Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/037756 (07/20/2022)
PCT/US2022/037756 has PRO 63/223,788 (07/20/2021).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a compound for formula (I), in the reply filed on 7/30/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant also elected the following species:
corresponding to formula (I) when
Q is
where R1-R2 form a substituted C6-aryl;
A is
where D is C6-aryl, R5 is Cl, Y is CR7, R6-R7 form a substituted 6-membered heterocyle;
L1 is C4-alkylene substituted by C1-alkyl-C6-aryl; L2 is NH; L3 is C(O); L4 is a bond;
stated to read on claims 1, 11, 19, 23, 30, 38, 59, 76, and 89-91.
As detailed in the following rejections, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable. Therefore, the provisional election of species is given effect, the examination is restricted to the elected species only, and claims not reading on the elected species are held withdrawn. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987). Accordingly, claims 65, 71, 92 are hereby withdrawn.
Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection through amendment, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. See MPEP 803.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 19, 23, 30, 38, 59, 76, and 89-91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The claim uses the language “Hal”, such as in the following, which is not defined in the specification and does not have an accepted meaning in the art such that it renders the claim indefinite:
Claim 1 has several illegible structures, such as the following, that renders the claim indefinite:
.
Thus, the claims and those that depend therefrom are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 89-91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burhlane et al. (WO2020086595).
Burhlane teaches the following compound (claim 39):
and one of skill in the art would at once envisage the stereoisomers (p. 53-54: “When a disclosed compound is named or depicted by structure without indicating the stereochemistry, and the compound has at least one chiral center, it is to be understood that the name or structure encompasses either enantiomer of the compound free from the corresponding optical isomer, a racemic mixture of the compound or mixtures enriched in one enantiomer relative to its corresponding optical isomer.”) and as in the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 19, 23, 30, 38, 59, 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burhlane et al. (WO2020086595) in view of Schauer et al. (Sci Rep 10, 5324, 24 March 2020, 15 pages) and Wermuth (“The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry”, 4th ed. (2015), Ch. 8, pages 181-241).
Burhlane teaches USP7 inhibitors including the following compounds:
with experimentally determined activity in Table 1 5 (++++) and 40 (++). Burhlane teaches a genus with scope of alternatives where the Cl in compound 5 above is also F (Claim 1 teaches R2 includes H, Cl, Br, F).
Although Burhlane teaches a genus which encompasses species within the instant claims, Burhlane does not specifically teach an embodiment where the halogen Cl is replaced with F.
Schauer teaches USP7 inhibitors and a structure-activity-relationship study where the R2 group is varied among alternatives including Cl and H which affected the activity of the compound as shown in Fig. 3:
Wermuth teaches the well-known technique in the art known as bioisosterism which is routinely used by those of ordinary skill in the art in the development of pharmaceuticals. Wermuth specifically teaches halogens as classical bioisosteres include Cl and F and can be interchanged with an expectation of similar biological activity (p. 181-187; Table 8.4).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered interchanging the Cl substitution with F in order to optimize the activity of the inhibitor in the same manner done by Schauer and would have had a reasonable expectation of success due to Burhlane teaching a scope including the same modification as well as Wermuth’s teaching the bioisosteric relationship. With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, 19, 23, 30, 38, 59, 76, and 89-91 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12692250 in view of over Burhlane et al. (WO2020086595), Schauer et al. (Sci Rep 10, 5324, 24 March 2020, 15 pages) and Wermuth (“The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry”, 4th ed. (2015), Ch. 8, pages 181-241). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a genus of compounds which when one of ordinary skill in the art construed the scope of the claims would consider species disclosed in the specification including ones as in the 103 rejection supra and renders the instant claims obvious for the reasons provided above.
Claims 1, 11, 19, 23, 30, 38, 59, 76, and 89-91 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12503453 in view of over Burhlane et al. (WO2020086595), Schauer et al. (Sci Rep 10, 5324, 24 March 2020, 15 pages) and Wermuth (“The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry”, 4th ed. (2015), Ch. 8, pages 181-241). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a genus of compounds and species which when one of ordinary skill in the art construed the scope of the claims would consider species disclosed in the specification including ones as in the 103 rejection supra and renders the instant claims obvious for the reasons provided above.
Claims 1, 11, 19, 23, 30, 38, 59, 76, and 89-91 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11465983 in view of over Burhlane et al. (WO2020086595), Schauer et al. (Sci Rep 10, 5324, 24 March 2020, 15 pages) and Wermuth (“The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry”, 4th ed. (2015), Ch. 8, pages 181-241). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a genus of compounds and species which when one of ordinary skill in the art construed the scope of the claims would consider species disclosed in the specification including ones as in the 103 rejection supra and renders the instant claims obvious for the reasons provided above.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626