DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 01/18/2024.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 13 are independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
6. The claims 9 and 13 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: controller in claims 9 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim limitations “controller in claims 9 and 13” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function and/or there is no algorithm for each and every step of the above limitations. Therefore, the claims 9 and 13 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 10-12 depend on claim 9, thus they are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 14-15 depend on claim 13, thus they are rejected for the same reason.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed Abdelaziz Ibrahim ZEWAIL et al. (US 2022/0007434 A1), hereinafter ZEWAIL, in view of Guillermo Pocovi et al. (US 2023/0014238 A1), hereinafter Pocovi.
For claim 1, ZEWAIL teaches a method performed by a terminal of a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 405 and paragraph 68 teach a UE may receive random access configuration information indicating information associated with PRACH resources, such as a starting symbol for a PRACH, one or more PRACH slots, and/or a quantity of transmission opportunities (e.g., PRACH occasions) included in the one or more PRACH slots, among other examples.);
identifying at least one valid physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 and paragraph 68 teach the UE may determine whether a PRACH occasion is valid based at least in part on a time gap between a time at which the UE receives an SSB and the time at which the PRACH occasion occurs.); and
transmitting a random access preamble to the base station, based on the at least one valid PRACH occasion (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 410 and paragraph 62 teach the UE 120 may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or a RAM preamble).).
Pocovi further teaches receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. See also Fig. 8 for the UE receiving configuration of Cross-Division Duplex (XDD) before data communication with the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink taught in Pocovi in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112].
For claim 2, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 3, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 4, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling; and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determining whether to transmit the random access preamble or receive a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have receiving, from the base station, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling; and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determining whether to transmit the random access preamble or receive a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 5, ZEWAIL teaches a method performed by a base station of a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 405 and paragraph 68 teach a UE may receive random access configuration information indicating information associated with PRACH resources, such as a starting symbol for a PRACH, one or more PRACH slots, and/or a quantity of transmission opportunities (e.g., PRACH occasions) included in the one or more PRACH slots, among other examples.);
identifying at least one valid physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion according to the first configuration information and the second configuration information (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 and paragraph 68 teach the UE may determine whether a PRACH occasion is valid based at least in part on a time gap between a time at which the UE receives an SSB and the time at which the PRACH occasion occurs.); and
receiving a random access preamble from the terminal, based on the at least one valid PRACH occasion (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 410 and paragraph 62 teach the UE 120 may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or a RAM preamble).).
Pocovi further teaches transmitting, to a terminal, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. See also Fig. 8 for the UE receiving configuration of Cross-Division Duplex (XDD) before data communication with the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with transmitting, to a terminal, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink taught in Pocovi in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112].
For claim 6, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 7, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 8, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting, to the terminal, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling; and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determining whether to receive the random access preamble or transmit a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have transmitting, to the terminal, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling; and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determining whether to receive the random access preamble or transmit a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 9, ZEWAIL teaches a terminal of a wireless communication system (ZEWAIL, Fig.2 item 120), the terminal comprising:
a transceiver (ZEWAIL, Fig.2 item 252); and
a controller (ZEWAIL, Fig.2 item 280) configured to control the transceiver to
receive, from a base station, configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 405 and paragraph 68 teach a UE may receive random access configuration information indicating information associated with PRACH resources, such as a starting symbol for a PRACH, one or more PRACH slots, and/or a quantity of transmission opportunities (e.g., PRACH occasions) included in the one or more PRACH slots, among other examples.);
identify at least one valid physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion, based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 and paragraph 68 teach the UE may determine whether a PRACH occasion is valid based at least in part on a time gap between a time at which the UE receives an SSB and the time at which the PRACH occasion occurs.); and
control the transceiver to transmit a random access preamble to the base station, based on the at least one valid PRACH occasion (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 410 and paragraph 62 teach the UE 120 may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or a RAM preamble).).
Pocovi further teaches receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. See also Fig. 8 for the UE receiving configuration of Cross-Division Duplex (XDD) before data communication with the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink taught in Pocovi in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112].
For claim 10, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the terminal of claim 9, wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 11, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the terminal of claim 9, wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 12, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the terminal of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling, and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determine whether to transmit the random access preamble or receive a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have receiving, from the base station, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling; and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determining whether to transmit the random access preamble or receive a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 13, ZEWAIL teaches a base station of a wireless communication system (ZEWAIL, Fig.2 item 110), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (ZEWAIL, Fig.2 item 234); and
a controller (ZEWAIL, Fig.2 item 240) configured to control the transceiver to
transmit, to a terminal, configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 405 and paragraph 68 teach a UE may receive random access configuration information indicating information associated with PRACH resources, such as a starting symbol for a PRACH, one or more PRACH slots, and/or a quantity of transmission opportunities (e.g., PRACH occasions) included in the one or more PRACH slots, among other examples.);
identifying at least one valid physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion according to the first configuration information and the second configuration information (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 and paragraph 68 teach the UE may determine whether a PRACH occasion is valid based at least in part on a time gap between a time at which the UE receives an SSB and the time at which the PRACH occasion occurs.); and
control the transceiver to receive a random access preamble from the terminal, based on the at least one valid PRACH occasion (ZEWAIL, Fig. 4 step 410 and paragraph 62 teach the UE 120 may transmit a RAM, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or a RAM preamble).).
Pocovi further teaches transmitting, to a terminal, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. See also Fig. 8 for the UE receiving configuration of Cross-Division Duplex (XDD) before data communication with the gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with transmitting, to a terminal, first configuration information related to time division duplex (TDD) and second configuration information related to duplex in which a partial frequency resource corresponding to a downlink time resource is used for uplink taught in Pocovi in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112].
For claim 14, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the base station of claim 13, wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, or a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have wherein the at least one valid PRACH occasion comprises a PRACH occasion in at least one uplink symbol determined as a union of at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one uplink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, or a PRACH occasion that does not precede a synchronization signal block in a PRACH slot, starts after a predetermined symbol interval from a last downlink symbol of at least one downlink symbol determined as an intersection of at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the first configuration information and at least one downlink symbol corresponding to the second configuration information, and starts after the predetermined symbol interval from a last synchronization signal block symbol in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
For claim 15, ZEWAIL and Pocovi further teach the base station of claim 13, wherein the controller is configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the terminal, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling, and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determine whether to receive the random access preamble or transmit a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information (Pocovi, Fig. 3 and paragraph109 teach in one example, a time/frequency component 310 of the component carrier may be configured for DL communication, while another time/frequency component 320 of the component carrier may be configured for UL communication. In other words, in a configuration of the component carrier, subsequent PRBs may be configured for different transmission directions (e.g. uplink, downlink, one or both communication directions between two devices in sidelink communication, etc.), i.e. may be used for different XDD formats. In the first example of FIG. 3, TDD operation (i.e. TDD UL) may occur using UL time/frequency component 320. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ZEWAIL with Pocovi to have transmitting, to the terminal, third configuration information on priority between the at least one valid PRACH occasion and downlink scheduling; and in case that the at least one valid PRACH occasion and the downlink scheduling collide with each other, determining whether to receive the random access preamble or transmit a downlink signal according to the downlink scheduling, based on the third configuration information in order to allow for simultaneous transmission and reception [Pocovi: paragraph 112]).
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412