DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The replacement drawings filed 05/18/2026 have been accepted into the official record.
Specification
The replacement specification filed 05/18/2026 has been accepted into the official record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9-10 and 13-15 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Holmberg et al (US 6491127 B1) and Wiley (US 10207403).
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“One of the drive motors…” should be corrected to “the drive motor
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the means for pivoting a drive wheel”, “the pivoting means” and “a means for driving” in claim 9
“the means for driving” in claim 13
“means for pivoting” and “the means for driving” in claim 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the floor”. Additionally, “a drive wheel” (see lines 5, 6 and 13) is indefinite, since it is unclear which of the previously mentioned “three drive wheels” is being referred to. Further, the use of “it” (line 5) and “itself” (line 6) is indefinite, since it is unclear what “it” and “itself” are referring to in the claim limitation
Regarding Claim 13, “a drive wheel” (see line 2) is indefinite, since it is unclear which of the previously introduced “three drive wheels” is being referred to in this claim limitation.
Regarding Claim 15, “four drive wheels” (see line 2) is indefinite since in claim 9, “three drive wheels” were previously introduced.
Regarding Claim 17, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the floor” and “the chassis”. Additionally, “a drive wheel” (see lines 5 and 6) is indefinite, since it is unclear which of the previously mentioned “three drive wheels” is being referred to. Further, the use of “it” and “itself” (line 6) is indefinite, since it is unclear what “it” and “itself” are referring to in the claim limitation.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected as indefinite as they are dependent upon a rejected parent claim (See above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al (US 6491127 B1) in view of Wiley (US 10207403).
Regarding claim 9, Holmberg teaches [a motorized vehicle intended to transport a load comprising] (“The present invention relates generally to drive systems, and more particularly to powered caster wheel modules used to create drive systems such as for a mobile robot platform, automated guided vehicle (AGV), forklift, or omnidirectional powered roller conveyor.”, Col 1 lines 9-13):
at least three drive wheels 24 (Fig 1) [intended to run along the floor, capable of pivoting at least 90 degrees, said at least three drive wheels being mounted on [pivoting and driving devices ] 14 (Figs 2A and 2B) attached to a chassis of the vehicle 12 (Fig 2A and 2B) ] (“Wheel 24 is vertically mounted in lower housing 22 to rotate about wheel shaft 30 and horizontal axis 32.” Col 4 lines 3-4 and “Each module 14 can be either rigidly mounted to base 12” Col 3 lines 56-57), each of the pivoting and driving devices 14 (Fig 2A and 2B) comprising a pivot motor 18 (Figs 3A and 3B) [for actuating means for pivoting a drive wheel about a vertical axis] (“Steering pinion 42 is attached to the shaft 44 of steering motor 18, and engages steering gear 46, which is attached to the top of lower housing 22. Therefore, when steering motor 18 is energized (in either direction), lower housing 22 with wheel 24 rotates within ring bearing 38” Col 4 lines 15-18),[ intended to make it possible to pivot a drive wheel about itself] (“Wheel 24 is vertically mounted in lower housing 22… Lower housing 22 is mounted to main housing 20 by ring bearing 38 (and by a secondary bearing 39, as will be described later), permitting lower housing 22 to rotate 360 degrees about vertical axis 40.”, Col 4 lines 3-9), the means for pivoting a drive wheel comprising:
a first toothed wheel 42 (Fig 3A) [driven in rotation by one of the pivot motors 18 (Fig 3A)] (“Steering pinion 42 is attached to the shaft 44 of steering motor 18, and engages steering gear 46, which is attached to the top of lower housing 22. Therefore, when steering motor 18 is energized (in either direction), lower housing 22 with wheel 24 rotates within ring bearing 38.” Col 4 lines 15-19) for actuating a pivoting means engaged with a second toothed wheel of vertical axis 46 (Fig 3A and 3B, gear 46 is coaxial with center axis 40) , the second toothed wheel 46 [being attached to a fork 22 (Lower forked housing- see Figs 3A and 3B) straddling one of the at least three drive wheels] (“and engages steering gear 46, which is attached to the top of lower (forked) housing 22” Col 4 lines 16-17), an axle 30 (Figs 3A and 3B) [of the one of the at least three drive wheels being mounted pivoting in relation to blades of the fork extending on either side of the one of the at least three drive wheels 24 (Figs 3A and 3B) ] (“Wheel 24 is vertically mounted in lower housing 22 to rotate about wheel shaft 30 and horizontal axis 32.” Col 4 lines 2-3).
Holmberg does not teach a single drive motor for driving in rotation the at least three drive said drive wheels intended to actuate a means for driving in rotation a drive wheel housed in each of said pivoting and driving devices, the means for driving in rotation the drive wheel comprising:
a first conical pinion and a second conical pinion arranged relative to one another so as to form an angular transmission, an axle of the first pinion being coaxial with an axle of the second toothed wheel and an axle of the second pinion being coaxial with the axle of the one of said at least three drive wheels.
Wiley teaches an equivalent motorized vehicle 100 (Fig 1) , with a single drive motor 122 (Fig 1) [for driving in rotation the at least three drive said drive wheels 102a-102d (Fig 1) intended to actuate a means for driving in rotation a drive wheel housed in each of said pivoting and driving devices] (“The wheel 102a may be mounted to its respective axle 104a for rotation about a drive axis D. In this example, the rotation of the wheel 102a about the drive axis may be controlled by a drive assembly 106 that is located distally from the wheel 102a and on the chassis 120. The drive shaft 108a may extend substantially vertically from the drive assembly 106 to the axle 104a and rotate about a substantially vertically steering axis S. The bevel gear 114a may connect the drive shaft 108a to the axle 104a to translate torque and power from the drive assembly 106 to the wheel 102a.” Col 5 lines 38-48), the means for driving in rotation the drive wheel comprising:
a first conical pinion 130 (Fig 5) and a second conical pinion 132 (Fig 5) [arranged relative to one another so as to form an angular transmission] (Fig 5 shows the conical pinons in 90 degree alignment with one another), [an axle 108a (Fig 5) of the first pinion being coaxial with an axle of the second toothed wheel and an axle of the second pinion 130 (Fig 5) being coaxial with the axle of the one of said at least three drive wheels] (“Mating gears 130, 132 may be disposed on the lower portion of the drive shaft 108a and the axle 104a.” Col 5 lines 26-28). Wiley further teaches the motorized vehicle is automatic guided vehicle (“For example, platform 100 may support an autonomous or semi-autonomous data center robot. In this example, platform 100 may enable the data center robot to move through aisles of a data center to install, remove, and/or service rack mount units and modules within the data center.” Col 9 lines 45-50 ). Further, Wiley teaches one of the drive motors 122 (Figs 1 and 5) [actuates the means for driving in rotation a drive wheels 102a-102d (Fig 5) of each of the pivoting and driving devices by means of a belt 124 (Fig 1)] (“The chassis 120 may have oppositely disposed top and bottom sides, and the drive assembly 106 may include a drive motor 122 and a drive belt 124 that is controlled by the drive motor 122.” Col 5 lines 6-9 and “the drive belt 124 may cause the drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d to all rotate synchronously with one another to thereby cause the drive shafts 108a-108d and the wheels 102a-102d to all rotate synchronously with one another.”, Col 6 lines 14-20). Wiley further teaches the [chassis is a polygon with four corners] (Figs 1 and 4 show the chassis is a polygon with at least four corners) [to attach the drive wheels 102a-102d (Fig 1) to] (“The robotic platform 100 may include a chassis 120, a drive assembly 106 arranged on the chassis 120, a pair of fore wheel assemblies 101a, 101b disposed on the fore end of the chassis 120, and a pair of aft wheel assemblies 101c, 101d disposed on the aft end of the chassis 120.” Col 5 lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the single drive motor mechanism of Wiley with the plurality of pivoting drive wheels of Holmberg with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide protection of the single drive motor from the environment and allow efficient control of the multiple drive wheels. By using a single motor that powers the wheels via a belt, the drive motor that is distally located from the wheel may be better protected from damaging, forceful impacts that may occur. In addition, the driven caster wheel configurations disclosed herein may allow wheels to freely rotate 360 degrees about steering axes without becoming entangled by electrical wires or other components of the drive assembly.
Regarding claim 10, Holmberg and Wiley fully teach the motorized vehicle is automatic guided vehicle (See modification of Holmberg in view of Wiley in claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 13, Holmberg and Wiley fully teach one of the drive motors [actuates the means for driving in rotation a drive wheels of each of the pivoting and driving devices by means of a belt (See modification of Holmberg in view of Wiley in claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 14, Holmberg fully teaches said pivoting and driving devices 14 (Fig 2A and 2B) [are identical] (“Referring to FIG. 1, a mobile robot base 12 is shown configured for mounting four powered caster wheel modules 14. The four modules 14 are essentially identical, and serve to movably support robot base 12.” Col 3 lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 15, Holmberg and Wiley fully teach four drive wheels mounted on pivoting and driving devices attached to four corners of said chassis (See modification of Holmberg in view of Wiley in claim 9 above).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmberg et al (US 6491127 B1) in view of Wiley (US 10207403) and Abend (US 6629577 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Holmberg teaches [a motorized vehicle intended to transport a load comprising] (“The present invention relates generally to drive systems, and more particularly to powered caster wheel modules used to create drive systems such as for a mobile robot platform, automated guided vehicle (AGV), forklift, or omnidirectional powered roller conveyor.”, Col 1 lines 9-13):
at least three drive wheels 24 (Fig 1) [intended to run along the floor, capable of pivoting at least 90 degrees, said at least three drive wheels being mounted on [pivoting and driving devices ] 14 (Figs 2A and 2B) attached to a chassis of the vehicle 12 (Fig 2A and 2B) ] (“Wheel 24 is vertically mounted in lower housing 22 to rotate about wheel shaft 30 and horizontal axis 32.” Col 4 lines 3-4 and “Each module 14 can be either rigidly mounted to base 12” Col 3 lines 56-57), each of the pivoting and driving devices 14 (Fig 2A and 2B) comprising a pivot motor 18 (Figs 3A and 3B) [for actuating means for pivoting a drive wheel about a vertical axis] (“Steering pinion 42 is attached to the shaft 44 of steering motor 18, and engages steering gear 46, which is attached to the top of lower housing 22. Therefore, when steering motor 18 is energized (in either direction), lower housing 22 with wheel 24 rotates within ring bearing 38” Col 4 lines 15-18),[ intended to make it possible to pivot a drive wheel about itself] (“Wheel 24 is vertically mounted in lower housing 22… Lower housing 22 is mounted to main housing 20 by ring bearing 38 (and by a secondary bearing 39, as will be described later), permitting lower housing 22 to rotate 360 degrees about vertical axis 40.”, Col 4 lines 3-9).
Holmberg does not teach a single drive motor for driving in rotation said at least three drive wheels intended to actuate the means for driving in rotation said at least three drive wheels housed in the pivoting and driving devices by means of a belt, the belt being coupled to a shaft of the drive motor via rollers and held taut by tensioner rollers.
Wiley teaches a single drive motor 122 (Fig 1) [for driving in rotation the at least three drive said drive wheels 102a-102d (Fig 1) intended to actuate a means for driving in rotation a drive wheel housed in each of said pivoting and driving devices] (“The wheel 102a may be mounted to its respective axle 104a for rotation about a drive axis D. In this example, the rotation of the wheel 102a about the drive axis may be controlled by a drive assembly 106 that is located distally from the wheel 102a and on the chassis 120. The drive shaft 108a may extend substantially vertically from the drive assembly 106 to the axle 104a and rotate about a substantially vertically steering axis S. The bevel gear 114a may connect the drive shaft 108a to the axle 104a to translate torque and power from the drive assembly 106 to the wheel 102a.” Col 5 lines 38-48) by means of a belt 124 (Fig 1, “The chassis 120 may have oppositely disposed top and bottom sides, and the drive assembly 106 may include a drive motor 122 and a drive belt 124 that is controlled by the drive motor 122.” Col 5 lines 6-9 and “the drive belt 124 may cause the drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d to all rotate synchronously with one another to thereby cause the drive shafts 108a-108d and the wheels 102a-102d to all rotate synchronously with one another.”, Col 6 lines 14-20), the belt 124 (Fig 1) being coupled to a shaft 108 (Fig 5) [of the drive motor via rollers 126,128a-128d (Fig 2)] (“The power of the wheel assemblies 101a-101d may be controlled by drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d that are mounted to or integral with their respective drive shafts.... Drive motor pulley 126 may be mounted to the upper portion of the drive motor 122, and the drive shaft pulleys 128a-128d may be mounted to an upper portion of each of their respective drive shafts… Thus, the drive motor 122 may cause the drive motor pulley 126 to move about the drive motor axis, which may in turn cause the drive belt 124 to move about the drive pulleys 126, 128a-128d, thereby causing the pulleys 128a-128d and their respective drive shafts to rotate about their respective steering axes.” Col 5 line 63-Col 6 line 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the single drive motor mechanism of Wiley with the plurality of pivoting drive wheels of Holmberg with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide protection of the single drive motor from the environment and allow efficient control of the multiple drive wheels. By using a single motor that powers the wheels via a belt, the drive motor that is distally located from the wheel may be better protected from damaging, forceful impacts that may occur. In addition, the driven caster wheel configurations disclosed herein may allow wheels to freely rotate 360 degrees about steering axes without becoming entangled by electrical wires or other components of the drive assembly.
Holmberg and Wiley teach the single drive motor actuates the means for driving the wheels via a belt, however, they do not teach the belt is held taught by tensioner rollers.
Abend teaches an equivalent belt system 30 (Fig 2) where the belt is held taught by a tensioner 29 (Fig 2, “Output pulley 20 and a tension pulley 29 are disposed in a space between first and second input pulleys 27 and 28. All the pulleys 20, 27 and 28 are tied together with a single belt 30, so that first and second input shafts 25 and 26 can receive the power of engine 11 simultaneously. Tension pulley 29 is pushed against belt 30.” Col 5 lines 44-50- It is also well known in the art to use a tension pulley or roller to maintain tension on a belt to avoid slack and or separation of the belt from the pulleys).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the tensioning rollers of Abend with the robot device of Holmberg and Wiley with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the belt to maintain tension along the pulleys and ensure the belt remains taut. By using a tensioning roller on the belt, the belt will maintain tension on the drive and driven rollers and would be less likely to slip or separate from the drive and driven rollers.
Conclusion
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611