DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-13, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to rejections under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding CN 112112796 and HADAR, applicant is correct in their assertion that these two references do not disclose the claimed subject matter of amended claim 1. However, regarding MITTEER, paragraph [0094] states “The PCB 142 can include various electrical components 152 that can include, but are not limited to, various microprocessors, field- effect transistor (FET) drivers, drive transistors, temperature sensors 178, wiring terminals and other similar features. As will be described more fully below, a portion of the fluid flow path 62 through the modular fluid pump 10 can pass near or in direct engagement with these electrical components 152 for providing cooling to these components during operation of the modular fluid pump 10” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112112796 (inventor undisclosed; previously cited) in view of HADAR (US 20100129239 previously cited)as applied to claims 1-4 and 16, above, and further in view of MITTEER (WO 2020100042 previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, CN 112112796 discloses a fluid drive device (100), comprising a first rotor assembly (1), a second rotor assembly (2), a stator assembly (4) and a circuit board assembly (5), wherein the second rotor assembly (2) is connected torque- transmissively to the first rotor assembly (1) (via the pump shaft (3); see Fig. 1), and the stator assembly (4) is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly (5); the fluid drive device (100) is provided with a first chamber (80) and a second chamber (90), wherein the first rotor assembly (1) is located in the first chamber (80), and the stator assembly (4) and the circuit board assembly (5) are located in the second chamber (90); the first chamber (80) is configured for allowing a working medium to flow therethrough, and the second chamber (90) is configured for accommodating the working medium; and when the second chamber (90) accommodates the working medium (see Fig. 1),
the circuit board assembly (5) comprises a base board and electronic components fixedly connected with the base board.
However, CN 112112796 does not disclose at least part of the circuit board assembly is in contact with the working medium located in the second chamber.
HADAR discloses a similar fluid drive device wherein at least part of a circuit board assembly (352) is in contact with a working medium (see para [0045]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the device of CN 112112796 with at least part of the circuit board assembly is in contact with the working medium located in the second chamber, similar to HADAR.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a cooling effect of the working fluid without altering functionality of the control board, as taught by HADAR (see para [0032] and [0045]).
However, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR does not teach the fluid drive device further comprises a temperature sensing unit electrically connected with the circuit board assembly and electrically connected with the base board; and the temperature sensing unit is in contact with the working medium in the second chamber to detect a temperature of the working medium in the second chamber.
MITTEER teaches a fluid drive device further comprises a temperature sensing unit (178) electrically connected with the circuit board assembly (142) and electrically connected with the base board; and the temperature sensing unit (178) is in contact with the working medium (44) in the second chamber to detect a temperature of the working medium (44) in the second chamber.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the fluid drive device of CN 112112796 in view of HADAR with a temperature sensing unit electrically connected with the circuit board assembly and electrically connected with the base board; and the temperature sensing unit is in contact with the working medium in the second chamber to detect a temperature of the working medium in the second chamber, similar to MITTEER.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve cooling of the PCB, protect the electrical components, control flow of the working fluid, position temperature sensors, and create a design free of fasteners, as taught by MITTEER (see para [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 1, wherein CN 112112796 discloses the first rotor assembly (1), the stator assembly (4) and the circuit board assembly (5) are arranged in a height direction of the fluid drive device (100) (see Fig. 1), and at least part of the stator assembly (4) is in contact with the working medium in the second chamber (90) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 2, wherein CN 112112796 discloses a wall defining the first chamber (80) comprises a bottom wall (802) which supports the first rotor assembly (1); and the fluid drive device (100) comprises a first passage (10) which extends through an upper surface and a lower surface of the bottom wall (802) and communicates the first chamber (80) with the second chamber (90) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 16, wherein CN 112112796 discloses at least part of the working medium in the first chamber (80) flows into the second chamber (90) through the first passage (10); the fluid drive device (100) further comprises a shaft (3), one end of which is connected with part of the first rotor assembly (1), and the other end of which is connected with the second rotor assembly (2); the shaft (3) comprises a second passage (20) which is arranged to extend through a first end face and a second end face of the shaft (3); and during an operation of the fluid drive device (100), a pressure of the working medium at an inlet (101) of the first passage (10) is greater than the pressure at an outlet (201) of the second passage (20), and the working medium leaves the second chamber (90) through the second passage (20) (see Fig. 1 and para [0036]).
Regarding claim 18, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 16, wherein CN 112112796 discloses the fluid drive device (100) further comprises a shaft (3), one end of which is connected with part of the first rotor assembly (1), and the other end of which is connected with the second rotor assembly (2); the shaft (3) comprises a second passage (20) which is arranged to extend through a first end face and a second end face of the shaft (3); the fluid drive device (100) is provided with an inflow passage (61), the second passage (20) is communicated with the inflow passage (61), and the second passage (20) is communicated with the second chamber (90); and during the operation of the fluid drive device (100), the pressure of the working medium at the inlet (101) of the second passage (20) is greater than the pressure at an outlet (201) of the first passage (10) (see Fig. 1 and para [0036]).
Regarding claim 20, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 16.
MITTEER teaches a fluid drive device with a circuit board (142) with at least part of external surfaces of the electronic components (152) are covered with a protective film (an ‘overmold’ see para [0076]).
Regarding claim 19, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 2.
MITTEER teaches a fluid drive device with a circuit board (142) with at least part of external surfaces of the electronic components (152) are covered with a protective film (an ‘overmold’ see para [0076]).
Regarding claim 3, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 1, wherein CN 112112796 discloses a wall defining the first chamber (80) comprises a bottom wall (802) which supports the first rotor assembly (1) (see Fig. 1); and the fluid drive device (100) comprises a first passage (10) which extends through an upper surface and a lower surface of the bottom wall (802) and communicates the first chamber (80) with the second chamber (90) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 3, wherein CN 112112796 discloses at least part of the working medium in the first chamber (80) flows into the second chamber (90) through the first passage (10) (see Fig. 1); the fluid drive device (100) further comprises a shaft (3), one end of which is connected with part of the first rotor assembly (1), and the other end of which is connected with the second rotor assembly (2) (see Fig. 1); the shaft (3) comprises a second passage (20) which is arranged to extend through a first end face and a second end face of the shaft (3) (see Fig. 1); and during an operation of the fluid drive device (100), a pressure of the working medium at an inlet (101) of the first passage (10) is greater than the pressure at an outlet (201) of the second passage (20), and the working medium leaves the second chamber (90) through the second passage (20) (see para [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 4, wherein CN 112112796 teaches the circuit board assembly (5) comprises a base board and electronic components fixedly connected with the base board.
MITTEER teaches a fluid drive device with a circuit board (142) with at least part of external surfaces of the electronic components (152) are covered with a protective film (an ‘overmold’ see para [0076]).
Regarding claim 5, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 3, wherein CN 112112796 discloses the fluid drive device (100) further comprises a shaft (3), one end of which is connected with part of the first rotor assembly (1), and the other end of which is connected with the second rotor assembly (2) (see Fig. 1); the shaft (3) comprises a second passage (20) which is arranged to extend through a first end face and a second end face of the shaft (3) (see Fig. 1); the fluid drive device (100) is provided with an inflow passage (61), the second passage (20) is communicated with the inflow passage (61), and the second passage (20) is communicated with the second chamber (90) (see Fig. 1); and during the operation of the fluid drive device (100), the pressure of the working medium at the inlet (101) of the second passage (20) is greater than the pressure at an outlet (201) of the first passage (10) (see para [0036]).
Regarding claim 7, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 3, wherein CN 112112796 teaches the circuit board assembly (5) comprises a base board and electronic components fixedly connected with the base board.
MITTEER teaches a fluid drive device with a circuit board (142) with at least part of external surfaces of the electronic components (152) are covered with a protective film (an ‘overmold’ see para [0076]).
Regarding claim 6, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 1.
MITTEER teaches a fluid drive device with a circuit board (142) with at least part of external surfaces of the electronic components (152) are covered with a protective film (an ‘overmold’ see para [0076]).
Regarding claim 13, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 1, wherein MITTEER discloses the base board comprises a front surface and a back surface, and the front surface is closer to the first rotor assembly (18) than the back surface in a height direction of the fluid drive device; the electronic components (152) comprise heat- generating electronic components, the temperature sensing unit (178) is supported on one of the front surface and the back surface, and the heat-generating electronic components (152) are supported on the other of the front surface and the back surface.
Regarding claim 14, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 1, wherein CN 112112796 discloses the fluid drive device (100) further comprises a motor housing (7), an upper cover (6) and a bottom cover (8); at least part of the motor housing (7) is located between the upper cover (6) and the bottom cover (8) in a height direction of the fluid drive device (100); one side of the motor housing (7) in the height direction of the fluid drive device is relatively fixedly connected with the upper cover (6), and the other side of the motor housing (7) in the height direction of the fluid drive device is relatively fixedly connected with the bottom cover (8); the motor housing (7) is provided with a first accommodating chamber (800), wherein at least part of the stator assembly (4) is located in the first accommodating chamber (800), the first accommodating chamber (800) constitutes at least part of the second chamber (90), and opposing peripheral side walls of the bottom cover (8) and the first accommodating chamber (800) seal against each other (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 14, wherein CN 112112796 discloses the fluid drive device (100) further comprises a first sealing ring; the bottom cover (8) is provided with a groove which is recessed from the outer peripheral surface of the bottom cover (8); at least part of the first sealing ring is located in the groove; a radial inner side of the first sealing ring abuts against the corresponding bottom surface of the groove, and a radial outer side of the first sealing ring abuts against the corresponding peripheral side wall of the first accommodating chamber (800) (see annotated Fig. 1, below).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER as applied to claims 6-8 above, and further in view of HATTORI (US 20130069494).
Regarding claim 9, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 6,
However, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER does not teach the circuit board assembly further comprises an adhesive portion supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion; and a height of the protective film is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion.
HATTORI teaches a inverter for a fluid drive device having a circuit board assembly (30) which further comprises an adhesive portion (40) supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion (40) is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film (41) are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion (40); and a height of the protective film (41) is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion (40) (see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the fluid drive device of CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER with the circuit board assembly further comprises an adhesive portion supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion; and a height of the protective film is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion, similar to that of HATTORI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide vibration resistance, moisture resistance, and electrical insulation, as taught by HATTORI (see para [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 10, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 7.
However, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER does not teach the circuit board assembly further comprises an adhesive portion supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion; and a height of the protective film is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion.
HATTORI teaches a inverter for a fluid drive device having a circuit board assembly (30) which further comprises an adhesive portion (40) supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion (40) is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film (41) are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion (40); and a height of the protective film (41) is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion (40) (see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the fluid drive device of CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER with the circuit board assembly further comprises an adhesive portion supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion; and a height of the protective film is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion, similar to that of HATTORI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide vibration resistance, moisture resistance, and electrical insulation, as taught by HATTORI (see para [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 11, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER teaches the fluid drive device according to claim 8.
However, CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER does not teach the circuit board assembly further comprises an adhesive portion supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion; and a height of the protective film is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion.
HATTORI teaches a inverter for a fluid drive device having a circuit board assembly (30) which further comprises an adhesive portion (40) supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion (40) is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film (41) are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion (40); and a height of the protective film (41) is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion (40) (see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the fluid drive device of CN 112112796 in view of HADAR and further in view of MITTEER with the circuit board assembly further comprises an adhesive portion supported on and adhered to the base board; an outer contour of the adhesive portion is in a closed shape, and at least part of the electronic components covered with the protective film are located in an area surrounded by the adhesive portion; and a height of the protective film is less than or equal to that of the adhesive portion, similar to that of HATTORI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide vibration resistance, moisture resistance, and electrical insulation, as taught by HATTORI (see para [0039]-[0040]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6447270 SCHMIDT discloses an electronic control circuit in which a thin dielectric film permitting heat transfer may be optionally used on control circuit components.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834