Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-25, and 27-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-25, and 27-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 18 depends from independent claim 11 and recites “further comprising receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time indicated as a percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting the percentage of the length of the COT.” However, independent claim 11 already recites “receiving, from an initiating device, a first subset of channel occupancy time (COT) sharing resources . . . the first subset of COT sharing resources including an indicated starting time and an indicated duration, the indicated starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the indicated duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT.” (Emphasis added). Since claim 11 recites receiving a starting time and a duration for the first subset of COT sharing resources, that the starting time is a percentage of a length of the COT, and the duration lasts a percentage of the length of the COT, dependent claim 18 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 15, 16, 19-24, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0092783 A1) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220078845 A1) and further in view of Wu (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0298080 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches “[a] method of wireless communication by an initiating device, comprising: acquiring a channel occupancy time (COT) including a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources, each of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources including fewer resources than the COT” (see ¶¶ [0064] and [0096]; UE (i.e., initiating device) may initiate or contend (i.e., acquiring) for COT (i.e., channel occupancy time) in the frequency band (i.e., plurality sharing resources); the frequency band is partitioned into a plurality of frequency interlaces, and each frequency interlace includes K plurality of RBs (i.e., plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources, each of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources including fewer resources than the COT); thus, acquiring a channel occupancy time (COT) including a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources, each of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources including fewer resources than the COT);
Sun further teaches “configuring a first responding device with a first subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources” (see ¶ [0098]; the UE (initiating device) may transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH) to different UEs in different slots within the COT. For example, the UE (initiating device) may schedule (i.e., configuring) three UEs (i.e., one of them includes a first responding device) for sidelink communications during the COT, each having a schedule of 4 slots (i.e., a first subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources); thus, the initiating device configures a first responding device with a first subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources); and
Sun also teaches “configuring a second responding device with a second subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources” (¶ [0098]; the UE (initiating device) may schedule (i.e., configuring) three UEs (i.e., one of them includes a second responding device) for sidelink communications during the COT, each having a schedule of 4 slots (i.e., a second subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources); thus, the initiating device configures a second responding device with a second subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources).
Sun does not explicitly disclose “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Xu teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources” (see ¶ [0179]; time resources include a start time and an end time of a portion of the MCOT (i.e., a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources); determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to indicate a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
The combination of Sun and Xu does not explicitly disclose “the starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Wu teaches “the starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” (see ¶ [0038]; the network device performs LBT in the idle time if LBT succeeds, COT in a next fixed frame period may be used for signal transmission; COT (a length does not exceed 95% of the fixed frame period) (i.e., duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT) and idle time (i.e., an offset) (a length is at least 5% of the COT) (i.e., of a first percentage of a length of the COT); therefore, starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT and the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of Wu to include a starting time of a subset of COT sharing resources based off an offset of a percentage of a length of the COT and a duration of the resources to last a second percentage of the length of the COT. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve transmission during channel occupancy time (see ¶ [0005] of Wu).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources is orthogonal to the second subset of COT sharing resources in a frequency domain and/or a time domain” (see ¶ [0098] and FIG. 6; UE (initiating device) may transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH) to different UEs in different slots within the COT (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources is orthogonal to the second subset of COT sharing resources in a frequency domain and/or a time domain)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating an absolute location of the first subset of COT sharing resources” (see ¶ [0101; the UE may schedule (i.e., configuring) one or more transmission gap periods in the COT (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources); the UE may determine locations of the gap periods within the COT(i.e., absolute location of the first subset of COT sharing resources); the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating an absolute location of the first subset of COT sharing resources).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations, the method further comprising transmitting a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the first responding device” (see ¶ [0101]; the UE may indicate (i.e., transmitting) timing information (i.e., a triggering signal indicating) of the gap period (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations) in the SCI to facilitate LBT at the monitoring UE; in this regard, the SCI may include a start time of the gap period, an end time of the gap period, (i.e., where the start time and/or the end time may be relative to a time location of the SCI (e.g., in units of symbol time or any time units) (i.e., a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the first responding device)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, and the duration lasting a second number of slots” (see ¶ [0179]; determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, and the duration lasting a second number of slots). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to indicate a starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point and lasting for a number of slots. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth” (see ¶ [0097]; UE may include in the SCI, an indication of the remaining unused frequency interlace(s); the SCI may indicate that the frequency interlace (i.e., indicating a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources) 308 I(1) to the frequency interlace 308 I(9) (i.e., the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth) are available for sharing; in some other instances, the UE may include in the SCI including a reservation or indication of the frequency interlace(s) that are to be used by the UE).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “further comprising receiving, from a base station, signaling indicating COT sharing parameters” (see ¶ [0128]; BS may configure (i.e., receiving signaling) the sidelink UE with a pool sidelink resources, for example, including a certain duration and/or periodicity (i.e., COT sharing parameters) when the sidelink UE may contend for sidelink COTs and/or certain frequency interlace(s) where the sidelink UE may use for sidelink communications after the sidelink UE won a COT; thus, the initiating device further receives, from a base station, signaling indicating COT sharing parameters).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources occurs dynamically” (see ¶ [0098]; SCI is used for configuring, thus, dynamically configures the COT sharing resources).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “further comprising collecting available COT sharing information from a plurality of cooperative user equipment (UEs) before configuring the first responding device and configuring the second responding device” (see ¶ [0097]; the SCI may indicate remaining unused frequency interlaces (i.e., collecting available COT sharing information) so that other sidelink UE(s) (e.g., another UE) monitoring for the sidelink COT sharing SCI may opportunistically join the COT and utilize the remaining unused frequency interlaces for sidelink transmission (i.e., configuring the first responding device and configuring the second responding device); in this regard, the UE may include in the SCI, an indication of the remaining unused frequency interlaces; thus, collecting available COT sharing information from a plurality of cooperative user equipment (UEs) before configuring the first responding device and configuring the second responding device).
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches “[a] method of wireless communication by a responding device, comprising: receiving, from an initiating device, a first subset of channel occupancy time (COT) sharing resources of a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources of a COT, the first subset of COT sharing resources differing from a second subset of COT sharing resources configured for another device” (see ¶ [0098]; the UE (initiating device) may transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH) to different UEs in different slots within the COT. For example, the UE (initiating device) may schedule (i.e., configuring) three UEs (i.e., one of them includes a responding device) for sidelink communications during the COT, each having a schedule of 4 slots (i.e., a first subset of channel occupancy time (COT) sharing resources of a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources of a COT, the first subset of COT sharing resources differing from a second subset of COT sharing resources configured for another device); thus, from the initiating device, the responding device receives a first subset of channel occupancy time (COT) sharing resources of a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources of a COT, the first subset of COT sharing resources differing from a second subset of COT sharing resources configured for another device);
Sun further teaches “selecting transmission resources from the first subset of COT sharing resources in response to detecting the initiating device acquired the COT” (see ¶ [0099] and FIG. 6; UE 615 c (i.e., responding device) may monitor (detecting) for sidelink COT sharing information from other sidelink UEs; the UE 615 c (responding device) selects the frequency interlace 308 I(1) in the COT for PSSCH/PSCCH communication (i.e., transmission resources from the first subset of COT sharing resources); however, in some other instances, the UE 615 c may select another frequency interlace 308 I(m) for the PSSCH/PSCCH communication 620, where m may be between 2 and 9, and may select more than one unoccupied frequency interlace 308 for the PSSCH/PSCCH communication; thus, selecting transmission resources from the first subset of COT sharing resources in response to detecting the initiating device acquired the COT); and
Sun also teaches “transmitting data on the selected transmission resources” (see ¶ [0099]; the UE 615 c may transmit the PSSCH/PSCCH communication (i.e., data), where the PSCCH may be transmitted in a highest-frequency RB and a lowest-frequency RB of the selected frequency interlace 308 I(1) and the PSSCH may be transmitted using remaining RBs of the selected frequency interlace 308 I(1); thus, transmitting data on the selected transmission resources).
Sun does not explicitly disclose “the first subset of COT sharing resources including an indicated starting time and an indicated duration, the indicated starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the indicated duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” of claim 11. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Xu teaches “the first subset of COT sharing resources including an indicated starting time and an indicated duration” (see ¶ [0179]; time resources include a start time and an end time of a portion of the MCOT (i.e., an indicated starting time and an indicated duration); determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, the first subset of COT sharing resources including an indicated starting time and an indicated duration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to indicate a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
The combination of Sun and Xu does not explicitly disclose “the indicated starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the indicated duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” of claim 11. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Wu teaches “the indicated starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the indicated duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” (see ¶ [0038]; the network device performs LBT in the idle time if LBT succeeds, COT in a next fixed frame period may be used for signal transmission; COT (a length does not exceed 95% of the fixed frame period) (i.e., duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT) and idle time (i.e., an offset) (a length is at least 5% of the COT) (i.e., of a first percentage of a length of the COT); therefore, starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT and the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun in view of Xu to incorporate the teachings of Wu to include a starting time of a subset of COT sharing resources based off an offset of a percentage of a length of the COT and a duration of the resources to last a second percentage of the length of the COT. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve transmission during channel occupancy time (see ¶ [0005] of Wu).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises detecting a transmission from the initiating device before a starting point of the COT” (see ¶ [0101]; the responding UE 615 c may recover timing information associated with the gap periods from the SCI; the UE 615 c may perform an LBT during a gap period indicated by the SCI and transmit the PSSCH/PSCCH communication if the LBT passes (i.e., detecting a transmission from the initiating device before a starting point of the COT)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises receiving a success indication from the initiating device, and a starting point of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources” (see ¶ [0098]; SCI may indicate how long the COT may last (success indication) so that another UE desiring to join the COT may know how long a channel access is allowed when utilizing an unused frequency interlace; the UE 615 a (initiating device) may include in the SCI a duration of the COT and/or an end time of the COT (e.g., a time T1); as described above, a UE winning a COT may use the COT for multiple sidelink transmissions over multiple TTIs or slots to avoid incurring additional LBT overhead or delay (i.e., a starting point of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources)).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “further comprising receiving a COT sharing cancellation from the initiating device” (see ¶ [0098]; receives SCI that includes end time of the COT (i.e., cancellation of COT sharing) from the UE 615 a (initiating device)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations, the method further comprising receiving a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the responding device” (see ¶ [0101]; the UE may indicate (i.e., transmitting) timing information (i.e., a triggering signal indicating) of the gap period (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations) in the SCI to facilitate LBT at the monitoring UE; in this regard, the SCI may include a start time of the gap period, an end time of the gap period, (i.e., where the start time and/or the end time may be relative to a time location of the SCI (e.g., in units of symbol time or any time units) (i.e., a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the first responding device); thus, in which the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations, the method further comprising receiving a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the responding device).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time expressed as an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, the duration lasting a second number of slots” (see ¶ [0179]; determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, and the duration lasting a second number of slots). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to receive a starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point and lasting for a number of slots. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time indicated as a percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting the percentage of the length of the COT” (see ¶ [0179] of Xu and ¶ [0038] of Wu; as explained above with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under 112(d) for failing to further limit the subject matter of claim 11, the claim upon which it depends; therefore, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as claim 11. See the rejection of claim 11).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “receiving a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth” (see ¶ [0097]; UE may include in the SCI, an indication of the remaining unused frequency interlace(s); the SCI may indicate (i.e., receiving) that the frequency interlace (i.e., indicating a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources) 308 I(1) to the frequency interlace 308 I(9) (i.e., the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth) are available for sharing; in some other instances, the UE may include in the SCI including a reservation or indication of the frequency interlace(s) that are to be used by the UE; thus, receiving a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sun, Xu, and Wu teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources is received dynamically” (see ¶ [0098]; SCI is used for configuring, thus, dynamically configures the COT sharing resources).
Regarding claims 21-24 and 27-30, they are apparatus claims corresponding to claims 1-4 and 7-10 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejections of claims 1-4 and 7-10. Claims 21-24 and 27-30 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Oppo. (R1-2008281; published 11/01/2020; “Enhancements for unlicensed band URLLC/IIoT”).
Regarding claim 14, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 but does not explicitly disclose “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises receiving a COT success indication from the initiating device, and a fixed frame period of the initiating device” of claim 14. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Oppo teaches “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises receiving a COT success indication from the initiating device, and a fixed frame period of the initiating device” (see p. 3, lines 1-18; FFP (i.e., fixed frame period) configuration for UE to initiate a COT should be supported with minimum specification effort; thus, receiving a COT success indication from the initiating device, and a fixed frame period of the initiating device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Oppo to have a fixed frame period and success indication of COT. The suggestion to do so would have been to adopt the new telecommunications standards.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hooli et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0058964 A1) teaches determining gap periods/offset based off length of COT and indicating starting time and ending times based off a portion/a percentage of the length of COT.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475