DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “182” has been used to designate both hot wires, see Fig 9 and ¶69 and, apparently, water outlets in Fig 9, which should be labeled as 185, according to the specification at ¶70, and as shown in Fig 10.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “232” has been used to designate both transfer screw, see Fig 15 and ¶92 and, apparently, guide lane member in Fig 15, which should be labeled as 234, according to the specification at ¶92, and as shown in ghost in Fig 16.
The drawings are objected to because Fig 21 is inconsistent with the specification and claims. Claim 11 recites “a plurality of medium-temperature water circulation pipes connected to the medium-temperature water boiler.” The specification at ¶93 “circulating hot water to the medium-temperature water boiler 6 through the hot water circulation pipe 167.” Fig 21 shows pipe 167 connected to the medium temperature water pump, rather than the boiler. Since a pump generates pressure to move fluid out of the boiler, connecting the pipe to the pump is not consistent with connecting the pipe to the boiler. Correction as shown below is readily supported by the specification and does not constitute new matter.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
claims 1 and 9: drip nozzle transfer modules configured to respectively supply the mixed hot water to a plurality of drippers while respectively transferring the plurality of drip nozzles in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction, interpreted as the Y-axis transfer module (described below), X-axis feed module (described below), Y-axis screw, and X-axis screw.
claim 6: a fixing member capable of moving and fixing the plurality of drip nozzles in a vertical direction, interpreted according to ¶81-¶82 and Fig 16 as a ridged cylinder, in part.
claim 8: Y-axis transfer module configured to transfer the plurality of drip nozzles in the Y-axis direction, interpreted according to ¶87-¶89 as a base plate, motor, and guide rail interface
claim 8: X-axis feed module… configured to transfer the plurality of drip nozzles in the X-axis direction, interpreted according to ¶92 as a nozzle support block and guide cylinder 234.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 6 limitation “fixing member” is capable of moving and fixing the plurality of drip nozzles in a vertical direction. However, the specification does not describe any structure capable of performing this function, and the drawings (see Fig 16) only show a ridged cylinder, which is not capable of generating vertical movement because it lacks an actuating means.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “according to high-temperature water heated by mixing the high-temperature water boiler.” It is not clear how the boiler is mixed. According to the specification, the water is mixed, rather than the boiler. The exact correct wording is not clear, but should likely include “…mixing/mixture…high-temperature water heated by the high-temperature water boiler…” One possibility might be: “comprising a mixture of high-temperature water heated by the high-temperature water boiler.”
Claim 9 recites “according to high-temperature water heated by mixing the high-temperature water boiler.” It is not clear how the boiler is mixed. According to the specification, the water is mixed, rather than the boiler. The exact correct wording is not clear, but should likely include “…mixing/mixture…high-temperature water heated by the high-temperature water boiler…” One possibility might be: “comprising a mixture of high-temperature water heated by the high-temperature water boiler.”
Claim 8 at line 4 recites “the axis transfer module.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted as and may be corrected to –the Y-axis transfer module--.
Claim 6 limitation “fixing member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The ridged cylinder 240a disclosed as the fixing member is not capable of fully performing this function because no actuating means has been disclosed. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 101705873 B1) in view of McKay (US 20210052106).
Google translate of Fig 8
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses:
An automatic drip coffee machine (¶25) comprising:
a water heater system (¶35 “the hot water supply pipe 101 is connected to the outside of the water pipe as a water tank or a heater is provided to the inlet conduit receiving the hot water”) …
a drip system comprising a plurality (see Figs 1, 2, and 4, ¶70, ¶71) of drip nozzles (drop nozzle 110, ¶33-¶34) configured to receive [hot water]…, and a plurality of drip nozzle transfer modules (600, ¶75 “a moving device 600 is preferably provided so as to correspond to each of a plurality dog plurality Water dropper 100”) configured to respectively supply the mixed hot water to a plurality of drippers while respectively transferring the plurality of drip nozzles in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction (¶76 “an electric motor (610 660) and a screw rod (620, 670), X and Y directions of the position movement”),
…
the drip system comprises a plurality of user interface units (input unit 220, see Fig 8, ¶44 “touchscreen”, smart phone 720, ¶59) configured to control the plurality of drip nozzles and the plurality of drip nozzle transfer modules (¶102 “movement path of the point where water is falling… you can choose to set. Drip line can select the point, by drip, drips circle, spiral spraying” ¶59: “wireless dropping bottle information, beans information and at least one among the water drop condition information,” see translated Fig 8 above showing functions of input 220), and a main control unit configured to control the water heater control unit and the plurality of user interface units.
Lee does not disclose:
[the water heater system] comprising a high-temperature water boiler and a medium-temperature water boiler disposed away from the high-temperature water boiler
mixed hot water of a desired temperature according to high-temperature water heated by mixing the high-temperature water boiler and medium-temperature water heated by the medium-temperature water boiler
wherein the water heater system comprises a water heater control unit configured to control the high-temperature water boiler and the medium-temperature water boiler Lee does disclose controlling a desired temperature as appropriate for a particular style of coffee (see translated Fig 8, “temperature settings,” ¶105-¶108).
McKay teaches:
A water heater for providing water of various temperatures for tea and coffee (¶84, ¶54). The water heater comprises:
a high-temperature water boiler (main heating tank 90, ¶101) and a medium-temperature water boiler (first tank 15, ¶89) disposed away from the high-temperature water boiler (see Fig 1)
mixed hot water of a desired temperature according to high-temperature water heated by mixing the high-temperature water boiler and medium-temperature water heated by the medium-temperature water boiler (¶104 “By carefully controlling the speed of each pump (75), (92), varying proportions of each temperature water is mixed and water at a user selected temperature is delivered from the dispenser spout (80).”)
wherein the water heater system comprises a water heater control unit configured to control the high-temperature water boiler and the medium-temperature water boiler (¶87 “a level sensor, electric pump, valve, mixer valve, heater and the like. Preferably, such devices are controllable by electric or electronic means so as to allow automated operation of the system.” ¶97, ¶99 “thermostatically controlled”)
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coffee machine of Lee by providing the hot water from the system of McKay to obtain the benefit of quickly adjustable hot water temperature for different types of coffee (by adjusting the mixing ratio). In the combination, the water heater system of McKay feeds separately into each hot water supply pipe of each water dropper 100 to provide an adjustable temperature for each different beverage being made.
Regarding claim 2, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay teaches:
the high-temperature water boiler is configured to heat cold and hot water to 85 °C to 98 °C (McKay: 98° C, ¶104), and the medium-temperature water boiler is configured to heat cold and hot water to 70 °C to 84 °C (McKay: 70° C, ¶97).
Regarding claim 3, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay teaches:
the water heater system includes a plurality of high-temperature water discharge pipes (McKay: see Fig 1, pipe attached to pump 92, ¶99 “The pump (92) functions to convey near boiling water to the dispensing spout (80)”) configured to discharge high-temperature water heated by the high-temperature water boiler (McKay: 90), a plurality of medium-temperature water discharge pipes (McKay: see Fig 1, pipe attached to pump 75, ¶104 “pump (75) runs to convey 70° C. water from the upper vessel (30) to the outlet conduit (112)”) configured to discharge medium-temperature water heated by the medium-temperature water boiler (15), a plurality of mixing connectors (McKay: 113, ¶104 “The two streams of water combine at outlet tube (112) intersection (113)”) connected to the plurality of high-temperature water discharge pipes and the plurality of medium-temperature water discharge pipes and configured to mix the high-temperature water and the medium-temperature water, and a plurality of hot water supply pipes (McKay: pipe between intersection 113 and spout 80) connected to the plurality of mixing connectors (113).
McKay only discloses a single instance of each of these components claimed as a plurality. However, the combination statement for claim 1 above indicates that water is provided to each dropper 100 with an individually customizable temperature. McKay further teaches “Both pumps (75) and (92) are powered by a brushless DC electric motors and the speed of each pump can be accurately controlled by varying the DC supply voltage to each pump (75), (92). By carefully controlling the speed of each pump (75), (92), varying proportions of each temperature water is mixed and water at a user selected temperature is delivered from the dispenser spout (80).” Thus, pumps, pipes, and mixing connectors must be provided to each spout that will have an individually selectable water temperature.
It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP § 2144.04 §§ VI.B, citing In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). The specification does not describe a new and unexpected result of a plurality of pipes, pumps, and mixing connectors. The result that each spout has an individually customizable temperature is readily understood because McKay teaches that varying the speed of each pump accurately controls the output temperature.
MODIFICATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the water heater of McKay by having a set of pumps, pipes, and mixing connectors for each water dropper 100 of Lee to obtain the predictable result of individually controllable water temperature at each water dropper.
Regarding claim 4, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay, with duplication of parts as explained above with reference to claim 3, teaches:
the plurality of high-temperature water discharge pipes are respectively connected to the plurality of mixing connectors through a plurality of high-temperature water pumps (McKay: 92), and the plurality of medium-temperature water discharge pipes are respectively connected to the plurality of mixing connectors through a plurality of medium-temperature water pumps (McKay: 75).
Regarding claim 5, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay, with duplication of parts as explained above with reference to claim 3, teaches:
a plurality of hot water control valves (Lee, ¶41 “The flow regulator 120 may include various types of valves.” ¶34 “This water dropper 100 preferably includes a hot water supply pipe 101, the cold water supply pipe 103, the drop nozzle 110 and flow regulator 120.”) are further respectively connected to the plurality of hot water supply pipes and are controlled by the main control unit.
Regarding claim 8, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay teaches:
the plurality of drip nozzle transfer modules each include a Y-axis transfer module (660, 665, 680, 670, 615, see Fig 3, ¶76-¶79) configured to transfer the plurality of drip nozzles in the Y-axis direction with respect to a floor where the drip system is located along a Y-axis transfer screw, and an X-axis feed module (615, 610, 620, 630, ¶76-¶79) installed in one end of the axis transfer module, mechanically connected to the Y-axis feed module and configured to transfer the plurality of drip nozzles in the X-axis direction with respect to the floor where the drip system is located along an X-axis feed screw.
Regarding claim 9, the coffee machine of Lee modified as described above with reference to claim 1, and for the same reasons, by the mixing water heater of McKay, with duplication of parts as explained above with reference to claim 3, teaches:
An automatic drip coffee machine (Lee: ¶25) comprising:
a water heater system (Lee: (¶35 “the hot water supply pipe 101 is connected to the outside of the water pipe as a water tank or a heater is provided to the inlet conduit receiving the hot water”) comprising a high-temperature water boiler (McKay: main heating tank 90, ¶101) and a medium-temperature water boiler (McKay: first tank 15, ¶89) disposed away from the high-temperature water boiler; and
a drip system comprising a plurality (Lee: Figs 1, 2, and 4, ¶70, ¶71) of drip nozzles (Lee: drop nozzle 110, ¶33-¶34) configured to receive mixed hot water (Lee: ¶35) of a desired temperature according to high-temperature water heated by mixing the high-temperature water boiler and medium-temperature water heated by the medium-temperature water boiler (McKay: ¶104), and a plurality of drip nozzle transfer modules (Lee: 600, ¶75 “a moving device 600 is preferably provided so as to correspond to each of a plurality dog plurality Water dropper 100”) configured to respectively supply the mixed hot water to a plurality of drippers while respectively transferring the plurality of drip nozzles in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction (Lee: ¶76 “an electric motor (610 660) and a screw rod (620, 670), X and Y directions of the position movement”),
wherein the water heater system comprises a plurality of high-temperature water discharge pipes (McKay: pipe/fitting from 95 to 92, duplication of parts) configured to discharge high-temperature water heated by the high-temperature water boiler (McKay: 90), a plurality of medium-temperature water discharge pipes (McKay: pipe/fitting from 15 to 75, duplication of parts) configured to discharge medium-temperature water heated by the medium-temperature water boiler (McKay: 15), a plurality of high-temperature water pumps (McKay: 92, duplication of parts) respectively connected to the plurality of high-temperature water discharge pipes, a plurality of medium-temperature water pumps (McKay: 75, duplication of parts) respectively connected the plurality of medium-temperature water discharge pipes, a plurality of high-temperature water supply pipes (McKay: pipe from 92 to 113, duplication of parts) respectively connected to the plurality of high-temperature water pumps (McKay: 92), a plurality of medium-temperature water supply pipes (McKay: pipe from 75 to 113, duplication of parts) respectively connected to the plurality of medium-temperature water pumps (McKay: 75), a plurality of mixing connectors (McKay: intersection 113, ¶104 duplication of parts) connected to the plurality of high-temperature water supply pipes and the plurality of medium-temperature water supply pipes, and a plurality of hot water supply pipes (McKay: pipe from 113 to 80, installed at each head 100 of Lee) respectively connected to the plurality of mixing connectors, and
the drip system further comprises a plurality of user interface units (input unit 220, see Fig 8, ¶44 “touchscreen”, smart phone 720, ¶59) configured to respectively control the plurality of drip nozzles and the plurality of drip nozzle transfer modules.
Regarding claim 10, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay teaches:
a plurality of hot water control valves (Lee, ¶41 “The flow regulator 120 may include various types of valves.” ¶34 “This water dropper 100 preferably includes a hot water supply pipe 101, the cold water supply pipe 103, the drop nozzle 110 and flow regulator 120.”) are further respectively installed in the plurality of hot water supply pipes.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 101705873 B1) in view of McKay (US 20210052106) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Choi (US 2015/0289712).
Regarding claim 6, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay does not teach:
the plurality of drip nozzles each further include a fixing member capable of moving and fixing the plurality of drip nozzles in a vertical direction with respect to a floor where the drip system is located.
Choi teaches:
a drip coffee maker (¶3) that can dispense water over coffee grounds in a pattern (see Fig 9). The drip head can be raised and lowered to adjust the distance between the drip head and the upper surface of the coffee powder, thereby adjusting the height of the water injected from the nozzle section 320 (¶116). The drip head is raised and lowered by a support column 372 having ridges in the form of a rack gear 373, which cooperated with a motor 375 (¶119).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the water heater of McKay by including a ridged support column (i.e., a fixing member) that cooperates with a motor to raise and lower each water dropper 100 of Lee, as taught by Choi to obtain the benefit of adjusting the height of the water injected.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 101705873 B1) in view of McKay (US 20210052106) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Marlet (US 3,286,618).
Regarding claim 7, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay teaches:
the high-temperature water boiler includes a high-temperature water tank (McKay: main heating tank 90), …, the medium-temperature water boiler includes a medium-temperature water tank (McKay: 15), the medium-temperature water tank includes a second cold water storage space (McKay: 50, 55, ¶92 “The water in the region marked (50) is relatively warm (typically up to about 60° C.), with the water in the region marked (55) being around ambient temperature (about 20° C.).”) separated by a second separation plate (McKay: 15, ¶89 “a baffle (20) which essentially divides the tank”) in a lower portion thereof.
Lee and McKay do not teach:
the high-temperature water tank includes a first cold water storage space separated by a first separation plate in a lower portion thereof
Marlet teaches:
a hot water tank configured to provide hot water at a virtually constant temperature (col 1 lines 39-43) for making coffee (col 1 lines 13-30). The tank includes a central partition 24 with a lower chamber 22 for receiving water to be heated by heater 30. “The hottest water in the lower chamber rises to the top by reason of the difference in volume and lower specific gravity and thence moves through pipe 28 into the upper chamber 20. As time passes cooler water in the upper chamber gravitates to its bottom and flows downwardly through tube 26 into the lower chamber 22 to be reheated. Thus, a thermal circulation occurs, the hotter water moving to the upper chamber and the cooler water back to the lower chamber and circulating in this manner so that the upper chamber always houses the hottest portion of the water in the reservoir” (col 3 lines 29-40). Thus, the upper chamber 20 is maintained at a steady temperature and predictably hot water can be supplied for brewing coffee.
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the water heater of McKay by having the hot water tank of McKay formed with a partition, a heater below the partition, and water for brewing withdrawn from above the partition, as taught by Marlet, to obtain the benefit of providing hot water at a virtually constant temperature.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 101705873 B1) in view of McKay (US 2021/0052106) as applied to claim 9, and further in view Hay (US 2023/0320516).
Regarding claim 11, the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the mixing water heater of McKay teaches:
a plurality of hot water control valves (Lee, ¶41 “The flow regulator 120 may include various types of valves.” ¶34 “This water dropper 100 preferably includes a hot water supply pipe 101, the cold water supply pipe 103, the drop nozzle 110 and flow regulator 120.”) are respectively installed in the plurality of hot water supply pipes …
Lee and McKay do not teach:
a plurality of medium-temperature water circulation pipes connected to the medium-temperature water boiler are further respectively installed in the plurality of hot water control valves.
Hay teaches:
a method of priming a coffee machine (¶23) before dispensing or generating a beverage, such as drip coffee (¶23). “This ensures that a consistent water volume is dispensed and that the water delivery temperature is consistent” (¶2). The system includes a recirculation conduit 104 extending from a valve at the water delivery manifold to a reservoir upstream of the hot tank 102 (¶34).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the coffee machine of Lee as modified by the water heater of McKay by have a recirculation pipe from the dropper head 100 flow controller 120 of Lee to a reservoir upstream of the heaters, in this case, the lower vessel 25 of first tank 15 (McKay: ¶89-¶92), to obtain the benefit of ensuring that a consistent water volume is dispensed and that the water delivery temperature is consistent.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hayes (US 4653390 A) discloses a coffee machine. “Because of the baffle plate 50 the cold water entering the tank is encouraged to remain in a distinct strata at the bottom of the tank and therefore the amount of cold water mixing with the hot water is minimal and hence the temperature of the water at the top of the tank is kept high whilst the heater at the bottom of the tank brings the temperature of the cold strata up, in this way several infusions can be achieved in rapid succession depending on the size of the tank” (col 2 lines 27-35).
Cheng (CN 114468772 A) discloses a multi-temperature water dispenser having a first anti-turbulence damping clapboard 15 set in the heat tank 10 and a second anti-turbulence damping clapboard 31 set in the insulating water box 27.
Yu (CN 208635325 U) discloses a water boiling tank with perforated clapboards 6 and 7 to separate water layers of different temperature.
Cooke (WO 2005058747 A2) discloses “a large water tank 62 that is segmented into an upper, hot water volume 64 and a lower, cold water volume 66 by a floating baffle 68 having a density intermediate the density of water at ambient temperature (say 25°C) and water at 95°C. Specifically, the floating baffle 68 is formed from a solid piece of low density polyethylene having a density of 0.98g/cm.sup.3. The baffle 68 partitions the internal volume of the tank 52, but water can still flow around the edges of the baffle between the volumes 64 and 66.”
Burrows (WO 2017031212 A1) discloses a beverage maker with a water tank having perforated insert 3100. “Placement of insert 3100 may control a thermocline within heater tank 160. For example, and not by way of limitation, insert 3100, by partially, substantially, or completely dividing heater tank 160 into first portion 3104 and second portion 3106, may create a heated fluid in first portion 3104 while the fluid in second portion 3106 may be at a different, possibly lower (and/or ambient) temperature. Insert 3100 may create a thermal gradient between first portion 3104 and second portion 3106 that is more defined and/or more predictable than if the fluid flow from inlet 780 were less diffused, or than if no insert 3100 were present” (¶339).
McCoy (WO 2021257675 A1) discloses a recirculation path from adjacent a dispense nozzle 504 to a hot water tank 520 (see Fig 13).
Conclusion
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761