Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/037783 (07/21/2022)
PCT/US2022/037783 has PRO 63/224,112 (07/21/2021).
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 129(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/224,112, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for one or more claims of this application. The priority document does not provide written description of the claims because the claim language is not present in the prior-filed documents and one of skill in the art would not have recognized possession of the instant claim scope, particularly treating cancer with any Bak activator or the scope of Formula (I) or (II) or similar composition. Thus, the effective filing date of claims 1-20 is that of the application, 7/21/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 18 has the language “in the form of a … table”. Which appears to be a typographical error rendering the claim ambiguous as to whether a “tablet” is meant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (Theranostics 2021, published 2021-07-25, v. 11, iss. 17, 8500-8516, cited in IDS 2025-06-17).
Park teaches BKA-073 for treating lung cancer (Abstract, Fig. 1) which anticipates the claims.
Claims 1-11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Creech et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (1972), 15(7), 739-46).
Creech teaches antitumor compounds including the following (Tables 1-2):
which anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karin et al. (WO2021146258, EFD 2020-01-14) in view of Oien (Seminars in Cancer Biology 68 (2021) 21–30, published 25 September 2019), Creech et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (1972), 15(7), 739-46), and Preston et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (1964), 7(4), 471-80).
Karin teaches combination of agents as cancer therapies including quinacrine and obatoclax wherein the cancer is non-small cell lung cancer (Abstract, claims 2, 5, 22). Karin teaches the subject is human (claim 23), formulation as a tablet or for injection ([00163]-[00166]) in a buffered solution including with sucrose ([00155]).
Karin does not teach the combination of formula (I).
Oien teaches quinacrine useful for treating in treating lung cancer (Abstract, p. 23) including the mechanism via BAX/Bcl-XL, wherein quinacrine has the structure (Fig. 1):
.
Oien teaches quinacrine in combination with chemotherapies and the compound is in clinical trials for cancer studies (p. 26).
Preston teaches antitumor activities of a series of compounds include such as the following compound (Abstract, Table I):
.
Creech teaches antitumor compounds including the following (Tables 1-2):
.
One of ordinary skill in the art following the combined teaching of the art would have considered combinations of known antitumor compounds for combination therapies as taught by Karin and Oien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered selecting compounds such as taught by Preston and Creech for modification as done therein and arrive at the claimed invention because the prior art teaches the homologous compounds as having the same utility. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in the combination because each of the prior art are in the same field of endeavor of anticancer compounds and such modifications are routine in the art as evidenced by Preston and Creech.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626