DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed 01/19/2024 is accepted, in which, claims 4, 6, 7, 9, and 11-17 are amended and claims 19 and 20 are newly added. Claim 1 is independent with claims 1-20 awaiting an action on the merits as follows.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, prior art found during the search fails to teach or suggest the first connection member is made of a material comprising copper. Most prior art with substrate fixing structures disclose those structures as comprised of magnetic materials as disclosed by Kanno (US 20200389987 A1), paragraphs [0027-0028], or as plastic. One reference regarding spliced displays found during the search, Brooks (US 11340668 B2), discloses copper spring connectors for connecting display panel sub-assemblies to a larger frame, however, these springs are used to connect the sub-assemblies to a bus line in order to power the sub-assemblies, not to adjust their position and/or height.
Regarding claim 12, prior art found during the search fails to teach or suggest a ratio of a total area of end surfaces of all substrate fixing structures proximate to the display substrate, to an area of the bearing substrate in the display substrate is in a range of 1:5000 to 1:250. All discussion in the prior art regarding area relates to the pixel pitch, aperture layout, and/or other aspects of the display panel emitting the light, not the substrate fixing structure. The intended purpose of the claim is to limit the ratio of the substrate fixing structures to the bearing substrate to make the panel sub-assemblies easy to remove. Therefore, Examiner interprets this claim to be critical to the invention and not disclosed by the prior art.
Regarding claim 13, prior art fails to teach or suggest a total area of end surfaces of all substrate fixing structures proximate to the display substrate is in a range of 500 mm2 to 10000 mm2. All discussion in the prior art regarding area relates to the pixel pitch, aperture layout, and/or other aspects of the display panel emitting the light, not the substrate fixing structure. The intended purpose of the claim is to set the area footprint of the substrate fixing structures on the display substrate to make the panel sub-assemblies stabile and easy to adjust with the substrate fixing structures. Therefore, Examiner interprets this claim to be critical to the invention and not disclosed by the prior art.
Regarding claim 14, prior art fails to teach or suggest an area of an end surface of a single substrate fixing structure proximate to the display substrate is in a range of 50 mm2 to 800 mm2. All discussion in the prior art regarding area relates to the pixel pitch, aperture layout, and/or other aspects of the display panel emitting the light, not the substrate fixing structure. The intended purpose of the claim is to limit the area footprint of the substrate fixing structures on the display substrate to make the panel sub-assemblies easy to remove. Therefore, Examiner interprets this claim to be critical to the invention and not disclosed by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno (US 20200389987 A1), and further in view of Choi (US 20210033240 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kanno teaches a display panel sub-assembly (100, Fig 3), comprising:
at least one display substrate (1000); and
a fixing frame (FF: fixing frame 5 and 30/35/61/62), comprising a bottom plate (5) and at least one substrate fixing structure (FS: 30/35/61/62), wherein
the bottom plate (5) is disposed opposite (shown opposite) to the at least one display substrate (1000) and has at least one first via (V1: opening in housing 5 that accommodates post of 30 and adjustment screw 61) in one-to-one correspondence (shown one-to-one) with the at least one substrate fixing structure (FS),
each of the at least one substrate fixing structure (FS) passes through (shown passing through) the corresponding first via (V1) to be connected (shown connected) to the bottom plate (5), and
an end (35E: end of 35 directly connected to mold base 2) of the substrate fixing structure (FS) proximate to one of the at least one display substrate (1000) is connected (shown connected) to the display substrate (1000) …, so that the substrate fixing structure (FS) is detachably fixed (may be detached, [0035]) to the display substrate (1000).
Kanno fails to explicitly teach an end of the substrate fixing structure proximate to one of the at least one display substrate is connected to the display substrate through an adhesive.
However, Choi teaches an end of the substrate fixing structure proximate to one of the at least one display substrate is connected to the display substrate through an adhesive (attached by adhesive, [0097]).
Kanno and Choi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of tiled display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Kanno with the features of Choi to create a device with an end of the substrate fixing structure proximate to one of the at least one display substrate is connected to the display substrate through an adhesive so that display panels are combined in a matrix manner on the same plane to be expandable without limitation in shape and size (Choi, [0002]) so that it is possible to provide a large-sized display apparatus that is combined without gaps of seams on the same plane, it has an advantage of easy assembly and disassembly, and even though a problem occurs in any one display panel, it is possible to selectively disassemble it and to reassemble with a new normal display panel very easily (Choi, [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 1. Kanno goes on to teach the display substrate (1000, Fig 5) comprises a bearing substrate (2), and
a plurality of light-emitting elements (1; LED board would contain a plurality of light-emitting elements, [0024]) fixed on a side (LS: left side in Fig 5 or the top of the bearing substrate 2 in plan view) of the bearing substrate (2) distal (shown distal) from the bottom plate (5);
the substrate fixing structure (FS) comprises a first connection member (CM1: 30/35) and a second connection member (CM2: 61/62);
the first connection member (CM1) is located between (shown between) the bearing substrate (2) and the bottom plate (5), and
an end (35E: end of 35 directly connected to mold base 2) of the first connection member (CM1) proximate (shown proximate) to the display substrate (1000) is connected (shown connected) to the display substrate (1000) …; and
the second connection member (CM2) passes through (shown passing through) the first via (V1) in the bottom plate (5) to be detachably fixed (may be detached, [0035]) to the first connection member (CM1).
Choi goes on to teach an end of the first connection member proximate to the display substrate is connected to the display substrate through an adhesive (attached by adhesive, [0097]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 2. Kanno goes on to teach the first connection member (CM1: 30/35, Fig 5) and the second connection member (CM2: 61/62) clamp and fix (shown clamping and fixing) the bottom plate (5).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 2. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the substrate fixing structure (FS: 30/35/61/62, Fig 5) further comprises an adjustment structure (AS: 61/612/613/614) having a structure (portions of 30 and 61 shown in via V1) at least partially located in (shown in) the first via (V1),
an outer side wall (612) of the adjustment structure (AS) is movably connected (shown movably connected; feely movable, [0032]) to an inner side wall (V1A: inner sidewall of via V1) of the first via (V1),
the adjustment structure (AS) is configured to be movable () along the via (V1) in a first direction (L: left in Fig 5, or up in plan view), and
the adjustment structure (AS) has a hollow channel (HC: opening in 61 accommodating the end of 30 and extending to 614)) extending (shown extending) in the first direction (L); and
the first connection member (CM1) is in contact (shown in contact) with one end (613) of the adjustment structure (AS) proximate (shown proximate) to the first connection member (CM1),
an end (614) of the second connection member (CM2) distal (shown distal) from the first connection member (CM1) is in contact (shown in contact) with the other end (612R: right end of 612) of the adjustment structure (AS) distal (shown distal) from the first connection member (CM1),
the second connection member (CM2) passes through (shown passing through) the hollow channel (HC) to be detachably fixed (shown detachably fixed; may be detached, [0035]) to the first connection member (CM1),
and the first connection member (CM1) and the second connection member (CM2) clamp and fix (shown clamped and fixed) the adjustment structure (AS).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 4. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the first via (V1, fig 5) is a first threaded hole (H1: hole of V1 with threads that match 612); and
the adjustment structure (AS) comprises a hollow screw (61) having external threads (612) matched (shown matched) with internal threads (612B: threads of V1 that match 612) of the first threaded hole (H1), wherein
the hollow screw (61) is movable (shown movable; freely movable, [0032]) in the first direction (L) by rotating within the first threaded hole (H1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 4. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the first via (V1, Fig 5) comprises a first portion (V1A: portion of V1 accommodating threaded portion of 30) and a second portion (V1B: portion of V1 directly contacting threads 612) communicated with each other (shown communicated with each other),
the first portion (V1A) is located on (shown on) a side (V1BL: left side of V1B or top of 61 in plan view) of the second portion (V1B) proximate (shown proximate) to the display substrate (1000),
the first portion (V1A) is a blind hole (shown as a blind hole), and
the second portion (V1B) is a through hole (shown as a through hole);
an orthographic projection (30A: portion of 30 fitting within and overlapping V1A in the first direction L) of the first connection member (CM1) in a plane (ZH: vertical plane extending into the page of Fig 5) where the bottom plate (5) is located has an area smaller (shown smaller) than or equal to an orthographic projection of the first portion (V1A) in a plane parallel (shown parallel) to the plane (ZH) where the bottom plate (50) is located, and
larger (shown larger) than an orthographic projection of the second portion (V1B) in the plane parallel (shown parallel) to the plane (ZH) where the bottom plate (5) is located; and
the first connection member (CM1) has a height (CM1H: length from 302 to outermost left side of 30) in the first direction (L) greater (shown greater) than the first portion (V1A), and
a part (30E: extended threaded portion of 30) of the first connection member (CM1) is located within (shown in) the first portion (V1A).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 2. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the first connection member (CM1; shown as component 45, Fig 9) comprises a connection post (45), wherein
a second threaded hole (451H: hole in 45 with threads 451) is formed at an end (45E: ends of connection post 45) of the connection post (45) distal (shown distal) from the bearing substrate (2); and
the second connection member (CM2) comprises a first screw (40) having external threads (451B: threads of 40 that match threads 451) matched (shown matched) with internal threads (451) of the second threaded hole (451H).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 1. Kanno goes on to teach wherein an end surface (303, Fig 4) of the substrate fixing structure (FS, Fig 5) proximate (shown proximate) to the display substrate (1000) has a circular shape (shown circular, Fig 4).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 1. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the at least one substrate fixing structure (FS, Fig 3) comprises 4 to 20 (4; the number may be changed as necessary, [0053]) substrate fixing structures (FS).
Furthermore, Choi goes on to teach wherein the at least one substrate fixing structure comprises 4 to 20 substrate fixing structures (shown comprising 4, Fig 3; could add 1-6 to make the total 5-10, [0069]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 1. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the at least one substrate fixing structure (FS, Fig 3) comprises a plurality (shown in plurality) of substrate fixing structures (FS),
the at least one display substrate (1000) comprises a plurality (shown in plurality) of display substrates (1000), and
each display substrate (1000) is connected (shown connected) to one or more (2) of the substrate fixing structures (FS).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device or claim 1. Kanno goes on to teach a splicing display apparatus (200, Fig 1), comprising a plurality (shown in plurality) of display panel sub-assemblies (100), wherein at least one of the display panel sub-assemblies (100) is the display panel sub-assembly (100) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 2. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the first via (V1, Fig 5) comprises a first portion (VA1: portion of V1 accommodating threaded portion of 30) and a second portion (V1B: portion of V1 directly contacting threads 612) communicated with each other (shown communicated with each other),
the first portion (V1A) is located on (shown on) a side (V1BL: left side of V1B or top of 61 in plan view) of the second portion (V1B) proximate (shown proximate) to the display substrate (1000),
the first portion (V1A) is a blind hole (shown as a blind hole), and
the second portion (V1B) is a through hole (shown as a through hole);
an orthographic projection (30A: portion of 30 fitting within and overlapping V1A in the first direction L) of the first connection member (CM1) in a plane (ZH: vertical plane extending into the page of Fig 5) where the bottom plate (5) is located has an area smaller (shown smaller) than or equal to an orthographic projection of the first portion (V1A) in a plane parallel (shown parallel) to the plane (ZH) where the bottom plate (50) is located, and
larger (shown larger) than an orthographic projection of the second portion (V1B) in the plane parallel (shown parallel) to the plane (ZH) where the bottom plate (5) is located; and
a part (30E: extended threaded portion of 30) of the first connection member (CM1) is located within (shown in) the first portion (V1A).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 3. Kanno goes on to teach wherein the first via (V1, Fig 5) comprises a first portion (VA1: portion of V1 accommodating threaded portion of 30) and a second portion (V1B: portion of V1 directly contacting threads 612) communicated with each other (shown communicated with each other),
the first portion (V1A) is located on (shown on) a side (V1BL: left side of V1B or top of 61 in plan view) of the second portion (V1B) proximate (shown proximate) to the display substrate (1000),
the first portion (V1A) is a blind hole (shown as a blind hole), and
the second portion (V1B) is a through hole (shown as a through hole);
an orthographic projection (30A: portion of 30 fitting within and overlapping V1A in the first direction L) of the first connection member (CM1) in a plane (ZH: vertical plane extending into the page of Fig 5) where the bottom plate (5) is located has an area smaller (shown smaller) than or equal to an orthographic projection of the first portion (V1A) in a plane parallel (shown parallel) to the plane (ZH) where the bottom plate (50) is located, and
larger (shown larger) than an orthographic projection of the second portion (V1B) in the plane parallel (shown parallel) to the plane (ZH) where the bottom plate (5) is located; and
a part (30E: extended threaded portion of 30) of the first connection member (CM1) is located within (shown in) the first portion (V1A).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno (US 20200389987 A1), in view of Choi (US 20210033240 A1), and further in view of Zou (US 20230206787 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the device of claim 7. Kanno teaches the second threaded hole (451H, Fig 9).
The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the second threaded hole is a threaded blind hole.
However, Zou teaches wherein the second threaded hole is a threaded blind hole (1332, Fig 8; shown as threaded blind hole; movable forward and backward, [0050]).
Kanno, Choi, and Zou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of tiled display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Kanno and Choi with the features of Zou to create a device wherein the second threaded hole is a threaded blind hole that can achieve smaller splicing seams (Zou, [0003]) which can improve a screen resolution, guarantee picture quality, and satisfy requirements of users when watching at a small distance (Zou, [0002]); and the faulty display screen may be replaced merely by disassembling the corresponding carrier plate. Therefore, mounting and disassembling are convenient (Zou, [0037]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kanno and Choi discloses the apparatus of claim 17. Kanno teaches the plurality of the display panel sub-assemblies (100, Fig 1).
The combination fails to explicitly teach a bearing case configured to bear the plurality of the display panel sub-assemblies.
However, Zou teaches a bearing case (11, Fig 2) configured to bear (shown configured to bear) the plurality of the display panel sub- assemblies.
Kanno, Choi, and Zou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of tiled display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Kanno and Choi with the features of Zou to create a device with a bearing case configured to bear the plurality of the display panel sub-assemblies that can achieve smaller splicing seams (Zou, [0003]) which can improve a screen resolution, guarantee picture quality, and satisfy requirements of users when watching at a small distance (Zou, [0002]); and the faulty display screen may be replaced merely by disassembling the corresponding carrier plate. Therefore, mounting and disassembling are convenient (Zou, [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US 20220198969 A1) - Tiled display with round substrate fixing structures.
Brooks (US 11340668 B2) - Copper connectors
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897