DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities: “(Chemical Formula 1)”, “[Chemical Formula 2]” and “(Chemical Formula 3)” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the combined subject matter of claims 1-14 of copending Application No.18/580512. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the polyimide coating material as in conflicting claims is identical to the cured polyamic acid as in the present claims and has the same properties as presently claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-10 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al (US 2913/0098656, ‘656 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-6, ‘656 discloses a polyamic acid composition for covering a conductor ([0002]), comprising a polyimide precursor reading upon polyamic acid ([0009]-[0015], [0047], Examples) formed from a dianhydride monomer component with one or more aromatic rings ([0030], [0031], PMDA as in Examples ), a diamine monomer component which has a diamine compound reading upon presently claimed Chemical Formula 1 ([0032], [0033], Chem 4, BAPP, Examples. ), and a diamine compound reading upon Chemical Formula 3 as in claim 3 ([0011]-[0013], [0034]-[0035], ODA as in Examples), wherein the portion of each diamine satisfying present claims 2 and 4-5 (Examples 5-7).
Regarding claims 9-10, ‘656 also discloses that the polyamic acid composition further comprising an organic solvent wherein the solid content of the composition is in a range of 10 to 50 % by weight ([0054]).
Regarding claims 16-18, ‘656 also discloses a cured product of the polyamic acid composition as a covering material for an electric wire which can be used in an electronic device ([0047]-[0052], [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al (US 2913/0098656, ‘656 hereafter).
Regarding claims 11-15, ‘656 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘656 does not expressly set forth that the cured polyamic acid composition having dielectric constant, elongation, adhesive strength to copper, partial discharge inception voltage and breakdown voltage as presently claimed. However, as discussed above, ‘656 discloses a polyamic acid being substantially identical to the polyamic acid as presently claimed, it is reasonable to expect that the cured polyamic acid of ‘656 would have possessed the same properties, including the properties as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary. "Case law holds that a product and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).( See MPEP 2112.01).
Claims 7-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al (US 2913/0098656, ‘656 hereafter) in view of Chen et al (US 20090197104, ‘104 hereafter).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 13, ‘656 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘656 also discloses that the composition may include an adhesive improver ([0046]), but does not expressly set forth the adhesive improver being a silane compound. However, in the same filed of endeavor, ‘104 discloses a polyamic acid composition for covering a conductor ([0002]-[0008]), comprising a polyamic acid ([0029]-[0050]) having a dianhydride monomer component with one or more aromatic rings ([0045], PMDA or the like, BDTA as in Examples ) and a diamine monomer component which has a diamine compound reading upon presently claimed Chemical Formula 1 and/or a diamine compound reading upon Chemical Formula 3 ([0030]-[0044]), wherein a silane compound in an preferred amount of 0.05 to 0.5 wt% is used as an adhesive improver to increase the adhesive of cured polyamic acid to copper substrate ([0022]-[0028], [0055]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a silane compound as taught by ‘104, to modify the polyamic acid composition of ‘656, in order to render the cured polyamic acid composition having desired adhesion strength to copper in the presently claimed range as in claim 13.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782