DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17-21, 23, 24 and 26 are pending.
Claims 15, 17-21, 23 and 24 have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 17-21, 23 and 24 have been objected to because of the following informalities: the claim status needs to be updated to “withdrawn”. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13 and 26 in the reply filed on 8/6/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 15, 17-21, 23 and 24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12, 13 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoun (WO 2020025735).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Aoun teaches an aerosol-generating material (“aerosolisable material comprising an amorphous solid”) capable of being used in aerosol generation (abstract), the aerosol-generating material (“amorphous solid”) comprising:
about 15 wt% to about 50 wt% (calculated on a dry weight basis) of an active substance (page 10, lines 13-18), wherein the active substance is one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one more cannabinoids (page 16, lines 26-27);
about 10 wt% to about 50 wt% (calculated on a dry weight basis) aerosol-former material (“aerosol generating agent”) (page 9, lines 20-22); and,
about 15 wt% to about 60 wt% gelling agent (calculated on a dry weight basis) (page 8, lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 2, Aoun teaches that the aerosol-generating material comprises about 25 wt% to about 45 wt% (calculated on a dry weight basis) of an active substance (page 10, lines 13-18), wherein the active substance is one or more constituents, derivatives or extracts of cannabis, such as one more cannabinoids (page 16, lines 26-27).
Regarding claim 3, Aoun teaches that the aerosol-generating material comprises about 15 wt% to about 45 wt% (calculated on a dry weight basis) aerosol-former material (“aerosol generating agent”) (page 9, lines 20-22)
Regarding claim 4, Aoun teaches that the aerosol-generating material comprises about about 25 wt% to about 50 wt% gelling agent (calculated on a dry weight basis) (page 8, lines 25-27).
Regarding claims 5-7, Aoun teaches that the gelling agent comprises a cellulose derivative (page 8, lines 31-page 9, line 1), specifically hydroxymethyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose or carboxymethylcellulose (page 9, lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 8, Aoun teaches that the gelling agent is kaolin (page 9, lines 2-5), which is not crosslinked.
Regarding claim 10, Aoun teaches that the aerosol-former material comprises glycerol, propylene glycol, erythritol and/or triacetin (page 9, lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 13, Aoun teaches that the cannabinoid is selected from cannabigerol (CBG), cannabichromene (CBC), cannabidiol (CBD), tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), cannabinol (CBN), cannabinodiol (CBDL), cannabicyclol (CBL), cannabivarin (CBV), tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), cannabidivarin (CBDV), cannabichromevarin (CBCV), cannabigerovarin (CBGV), cannabigerol monomethyl ether (CBGM), cannabinerolic acid, cannabidiolic acid (CBDA), cannabinol propyl variant (CBNV), cannabitriol (CBO), tetrahydrocannabmolic acid (THCA), and tetrahydrocannabivarinic acid (THCV A) (page 16, line 29- page 17, line 10).
Regarding claim 26, Aoun teaches that the aerosol-former material further comprises filler (page 12, lines 1-7).
Conclusion
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755