Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 8-10 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues Sun does not teach “configuring a first responding device with a first subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources; and configuring a second responding device with a second subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources” of claim 1 because Applicant contends Sun does not teach “configuration of each responding device with a specific dedicated subset,” which “ensures that different responding devices receive different resource allocations, thereby avoiding collisions.” (Applicant’s response, p. 8). Examiner disagrees.
Firstly, Applicant relies on paragraphs [0059] and [0060] of the specification as-filed of the present application to support their arguments. However, nothing in claim 1 recites that the subset of resources are specific dedicated subset of resources. “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.” (See MPEP 2145 (VI)).
Secondly, as explained in the Office Action dated February 9, 2026, Sun discloses that “UE 615 a [initiating device] may transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH) to different UEs in different slots 606 within the COT 602. For example, the UE 615 a may schedule three UEs for sidelink communications during the COT 602, each having a schedule of 4 slots 606.” (Paragraph [0098] of Sun). In other words, Sun teaches an initiating device configuring three UEs, one of which can be a first responding device and an another can be a second responding device, where each responding device has a subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of COT resources. Accordingly, Sun teaches the limitations of claim 1 and similar limitations of claims 11 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 15, 16, 19-24, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0092783 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches “[a] method of wireless communication by an initiating device, comprising: acquiring a channel occupancy time (COT) including a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources, each of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources including fewer resources than the COT” (see ¶¶ [0064] and [0096]; UE (i.e., initiating device) may initiate or contend (i.e., acquiring) for COT (i.e., channel occupancy time) in the frequency band (i.e., plurality sharing resouces); the frequency band is partitioned into a plurality of frequency interlaces, and each frequency interlace includes K plurality of RBs (i.e., plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources, each of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources including fewer resources than the COT); thus, acquiring a channel occupancy time (COT) including a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources, each of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources including fewer resources than the COT);
Sun further teaches “configuring a first responding device with a first subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources” (see ¶ [0098]; the UE (initiating device) may transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH) to different UEs in different slots within the COT. For example, the UE (initiating device) may schedule (i.e., configuring) three UEs (i.e., one of them includes a first responding device) for sidelink communications during the COT, each having a schedule of 4 slots (i.e., a first subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources); thus, the initiating device configures a first responding device with a first subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources); and
Sun also teaches “configuring a second responding device with a second subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources” (¶ [0098]; the UE (initiating device) may schedule (i.e., configuring) three UEs (i.e., one of them includes a second responding device) for sidelink communications during the COT, each having a schedule of 4 slots (i.e., a second subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources); thus, the initiating device configures a second responding device with a second subset of COT sharing resources of the plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources).
Regarding claim 2, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources is orthogonal to the second subset of COT sharing resources in a frequency domain and/or a time domain” (see ¶ [0098] and FIG. 6; UE (initiating device) may transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH) to different UEs in different slots within the COT (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources is orthogonal to the second subset of COT sharing resources in a frequency domain and/or a time domain)).
Regarding claim 3, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating an absolute location of the first subset of COT sharing resources” (see ¶ [0101; the UE may schedule (i.e., configuring) one or more transmission gap periods in the COT (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources); the UE may determine locations of the gap periods within the COT(i.e., absolute location of the first subset of COT sharing resources); the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating an absolute location of the first subset of COT sharing resources).
Regarding claim 4, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations, the method further comprising transmitting a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the first responding device” (see ¶ [0101]; the UE may indicate (i.e., transmitting) timing information (i.e., a triggering signal indicating) of the gap period (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations) in the SCI to facilitate LBT at the monitoring UE; in this regard, the SCI may include a start time of the gap period, an end time of the gap period, (i.e., where the start time and/or the end time may be relative to a time location of the SCI (e.g., in units of symbol time or any time units) (i.e., a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the first responding device)).
Regarding claim 7, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth” (see ¶ [0097]; UE may include in the SCI, an indication of the remaining unused frequency interlace(s); the SCI may indicate that the frequency interlace (i.e., indicating a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources) 308 I(1) to the frequency interlace 308 I(9) (i.e., the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth) are available for sharing; in some other instances, the UE may include in the SCI including a reservation or indication of the frequency interlace(s) that are to be used by the UE).
Regarding claim 8, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “further comprising receiving, from a base station, signaling indicating COT sharing parameters” (see ¶ [0128]; BS may configure (i.e., receiving signaling) the sidelink UE with a pool sidelink resources, for example, including a certain duration and/or periodicity (i.e., COT sharing parameters) when the sidelink UE may contend for sidelink COTs and/or certain frequency interlace(s) where the sidelink UE may use for sidelink communications after the sidelink UE won a COT; thus, the initiating device further receives, from a base station, signaling indicating COT sharing parameters).
Regarding claim 9, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources occurs dynamically” (see ¶ [0098]; SCI is used for configuring, thus, dynamically configures the COT sharing resources).
Regarding claim 10, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “further comprising collecting available COT sharing information from a plurality of cooperative user equipment (UEs) before configuring the first responding device and configuring the second responding device” (see ¶ [0097]; the SCI may indicate remaining unused frequency interlaces (i.e., collecting available COT sharing information) so that other sidelink UE(s) (e.g., another UE) monitoring for the sidelink COT sharing SCI may opportunistically join the COT and utilize the remaining unused frequency interlaces for sidelink transmission (i.e., configuring the first responding device and configuring the second responding device); in this regard, the UE may include in the SCI, an indication of the remaining unused frequency interlaces; thus, collecting available COT sharing information from a plurality of cooperative user equipment (UEs) before configuring the first responding device and configuring the second responding device).
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches “[a] method of wireless communication by a responding device, comprising: receiving, from an initiating device, a first subset of channel occupancy time (COT) sharing resources of a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources of a COT, the first subset of COT sharing resources differing from a second subset of COT sharing resources configured for another device” (see ¶ [0098]; the UE (initiating device) may transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH) to different UEs in different slots within the COT. For example, the UE (initiating device) may schedule (i.e., configuring) three UEs (i.e., one of them includes a responding device) for sidelink communications during the COT, each having a schedule of 4 slots (i.e., a first subset of channel occupancy time (COT) sharing resources of a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources of a COT, the first subset of COT sharing resources differing from a second subset of COT sharing resources configured for another device); thus, from the initiating device, the responding device receives a first subset of channel occupancy time (COT) sharing resources of a plurality of subsets of COT sharing resources of a COT, the first subset of COT sharing resources differing from a second subset of COT sharing resources configured for another device);
Sun further teaches “selecting transmission resources from the first subset of COT sharing resources in response to detecting the initiating device acquired the COT” (see ¶ [0099] and FIG. 6; UE 615 c (i.e., responding device) may monitor (detecting) for sidelink COT sharing information from other sidelink UEs; the UE 615 c (responding device) selects the frequency interlace 308 I(1) in the COT for PSSCH/PSCCH communication (i.e., transmission resources from the first subset of COT sharing resources); however, in some other instances, the UE 615 c may select another frequency interlace 308 I(m) for the PSSCH/PSCCH communication 620, where m may be between 2 and 9, and may select more than one unoccupied frequency interlace 308 for the PSSCH/PSCCH communication; thus, selecting transmission resources from the first subset of COT sharing resources in response to detecting the initiating device acquired the COT); and
Sun also teaches “transmitting data on the selected transmission resources” (see ¶ [0099]; the UE 615 c may transmit the PSSCH/PSCCH communication (i.e., data), where the PSCCH may be transmitted in a highest-frequency RB and a lowest-frequency RB of the selected frequency interlace 308 I(1) and the PSSCH may be transmitted using remaining RBs of the selected frequency interlace 308 I(1); thus, transmitting data on the selected transmission resources).
Regarding claim 12, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises detecting a transmission from the initiating device before a starting point of the COT” (see ¶ [0101]; the responding UE 615 c may recover timing information associated with the gap periods from the SCI; the UE 615 c may perform an LBT during a gap period indicated by the SCI and transmit the PSSCH/PSCCH communication if the LBT passes (i.e., detecting a transmission from the initiating device before a starting point of the COT)).
Regarding claim 13, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises receiving a success indication from the initiating device, and a starting point of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources” (see ¶ [0098]; SCI may indicate how long the COT may last (success indication) so that another UE desiring to join the COT may know how long a channel access is allowed when utilizing an unused frequency interlace; the UE 615 a (initiating device) may include in the SCI a duration of the COT and/or an end time of the COT (e.g., a time T1); as described above, a UE winning a COT may use the COT for multiple sidelink transmissions over multiple TTIs or slots to avoid incurring additional LBT overhead or delay (i.e., a starting point of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources)).
Regarding claim 15, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “further comprising receiving a COT sharing cancellation from the initiating device” (see ¶ [0098]; receives SCI that includes end time of the COT (i.e., cancellation of COT sharing) from the UE 615 a (initiating device)).
Regarding claim 16, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations, the method further comprising receiving a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the responding device” (see ¶ [0101]; the UE may indicate (i.e., transmitting) timing information (i.e., a triggering signal indicating) of the gap period (i.e., the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations) in the SCI to facilitate LBT at the monitoring UE; in this regard, the SCI may include a start time of the gap period, an end time of the gap period, (i.e., where the start time and/or the end time may be relative to a time location of the SCI (e.g., in units of symbol time or any time units) (i.e., a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the first responding device); thus, in which the first subset of COT sharing resources comprises a plurality of resource locations, the method further comprising receiving a triggering signal indicating a specific location of the plurality of resource locations for use by the responding device).
Regarding claim 19, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “receiving a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth” (see ¶ [0097]; UE may include in the SCI, an indication of the remaining unused frequency interlace(s); the SCI may indicate (i.e., receiving) that the frequency interlace (i.e., indicating a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources) 308 I(1) to the frequency interlace 308 I(9) (i.e., the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth) are available for sharing; in some other instances, the UE may include in the SCI including a reservation or indication of the frequency interlace(s) that are to be used by the UE; thus, receiving a frequency range of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the frequency range including a starting resource block and a frequency bandwidth).
Regarding claim 20, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 and further teaches “in which the first subset of COT sharing resources is received dynamically” (see ¶ [0098]; SCI is used for configuring, thus, dynamically configures the COT sharing resources).
Regarding claims 21-24 and 27-30, they are apparatus claims corresponding to claims 1-4 and 7-10 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejections of claims 1-4 and 7-10. Claims 21-24 and 27-30 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 17, 18, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220078845 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, and the duration lasting a second number of slots” of claim 5. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Xu teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, and the duration lasting a second number of slots” (see ¶ [0179]; determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, and the duration lasting a second number of slots). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to indicate a starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point and lasting for a number of slots. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
Regarding claim 6, Sun teaches the method of claim 1 and but does not explicitly disclose “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” of claim 6. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Xu teaches “in which the configuring of the first subset of COT sharing resources includes indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT” (see ¶¶ [0062] and [0179]; time resources include a start time and an end time of a portion of the MCOT (i.e., an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT and the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT)); determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, indicating a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to indicate a starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point and lasting for a number of slots along with an offset and duration of a percentage of a length of the COT. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
Regarding claim 17, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 but does not explicitly disclose “further comprising receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time expressed as an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, the duration lasting a second number of slots” of claim 17. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Xu teaches “receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time expressed as an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, the duration lasting a second number of slots” (see ¶ [0179]; determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point of the COT, and the duration lasting a second number of slots). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to receive a starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point and lasting for a number of slots. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
Regarding claim 18, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 but does not explicitly disclose “receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time indicated as a percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting the percentage of the length of the COT” of claim 18. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Xu teaches “receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time indicated as a percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting the percentage of the length of the COT” (see ¶¶ [0062] and [0179]; time resources include a start time and an end time of a portion of the MCOT (i.e., an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT and the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT)); determining, according to the COT sharing indication information, a start time and an end time of the time resources used by the user equipment when the user equipment shares the COT with the other user equipment; thus, receiving a starting time of the first subset of COT sharing resources and a duration of the first subset of COT sharing resources, the starting time including an offset of a first percentage of a length of the COT, the duration lasting a second percentage of the length of the COT). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Xu to receive a starting time including an offset of a first number of slots from a starting point and lasting for a number of slots along with an offset and duration of a percentage of a length of the COT. The suggestion to do so would have been to properly make use of a channel (see ¶ [0005] of Xu).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Oppo. (R1-2008281; published 11/01/2020; “Enhancements for unlicensed band URLLC/IIoT”).
Regarding claim 14, Sun teaches the method of claim 11 but does not explicitly disclose “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises receiving a COT success indication from the initiating device, and a fixed frame period of the initiating device” of claim 14. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Oppo teaches “in which detecting that the initiating device acquired the COT comprises receiving a COT success indication from the initiating device, and a fixed frame period of the initiating device” (see p. 3, lines 1-18; FFP (i.e., fixed frame period) configuration for UE to initiate a COT should be supported with minimum specification effort; thus, receiving a COT success indication from the initiating device, and a fixed frame period of the initiating device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sun to incorporate the teachings of Oppo to have a fixed frame period and success indication of COT. The suggestion to do so would have been to adopt the new telecommunications standards.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475