, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to switch to the second beam from the first beam based on the beam switch indication includes to: switch to the second beam from the first beam responsive to reception of the beam switch indication, wherein the first beam is used to receive the beam switch indication; or temporarily switch to the second beam from the first beam responsive to the transmission of the CSI report using the first beam and including TCI information indicating the second beam; and confirm the temporary switch to the second beam responsive to reception of the beam switch indication, wherein the second beam is used to receive the beam switch indication.
However, Fan from the same field of invention discloses switch to the second beam from the first beam based on the beam switch indication includes to: switch to the second beam from the first beam responsive to reception of the beam switch indication, wherein the first beam is used to receive the beam switch indication (Fan Fig.4,5b Para[0123-127] The second indication information is received on the first beam and the terminal switches to the second beam); or temporarily switch to the second beam from the first beam responsive to the transmission of the CSI report using the first beam and including TCI information indicating the second beam; and confirm the temporary switch to the second beam responsive to reception of the beam switch indication, wherein the second beam is used to receive the beam switch indication (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “switch to the second beam from the first beam responsive to reception of the beam switch indication, wherein the first beam is used to receive the beam switch indication” as taught by Fan. The motivation would have been to improve performance during beam switch (Fan Para[0003]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola in view of Kwak and further in view of Fan and further in view of Du.
Regarding claim 19, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose monitor a third time window for a third indication, wherein switching to the second beam is based further on the third indication, wherein the third time window comprises an activation time window, a confirmation time window, a rejection time window, or a pre-cancellation time window.
However, Fan from the same field of invention discloses monitor a third time window for a third indication, wherein switching to the second beam is based further on the third indication (Fan Fig.4,5b A multiple windows are used for beam switching process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “monitor a third time window for a third indication, wherein switching to the second beam is based further on the third indication” as taught by Fan. The motivation would have been to improve performance during beam switch (Fan Para[0003]).
Hakola in view of Kwak and Fan does not explicitly disclose wherein the third time window comprises an activation time window, a confirmation time window, a rejection time window, or a pre-cancellation time window.
However, Du from the same field of invention discloses wherein the third time window comprises an activation time window, a confirmation time window, a rejection time window, or a pre-cancellation time window (Du Para[0053] A time between valid report and TCI activation command received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Fan to have the feature of “wherein the third time window comprises an activation time window, a confirmation time window, a rejection time window, or a pre-cancellation time window” as taught by Du. The motivation would have been to increase data rate per user (Du Para[0002]).
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola in view of Kwak, Du and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2023/0189284 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 20, Hakola in view of Kwak discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak does not explicitly disclose wherein the time window is a pre-cancellation time window, wherein the pre-cancellation time window starts from a first time offset from before transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from before or after transmission of the CSI report, wherein the pre-cancellation time window comprises a window where the apparatus may receive a message which indicates to cease the implicit beam switch operation and to not switch beams to an implicitly indicated beam, and wherein the beam switch occurs at or after the end of the pre-cancellation time window.
However, Du from the same field of invention discloses wherein the time window is a pre-cancellation time window, wherein the pre-cancellation time window starts from a first time offset from before transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from before or after transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the beam switch occurs at or after the end of the pre-cancellation time window (Du Para[0053] A time between valid report and TCI activation command received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola and Kwak to have the feature of “wherein the time window is a pre-cancellation time window, wherein the pre-cancellation time window starts from a first time offset from before transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the time window ends from a second time offset from before or after transmission of the CSI report, and wherein the beam switch occurs at or after the end of the pre-cancellation time window” as taught by Du. The motivation would have been to increase data rate per user (Du Para[0002]).
Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-cancellation time window comprises a window where the apparatus may receive a message which indicates to cease the implicit beam switch operation and to not switch beams to an implicitly indicated beam.
However, Cheng from the same field of invention discloses wherein the pre-cancellation time window comprises a window where the apparatus may receive a message which indicates to cease the implicit beam switch operation and to not switch beams to an implicitly indicated beam (Cheng Para[0084] A deactivation (i.e. pre-cancellation) of common beam switching feature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “wherein the pre-cancellation time window comprises a window where the apparatus may receive a message which indicates to cease the implicit beam switch operation and to not switch beams to an implicitly indicated beam” as taught by Cheng. The motivation would have been to increase data rate per user (Cheng Para[0002])
Regarding claim 21, Hakola in view of Kwak and Du discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose receive a cancellation indication in a second pre-cancellation time window; and determine to not to perform a second implicit beam switch operation based on the cancellation indication.
However, Cheng from the same field of invention discloses receive a cancellation indication in a second pre-cancellation time window; and determine to not to perform a second implicit beam switch operation based on the cancellation indication (Cheng Para[0083-84] A deactivation (i.e. pre-cancellation) of common beam switching feature and beam switching not occurred).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “receive a cancellation indication in a second pre-cancellation time window; and determine to not to perform a second implicit beam switch operation based on the cancellation indication” as taught by Cheng. The motivation would have been to increase data rate per user (Cheng Para[0002])
Regarding claim 22, Hakola in view of Kwak and Du discloses the apparatuses as explained above for Claim 1. Hakola in view of Kwak and Du does not explicitly disclose wherein the cancellation indication comprises a TCI indication in a DC! or a MAC-CE or a dedicated DCI.
However, Cheng from the same field of invention discloses wherein the cancellation indication comprises a TCI indication in a DC! or a MAC-CE or a dedicated DCI (Cheng Para[0083-84] A deactivation via MAC-CE of common beam switching feature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hakola, Kwak and Du to have the feature of “wherein the cancellation indication comprises a TCI indication in a DC! or a MAC-CE” as taught by Cheng. The motivation would have been to increase data rate per user (Cheng Para[0002])
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Conclusion
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415