DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “A negative electrode active material expressed by a composition formula of TiTa.sub.2-x M.sub.x O.sub.7, wherein: x is 0 or more and less than 0.20; M is at least one of Nb, V, W and Mo; and Ti/(Ta+M) molar ratio is 0.53 or more and 0.56 or less.” However in all values of x from 0 to 0.20 the molar ratio of Ti/(Ta+M) is ½ or 0.5 which violates the limitation range of 0.53 to 0.56. Because the Ta and M must equal to 2 (2-x + x = 2), it is unclear how the composition can have the formula recited and include a molar ratio between .53 and .56. For the purpose of examination, a composition having the formula recited will be interpreted to meet the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shivareddy et al. (US2023/0071080A1 with foreign priority of Oct. 16, 2019).
As to claim 1, Shivareddy discloses a negative electrode active material expressed by a composition formula of TiTa2-xMxO7, characterized in that wherein: x is 0 or more and less than 0.20 (X=0, TiTa2O7 [0103]);
Because the Ta and M must equal to 2 (2-x + x = 2), it is unclear how the composition can have the formula recited and include a molar ratio between .53 and .56. For the purpose of examination, a composition having the formula recited will be interpreted to meet the claim. As discussed above, because the molar ratio is contradictory with the formula, Shivareddy meets claim 1 under the interpretation above.
As to claim 4, Shivareddy discloses The negative electrode active material as claimed 1 wherein x is 0. [0103]
As to claim 5, Shivareddy discloses an all solid battery characterized by comprising: an oxide-based solid electrolyte layer (Solid porous membrane, Transition metal oxide. [0126-0127]); a first electrode layer that is provided on a first main face of the oxide-based solid electrolyte layer and includes a positive electrode active material (positive electrode [0126]); and a second electrode layer that is provided on a second main face of the oxide-based solid electrolyte layer and a negative electrode active material as claimed in claim 1 (negative electrode [0126] TiTa.sub.2O.sub.7 [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shivareddy et al. (US2023/0071080A1 with foreign priority of Oct. 16, 2019).
As to claims 2 and 3, Shivareddy is silent on the negative electrode active material has a monoclinic structure belonging to a space group 12/m, and capacitive components in two potential ranges of 1.1V or more and 1.2V or more vs. Li/Li', and 1.6V or more and 1.8V or less vs. Li/Li+, but does disclose the claimed compound in the claimed molar quantities and it should be noted "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01
As to claim 6, Shivareddy discloses the all solid battery as claimed 5 wherein an average grain diameter of the negative electrode active material in the second electrode layer is 0.5 pm or more and 5 pm or less. (maximum primary particle size of 100 μm or less [0087]). It should be noted In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Dai et al. (US2015/0056514A1) TiTa oxide in Lithium batteries.
Harada et al. (US2015/0270542A1) Ti Nb.sub.2O.sub.7 solid solution electrolyte.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728