DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore the following limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The chassis of claim 9
The fork of claim 11
The second toothed wheel of claim 11
The blade of said fork of claim 11
The first conical pinon of claim 12
The second conical pinon of claim 12
The axle of said first pinon of claim 12
The axle of said second pinon of claims 12 and 16
The four corners of said chassis of claim 15
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, “the chassis of the vehicle” lacks antecedent basis within the claim. Additionally, “the floor” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. Further “to actuate the means for driving in rotation…” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, “one of said motors” is indefinite, it is unclear which “motor” is being referred to in the claim limitation, as the parent claim 9 introduces multiple motors. Further “the pivoting means” lacks antecedent basis in the parent claim. Additionally, “said wheel” is indefinite, it is unclear which “wheel” is being referred to in the claim limitation, since multiple wheels have been introduced in the parent claim. Further, “the blade of said fork” lacks antecedent basis in the claim, further “the axle of said drive wheel” is indefinite, it is unclear which “wheel” is being referred to in the claim limitation, since multiple drive wheels have been introduced in the parent claim, there is also a lack of antecedent basis for “the axle” in the parent claim.
Regarding claim 12, “the axle of said first pinon” and “the axle of the second pinion” lack antecedent basis within the claim.
Regarding claim 13, “said drive motor” is indefinite, it is unclear which “motor” is being referred to in the claim limitation, as the parent claim 9 introduces multiple motors.
Regarding claim 14, “substantially identical” is indefinite, it is unclear whether the pivoting and driving devices are identical or not.
Regarding claim 15, the term “attached substantially to the four corners” is indefinite, it is unclear whether the pivoting and driving devices are attached to each of the four corners or not. Additionally, “the four corners of said chassis” lacks antecedent basis in both the claim and parent claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, the term “the axle of the second pinon” lacks antecedent basis in parent claim 11. Additionally, “this device” is unclear and lacks antecedent basis in the parent claim. More specifically, It is unclear which “device” is being referred to in this limitation. Also, “the centre of the drive wheel” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim 10 is also rejected as indefinite, as the claim is dependent from a rejected parent claim. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wiley (US 10207403).
Regarding claim 9, Wiley anticipates a motorized vehicle 100 (Fig 1) [intended to transport a load] (“In this example, platform 100 may enable the data center robot to move through aisles of a data center to install, remove, and/or service rack mount units and modules within the data center.” Col 9 lines 46-50 ) [comprising at least 3 drive wheels 101a,101b,101c and 101d (Fig 1, “The robotic platform 100 may include a chassis 120, a drive assembly 106 arranged on the chassis 120, a pair of fore wheel assemblies 101a, 101b disposed on the fore end of the chassis 120, and a pair of aft wheel assemblies 101c, 101d disposed on the aft end of the chassis 120.” Col 5 lines 1-5) intended to run along the floor] (“Robots are typically mounted to a robotic platform that may enable the robots to move along a floor or other surface.” abstract ), [capable of pivoting at least 90 degrees] (“…the driven caster wheel configurations disclosed herein may allow wheels to freely rotate 360 degrees about steering axes” Col 4 lines 55-57 and “As such, the wheel 102a may be able to freely rotate 360 degrees about the steering axis S” Col 6 lines 43-44), said drive wheels 101a,101b,101c and 101d (Fig 1) being mounted on pivoting and driving devices 104a,108a,130,132 (Figs 2 and 5, “…the rotation of the wheel 102a about the drive axis may be controlled by a drive assembly 106 that is located distally from the wheel 102a and on the chassis 120.” Col 5 lines 36-54) attached to the chassis 120 (Fig 1, “The robotic platform 100 may include a chassis 120, a drive assembly 106 arranged on the chassis 120, a pair of fore wheel assemblies 101a, 101b disposed on the fore end of the chassis 120, and a pair of aft wheel assemblies 101c, 101d disposed on the aft end of the chassis 120.” Col 5 lines 1-5) of the vehicle 100, each of the pivoting and driving devices 104a,108a,130,132,106 and 122 (Figs 2 and 5) comprising a motor 144 (Figs 1-5) [for actuating means for pivoting a drive wheel about a vertical axis S (Fig 5)] (“In one example the steer assembly 118 may include a steer motor 144, a steer belt 146, a steer motor pulley 148, and steer shaft pulleys 150a-150d, the operation of which may be similar to that of the drive assembly 106.” Col 7 lines 29-33 And “The drive shaft 108a may extend substantially vertically from the drive assembly 106 to the axle 104a and rotate about a substantially vertically steering axis S. The bevel gear 114a may connect the drive shaft 108a to the axle 104a to translate torque and power from the drive assembly 106 to the wheel 102a.” Col 5 lines 43-47 and “While FIGS. 1-5 shows one drive motor 122, one drive belt 124, one drive motor pulley 126, and four drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d, the robotic platform 100 may include other suitable numbers of motors, drive belts, and pulleys”, Col 8 lines 27-30) , [intended to make it possible to pivot a drive wheel 102a about itself] (“As such, the wheel 102a may be able to freely rotate 360 degrees about the steering axis S.” Col 6 lines 43-44), and a single motor 122 (Fig 1) [for driving in rotation said drive wheels 102a intended to actuate the means for driving in rotation said drive wheels housed in said pivoting and driving devices 104a,108a,130,132 (Figs 1-5)] (“…and the drive assembly 106 may include a drive motor 122 and a drive belt 124 that is controlled by the drive motor 122.” Col 5 lines 7-9 and “Drive motor pulley 126 may be mounted to the upper portion of the drive motor 122, and the drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d may be mounted to an upper portion of each of their respective drive shafts. The drive belt 124 may extend between the pulleys 126, 128a-128d and within a plane substantially perpendicular to the drive motor axis and steering axis. Thus, the drive motor 122 may cause the drive motor pulley 126 to move about the drive motor axis, which may in turn cause the drive belt 124 to move about the drive pulleys 126, 128a-128d, thereby causing the pulleys 128a-128d and their respective drive shafts to rotate about their respective steering axes.” Col 6 lines 3-14 ) .
Regarding claim 10, Wiley anticipates the vehicle of claim 9, characterizes in that said vehicle 100 (Fig 1) [is an automatic guided vehicle] (“For example, platform 100 may support an autonomous or semi-autonomous data center robot. In this example, platform 100 may enable the data center robot to move through aisles of a data center to install, remove, and/or service rack mount units and modules within the data center.” Col 9 lines 45-50 )
Regarding claim 13, Wiley anticipates said drive motor 122 (Fig 1) actuates said means for [driving in rotation said drive wheels 102a (Figs 1-5) of each of said pivoting and driving devices 104a,108a,130,132 (Figs 1-5) by means of a belt 124 (Figs 1-5) ] (“The drive belt 124 may extend between the pulleys 126, 128a-128d and within a plane substantially perpendicular to the drive motor axis and steering axis. Thus, the drive motor 122 may cause the drive motor pulley 126 to move about the drive motor axis, which may in turn cause the drive belt 124 to move about the drive pulleys 126, 128a-128d, thereby causing the pulleys 128a-128d and their respective drive shafts to rotate about their respective steering axes. As shown in FIGS. 1 and 4, the drive belt 124 may cause the drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d to all rotate synchronously with one another to thereby cause the drive shafts 108a-108d and the wheels 102a-102d to all rotate synchronously with one another.” Col 6 lines 6-18 ).
Regarding claim 14, Wiley anticipates said pivoting and driving devices 104a,108a,130,132 (Figs 1-5) [are substantially identical] (“…four caster wheel assemblies 101a-101d, any suitable number of caster wheel assemblies 101a-101d may be provided while remaining within the scope of this disclosure. Furthermore, while the following description at times refers to only one of the wheel assemblies (i.e., the fore, left wheel assembly 101a), it should be well understood that the description of wheel assembly 101a may also apply to some or all of the other wheel assemblies 101b, 101c, and 101d.” (Emphasis added) Col 5 lines 22-29).
Regarding claim 15, Wiley anticipates the vehicle 100 with four drive wheels 101a-101d (Fig 1) mounted on pivoting and driving devices 104a,108a,130,132 (Fig 1-5) [attached substantially to the four corners of said chassis 120 (Figs 1-5)] (“The robotic platform 100 may include a chassis 120, a drive assembly 106 arranged on the chassis 120, a pair of fore wheel assemblies 101a, 101b disposed on the fore end of the chassis 120, and a pair of aft wheel assemblies 101c, 101d disposed on the aft end of the chassis 120. The chassis 120 may have oppositely disposed top and bottom sides, and the drive assembly 106 may include a drive motor 122 and a drive belt 124 that is controlled by the drive motor 122.” Col 5 lines 1-9, Figure 1 of Wiley shows the four caster wheel assemblies 101a-101d attached to each of the four corners of the vehicle chassis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11,12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiley in view of Holmberg et al (US 6491127 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Wiley teaches the vehicle of claim 9 wherein said means for pivoting a drive wheel comprise a first toothed wheel 128a (Figs 1 and 2) [driven in rotation by one of said motors 122 for actuating the pivoting means engaged with a second toothed wheel 150a (Fig 2) of vertical axis] (“The power of the wheel assemblies 101a-101d may be controlled by drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d that are mounted to or integral with their respective drive shafts.” Col 5 lines 64-66 and “The steer belt 146 and the steer pulleys 148, 150a-150b may rotate within a plane that is substantially parallel to and below the plane in which the drive motor 122, drive belt 124, and drive pulleys 126, 128a-128d rotate. The steer shaft pulley 150a that is arranged on the steer shaft 138a may be disposed beneath the drive shaft pulley 128a that arranged on the drive shaft 108a.” Col 7 lines 39-45 -the wheels of each of the drive and steering motors share the axis of the drive wheel 101a-101d ). Wiley further teaches a first conical pinon 130 (Fig 5) and a second conical pinon 132 (Fig 5) [arranged relative to one another so as to form an angular transmission] (“the torque and power from the drive motor 122 may be transferred from each drive shaft (e.g., drive shaft 108a) to the respective axle (e.g., axle 104a) via a bevel gear (e.g., bevel gear 114a)… Mating gears 130, 132 may be disposed on the lower portion of the drive shaft 108a and the axle 104a. Thus, the bevel gear 114a may transfer and change the direction of the power and torque from the drive shaft 108a to the wheel 102a.” Col 6 lines 21-31), the axle of said first pinion 130 (Fig 5) [being coaxial with that of said second toothed wheel] (“Mating gears 130, 132 may be disposed on the lower portion of the drive shaft 108a” Col 6 lines 26-27, Fig 5 shows the mating gear 130 is on a shared axis of 108a that supports the second toothed wheel 150a ) [and the axle of the second pinion 132 (Fig 5) being coaxial with the axle of one of said drive wheels 102a] (Fig 5 shows the second pinon gear 132 is coaxial with the drive wheel axle 104a, “the torque and power from the drive motor 122 may be transferred from each drive shaft (e.g., drive shaft 108a) to the respective axle (e.g., axle 104a) via a bevel gear (e.g., bevel gear 114a).” Col 6 lines 21-24).
Wiley does not teach said second toothed wheel being attached to a fork straddling said wheel, the axle of said drive wheel being mounted pivoting in relation to the blade of said fork extending on either side of said drive wheel.
Holmberg (US 6491127) teaches an equivalent system wherein said second toothed wheel 62 (Fig 2B) being attached to a fork 22 (Fig 2B, “Wheel 24 is vertically mounted in lower housing 22 to rotate about wheel shaft 30 and horizontal axis 32.” Col 4 lines 2-4 and “Offset gear 62 drives translation bevel gear pinion 64, as gears 62 and 64 are rigidly attached to opposite ends of translation driveshaft 66. Driveshaft 66 is rotably mounted within lower housing 22 by two bearings 68.” Col 4 lines 39-42) straddling said wheel 114 (Fig 2B) , the axle 30 (Fig 2B) of said drive wheel 114 (Fig 2B) [being mounted pivoting in relation to the blade of said fork extending on either side of said drive wheel] (Fig 2B shows the axle 30 extending between the two blades of the forked housing 22). Further, an axle of a second pinon 70 (Fig 2B) passes [through the centre of the drive wheel mounted on this device] (Fig 2B and Fig 6 show that the second pinon 70 interacts with bevel gear 62 to provide rotation to the wheel 114 and that the wheel 114 and the second pinon 70 share an axle 30 that fits inside the two blades of housing 22, “Wheel hub 36 and tread 114 are cast in place around bevel gear 70 to provide a wheel 24 that also rotates more precisely around the axis of rotation 32...” Col 6 lines 46-48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the fork shaped housing and bevel and wheel assembly of Holmberg with the wheel assembly of Wiley with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for additional support along the axle of the drive wheel while the wheel rotates. By using a fork shaped housing, additional axial support is provided on both sides of the wheel and the wheel gear components can be protected from outside elements and are less likely to fail due to dust and debris entering the gear system of the wheel. Additionally, the use of the second pinon provides a direct rotation path from the motor to the wheel hub, thus having a simple design that is more compact and saves space around the wheel hub and fork.
Regarding claim 12, Wiley and Holmberg fully teach said driving means comprise a first conical pinion and a second conical pinion arranged relative to one another so as to form an angular transmission, the axle of said first pinion being coaxial with that of said second toothed wheel and the axle of the second pinion being coaxial with the axle of one of said drive wheels (See modification of Wiley in view of Holmberg in claim 11 above) .
Regarding claim 16, Wiley and Holmberg fully teach at least one of said pivoting and driving devices is configured so that the axle of the second pinion of this device passes through the centre of the drive wheel mounted on this device (See modification of Wiley in view of Holmberg in claim 11 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prehn (US 20070095594 A1) teaches a driving unit for a floor conveyor having a driving motor, a gear and a driving wheel all mounted in a vertical axis in a vehicle-fixed frame of the floor conveyor.
Bauer-Nilsen (US 6354394 B1) teaches a steering mechanism for steering angular deflections carried out on a vehicle's/carriage's pivoted steering travelling wheels (10a, 12a; 10b, 12b) positioned in a row at each side of the carriage (16). During turning, the mechanism allots to each of the pivoted, steerable travelling wheels (10a, 10b, 12a, 12b) a correct deflection differing from that of each of the other steerable wheels.
SCHUETZENEDER (US 20190308860 A1) teaches a vehicle having cross members with a wheel pair wherein each of the individual wheels of the wheel pairs is mounted so as to rotate about an axis of rotation that is oriented vertically. The vehicle can be moved in a first travel direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle, and in a second travel direction transverse to the longitudinal axis of the vehicle.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611