DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "C" and "B" in Figures 8 and 9 have both been used to designate “Flame”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 18 line (11), page 19 line (12, 22) Flames are denoted as “C” however in page 21 line (19) and page 22 line (4) Flames are denoted as “B” is inconsistent terminology and should be corrected under 37 CFR 1.74.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 5 recites “the battery cell” (singular) is insufficient antecedent basis when “a plurality of battery cells”(plural) in line 2 was introduced. It is unclear if the feature refers to a specific battery cell or the plurality of battery cells combined.
Claims 2-12 are also rejected due to claim dependence of claim 1 and further recites “the battery cell”.
Claims 3 line 6 recites “a second shielding wall which is connected to the other side of the center wall”. “The other side” lacks antecedent basis when only “one side of the center wall” is mentioned prior. Examiner suggest claim limitation should read on "another side of the center wall" or "an opposite side to the one side of the center wall".
Claims 4 line 2, 8 line 3, 9 line 2 recites “the partition walls” lacks antecedent basis when a plurality of walls was never previously recited and only “a partition wall” has been introduced.
Claim 6 line 4 recites “at a time interval”. The claim language is unclear as the time interval has open ended ranges.
Claim 7 line 9 recites “the second recess” lacks antecedent basis when a plurality of second recesses was never previously recited and only “a second recess” has been introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) and 102a(2) as being anticipated by Nakano (US 20190020001 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakano teaches a battery pack ([Claim 1] "A battery pack", FIG.1) comprising: a plurality of battery cells ([Claim 1] "comprising: a plurality of battery cells", FIG.4) a module frame configured to receive the plurality of battery cells ([Claim 4] "wherein the battery holder comprises a pair of holder units that hold both ends of the plurality of battery cells,", FIG.5 (Battery holder 2, 62, 72, 82 includes: holding part 6, 66, 76, 86)) and a partition wall configured to be disposed on at least a portion of a top or bottom of the module frame and to shield at least a portion of the battery cell, wherein, even when a flame occurs in some battery cells among the plurality of battery cells, the partition wall blocks the flame from spreading to other battery cells ([0076] "cover 7 is easily deteriorated by the energy of the flame and can prevent adjacent battery cell 1 from catching fire.", FIG.2,5,7,9).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakano teaches all the elements of the battery pack of claim 1 as explained above.
Nakano further teaches the plurality of battery cells is arranged in a plurality of rows within the module frame ([0009] "the plurality of batteries is arranged in a row inside the case.", FIG.2,5,7,9), and wherein the partition wall is arranged on at least a portion of the top or bottom of the module frame in a plurality of rows at positions corresponding respectively to rows that the plurality of battery cells forms ([Claim 4] "wherein the battery holder comprises a pair of holder units that hold both ends of the plurality of battery cells”, FIG.2,5,7,9).
Regarding Claim 3, Nakano teaches all the elements of the battery pack of claim 2 as explained above.
Nakano further teaches the partition wall comprises:
a center wall which is disposed between adjacent battery cells among the plurality of battery cells ([0040] "partition wall (26) formed in recess (23) includes crossing part (27) formed by crossing in a cross shape.", FIG.6) a first shielding wall which is connected to one side of the center wall and is arranged in a row direction P formed by the plurality of battery cells ([0040] "partition wall (26) formed in recess (23) includes crossing part (27) formed by crossing in a cross shape.", FIG.6) a second shielding wall which is connected to the other side of the center wall and is arranged in the row direction P formed by the plurality of battery cells ([0040] "partition wall (26) formed in recess (23) includes crossing part (27) formed by crossing in a cross shape.", FIG.6) and a through portion which opens at least a portion of the battery cell and is disposed to be surrounded by the center wall and the first and second shielding walls ([0040] "partition wall (26) formed in recess (23) includes crossing part (27) formed by crossing in a cross shape.", FIG.6).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakano teaches all the elements of the battery pack of claim 3 as explained above. Further, Nakano teaches the first shielding wall or the second shielding wall ([0040] partition wall (26) includes crossing part (27) to create shielding walls, FIG 6) included in the partition wall which forms any one row among the partition walls arranged in the plurality of rows ([0094] "FIGS. 4 to 6 connects the plurality of battery cells (1) disposed in multiple stages and multiple rows, in series and parallel", [0036] holding part (6, 66, 86) can include partition wall (26), FIG 4,5,6), and the first shielding wall or the second shielding wall included in the partition wall which forms another adjacent row are arranged at different positions on the basis of the row direction P ([0094], FIG 4,5,6).
Regarding Claim 5, Nakano teaches all the elements of the battery pack of claim 4 as explained above. Further, Nakano teaches the partition wall further comprises: a first recess formed in the first shielding wall ([0067] "a partition wall having a plurality of crossing parts is formed, and the recess can be partitioned into six areas.", FIG,6) a second recess formed in the second shielding wall ([0067], FIG 4,5).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakano teaches all the elements of the battery pack claim 5 as explained above. Further, Nakano teaches the first recess and the second recess are disposed at different positions on the basis of the row direction P, ([0067] "a partition wall having a plurality of crossing parts is formed, and the recess can be partitioned into six areas.", FIG 4,5) wherein, when a flame occurs in some battery cells among the plurality of battery cells, the flame is emitted through the first recess and the second recess at a time interval, so that spread of the flame is delayed ([0066] "Heights of partition walls 26 are formed lower than depths of recesses 23. These partition walls 26 block spreading of a jetting body jetted from the end surface of battery cell 1, in which abnormality has occurred, to the end surface of adjacent battery cell 1, thereby suppressing catching fire between adjacent batteries 1”, FIG 4,5,7).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakano teaches all the elements of the battery pack claim 1 as explained above. Further, Nakano teaches the module frame comprises: a lower frame in which a lower cell mounting portion on which a lower portion of the battery cell is seated is formed ([0022] In the battery pack of the present invention, battery holder 2, 62, 72 includes a pair of holder units 2A, 62A, 72A to hold both the ends of the plurality of battery cells 1. Battery holder 2, 62, 72 can hold the plurality of battery cells 1 at fixed positions by coupling the pair of holder units 2A, 62A, 72A”, FIG.4,5,7) an upper frame in which an upper cell mounting portion to which an upper portion of the battery cell is fixed is formed ([0022], FIG.4,5,7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano (US 20190020001 A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (CN 104143610 A). The English machine translation of Zhang et al. is attached and reference below.
Regarding Claim 7 Nakano teaches the invention in claim 6 as explained above.
Nakano does not teach a first recess is disposed adjacent to an anode of the battery cell in the first shielding wall and the second recess is disposed adjacent to a cathode of the battery cell in the second shielding wall.
Zhang teaches a battery pack where a first recess ([0024] opening 213, FIG 2,3) is disposed adjacent to an anode ([0024] anode pole 12, FIG 2,3) of the battery cell in the first shielding wall ([0020] upper protective cover 21, FIG 2,3) and the second recess ([0024] opening 213, FIG 2,3) is disposed adjacent to a cathode ([0024] cathode pole 11, FIG 2,3) of the battery cell in the second shielding wall ([0024] misloading-proof clapboard 212, FIG 2,3).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakano to incorporate recesses in shielding walls adjacent to electrodes in a battery cell to allow a conductive structure (conductive strip (5)) to pass through the recesses (openings (213)) connecting a separate battery cell and prevent misconnection (Para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 8, Nakano as modified by Zhang teaches the invention in claim 7 as explained above.
Nakano does not teach a battery pack of claim wherein the second shielding wall is arranged on another adjacent partition wall facing the first recess formed in one of the partition walls arranged in the plurality of rows, and wherein the first shielding wall is arranged on another adjacent partition wall facing the second recess formed in one of the partition walls arranged in the plurality of rows.
Zhang further teaches the second shielding wall ([0024] misloading-proof clapboard 212, FIG 2,3) is arranged on another adjacent partition wall ([0024] upper protective cover 21, FIG 2,3) facing the first recess formed in one of the partition walls ([0024] opening 213, FIG 2,3) arranged in the plurality of rows, wherein the first shielding wall ([0024] upper protective cover 21, FIG 2,3) is arranged on another adjacent partition wall ([0024] misloading-proof clapboard 212, FIG 2,3) facing the second recess ([0024] opening 213, FIG 2,3) formed in one of the partition walls arranged in the plurality of rows.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Nakano to incorporate the shielding walls with recesses adjacent to other shielding walls with recesses so battery cells can be arranged in a plurality of rows ( “misloading-proof clapboard (212), the error-proof joint structure capable of isolating corresponding connecting of adjacent battery single left or right in the front and back direction”) preventing misconnection (Para. [0024]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano (US 20190020001 A1) as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Muratsu (US 20200227698 A1).
Regarding Claim 9 Nakano teaches the all of the elements of the current invention in claim 6 as explained above.
Nakano does not teach a battery pack, further comprising a bus bar which is disposed between the partition walls arranged in the plurality of rows includes a first ground line connected to an anode of the battery cell second ground line connected to a cathode of the battery cell.
Muratsu teaches a battery block further comprising a bus bar which is disposed between the partition walls arranged in the plurality of rows ([Abstract] a positive-electrode bus bar (20), negative-electrode bus bar (30) insulation holder that act as partition walls (40) (FIG 1,7)) includes a first ground line connected to an anode of the battery cell ([0034] "negative-electrode connecting pieces (33) (i.e. ground line as the connecting pieces are electrical conductors) connected to the negative-electrode terminals (6), FIG 1,7) a second ground line connected to a cathode of the battery cell ([0032] positive-electrode connecting pieces (23) (i.e. ground line as the connecting pieces are electrical conductors) connected to the positive-electrode terminals (5), FIG 1,7).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakano to incorporate the teachings of Muratsu and include a plurality of bus bars to connect to the anodes and cathodes of the battery cells in Nakano for more flexibility and easy connection to terminals ([0035] “Positive-electrode connecting pieces (23) and negative-electrode connecting pieces (33) have a thickness which allows these pieces (23,33) to have flexibility so as to be easily connected to positive-electrode terminals (5) and negative-electrode terminals (6) of batteries (10)” FIG 1,6).
Regarding Claim 10, Nakano, as modified by Muratsu teaches all the elements of claim 9 as explained above.
Nakano does not teach a battery pack wherein the first ground line is inserted into the first recess and is connected to the anode of the battery cell, and the second ground line is inserted into the second recess and is connected to the cathode of the battery cell.
Muratsu further teaches the first ground line is inserted into the first recess and is connected to the anode of the battery cell ([0025] negative-electrode bus bars (30) are respectively held on holding portions (42) which can as act recesses (42), FIG 6,7) and the second ground line is inserted into the second recess and is connected to the cathode of the battery cell ([0025] positive-electrode bus bars (20) are respectively held on holding portions (41) which can act as recesses (41), FIG 6,7). ).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakano to incorporate the teachings of Muratsu to include a guiding structure to connect the anodes and cathodes of the battery cells to the bus bars in combination with Nakano for more flexibility and easy connection to terminals ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 11 Nakano as modified by Muratsu teaches all the elements of claim 9 as explained above.
Nakano teaches a module cover ([0046] outer case 4, FIG 1,4) which surrounds the partition wall (Nakano outer case (4) includes support ribs (46), FIG 1.4) and is coupled to the module frame (battery block 100 FIG 9). Nakano does not teach a bus bar.
Muratsu teaches a bus bar ([Abstract] a positive-electrode bus bar (20), negative-electrode bus bar (30)) in a battery module.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakano to incorporate and Muratsu to include a module cover that surrounds the plurality of battery cells, partition walls, bus bars and is coupled to the module frame for more flexibility and easy connection to terminals ([0035]).
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729