DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 18 January 2024.
Claims 25-44 are under examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25-26 and 31-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZTE (3GPP TSG RAN2#112e, 02-13 November, 2020, RE-2009190), as recited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 25, ZTE discloses a UE comprising a transmitter and processor that determines that small data has become available for transmission, wherein the available small data is to be transmitted using periodic resources without a prior scheduling request from the UE (p. 3, last paragraph: “if CG resources are also configured in the cell and are valid, then the UE… shall use those resources as these resources are dedicated to the UE”).ZTE discloses determining one of a plurality of synchronization signal blocks having a signal quality above a signal quality threshold, because CG-SDT selection depends on SSBs whose RSRP exceeds the threshold (p. 3, last paragraph).ZTE further discloses that in case there is no synchronization signal block with the signal quality above the signal quality threshold, the UE operates a time-trigger control mechanism via the T319 timer (p. 7, chapter 3: “failure detection is based on the T319 timer and a similar approach can be adopted for both RA-SDT and CG-SDT”).ZTE also discloses that the transmitter sends the available small data using a random access procedure when no suitable SSB exists (p. 4, chapter 2.3: “Otherwise… the UE shall select RA-SDT procedure and proceed with RA-type selection.”).
Regarding claim 26, ZTE discloses the processor operating a time trigger control mechanism in accordance with a parameter, because T319 may be extended or tuned “in the order of a few seconds” (p. 7, chapter 3).ZTE further discloses allowing continued attempts to transmit using periodic resources by repeatedly checking SSB quality (p. 3, last paragraph; p. 5, chapter 2.3).
Regarding claim 31, ZTE teaches both a timer-based fallback (T319) and a counter mechanism (p. 5, chapter 2.3: “the UE may need to maintain a counter… if the value of the counter reaches a maximum time…”), satisfying the requirement that the processor performs the time trigger control mechanism based on a combination of a timer and a counter.
Regarding claim 32, ZTE teaches that the UE continues attempting periodic-resource transmissions at each periodic occasion while checking SSB quality, and if no SSB satisfies the threshold during the subsequent time window, the UE performs an alternative small-data transmission mechanism (p. 3, last paragraph; p. 4–5).
Regarding claim 33, ZTE discloses periodic-resource association with one SSB, the SSB having the highest RSRP, or multiple SSBs above threshold (p. 3, last paragraph; p. 5).
Regarding claim 34, ZTE teaches determining the T319-based time period in relation to system configuration, round-trip delay requirements, and periodic resource timing (p. 7, chapter 3), corresponding to UE-stored parameters, network-signaled parameters, resource periodicity, and logical-channel requirements.
Regarding claim 35, ZTE teaches that different SSB-RSRP thresholds correspond to different SDT transmission conditions and different transmission parameters inherent in SDT operation (p. 3, last paragraph; p. 5, chapter 2.3).
Regarding claim 36, ZTE teaches selecting higher-priority periodic resources associated with stronger SSB quality and deprioritizing those associated with weaker SSBs (p. 3, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 37, ZTE teaches that cell reselection can be performed immediately while the T319 timer is running (p. 7, chapter 3: “cell reselection is possible whilst T319 is running”).
Regarding claim 38, ZTE teaches that once an SSB above the threshold is detected, the UE determines the periodic resources associated with that SSB and transmits the small data using those periodic resources (p. 3, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 39, ZTE discloses:– the UE operating in inactive state during SDT (p. 2–3 flow),– using beam RS quality (RSRP of SSB),– SSB including PSS, SSS, and PBCH,– small-data-specific and non-small-data-specific random access, including 2-step and 4-step forms (p. 4–5),– and determining signal quality using RSRP/RSRQ/SINR as part of SDT beam quality evaluation.
Regarding claim 40, ZTE discloses determining that small data is available for transmission, where the available small data is transmitted using periodic resources without transitioning to the connected state (p. 3, last paragraph: UE selects CG-SDT if periodic CG resources are valid).ZTE discloses determining one of a plurality of synchronization signal blocks with a signal quality above a signal quality threshold, because CG-SDT depends on SSB RSRP exceeding the required threshold (p. 3, last paragraph).ZTE further discloses that in case there is no synchronization signal block with the signal quality above the threshold, the UE operates a time trigger control mechanism, namely T319, to decide fallback (p. 7, chapter 3).ZTE further discloses transmitting the small data using a random access procedure according to the operated time trigger control mechanism (p. 4, chapter 2.3: “Otherwise… the UE shall select RA-SDT procedure and proceed with RA-type selection.”).
Regarding claim 41, ZTE discloses a base-station system that transmits configuration messages to configure the UE for SDT using periodic resources (p. 2–3 flow description; network sends RRC release message including CG-SDT configuration).ZTE discloses a processor that determines parameters related to fallback timing, including T319-based failure-handling timers, which are operated by the UE when no SSB satisfies the threshold (p. 7, chapter 3).ZTE further discloses a receiver that receives the available small data, either through the CG-SDT periodic resources or through RA-SDT when fallback occurs (p. 4–5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27–30 and 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being obvious over ZTE (3GPP TSG RAN2#112e, 02-13 November, 2020, RE-2009190) in view of APT (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113, R2-2103265), both as recited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 27, ZTE teaches timer-based fallback using T319 (p. 7), and APT teaches detailed timer-operation logic including starting, checking at each periodic occasion, stopping upon success, and fallback upon expiry (APT p. 5, chapter 2.3). APT’s timer-operation refinements would have been an obvious enhancement to ZTE’s T319 behavior.
Regarding claim 28, ZTE teaches adjusting timer duration (p. 7), while APT teaches determining timer values based on pre-configured information, system information, dedicated signaling, periodicity, logical channel type, QoS, and priority (APT p. 5, chapter 2.3). A skilled artisan would incorporate APT’s configuration framework into ZTE’s timer mechanism.
Regarding claim 29, ZTE teaches maintaining and incrementing a counter each time no SSB exceeds the threshold (p. 5, chapter 2.3), while APT teaches explicit counter-operation logic for incrementing, evaluating, stopping, and fallback (APT p. 5). Combining APT’s counter-logic details with ZTE’s counter concept would have been straightforward.
Regarding claim 30, ZTE teaches the concept of a counter threshold determining RA-SDT fallback (p. 5), and APT teaches determining counter thresholds using pre-configured values, system-signaled values, periodicity, QoS, priority, and UE-specific parameters (APT p. 5). A skilled artisan would apply APT’s threshold-determination methods to ZTE’s counter mechanism.
Regarding claim 42, ZTE teaches timer-based fallback via T319 (p. 7), but does not explicitly detail network-signaled timer value configuration. APT teaches transmitting timer configuration messages to the UE, via system information or dedicated signaling (APT p. 5, chapter 2.3).APT also teaches determining timer values based on periodicity and UE-specific operation (APT p. 5). It would have been obvious to combine APT’s configuration mechanism with ZTE’s timer-based fallback to allow network-controlled timer values.
Regarding claim 43, ZTE teaches a counter-based fallback mechanism (p. 5, chapter 2.3: UE maintains a counter and triggers RA-SDT when the counter reaches a maximum).APT further teaches network-signaled configuration of counter thresholds, including dedicated or system-information messages, periodicity-dependent values, and UE-specific settings (APT p. 5). Incorporating APT’s signaling and threshold-determination methods into ZTE’s counter mechanism would have been an obvious improvement.
Regarding claim 44, ZTE teaches fallback when no SSB satisfies the threshold over a period of time and continuing attempts based on available periodic resources (p. 3, last paragraph; p. 5).APT teaches time-period-based SDT fallback logic, including configuring the time period through system information or dedicated messages and basing it on periodicity (APT p. 5). A skilled artisan would combine APT’s explicit configuration of the time period with ZTE’s fallback behavior to allow network-controlled tuning of the UE’s time-period-based determination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure (see form 892).
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468