DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHRESTHA et al (20220046486).
Regarding claim 1, SHRESTHA et al discloses, an infrastructure equipment (504A, 504B, fig. 5) for providing a wireless interface to a communications node (506, fig. 5) in a wireless communications network, the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for the communications node, wherein in the wireless backhaul configuration the communications node is configured to provide a wireless backhaul between one or more communications devices (502a, 502b, 502N, fig. 5) and the infrastructure equipment, the infrastructure equipment comprising (abstract, fig. 4-11):
a transmitter configured to transmit, via a wireless access interface, signals to the communications node (506, fig. 5) (¶ 0067-0068, FIG. 5 is an example communication flow 500 between a group of UEs and a base station that communicates via a satellite. As illustrated in FIG. 5, a group of UEs 502 including one or more UEs 502A, 502B, and 502N are in communication 510 with a base station 504A via a satellite 506. The UEs 502A-502N may have an RRC connection with the base station 504A, for example. In some aspects, communication 510 between the base station 504A and the UEs in the group of UEs 502 may be exchanged via the satellite 506. The communication 510 may include data, control, etc. The communication 510 may include downlink communication and/or uplink communication);
a receiver configured to receive, via the wireless access interface, signals from the communications node (¶ 0067-0068, FIG. 5 is an example communication flow 500 between a group of UEs and a base station that communicates via a satellite. As illustrated in FIG. 5, a group of UEs 502 including one or more UEs 502A, 502B, and 502N are in communication 510 with a base station 504A via a satellite 506. The UEs 502A-502N may have an RRC connection with the base station 504A, for example. In some aspects, communication 510 between the base station 504A and the UEs in the group of UEs 502 may be exchanged via the satellite 506. The communication 510 may include data, control, etc. The communication 510 may include downlink communication and/or uplink communication); and
a controller configured to determine to handover the communications node (504A, fig. 5) to the other infrastructure equipment (504B, fig. 5) (¶ 0069-0070, the base station 504A may determine, at 518, to initiate a group handover for the group of UEs 502. The determination may be based on any of a variety of triggering events. For example, the base station 504A may determine to initiate the group handover based on measurement-based triggering where cell quality for the group of UEs 502 has exceeded or fallen below a configured threshold.);
wherein the controller is further configured to operate with the transmitter and receiver to:
transmit, to the other infrastructure equipment (504B, fig. 5), one or more handover requests including first node configuration information for the communications node and first device configuration information for each of the one or more communications devices (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station);
receive, from the other infrastructure equipment (504B, fig. 5), one or more handover request acknowledgements (¶ 0070-0071, receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station);
determine second device configuration information based on the one or more handover request acknowledgements, wherein the second device configuration information for a first communications device of the one or more communications devices is different to the first device configuration information for the first communications device (¶ 0070-0071, Signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) information may provide a UE specific configuration, and UE specific integrity protection and ciphering of the RRC message may be applied for the SRB1 information for each individual UE in the group. An SRB-x, such as SRB 3 or SRB 4, may include group specific configuration information and may be protected with security information that is known to each of the UEs in the group. For example, access stratum (AS) security information may be transmitted to the group of UEs 502, and the signaling radio bearer information may be sent to the group of UEs with integrity protection and ciphering based on the AS security information for the group of UEs. A common group AS key may be provided to each UE in the group of UEs 502 upon joining of the group. In some aspects, the common group AS key may be derived using a set of cell specific or group specific parameters. For the group handover, the base station may transmit an RRC message that includes a list of RRC reconfiguration messages for multiple UEs. The RRC reconfiguration messages may include delta RRC configuration for each UE based on the particular UE's current configuration.);
transmit, via the communications node and to the first communications device, the second device configuration information for the first communications device (¶ 0071-0072, the base station 504A may transmit the group handover message 524 comprising multiple RRC messages to the group of UEs 502. The multiple RRC messages may be multiplexed at medium access control (MAC) using one or more same or different logical channel identifiers (LCIDs). Each UE in the group of UEs 502 may attempt to decode all of the RRC messages in the multiplexed RRC messages (such as in SRB1). In some aspects, each UE may utilize a current SRB1 configuration and AS security profile for the particular UE to attempt to decode the multiple RRC messages. A UE in the group of UEs may decode a single RRC message from the multiplexed RRC messages based on the UE's AS security profile, e.g., one RRC message will pass the integrity protection check for the UE).
Regarding claim 2, SHRESTHA et al discloses, a first handover request including the first node configuration information, and a second handover request for each of the one or more communications devices including first device configuration information for the respective one or more communications devices (¶ 0066, 0070-0071, 0101, Signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) information may provide a UE specific configuration, and UE specific integrity protection and ciphering of the RRC message may be applied for the SRB1 information for each individual UE in the group. An SRB-x, such as SRB 3 or SRB 4, may include group specific configuration information and may be protected with security information that is known to each of the UEs in the group. For example, access stratum (AS) security information may be transmitted to the group of UEs 502, and the signaling radio bearer information may be sent to the group of UEs with integrity protection and ciphering based on the AS security information for the group of UEs. A common group AS key may be provided to each UE in the group of UEs 502 upon joining of the group. In some aspects, the common group AS key may be derived using a set of cell specific or group specific parameters. For the group handover, the base station may transmit an RRC message that includes a list of RRC reconfiguration messages for multiple UEs. The RRC reconfiguration messages may include delta RRC configuration for each UE based on the particular UE's current configuration and The baseband unit 804 may further include means for transmitting a group handover request for the group of UEs to a target base station. The baseband unit 804 may further include means for receiving a group handover acknowledgment from the target base station).
Regarding claim 3, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein one or more handover request acknowledgements include a first handover request acknowledgement for each of the one or more of communications devices (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station).
Regarding claim 4, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein the one or more handover request acknowledgements further comprise a second handover request acknowledgement including the second node configuration information (¶ 0070-0071, 0101, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station and the baseband unit 804 may further include means for transmitting a group handover request for the group of UEs to a target base station. The baseband unit 804 may further include means for receiving a group handover acknowledgment from the target base station).
Regarding claim 5, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein the one or more handover request acknowledgements include the second device configuration information (¶ 0066, 0070-0071, 0101, Signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) information may provide a UE specific configuration, and UE specific integrity protection and ciphering of the RRC message may be applied for the SRB1 information for each individual UE in the group. An SRB-x, such as SRB 3 or SRB 4, may include group specific configuration information and may be protected with security information that is known to each of the UEs in the group. For example, access stratum (AS) security information may be transmitted to the group of UEs 502, and the signaling radio bearer information may be sent to the group of UEs with integrity protection and ciphering based on the AS security information for the group of UEs. A common group AS key may be provided to each UE in the group of UEs 502 upon joining of the group. In some aspects, the common group AS key may be derived using a set of cell specific or group specific parameters. For the group handover, the base station may transmit an RRC message that includes a list of RRC reconfiguration messages for multiple UEs. The RRC reconfiguration messages may include delta RRC configuration for each UE based on the particular UE's current configuration and The baseband unit 804 may further include means for transmitting a group handover request for the group of UEs to a target base station. The baseband unit 804 may further include means for receiving a group handover acknowledgment from the target base station).
Regarding claim 6, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein the first node configuration includes one or more of channel configuration information, backhaul configuration information, and address configuration information (¶ 0066, 0070-0071, 0101, Signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) information may provide a UE specific configuration, and UE specific integrity protection and ciphering of the RRC message may be applied for the SRB1 information for each individual UE in the group. An SRB-x, such as SRB 3 or SRB 4, may include group specific configuration information and may be protected with security information that is known to each of the UEs in the group. For example, access stratum (AS) security information may be transmitted to the group of UEs 502, and the signaling radio bearer information may be sent to the group of UEs with integrity protection and ciphering based on the AS security information for the group of UEs. A common group AS key may be provided to each UE in the group of UEs 502 upon joining of the group. In some aspects, the common group AS key may be derived using a set of cell specific or group specific parameters. For the group handover, the base station may transmit an RRC message that includes a list of RRC reconfiguration messages for multiple UEs. The RRC reconfiguration messages may include delta RRC configuration for each UE based on the particular UE's current configuration and The baseband unit 804 may further include means for transmitting a group handover request for the group of UEs to a target base station. The baseband unit 804 may further include means for receiving a group handover acknowledgment from the target base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-15, 18, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHRESTHA et al (20220046486) in view of Park et al (20240064595).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 14, SHRESTHA et al discloses, in ¶ 0031, 0042-0043, 0070-0073, receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190 with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless. The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.
SHRESTHA et al does not specifically disclose the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al discloses, the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node, (¶ 0318, 0434, 0468…, support an access node to receive backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes and may support to determine whether to perform a handover of a wireless device based on the backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or the neighboring access nodes, based on backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes, an access node may decide a handover of a wireless device depending on service requirements of the wireless device). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of SHRESTHA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the BS can determine whether to transmit the control signal, service performs a handover to a new cell served by an access node with a backhaul link in response to the determination, thus reducing power consumption of the BS in an effective manner. The method allows the BS to transmit control signals to the wireless devices in an efficient manner, thus improving user experience in an easy manner as taught by Park et al.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 13, SHRESTHA et al discloses, in ¶ 0031, 0042-0043, 0070-0073, receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190 with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless. The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.
SHRESTHA et al does not specifically disclose determining that the other infrastructure equipment will not support the wireless backhaul configuration for the communications node.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al discloses, determining that the other infrastructure equipment will not support the wireless backhaul configuration for the communications node (¶ 0318, 0434-0436, 0447…, FIG. 36, if the first cell does not supports/meets at least one of the service requirements e.g., URLLC service of the wireless device and/or requirements for the device type). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of SHRESTHA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the BS can determine whether to transmit the control signal, service performs a handover to a new cell served by an access node with a backhaul link in response to the determination, thus reducing power consumption of the BS in an effective manner. The method allows the BS to transmit control signals to the wireless devices in an efficient manner, thus improving user experience in an easy manner as taught by Park et al.
Regarding claim 9, SHRESTHA et al discloses, in ¶ 0031, 0042-0043, 0070-0073, receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190 with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless. The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.
SHRESTHA et al does not specifically disclose the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al discloses, the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node, (¶ 0318, 0434, 0468…, support an access node to receive backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes and may support to determine whether to perform a handover of a wireless device based on the backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or the neighboring access nodes, based on backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes, an access node may decide a handover of a wireless device depending on service requirements of the wireless device). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of SHRESTHA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the BS can determine whether to transmit the control signal, service performs a handover to a new cell served by an access node with a backhaul link in response to the determination, thus reducing power consumption of the BS in an effective manner. The method allows the BS to transmit control signals to the wireless devices in an efficient manner, thus improving user experience in an easy manner as taught by Park et al.
Regarding claim 11, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein the indication is included in a message received by the infrastructure equipment, from the other infrastructure equipment, prior to transmitting the one or more handover requests (see claims 1 and 7, further, ¶ 0031, 0042-0043, 0071-0073, (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station; the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly (e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 (e.g., X2 interface). The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless. The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly (e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 (e.g., X2 interface). The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.).
Regarding claim 11, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein the indication is included in a message received by the infrastructure equipment, from the other infrastructure equipment, prior to transmitting the one or more handover requests (see claims 1 and 7, further, ¶ 0031, 0042-0043, 0071-0073, (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station; the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly (e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 (e.g., X2 interface). The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless. The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly (e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 (e.g., X2 interface). The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.).
Regarding claim 15, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein the second device configuration information for the first communications device indicates that the first communications device is to connect directly to the other infrastructure equipment (see claim 1 and 8, further, ¶ 0041, 0104, to connect to the target base station, in some aspects, the UE decodes one RRC message in the multiplexed RRC messages that is directed to the UE.).
Regarding claim 18, SHRESTHA et al discloses, an infrastructure equipment for providing a wireless interface to a communications node in a wireless communications network, the infrastructure equipment comprising (abstract, fig. 1-9):
a transmitter configured to transmit, via a wireless access interface, signals to the communications node and to another infrastructure equipment (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station);
a receiver configured to receive, via the wireless access interface, signals from the communications node and the other infrastructure equipment (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station); and
a controller is further configured to operate with the transmitter and receiver to: receive, from the other infrastructure equipment, one or more handover requests including first node configuration information for the communications node and first device configuration information for each of the one or more communications devices (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station);
transmit, to the other infrastructure equipment, one or more handover request acknowledgements, wherein the one or more handover request acknowledgements enable the other infrastructure equipment to determine second device configuration information based on the one or more handover request acknowledgements, wherein the second device configuration information for a first communications device of the one or more communications devices is different to the first device configuration information for the first communications device (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station);
SHRESTHA et al discloses, in ¶ 0031, 0042-0043, 0070-0073, receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190 with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless. The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.
SHRESTHA et al does not specifically disclose the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al discloses, the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node, wherein in the wireless backhaul configuration communications node is configured to provide a wireless backhaul between one or more communications devices and the infrastructure equipment (¶ 0318, 0434, 0468…, support an access node to receive backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes and may support to determine whether to perform a handover of a wireless device based on the backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or the neighboring access nodes, based on backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes, an access node may decide a handover of a wireless device depending on service requirements of the wireless device). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of SHRESTHA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the BS can determine whether to transmit the control signal, service performs a handover to a new cell served by an access node with a backhaul link in response to the determination, thus reducing power consumption of the BS in an effective manner. The method allows the BS to transmit control signals to the wireless devices in an efficient manner, thus improving user experience in an easy manner as taught by Park et al.
Regarding claim 21, SHRESTHA et al discloses, a device, the device configured to:
receive, from an infrastructure equipment for providing a wireless interface to a communications node in a wireless communications network (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station);
transmit, to another infrastructure equipment and based on the indication, a signal indicating (¶ 0070-0071, after the base station 504A determines, at 518, to handover the group of UEs 502, the base station 504A may transmit a handover request 520 to the base station 504B and receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station).
SHRESTHA et al discloses, in ¶ 0031, 0042-0043, 0070-0073, receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190 with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless. The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190) with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface. The first backhaul links 132, the second backhaul links 184, and the third backhaul links 134 may be wired or wireless.
SHRESTHA et al does not specifically disclose the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al discloses, the infrastructure equipment configured to support a wireless backhaul configuration for a communications node, wherein in the wireless backhaul configuration communications node is configured to provide a wireless backhaul between one or more communications devices and the infrastructure equipment (¶ 0318, 0434, 0468…, support an access node to receive backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes and may support to determine whether to perform a handover of a wireless device based on the backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or the neighboring access nodes, based on backhaul link information of neighboring cells and/or neighboring access nodes, an access node may decide a handover of a wireless device depending on service requirements of the wireless device). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of SHRESTHA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the BS can determine whether to transmit the control signal, service performs a handover to a new cell served by an access node with a backhaul link in response to the determination, thus reducing power consumption of the BS in an effective manner. The method allows the BS to transmit control signals to the wireless devices in an efficient manner, thus improving user experience in an easy manner as taught by Park et al.
Regarding claim 22, SHRESTHA et al discloses, wherein the device is a communications device of the one or more communications devices, or wherein the device is the communications node (see claim 21 further, ¶ 0070-0073, receive a handover acknowledgment 522 from the base station 504B. Then the base station 504A may transmit one or more group handover messages 524 to the group of UEs 502. Each UE in the group of UEs processes the group handover message 524, as illustrated at 525, in order to determine that the UE is being handed over to a target base station and the base stations 102 may communicate directly or indirectly e.g., through the EPC 160 or core network 190 with each other over third backhaul links 134 e.g., X2 interface.).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643