DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed on 04/15/2026. Claims 1, 4-6, 8 and 10-13 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments
With respect to the Objections to the claims, these objections have been withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendments to the affected claims.
With respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections, these rejections have been withdrawn based on the amendment.
With respect to the Double Patenting Rejections, the Applicant noted that based on the amendments to the independent claims that these rejections have been overcome. The Examine respectfully disagrees as the claims appear to reword aspects already claimed. Hence, the Double Patenting rejections have been maintained and updated below.
With respect to the 35 USC 101 abstract rejections, the Applicant that:
Amended claims 1 and 8 are not a mere automation of a mental process but rather a specific technical improvement to voice processing systems. Conventional systems require computationally intensive and time-consuming audio analysis to detect each speaker's language. (see paragraph [3] of present application).
As now further amended, independent claims 1 and 8 clearly recite that the memory stores position-language information "in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to said each sound source position in advance," and that the processor determines source languages "by reading the position-language information corresponding to the determined sound source positions from the memory." (see amended claims 1 and 8, paragraph [48], [59], [86], and Fig 5 and 6 of present application).
This pre-stored mapping of source languages to physical sound source positions, combined with immediate memory lookup to determine the language, eliminates the need for real-time audio- based language detection entirely. Rather than analyzing audio characteristics, the processor performs an instant positional lookup - a concrete, non-conventional processing sequence that significantly reduces system load and increases processing speed. (See paragraph [29] of present application)
This specific and unconventional processing order provides "significantly more" than the alleged abstract idea. The claimed system solves a technical problem
resource-intensive language detection) through a technical solution (pre-stored position-to-language mapping with memory- based lookup), which is analogous to the types of concrete improvements recognized as patent- eligible under the USPTO's 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance and Federal Circuit precedent such as McRO v. Bandai (837 F.3d 1299) and Thales Visionix v. U.S. (850 F.3d 1343).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant asserts that the usage of “pre-stored mapping of source languages to physical sound source positions, combined with immediate memory lookup to determine the language, eliminates the need for real time audio based language detection” since the processor can perform an instant lookup which is nonconventional and reduces system load. However, this pre-stored mapping of where a user is positioned and the specific language associated with that user is a mental process or which can be performed using pen/paper of writing the speaker and where they are situated along with their language preference to then be able to provide a translation of the meetings in their respective language based on the knowledge of this information or mapping. MPEP 2106.05(a) notes that “a claim whose entire scope can be performed mentally, cannot be said to improve computer technology. Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 120 USPQ2d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016)”. The “computer”, “memory” are general purpose elements which are being used as a tool and for which para [0041] of the Applicant’s specifications addresses the CPU and storage as exemplary well known elements. Furthermore, the “microphone” is only being used to gather the speech input and therefore is pre-solution activity. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer is noted as a general computer as noted. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the additional limitation in the claims noted above are directed towards insignificant solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections, the Applicant amended claims 1 and 8 to recite “a memory configured to store position-language information in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to each sound source position in advance” and “…by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined sound source positions from memory”.
Thus, the Applicant asserts that Nakadai does not store language information in the memory in advance nor does it match the source language to a sound source position in advance.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion for similar reasons as mentioned in the Final Rejection mailed on 01/30/2026 as it still applies to what is being argued. The Applicant’s arguments center around the notion that each sound source position is associated with the translation language and such is stored in advance. However, the current claim language does not provide any information of what the position-language information comprises. The BRI of the claim allows for the interpretation of this position language information to be information that is determined prior to the conversation. For example, Nakadai in para [0138], the language information detecting unit outputs information related to language and the azimuth information. This is inherently stored in order to be used further downstream such as for ASR processing. Also as noted by the Applicant, the speaker can preselect a language in [0158] for which translation result should be displayed in. Again, even in this example the speaker location must be known in order to provide the translation result to the proper area and also results in knowing this relationship in advance of presenting the translation result. Therefore, both options allow and teach the concept of storing the position of the speaker and the language information to be used in the translation process in advance. The current claims do not provide context of what is meant by “in advance”. Further, “in advance” does not mean such scope would exclude real-time language processing or even detection of the language when initial voice is received so long as the step is performed prior to the translation process as claimed. The claims do not provide any relative point of view of the term “in advance” and preclude the interpretation noted above.
The Applicant further asserts that the references do not disclose or suggest “determining a speaker’s language by reading pre-matches information from memory based on the speaker’s position”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons as mentioned in the above paragraph with respect to Nakadai and how such language is determined prior to performing ASR since the ASR uses the language and azimuth to generate ASR output thus a match takes place. However, the examiner does incorporate another reference to expedite compact prosecution.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. “bypassing language detection analysis”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 and 14 of US 12347450 in view of Shin (US 2021/0374362). The issued patent teach all of the limitations except for “generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.” Shin does teach this limitation in para [0094] (see claim 7 mapping for detailed explanation under prior art). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the issued patent with generation of meeting minutes in the current languages of speakers as taught by Shin in order to enhance convenience and expandability and for minimizing erroneous expression of opinion by occurrence of mistranslation (see Shin [0125]).
See Table below.
Instant Application (I) maps to US Patent (P)
Claim 1 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 2 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 3 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 5 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 6 (I): Claim 5 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching); Claim 8 (I): Claim 14 (P); Claim 9 (I): Claim 14 (P); Claim 10 (I): Claim 14 (P); Claim 12 (I): Claim 14 (P);Claim 13 (I): Claim 14 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching)
Instant Application: 18/580554
US 12347450
A voice processing device configured to generate translation results for voices of speakers, comprising:
a microphone configured to generate voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers in response to the voices of the speakers;
a memory configured to store position-language information in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to said each sound source position in advance; and
a processor configured to generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of each of the speakers using the voice signal and the position- language information and generate translated minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in different languages using the translation results,
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine the sound source positions of the voices of the speakers using the voice signals generated from the microphone and generate sound source position information representing the determined sound source positions;
generate a separation voice signal associated with the voice pronounced at each sound source position from the voice signal;
determine source languages of the voices of the speakers by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined source positions from a memory;
generate the translation results obtained by translating the current languages of the voices of the speakers into the different languages using the separation voice signal and the determined current languages; and
generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in said each of the different languages.
1. A voice processing device comprising:
See claim 3.
a voice processing circuit configured to:
generate separated voice signals related to voices by performing voice source separation of voice signals related to the voices pronounced at a plurality of voice source positions in a vehicle based on the voice source positions of the voices, and output translation results for the voices based on the separated voice signals;
a memory configured to store source language information representing source languages for translating the voices related to the separated voice signals and target language information representing target languages; and
See also claim 5
a communication circuit configured to output the translation results, wherein the voice processing circuit is configured to generate the translation results in which the languages of the voices corresponding to the separated voice signals are translated from the source languages into the target languages with reference to the memory:
wherein the communication circuit is configured to transmit the translation results to the vehicle in accordance with the control of the voice processing circuit, and wherein the transmitted translation results are output through loudspeakers of the vehicle as voices, wherein the
voice processing circuit is configured to generate output position information representing positions of the loudspeakers to output the translation results in the vehicle, and transmit the generated output position information to the vehicle, wherein the voice processing circuit is configured to generate the output position information so that the target languages corresponding to the voice source positions of the voices related to the separated voice signals and the source languages corresponding to the positions of the loudspeakers are the same.
3. The voice processing device of claim 1, comprising a plurality of microphones disposed to form an array, wherein the plurality of microphones are configured to generate the voice signals in response to the voices.
5. The voice processing device of claim 3, wherein the voice processing circuit is configured to generate voice source position information representing the voice source positions of the voices based on a time delay among a plurality of voice signals generated from the plurality of microphones, and match and store, in the memory, the voice source position information for the voices with the separated voice signals for the voices.
See limitation in claim 1
See limitation in claim 1
See claim 1 comment
See Shin
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, 9 of US 12347450 in view of Shin and further in view of Nakadai in view of Asthana.
Please see the Mapping in the prior art sections for mapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the instant application with the features as taught by claim 4 as taught by Nakadai in order to be able to address the difficulties when multiple speech pieces are present (see Nakadai [0006]-[0007]).
With respect to the motivation from Asthana please see mapping below for respective claim as same motivation applies.
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 and 12 of copending Application No. 18029060 (reference application) in view of Shin (US 2021/0374362). The co-pending application teaches all of the limitations except for “generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.” Shin does teach this limitation in para [0094] (see claim 7 mapping for detailed explanation under prior art). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the issued patent with generation of meeting minutes in the current languages of speakers as taught by Shin in order to enhance convenience and expandability and for minimizing erroneous expression of opinion by occurrence of mistranslation (see Shin [0125]).
See Table below.
Each of the claims listed above from the instant application map to each of the claims of the copending application.
Instant Application (I) maps to Copending Application (P)
Claim 1 (I): Claim 6 (P); Claim 5 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 6 (I): Claim 6 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching); Claim 8 (I): Claim 12 (P); Claim 12 (P); Claim 12 (I): Claim 12 (P); Claim 13 (I): Claim 14 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching)
Instant Application: 18/580554
Co-Pending Application: 18029060
1. A voice processing device configured to generate translation results for voices of speakers, comprising:
a microphone configured to generate voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers in response to the voices of the speakers;
a memory configured to store position-language information in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to said each sound source position in advance; and
a processor configured to generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of each of the speakers using the voice signal and the position- language information and generate translated minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in different languages using the translation results.
generate a separation voice signal associated with the voice pronounced at each sound source position from the voice signal;
determine source languages of the voices of the speakers by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined source positions from a memory;
generate the translation results obtained by translating the current languages of the voices of the speakers into the different languages using the separation voice signal and the determined current languages; and
generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.
1. A voice processing device comprising:
a voice receiving circuit configured to receive voice signals related to voices pronounced by speakers;
a voice processing circuit configured to:
generate separated voice signals related to voices by performing voice source separation of the voice signals based on voice source positions of the voices, and generate translation results for the voices by using the separated voice signals;
a memory; and
see claim 6
an output circuit configured to output the translation results for the voices, wherein the voice processing circuit is configured to: generate pronouncing time point information representing pronouncing time points of the voices pronounced by the speakers based on the voice signals, and determine an output order of the translation results based on the pronouncing time point information so that the output order of the translation results and a pronouncing order of the voices are the same, wherein the output circuit is configured to sequentially output the translation results in accordance with the determined output order without overlapping the translation results with each other when pronouncing sections of the voices of different speakers overlap each other at least partly, and wherein the translation results include the voice signals related to voices obtained by translating the voice
6. The voice processing device of claim 1, wherein the voice processing circuit is configured to: determine the source languages for translating the voices related to the separated voice signals and the target languages with reference to the source language information corresponding to the voice source positions of the separated voice signals stored in the memory and the target language information, and generate the translation results by translating languages of the voices from the source languages to the target languages.
See claim 1
See claim 6
See claim 6
See Shin
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 4 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, 9 of 18/029060 in view of Shin in view of Nakadai in view of Asthana.
Please see the Mapping in the prior art sections for mapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the instant application with the features as taught by claims 3 and 4 as taught by Nakadai in order to be able to address the difficulties when multiple speech pieces are present (see Nakadai [0006]-[0007]).
Please see prior art rejection below for motivation for combining Asthana.
Claims 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of 18/029060 in view of Shin in view of Buckler (US 2008/0218582).
Please see mapping below with respect to Buckley as well as motivation.
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 8 of US 12694887 (reference application) in view of Shin (US 2021/0374362). The issue patent teaches all of the limitations except for “generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.” Shin does teach this limitation in para [0094] (see claim 7 mapping for detailed explanation under prior art). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the issued patent with generation of meeting minutes in the current languages of speakers as taught by Shin in order to enhance convenience and expandability and for minimizing erroneous expression of opinion by occurrence of mistranslation (see Shin [0125]).
See Table below.
Each of the claims listed above from the instant application map to each of the claims of the issued patent.
Instant Application (I) maps to issued patent (P)
Claim 1 (I): Claim 1 (P); Claim 5 (I): Claim 1 (P); Claim 6 (I): Claim 1 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching); Claim 8 (I): Claim 8 (P); Claim 10 (I): Claim 9 (P); Claim 12 (I): Claim 8 (P); Claim 13 (I): Claim 8 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching);
Instant Application: 18/580554
Issued Patent: US 12694887
1. A voice processing device configured to generate translation results for voices of speakers, comprising:
a microphone configured to generate voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers in response to the voices of the speakers;
a memory configured to store position-language information in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to said each sound source position in advance;
a processor configured to generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of each of the speakers using the voice signal and the position- language information and generate translated minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in different languages using the translation results.
generate a separation voice signal associated with the voice pronounced at each sound source position from the voice signal;
determine source languages of the voices of the speakers by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined source positions from a memory
generate the translation results obtained by translating the current languages of the voices of the speakers into the different languages using the separation voice signal and the determined current languages; and
generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.
1. A mobile terminal comprising:
a microphone comprising a plurality of microphones disposed to form an array, wherein the plurality of microphones are configured to generate a plurality of voice signals in response to voices of speakers;
a processor configured to judge respective voice source positions of the voices based on a time delay among the plurality of voice signals generated from the plurality of microphones, wherein the respective voice source positions represent relative positions of the voices with respect to the mobile terminal, generate separated voice signals related to the respective voices by performing voice source separation of the voice signals based on the judged respective voice source positions of the voices, and output translation results for the respective voices based on the separated voice signals
a memory configured to store source position information representing positions of respective speakers and source language information representing source languages that are pronounced languages of the speakers, the source language information corresponding to the relative positions of the respective speakers with respect to the terminal,
wherein the processor is configured to output the translation results in which the languages of the voices of the speakers have been translated from the source languages into target languages to be translated based on the source language information and the separated voice signals,wherein the processor is configured to:
determine the source languages corresponding to positions of the voices based on the voice source position information and source language information by comparing the respective voice source positions of the voices with position information included in the voice source position information to identify the respective speakers and determining the source languages corresponding to the respective speakers included in the source language information stored,
read the determined source language information corresponding to positions of the voices, and output the translation results for the respective voices in accordance determined source languages.
See 2nd limitation of claim 1
See 3rd to last limitation of claim 1
See 3rd to last limitation of claim 1
See Shin
Claims 4 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 and 9 of US 12694887 in view of Shin in view of Nakadai in view of Asthana.
Please see the Mapping in the prior art sections for mapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the instant application with the features as taught by claims 3 and 4 as taught by Nakadai in order to be able to address the difficulties when multiple speech pieces are present (see Nakadai [0006]-[0007]).
With respect to the motivation from Asthana please see mapping below for respective claim as same motivation applies.
Claims 1, 5-6, 8 and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18015472 (reference application) in view of Shin (US 2021/0374362). The co-pending application teaches all of the limitations except for “generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.” Shin does teach this limitation in para [0094] (see claim 7 mapping for detailed explanation under prior art). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the issued patent with generation of meeting minutes in the current languages of speakers as taught by Shin in order to enhance convenience and expandability and for minimizing erroneous expression of opinion by occurrence of mistranslation (see Shin [0125]).
See Table below.
Each of the claims listed above from the instant application map to each of the claims of the copending application.
Instant Application (I) maps to Copending Application (P)
Claim 1 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 2 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 3 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 5 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 6 (I): Claim 1 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching); Claim 8 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 9 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 12 (I): Claim 5 (P); Claim 13 (I): Claim 8 (P) in view of Shin (see prior art mapping for Shin’s teaching);
Instant Application: 18/580554
Co-Pending Application: 18015472
1. A voice processing device configured to generate translation results for voices of speakers, comprising:
a microphone configured to generate voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers in response to the voices of the speakers;
a memory configured to store position-language information in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to said each sound source position in advance;
a processor configured to generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of each of the speakers using the voice signal and the position- language information and generate translated minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in different languages using the translation results
generate a separation voice signal associated with the voice pronounced at each sound source position from the voice signal;
determine source languages of the voices of the speakers by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined source positions from a memory
generate the translation results obtained by translating the current languages of the voices of the speakers into the different languages using the separation voice signal and the determined current languages; and
generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.
1. A voice processing device, comprising:
See Secondary reference
Claim 5
a processor configured to sound source isolation on voice signals associated with voices of speakers based on sound source positions of the respective voices;
and
a memory,
wherein the processor is configured to:
generate sound source position information indicating the sound source positions of the respective voices using the voice signals associated with the voices;
generate isolated voice signals associated with the voices of the respective speakers from the voice signals based on the sound source position information; and
match the isolated voice signals and the voice sound source position information and store the matched isolated voice signals and voice sound source position information in the memory,
wherein the processor generates the sound source position information indicating the sound source positions of the respective voices using the voice signal and converts the sound source position information in the memory as reference sound source position information, in a position register mode, and
wherein the processor generates the sound source position information indicating the sound source positions of the respective voices using the voice signal and converts the sound source position information in the memory as reference sound source position information, in a position register mode, and
stores the isolated voice signal associated with the voice corresponding to the sound source position within a reference range from the reference sound source position in the voice separation mode..
Claim 5: The voice processing device of claim 1, wherein the memory stores source language information indicating source language which are pronounced languages of the voices of the speakers, and the processor outputs a translation result in which the languages of the voices of the speakers are translated from the source language to target language, which are languages to be translated, based on the source language information and the isolated voice signal.
See claim 1
See claim 5
See claim 5
See Shin
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 4 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2, 9 of 18/015472 in view of Shin in view of Nakadai in view of Asthana.
Please see the Mapping in the prior art sections for mapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the instant application with the features as taught by claims 3 and 4 as taught by Nakadai in order to be able to address the difficulties when multiple speech pieces are present (see Nakadai [0006]-[0007]).
With respect to the motivation from Asthana please see mapping below for respective claim as same motivation applies.
Claims 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of 18/015472 in view of Shin in view of Buckler (US 2008/0218582).
Please see mapping below with respect to Buckley as well as motivation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims 1 and 8 relate to system and method thus relating to a statutory category. The claims further recite per claims 1 and 8 “[[a microphone]] configured to generate voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers in response to the voices of the speakers; [[a memory]] configured to store position-language information in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to said each sound source position in advance; and [[a processor]] configured to generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of each of the speakers using the voice signal and the position- language information and generate translated minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in different languages using the translation results determine the sound source positions of the voices of the speakers using the voice signals generated from the microphone and generate sound source position information representing the determined sound source positions; generate a separation voice signal associated with the voice pronounced at each sound source position from the voice signal; determine source languages of the voices of the speakers by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined source positions from a memory; and generate the translation results obtained by translating the current languages of the voices of the speakers into the different languages using the separation voice signal and the determined current languages; generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes of meeting file including a text converted from the translation result on in said each of the different languages.”
The limitation of claims 1 and 8 of “storing…”, “generating…”, “generating…”, “generating…”, “determining…”, “generating…”, “generating…”, “determining…”, “generating…”, and “generating…” as drafted covers mental activities. More specifically, a meeting coordinator already having information about various speakers’ position and primary language of each speaker, hearing various sounds signals from various speakers in the meeting, meeting coordinator separating and determining locations from which the sound originated, determining in which language were they speaking and translating the different voices into a uniform voice. Then generating translation for each of the different voices heard and then creating a written document that captures the transcript of the meeting while translating to the appropriate speaker the specific document so they have it in their language.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1 and 8 recite the additional elements of “microphone” (claim 1 and 8), “processor” (claim 1) and “memory” (claim 1). For example, paragraph [0041] addresses the processor and memory, of the as filed specification, describes the CPU and storage as exemplary language which is interpreted to include all known CPU/Storage elements available. Furthermore, the microphones per the claims are being used as pre-solution activity of data gathering the speech from the various speakers. Accordingly, these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea as the CPU is being used as a mere tool on which the abstract idea is applied. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer is noted as a general computer as noted. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the additional limitation in the claims noted above are directed towards insignificant solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to claim 4 and 11, the claims relate to “wherein the processor is configured to: determine different languages into which the current language of the voice of each of the speakers is translated using the position-language information stored in the memory; and generate a translation result obtained by translating the current language of the voice of the speaker into different languages according to the determined current language and different languages”. This relates to a meeting coordinator determining the different languages and which language to translate into based on the position of each speaker and generating a translation result. No additional limitations are present. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claim 5 and 12, the claim relates to “generate first sound source position information representing a sound source position of a voice of a first speaker among the speakers using the voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers; generate a first separation voice signal associated with the voice of the first speaker using the voice signals and the first sound source position information; determine a language of the voice of the first speaker corresponding to the first sound source position information with reference to the position-language information stored in the memory; determine languages of the voices of the remaining speakers except for the first speaker among the speakers with reference to the position-language information stored in the memory; and generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of the first speaker into the languages of the voices of the remaining speakers using the first separation voice signal”. Similar reasoning as provided in claims 2-3 applies here but with focus on one speaker relative to other speakers. No additional limitation is present. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claim 6 and 13, the claim relates to “generates original minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in the current languages of the voices of the speakers using the separation voice signal” and “generates the translated minutes of meeting, converts the translation results into texts, and records text data in the translated minutes of meeting”. This relates to a meeting coordinator separating each of the speaker’s voices and writing the respective speech down on a piece of paper for the meeting. No additional limitations are present. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claim 10, the claim relates to “wherein the microphone includes a plurality of microphones disposed to form an array, and the determining of the sound source positions of the speakers includes determining the sound source position based on a time delay between a plurality of voice signals generated from the plurality of microphones.” This relates to computing time difference or delay based on the difference in captured audio of the plural mics. The additional element on of “microphone array” is used as pre-solution activity for gathering the sound. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
These claims further do not remedy the judicial exception being integrated into a practical application and further fail to include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakadai (US 2015/0154957) in view of Swvgaradoss (US 2021/0375261).in view of Asthana (US 2007/0143103) in view of Shin (US 2021/0374362).
As to claim 1 and 8, Nakadai teaches a voice processing device configured to generate translation results for voices of speakers, comprising:
a microphone configured to generate voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers in response to the voices of the speakers (see [0060]-[0062], where N microphones are positioned and where each microphone records sounds to acquire N signals from plurality of speakers);
a memory (see [0227]-[0228], describes various memory and storage) configured to store position-language information in which a source language corresponding to each sound source position is matched to said each sound source position in advance; (see [0136]-[0139], where variety of information such as azimuth, and language information for each speaker is stored for further processing) (e.g. The examiner notes that azimuth in combination with the language is stored for downstream processing such as an ASR which will use this stored information); and
a processor (see [0227], computer system) configured to generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of each of the speakers using the voice signal and the position- language information and generate translated minutes of meeting [[including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in different languages using the translation results]] (see [0139]-[0140], where translation of the speech is performed based on the direction, azimuth, speakers, recognition data, and language),
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine the sound source positions of the voices of the speakers using the voice signals generated from the microphone and generate sound source position information representing the determined sound source positions (see [0134]-[0135], where sound source localizing unit estimates an azimuth of a sound source on the basis of an input signal and estimates for each sound signals of N channels);
generate a separation voice signal associated with the voice pronounced at each sound source position from the voice signal (see [0136]-[0137], where sound source separating unit separates the sound signals of N channels into sound signals using GHDSS based on the sound localizing information);
determine source languages of the voices of the speakers [by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined sound source positions from the memory](see [0138], where speech recognizing unit 13A determines from language information detecting unit of each speaker for each sound signal corresponding to azimuth and see [0139], where speech recognizing process if performed based on reading the azimuth information and language); and
generate the translation results obtained by translating the current languages of the voices of the speakers into the different languages using the separation voice signal and the determined current languages (see [0139]-[0140], where translation unit translated the speech details and is displayed.
However, Nakadai does not specifically teach determine source languages of the voices of the speakers [by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined sound source positions from the memory].
Swvigaradoss does teach determine source languages of the voices of the speakers by reading the position language information corresponding to the determined sound source positions from the memory (see [0062], where language is determined based on location coordinate of the person thus signifying that there is a language associated with the detected location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the conversation system as taught by Nakadai with the reading of language from position as taught by Swvigaradoss in order to determined preferred language of the communication party (see Swvigaradoss [0062]).
However, Nakadai in view of Swvigaradoss do not specifically teach generation of minutes of meeting including voice content of each of the speakers.
Asthana does teach generate translated minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in different languages using the translation results (see [0067], where spoken information or text is translated and provided to the different users based on their language preference and see [0083], where transcript of the conference is maintained)
generate the translation results obtained by translating the current languages of the voices of the speakers into the different languages using the separation voice signal and the determined current languages (see [0067], where spoken information or text is translated and provided to the different users based on their language preference in audio or text and see [0083], where transcript of the conference is maintained).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the conversation system as taught by Nakadai in view of Swvigaradoss with the translation into voice as taught by Asthana in order to address the ineffectiveness of other systems regarding communication issues between speakers having different accents and speaking in different languages (see Asthana [0005]).
However, Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana do not specifically teach generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the corresponding language.
Shin does teach generate, for each of the different languages, a minutes-of-meeting file including a text converted from the translation result expressed in the said each of the different languages (see [0075], where original text refers to an original text input in a language used by each corresponding conference participant and see [0094] where all three types of text of the conversation original text, translation texts and reference text provided and see Figure 6 which shows which one is the original based on the shading and also see [0093], where the processor 212 may display the reference text 630 such that the conference participants may refer to a translation in a third language in addition to main conference languages that is Korean, Japanese)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the conversation system as taught by Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana with generation of meeting minutes in the corresponding language as taught by Shin in order to enhance convenience and expandability and for minimizing erroneous expression of opinion by occurrence of mistranslation (see Shin [0125]).
As to claim 8, apparatus claim 1 and method claim 8 are related as apparatus and the method of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 8 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to apparatus claim.
As to claim 4 and 11, Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana in view of Shin teach all of the limitations as in claim 2 and 9.
Furthermore, Nakadai teaches wherein the processor is configured to: determine different languages into which the source language of the voice of each of the speakers is translated using the position-language information stored in the memory (see [0138]-[0139], where the speech recognition unit performs speech processing based on the language for each speaker and then azimuth information and where language is detected of each speaker and information indicating detected language for each speaker based on information from source speaker separating unit where the sound source separating unit receives the azimuth information from the sound source localizing unit); and
generate a translation result obtained by translating the source language of the voice of the speaker into different languages according to the determined current language and different languages (see [0140], where translation of the speech details is performed from the speech recognition unit based on information of the speakers, and information regarding the language of each speaker).
Furthermore, Asthana teaches generate a translation result obtained by translating the source language of the voice of the speaker into different languages according to the determined current language and different languages(see [0067], where spoken information or text is translated and provided to the different users based on their language preference).
As to claim 5 and 12, Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana in view of Shin teach all of the limitations as in claim 2 and 11.
Furthermore, Nakadai teaches: generate first sound source position information representing a sound source position of a voice of a first speaker among the speakers using the voice signals associated with the voices of the speakers (see [0134]-[0135], where sound source localizing unit estimates an azimuth of a sound source on the basis of an input signal and estimates for each sound signals of N channels, where the first position can be the azimuth estimate for one of the N channels);
generate a first separation voice signal associated with the voice of the first speaker using the voice signals and the first sound source position information (see [0136]-[0137], where sound source separating unit separates the sound signals of N channels into sound signals using GHDSS based on the sound localizing information , where one of the N separated sound signals can be the separate voice signal);
determine a language of the voice of the first speaker corresponding to the first sound source position information with reference to the position-language information stored in the memory (see [0138], where language information detecting unit detects language of each speaker for each sound signal, where language of the first speaker corresponding to the first sound source position can be a language that was detected for one of the speakers);
determine languages of the voices of the remaining speakers except for the first speaker among the speakers with reference to the position-language information stored in the memory (see [0138], where language information detecting unit detects language of each speaker for each sound signal, where the other languages remaining apart from one of the detected speaker language is interpreted to be the languages of the remaining speakers); and
Furthermore, Asthana teaches generate translation results obtained by translating the language of the voice of the first speaker into the languages of the voices of the remaining speakers using the first separation voice signal (see [0067], where when one speaker speaks or enters text for the conference and this is then translated selectively based on language understandable by the user of the endpoint.).
With respect to claim 6 and 13, Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana in view of Shin teach all of the limitations as in claim 2 and 9.
The Examiner notes both Nakadai of Swvigaradoss and Asthana Shin teach the translation of speech into text to generate meeting minutes, where Nakadai described how such is done based on separating speaker signals.
Furthermore, Shin does teach wherein the processor generates original minutes of meeting including a voice content of each of the speakers expressed in the source languages of the voices of the speakers using the separation voice signal (see [0075], where original text refers to an original text input in a language used by each corresponding conference participant and see [0094] where all three types of text of the conversation original text, translation texts and reference text provided and see Figure 6 which shows which one is the original based on the shading).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana in view of Shin as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Buckler (US 2008/0218582).
With respect to claim 10, Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana in view of Shin teach all of the limitations as in claim 8.
However, Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana in view of Shin do not specifically teach wherein the microphone includes a plurality of microphones disposed to form an array, and the determining of the sound source positions of the speakers includes determining the sound source position based on a time delay between a plurality of voice signals generated from the plurality of microphones.
Buckler does teach wherein the microphone includes a plurality of microphones disposed to form an array (see [0043], where array of microphone 113 Is used in a conference setting), and the determining of the sound source positions of the speakers includes determining the sound source position based on a time delay between a plurality of voice signals generated from the plurality of microphones (see [0088], delay estimation can be used to determine location of a user based plural microphones 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have modified the conversation system as taught by Nakadai of Swvigaradoss in view of Asthana in view of Shin with time delay for position estimation as taught by Buckler in order to be able to choose a camera and its viewing direction based on the person or persons speaking (see Buckler [0018]).
Conclusion
/Paras D Shah/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2653
07/31/2026