DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant filed a response, amended claim 1, 3, 5, 8-9, 12, 18-20; and cancelled claims 2 and 4; and added new claim 21 on 07/14/2026.
The 112(a) rejection previously presented is withdrawn in view of the amendment of claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Wang still fails to teach or suggest "at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and at least part of one or both feet of the omega-shaped preform and extending beyond a terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite thereto," as recited in amended claim 1. Further, with respect to Douglas, caul plate 50 does not "extend[] beyond a terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite thereto" as claim 1 recites. Also, Douglas' structural member 25 (on which the Office Action relies to disclose the recited "omega-shaped preform") covers caul plate 50 whereas the opposite relationship is depicted in Wang with respect to composite workpiece 202 and rigid form 204. Thus, it would not have been obvious to modify Douglas based on Wang to provide the recitations of amended independent claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding Douglas and the 103 rejection over Douglas:
Douglas teaches at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending longitudinally and transversely so as to cover at least partially the second surface of the stiffener preform, said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section with a transverse dimension smaller than the transverse dimension of the first surface of the skin preform (Figure 4 and 14, item 25 and [0040]). Douglas teaches the feet of said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling and preform extend to the same extent.
Douglas does not teach extending the said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling beyond at least one feet.
However, inder the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, the preforms, including the omega-shaped preform, are materials worked upon by the apparatus and are not structural components of the apparatus.
The limitation directed to the extension of said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling beyond a terminal end of at least one foot appears to be a limitation during a manner of operation with a omega-shaped preform with particular parameters. Given that said at least one local rigid stiffener of Douglas is also omega-shaped with lateral flanks and two feet, said at least one local rigid stiffener of Douglas would be capable of use with preforms with short feet such that said at least one local rigid stiffener of Douglas applies pressure to the entire preform during processing.
A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP §§ 2115).
The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Regarding Wang and the alternative rejection over Douglas in view of Wang:
Wang teaches a system for composite manufacturing using expandable elements and a caul plate to apply pressure to the outside and inside of the composite preform (Figure 11-13).
Wang teaches an omega-shaped preform (Figure 8 and 11, item 202) disposed on a caul plate (Figure 8 and 11, item 204 and [0068]), which acts to apply pressure to a surface of the uncured preform as a conventional caul plate [0069]-[0070]. The caul plate extends beyond the length of feet of the omega-shaped preform, thereby apply pressure on the entire preform.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Douglas, in particular the caul plate of Douglas, to extend beyond the preform of the preform compacted to yield the predictable result of applying pressure to the entire preform as taught by Wang.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a positioning tooling” in claim 10 and 11;
“ a sealing device” in claim 6; and
“a device for creating a vacuum in an internal volume” in claim 7.
The following interpretations are made:
based on the disclosure and Figures 8 and 9, “a positioning tooling” will be interpreted as a tool and its equivalents thereof.
based on [0070], “ a sealing device” will be interpreted as a seal and its equivalents thereof; and
based on [0069], “a device for creating a vacuum in an internal volume” will be interpreted as a vacuum system and its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3, 6-11, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 requires “said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and at least part of one or both feet of the omega-shaped preform and extending beyond a terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite thereto.”
Accordingly, claim 1 requires a particular embodiment said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling. It appears claim 19 and 20 are limitations directed to different embodiments.
Claim 19 requires “said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks, wherein a terminal end of one or both feet are uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.”
Claim 20 requires “wherein said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling is a single local rigid stiffener extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and the common apex, wherein a terminal end of one or both feet are uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.”
It is unclear how an embodiment satisfying claim 1 requiring said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending beyond a terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite would also satisfy claim 19 limitation of said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling leaving both feet of the preform uncovered.
It is unclear how an embodiment satisfying claim 1 requiring said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending beyond a terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite would also satisfy claim 20 limitation of said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling leaving both feet of the preform uncovered.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it appears claim 19, dependent on claim 1, would require said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling is a single local rigid stiffener extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and the common apex, wherein a terminal end of one foot is uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it appears claim 20, dependent on claim 1, would require said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling is a single local rigid stiffener extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and the common apex, wherein a terminal end of one foot is uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.
Claim 1, line 13 recites “wherein said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for the limitation.
Claim 1 later positively claims “at least one local rigid stiffener tooling”. It is unclear if the limitations are in reference to the same structure.
Claim 1 recites “a terminal end of one or both feet…” Claim 19 and 20 recites
“wherein a terminal end of one or both feet are uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.” It is unclear if the “terminal end” referenced in claims 19 and 20 are identical to the terminal end of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As explained above, claim 1 requires said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending beyond a terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite.
Claims 19 and 20 fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends, as said claims require wherein a terminal end of one or both feet are uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547).
Regarding claim 1, Douglas teaches an assembly structure for manufacturing a composite part comprising a stiffener joined to a skin from skin and stiffener preforms, the assembly structure comprising:
a set of preforms that comprises:
a skin preform having first and second opposing surfaces (Figure 14, item 46 and [0056]),
a stiffener preform of generally omega-shaped cross-section having first and second opposing surfaces, the first surface of the stiffener preform being disposed opposite the first surface of the skin preform, the stiffener preform extending along the first surface of the skin preform along a longitudinal axis and transversely to this longitudinal axis (Figure 14, item 25 and [0040], [0043]),
a rigid skin tooling disposed opposite the entire second surface of the skin
preform (Figure 14, item 71 and [0051]),
at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending longitudinally and transversely so as to cover at least partially the second surface of the stiffener preform, said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section with a transverse dimension smaller than the transverse dimension of the first surface of the skin preform (Figure 4 and 14, item 25 and [0040]),
at least one flexible envelope covering at least a portion of said at least
one local rigid stiffener tooling and the first surface of the skin preform (Figure 15 and [0052]),
wherein the generally omega-shaped stiffener preform cross-section comprises two lateral flanks which are each connected, by a first of their two opposite ends, to a
common portion forming an apex of the preform and, by each of their second opposite ends, to a foot of the preform (Figure 4 and 15 and [0040]),
wherein said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and at least part of one or both feet of the omega (Figure 4 and 15).
Douglas does not teach the rigid stiffener tooling extending beyond terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite thereto.
Alternatively, the limitation appears to require an omega-shaped preform with a certain feet length. Examiner notes the preform, including the omega-shaped preform, is a material worked upon. “Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” (see MPEP § 2115).
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. The apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Therefore, while the rigid stiffener tooling of Douglas does not extend beyond the terminal end at least foot of the omega-shaped preform, the stiffener tooling is capable of being used omega-shaped preforms of varying features, including shorter feet. During practice of the apparatus of Douglas, it appears selection of an omega-shaped preform with shorter feet would result in the rigid stiffener tooling extending beyond terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite thereto.
Regarding claim 3, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the
stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks of the preform and at least a
portion of one or both feet of the preform (Figure 4, 12, and 14).
Regarding claim 5, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 3,
wherein said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling has a portion located opposite each
of the connection areas between each of the flanks and the adjacent foot of the omega
of the stiffener preform, each tooling portion having a predetermined geometric radius of
curvature (Figure 4, 12, and 14).
Regarding claim 19, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1.
Douglas does not teach said at least one rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks, wherein a terminal end of one foot is uncovered by the at least one rigid stiffener tooling.
Alternatively, the limitation appears to require an omega-shaped preform with a certain feet length. Examiner notes the preform, including the omega-shaped preform, is a material worked upon. “Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” (see MPEP § 2115).
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. The apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Therefore, while the rigid stiffener tooling of Douglas does not extend beyond the terminal end of the omega-shaped preform, the stiffener tooling is capable of being used omega-shaped preforms of varying features, including extended feet. During practice of the apparatus of Douglas, it appears selection of an omega-shaped preform with extended feet would result in a terminal end of one or both feet are uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.
Regarding claim 20, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein said rigid stiffener tooling is a single local rigid stiffener extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and the common apex.
Douglas does not teach a terminal end of one foot is uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.
Examiner notes the preform, including the omega-shaped preform, is a material worked upon. “Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” (see MPEP § 2115).
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. The apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Therefore, while the rigid stiffener tooling of Douglas does not extend beyond the terminal end of the omega-shaped preform, the stiffener tooling is capable of being used omega-shaped preforms of varying features, including extended foot or feet. During practice of the apparatus of Douglas, it appears selection of an omega-shaped preform with extended feet would result in a terminal end of one or both feet are uncovered by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling.
Regarding claim 21, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein said rigid stiffener tooling is a single local rigid stiffener extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and the common apex.
Douglas does not teach a portion of the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling that extends beyond the terminal end of at least one foot of the omega-shaped preform follows a profile of the terminal end to form an edge flange.
Examiner notes the preform, including the omega-shaped preform, is a material worked upon. “Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” (see MPEP § 2115).
The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. The apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Therefore, while the rigid stiffener tooling of Douglas does not extend beyond the terminal end of the omega-shaped preform, the stiffener tooling is capable of being used omega-shaped preforms of varying features, including a short foot. During practice of the apparatus of Douglas, it appears selection of an omega-shaped preform with a short foot would result in a terminal end of the foot being surpass by the at by the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling, thereby extending over a profile of the terminal end and forming an edge flange.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Wilson (GB2316036).
Regarding claim 6, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein the preform is vacuum bagged and impregnated through an infusion process [0052].
Douglas does not explicitly teach a seal between the flexible envelope and said at least one rigid skin tooling.
Wilson teaches a system for resin infusion (Page 45-46) comprising a rigid tool and an elastomeric bag (Figure 9, page 6), further comprising a seal (Figure 3, item 17). Douglas teaches a sealing project formed in the vacuum bag (Figure 3) or a separate sealing projection formed by molding a solid elastomeric bead into the inner surface of the semi-stiff area 15b, the bead being identical in shape and volume to the corresponding sealing recess 17 in the tool face, such that the volume of the bead will expand on heat up of the apparatus thus reinforcing the sealing connection (Page 32-33 and 46). Wilson also teaches a clamp that applies pressure at the end of the vacuum bag to seal the outer peripheral (Page 33 and 46).
While Douglas teaches vacuum bagging the preform before resin infusion and would appear to require a sealing mechanism to enclose the volume, Douglas does not explicitly teach the sealing mechanism, prompting one to look elsewhere in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Douglas with a seal and clamp as taught by Wilson, a known suitable mechanism to couple and seal a vacuum bag against a rigid tool for the purpose of enclosing a volume for resin infusion as taught by Wilson.
Regarding claim 7-9, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1, wherein the preform is vacuum bagged and impregnated [0052].
Douglas does not explicitly teach a vacuum system for creating a vacuum in an internal volume delimited jointly by the flexible envelope and said at least one rigid tooling with respect to an outside of the assembly and potential one or more conduits for injecting a resin.
Douglas does not teach said at least one rigid skin tooling comprises a resin infusion tooling which has the conduit or conduits for injecting a resin between the rigid skin tooling and the flexible envelope.
Douglas does not teach wherein the resin infusion tooling is disposed opposite the second surface of the skin preform and the flexible envelope is disposed opposite said at least one rigid stiffener tooling.
Wilson teaches a system for resin infusion of fibrous preforms (Figure 1A-1E and 3), comprising a rigid tool and an elastomeric bag (Figure 9, Page 6 and 45), a seal and clamp (Figure 3, item 17 and 19), resin infusion system disposed through the rigid tool (Figure 9 and Page 45 and 46), and a vacuum system (Figure 3, item 325 and Page 46). Wilson teaches at least the rigid comprises a resin infusion tooling which has the conduit or conduits for injecting a resin between the rigid skin tooling and the flexible envelope (Figure 9).
While it appears Douglas suggests using a vacuum, as the preform is vacuum bagged, Douglas does not explicitly teach a vacuum system, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere in the art for the mechanism to infuse a vacuum bagged preform. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Douglas with a vacuum system and resin infusion tooling disposed through the rigid tool as taught by Wilson, a known suitable mechanism for infusing preform(s) with a rigid tool and flexible membrane as taught by Wilson, to yield the predictable result of infusing and curing the preform.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Feeney (PG-PUB 2016/0107400).
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1.
Douglas does not teach a positioning tooling which is disposed against the flexible envelop on a side opposite the skin tooling,
wherein the positioning tooling comprises at least one cavity whose shape is suitable for receiving said at least one rigid stiffener tooling and the stiffener preform as well as at least partially the flexible envelope.
Feeney teaches an assembly for performing resin infusion of a preform using a vacuum bag and rigid tool (Figure 3), further comprising a positioning tool (Figure 4,item 38). Feeney teaches a resin injection port, bleed port, and vacuum port formed through the lower mold (Figure 3 and [0043]). Feeney teaches the positioning tool is rigid and positioned so as to define a volume 40 between the vacuum bag 20 and the positioning tool 38.such that the vacuum bag 20 is permitted to lift off the surface 18 of the preform 14 in a controlled and pre-determined amount (Figure 3-6 and [0043]-[0048]), thereby providing a pressure chamber [0045]. Feeney teaches a super-atmospheric pressure may be applied in ways by the positioning tool 38 other than by the control of a pressure medium in the volume 40 between the positioning tool 38 and the vacuum bag 20 [0047].
While it appears Douglas suggests using a vacuum and performing resin infusion, Douglas does not explicitly teach the mechanisms utilized, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look elsewhere in the art for the mechanism to infuse a vacuum bagged preform. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Douglas with a vacuum system, resin infusion tooling, and positioning tooling of Feeney, a known suitable mechanism for infusing preforms with a rigid tool and flexible membrane, to yield the predictable result of infusing and curing the preform.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Saini (PG-PUB 2020/0254702).
Regarding claim 18, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1.
Douglas does not teach said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks, wherein the common apex is uncovered by said at least one rigid stiffener tooling.
Saini teaches a caul plate for application onto an uncured composite material (Abstract and Figure 5). Saini teaches the caul plate controls wrinkling the composite [0025]-[0026]. Saini teaches each caul plate has an L-shaped configuration and is positioned on opposite sides of an uncured composite material of blade stringer such that the apex of the stringer is uncovered (Figure 5 and [0026]-[0028]). Saini teaches other shapes of caul plates can be used for accommodating other shapes of stringers or other composite parts being fabricated [0026].
Both Douglas and Saini are drawn to the same field of endeavor pertaining to manufacturing stringers or stiffeners using caul plates. Based on the teachings of Saini, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the shape of caul plates can be modified according to the desired shape of the composite. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized applying pressure to the lateral flanks and foot of stringers or stiffeners and leaving the apex exposed is a suitable configuration to reduce wrinkling in composites. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the caul plate of Douglas into two plates covering the lateral flanks of the preform while leaving the apex exposed, a known suitable configuration for stringers as taught by Saini, for the purpose of controlling wrinkles in only areas of concern.
Alternatively, Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Heath (PG-PUB 2020/0130291) with Coxon (PG-PUB 2019/0329509) applied as evidence only.
Regarding claim 19, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1.
Douglas does not teach said at least one rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks, wherein a terminal end of one foot is uncovered by the at least one rigid stiffener tooling.
Heath teaches a co-cured composite assembly comprising a thermal expansion insert (Figure 2 item 106). Heath teaches the insert applies pressure to an uncured omega-shaped preform, where the lateral flanks and apex are covered but both feet are uncovered (Figure 2-4 and [0035], [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective fling date of the invention to modify the assembly of Douglas, in particularly the shape of caul plate, with a shape that leaves the feet of the preform exposed as taught by Heath, a known caul plate configuration that provides suitable pressure to omega-shaped preforms.
With regards to the interpretations made due to indefinite issues present in claim 19 as discussed above, operating the apparatus such that an omega-shaped preform with an elongated foot that surpasses the at least one rigid stiffener tooling and a shorter foot would appear to be a potential manner of operating the apparatus, as evidenced by Coxon.
Coxon teaches stringers can include flanges of different lengths, thickness, and angle orientation [0037] and may be asymmetrical [0055].
Regarding claim 20, Douglas teaches the assembly as applied to claim 1.
Douglas does not teach said at least one rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks, wherein a terminal end of one foot is uncovered by the at least one rigid stiffener tooling.
Heath teaches a co-cured composite assembly comprising a thermal expansion insert disposed within a cavity of a layup body to apply to the uncured composite part during curing (Figure 2, item 106, [0035]-[0039]). Heath teaches compacting an omega-shaped preform with thermal expansion inserts of different shape and size (Figure 2, 5-7, and 10). Heath teaches the insert applies pressure to an uncured omega-shaped preform, where the lateral flanks and apex are covered but both feet are uncovered (Figure 2-4 and [0035], [0038]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Douglas, in particularly the shape of caul plate, with a shape that leaves a foot of the preform exposed as taught Heath, a known caul plate configuration that provides suitable pressure to omega-shaped preforms.
With regards to the interpretations made due to indefinite issues present in claim 20 as discussed above, operating the apparatus such that an omega-shaped preform with an elongated foot that surpasses the at least one rigid stiffener tooling and a shorter foot would appear to be a potential manner of operating the apparatus, as evidenced by Coxon. Coxon teaches stringers can include flanges of different lengths, thickness, and angle orientation [0037] and may be asymmetrical [0055].
Alternatively, claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas (PG-PUB 2020/0001547) in view of Wang (PG-PUB 2021/0001519).
Regarding claim 1, Douglas teaches an assembly structure for manufacturing a composite part comprising a stiffener joined to a skin from skin and stiffener preforms, the assembly structure comprising:
a set of preforms that comprises:
a skin preform having first and second opposing surfaces (Figure 14, item 46 and [0056]),
a stiffener preform of generally omega-shaped cross-section having first and second opposing surfaces, the first surface of the stiffener preform being disposed opposite the first surface of the skin preform, the stiffener preform extending along the first surface of the skin preform along a longitudinal axis and transversely to this longitudinal axis (Figure 14, item 25 and [0040], [0043]),
a rigid skin tooling disposed opposite the entire second surface of the skin
preform (Figure 14, item 71 and [0051]),
at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending longitudinally and transversely so as to cover at least partially the second surface of the stiffener preform, said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extending transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section with a transverse dimension smaller than the transverse dimension of the first surface of the skin preform (Figure 4 and 14, item 25 and [0040]),
at least one flexible envelope covering at least a portion of said at least
one local rigid stiffener tooling and the first surface of the skin preform (Figure 15 and [0052]),
wherein the generally omega-shaped stiffener preform cross-section comprises two lateral flanks which are each connected, by a first of their two opposite ends, to a
common portion forming an apex of the preform and, by each of their second opposite ends, to a foot of the preform (Figure 4 and 15 and [0040]),
wherein said at least one local rigid stiffener tooling extends transversely around the stiffener preform cross-section covering the lateral flanks and at least part of one or both feet of the omega (Figure 4 and 15).
Douglas does not teach the rigid stiffener tooling extending beyond terminal end of at least one foot towards the first surface of the skin preform to be disposed directly opposite thereto.
Wang teaches an assembly for manufacturing hat (i.e., omega) stiffeners (Figure 6 and 7 and [0064]-[0066]). Wang teaches a rigid form that performs the function of a conventional caul plate (Figure 11 and 15, item 214 and [0069]-[0070]). Wang teaches pressure applied to the outer surface 260 of uncured composite workpiece 202 acts cooperatively with rigid form 204, 214 to generate compressive force upon workpiece 202 [0069]. Wang teaches the caul plate extends beyond a terminal end of the feet of the omega-shaped preform (Figure 11 and 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Douglas with a stiffener tooling extended beyond the feet of an omega-shaped preform, a known suitable configuration for applying pressure to an omega-shaped preform with the use of a caul plate as taught by Wang.
Regarding claim 21, Dougals in view of Wang teaches the structure as applied to claim 1, wherein a portion of the at least one local rigid stiffener tooling that extends beyond the terminal end of at least one foot of the omega-shaped preform form an edge flange (Wang, Figure 11-13), thereby capable of following a profile of the terminal end.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745