DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on April 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 13, 2026.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not provided on a separate sheet under the heading “Abstract” (MPEP 608.01(b)). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a the expandable element” which should be “the expandable element.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “tensioning assembly” in claim 1; “trigger biasing element” in claim 5; “trigger-gear biasing element” in claim 7; “decoupling assembly” in claim 10; “expandable element” in claim 13.
Regarding tensioning assembly, the claim recites a generic placeholder (“tensioning assembly”) modified by functional language (“pivotable relative to the support between a strap-tensioning position and a strap-insertion position”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as tensioning assembly 400 (Para. [0031] and Figs. 4A-D) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the trigger biasing element, the claim recites a generic placeholder (“trigger biasing assembly”) modified by functional language (“biasing the trigger”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as the trigger biasing element 910s (Paras. [0044] and [0047]; Figs. 6-9), which is described as a spring, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the trigger-gear biasing element, the claim recites a generic placeholder (“trigger gear biasing element”) modified by functional language (“biasing the stop surface of the trigger gear head”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as the trigger gear biasing element 930s (Para. [0047]; Figs. 6-9), which is described as a spring, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the decoupling assembly, the claim recites a generic placeholder (“decoupling assembly”) modified by functional language (“actuable to enable the tension when to rotate about the tension wheel rotation axis”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as decoupling assembly 1900 (Figs. 5A-D; Paras. [0037]-[0038]) and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the expandable element, the claim recites a generic placeholder (“expandable element”) modified by functional language (“applies a compression force on the first and second engageable elements”) that is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as expandable element 1940 (Figs. 5A-D; Paras. [0037]-[0038]), which is described as a spring, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a tensioning assembly” and “a trigger assembling comprising… a travel pin mounted to the tensioning assembly and extending through the slot of the trigger head” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear how the travel pin is part of the trigger assembly when it is mounted to the tensioning assembly and merely extends through a slot in the trigger head, i.e., the travel pin appears to be a component of the tensioning assembly that extends into the trigger assembly. For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as the trigger assembly may include any component that is connected to or moved by the trigger even if it is mounted or connected to components that would otherwise be the tensioning assembly, support or any other assembly. Claims 2-16 depend from claim 1 and fail to clarify the indefinite language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0185189 A1 to Neeser in view of US 3,830,263 to Benfer.
Regarding claim 1, Neeser teaches a strapping tool (Abstract) comprising:
a support 2 (Fig. 1; Para. [0046]);
a tensioning assembly 7, 8 mounted to the support 2 and pivotable relative to the support between a strap-tensioning position and a strap-insertion position (Fig. 3; Para. [0048]); and
a trigger assembly 20, 24 (Fig. 3; Para. [0055]) comprising:
a trigger 20, 24 comprising a trigger body 20 and a trigger head 24 extending from the trigger body (Fig. 3; Para. [0055]), wherein the trigger is mounted to the tensioning assembly via a trigger pivot pin 22 and is pivotable relative to the tensioning assembly and about the trigger pivot pin 22 between a home position and an intermediate position (Figs. 3-5; Paras. [0063]-[0064]) and is pivotable relative to the support 2 and about the tensioning-assembly pivot axis from the intermediate position to an actuated position to move the tensioning assembly from the strap-tensioning position to the strap-insertion position (Figs. 3-5; Paras. [0063]-[0065]); and
a trigger gear 24 comprising a trigger-gear head 26 defining a stop surface, a trigger-gear arm 25b extending from the trigger-gear head 26, and a trigger-gear foot connected to the trigger-gear arm and including trigger-gear teeth 28 (Fig. 3; Paras. [0063]-[0064]; the trigger head is interpreted as the end closest to the lever 20 and the foot is interpreted as the end with the gear teeth 28).
Neeser fails to explicitly teach the trigger assembly comprising the trigger head defines a curved slot, and a travel pin mounted to the tensioning assembly and extending through the slot of the trigger head to constrain pivoting of the trigger relative to the tensioning assembly between the home and intermediate positions and wherein the trigger-gear head is rotatably mounted to the travel pin.
Benfer teaches a strapping tool (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising:
a support 12 (Figs. 1-5; Col. 2, Lns. 9-21);
a tensioning assembly 30 mounted to the support 12 and moveable between a strap-tensioning position and a strap-insertion position (Figs. 1 and 5-6; Col. 2, Lns. 22-57 and Col. 3, Lns. 15-42); and
a trigger assembly 28 (Figs. 1-6) comprising:
a trigger 28, 38 comprising a trigger body and a trigger head extending from the trigger body (Fig. 6 shows the trigger 28 includes a body and head), wherein the trigger head defines a curved slot 44 (Figs. 1-6; Col. 2, Lns. 25-43), wherein the trigger 28 is mounted to the tensioning assembly via a trigger pivot pin 34 and is pivotable relative to the tensioning assembly 30 and about the trigger pivot pin 34 between a home position and an intermediate position (Figs. 1-4; Col. 2, Lns. 25-43; the pivot pin 34 extends through the opening 84 in the gripper 30 of the tensioning assembly, and the trigger pivots about the pin between the home, intermediate and working positions, as shown in Figs. 1-4) and is pivotable relative to the support 12 and about the tensioning-assembly pivot axis 36 from the intermediate position to an actuated position to move the tensioning assembly from the strap-tensioning position to the strap-insertion position (Figs. 1-4; Col. 4, Lns. 65 through Col. 5, Ln. 22);
a travel pin 36 mounted to the tensioning assembly 30 and extending through the slot 44 of the trigger head to constrain pivoting of the trigger relative to the tensioning assembly between the home and intermediate positions (Figs. 1-6; Col. 2, Lns. 25-42; the travel pin 36 is interpreted as mounted to the tensioning assembly as it connects the trigger handle 28 to trigger lever 38 which engages the tensioning assembly).
The trigger 28, 38 on Benfer functions to translate the pivoting motion of the handle 28 by a user to move the lever 38 to engage or disengage the tensioning assembly in the same manner as the handle 28 and lever 25 function in Neeser to engage and disengage the lever 25 with the tensioning assembly. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the trigger assembly in the strapping tool of Neeser with the trigger assembly of Benfer as those components and their functions were well known in the art and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted each of these known elements for another with the predictable result of providing a trigger assembly to control the tensioning assembly. It is noted that the lever arm in modified Neeser would still include the gear teeth (further, the lever would still include trigger-gear arm and foot as these are simply the body and opposite end from the gear) as the manner in which the tensioning assembly is controlled is via the gear teeth 40 on sleeve 31.
Regarding claim 2, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 1 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the tensioning-assembly pivot axis and the trigger pivot axis are different and parallel to one another (Figs. 1-5; Para. [0048]; the pivot axis for the tensioning assembly lifts wheel 7 which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand is parallel to the pivot axis of the trigger assembly about pin 22, i.e., in the same manner as handle 20 moves up and down about the pivot axis of pin 22 the tension wheel would pivot about parallel axis to move up and down).
Regarding claim 3, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 1 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the travel pin 36 is at a first end of the slot 44 when the trigger is in the home position and an opposing second end of the slot when the trigger is in the intermediate position (Benfer, Figs. 1-4; modified Neeser includes the trigger assembly of Benfer, and Figs. 1-4 of Benfer shows the travel pin 36 moving from the first end to the second end of the slot 44 as the trigger moves between positions).
Regarding claim 4, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 3 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the travel pin 36 is at the second end of the slot 44 when the trigger is in the actuated position (Benfer; Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 1 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the trigger assembly further comprises a trigger biasing element 48 biasing the trigger to the home position (Benfer, Figs. 1-4; Col. 2, Lns. 43-58; modified Neeser includes the trigger assembly of Benfer, which includes a spring 48 to bias the trigger into position and control the pressure required to engage the torsion assembly).
Regarding claim 6, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 5 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the trigger biasing element comprises a torsion spring 48 (Benfer; Figs. 1-4; Col. 2, Lns. 43-58).
Regarding claim 7, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 1 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the trigger assembly further comprises a trigger-gear-engaging component 102 fixedly attached to the trigger and a trigger-gear biasing element 100 biasing the stop surface of the trigger-gear head into contact with the trigger-gear-engaging component 102 (Benfer, Figs. 1-4 and 6; Col. 4, Lns. 4-16; modified Neeser includes the trigger assembly of Benfer, which includes a pin 102, i.e., a trigger engaging component attached to the trigger, and a spring 102 biasing the handle 28 and the lever 38, which has gears on one end in modified Neeser, to a position where they are connected and engaging the tensioning assembly).
Regarding claim 8, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 7 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the trigger-gear biasing element 100 comprises a torsion spring (Benfer, Figs. 1-4 and 6; Col. 4, Lns. 4-16).
Regarding claim 9, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 7 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the trigger-gear-engaging component comprises a pin (Benfer, Figs. 1-4 and 6; Col. 4, Lns. 4-16).
Regarding claim 10, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 1 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the tensioning assembly comprises
a tension wheel 7 and tensioning-assembly gearing operably connected to a tension wheel 7 to rotate the tension wheel about a tension-wheel rotational axis in a tensioning rotational direction (Paras. [0056]-[0058] and [0060]; Figs. 1-5; Fig. 1a shows the tension assembly gearing, i.e., the ring gear and intermediary gears around the shaft with gear teeth in the center) and,
the strapping tool further comprising:
a motor M operably connected to the tensioning-assembly gearing to drive the tensioning- assembly gearing (Figs. 1-5; Paras. [0048] and [0052]; the engagement of the gears 40 on sleeve 31 by the teeth 28 on lever 25 causes the gears to be driven by the motor to move the tensioning assembly, as described in Paras. [0056]-[0058] and [0060]); and
a decoupling assembly 31, 33, 35 actuatable to enable the tension wheel 7 to rotate about the tension- wheel rotational axis in a direction opposite the tensioning rotational direction (Figs. 2-6; Paras. [0056]-[0057] and [0062]-[0064]),
wherein the trigger is operably connected to the decoupling assembly to actuate the decoupling assembly when pivoted from the home position to the intermediate position (Figs. 2-6; Paras. [0056] and [0063]-[0064]; the gear teeth 28 of the lever interact the gears 40 on sleeve 31 of the decoupling assembly to actuate it when the handle of the trigger is moved).
Regarding claim 11, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 10 (Figs. 1-5), wherein the decoupling assembly comprises a decoupling-assembly housing 31 having a tubular body mounted to and rotatable relative to the tensioning assembly (Figs. 2-7; Paras. [0056]-[0057] and [0062]-[0064]; the sleeve 31 has a tubular body, as best seen in Fig. 7a, and the sleeve 31 is mounted on the tensioning assembly such that it moves the tensioning assembly as the sleeve rotates), the body comprising teeth 40 extending around an outer circumference of the body 31 (Figs. 2-7; the teeth are best seen in Fig. 7a).
Regarding claim 12, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 11, wherein the trigger assembly further comprises a trigger-gear-engaging component 102 fixedly attached to the trigger and a trigger-gear biasing element 100 biasing the stop surface of the trigger-gear head into contact with the trigger-gear- engaging component 102 (Benfer, Figs. 1-4 and 6; Col. 4, Lns. 4-16; modified Neeser includes the trigger assembly of Benfer, which includes a pin 102, i.e., a trigger engaging component attached to the trigger, and a spring 102 biasing the handle 28 and the lever 38, which has gears on one end in modified Neeser, to a position where they are connected and engaging the tensioning assembly) such that pivoting of the trigger from the home position to the actuated position causes the trigger-gear teeth 28 to engage the teeth 40 of the body of the decoupling-assembly housing 31 and rotate the decoupling-assembly housing relative to the tensioning assembly (Figs. 2-6; Paras. [0056]-[0057] and [0062]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 11 (Figs. 1-6), wherein the decoupling assembly further comprises:
a decoupling-assembly shaft at least partially disposed within the decoupling-assembly housing 31 (Fig. 6 shows the shaft within the housing),
a first engageable element 35 at least partially disposed within the decoupling-assembly housing 31 and mounted to the decoupling-assembly shaft for rotation therewith (Fig. 6; Para. [0058]);
a second engageable element 36 at least partially disposed within the decoupling-assembly housing 31 and fixed in rotation relative to the tensioning assembly (Fig. 6; Para. [0058]; bushing 36 is screwed onto bolt 37 to fix it in place relative to the tensioning assembly); and
an expandable element 36 at least partially disposed within the decoupling-assembly housing 31 and circumscribing at least part of the first engageable element 35 and at least part of the second engageable element 36 (Fig. 6; Paras. [0057]-[0060]) and having a first end fixed to the second engageable element 36 and a second end fixed to the decoupling-assembly housing 31 (Fig. 6; Para. [0059]; the spring has one end 33a fixed to sleeve 31, i.e., the housing, and the other end is fixed to cantilever 21, which Fig. 6 shows is done through a connection to bushing 36, i.e., the second engageable element), wherein a the expandable element 33 is dimensioned so when at rest the expandable element applies a compression force on the first and second engageable elements 35, 36 that prevents the first and second engageable elements from rotating relative to one another (Fig. 6; Para. [0058]; the spring 33 maintains the connection between roller 35 and bushing 36).
Regarding claim 14, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 13 (Figs. 1-6), wherein rotation of the decoupling-assembly housing via movement of the trigger from the home position to the intermediate position causes the second end of the expandable element 33 to rotate relative to the first end of the expandable element, thereby causing an inner diameter of the expandable element 33 to expand and enable the first engageable element 35 to rotate relative to the second engageable element 36 (Fig. 6; Paras. [0059]-[0060]; the trigger assembly moves gear 28 to engage the teeth 40 of the sleeve, which actuates the spring 33 to expand and allow the rotation of roller 35).
Regarding claim 15, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 14 (Figs. 1-6), wherein the expandable element 33 comprises a torsion spring (Fig. 6; Para. [0057]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Neeser teaches the strapping tool of claim 13, wherein the tensioning-assembly gearing comprises a ring gear comprising external teeth, wherein the decoupling-assembly shaft comprises teeth, wherein the strapping tool further comprises intermediary gearing operably connecting the external teeth of the ring gear with the teeth of the decoupling assembly shaft, wherein the decoupling-assembly shaft and the intermediary gearing prevent rotation of the ring gear unless the decoupling assembly is actuated (Figs. 1a and 6; Paras. [0058]-[0060]; the decoupling assembly engages the tensioning assembly via the shaft shown in Fig. 6 and described in Paras. [0058]-[0060], and Fig. 1A shows that the end of the shaft includes a gear that engages intermediary gears and a ring gear to rotate and move the tensioning assembly 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2011/0056392 A1 (Figs. 2 and 10) teach a strapping tool including a tensioning assembly and a trigger assembly including a trigger body and a trigger head including a gear end that engages a decoupling assembly that actuates a tensioning assembly including a intermediary and ring gears. US 6,328,087 B1 (Figs. 1-3 and 10-12) teaches a strapping tool including a tensioning assembly and trigger assembly including a body and a head having a gear assembly that actuates the tensioning assembly. US 3,998,429 A teaches a strap tensioning tool including a trigger having a body and a head including gear teeth as well as a spring loaded assembly to control the movement of the trigger.
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725