DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 1, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 6, 12-15 has been amended, claims 7-8 have been cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections to the specifications, and the 101, 112(b), 102, and 103 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 2, 2026. As such, these rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed October 1, 2026 were fully considered but they were not persuasive. Modified/New rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment and response to amendment are addressed below
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/009127 filed 06/27/2022 and claims foreign priority to KR10-2021-0095733 filed 07/21/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The Examiner notes no English translation has been provided.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a)
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The specification, while being enabling for the treatment of cachexia and muscle loss, does not reasonably provide enablement for the prevention of the same. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which is pertains, or with which it is most clear connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01 (a)). These include: (1) breadth of the claims; (2) nature of the invention; (3) state of the prior art; (4) amount of direction provided by the inventor; (5) the level of predictability in the art; (6) the existence of working examples; (7) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure; and (8) relative skill in the art. All of the factors have been considered with regard to the claim, with the most relevant factors discussed below:
(1& 2)The breadth of the claims and nature of the invention: The claims are directed to methods for preventing or treating cachexia and muscle loss comprising administering paeoniflorin to a subject in need thereof, and compositions comprising paeoniflorin for preventing or treating cachexia and muscle loss.
(3) The state of the prior art: While there are publications that describe methods of treating cachexia and muscle loss with compositions comprising paeoniflorin, there is no evidence in the prior art that the claimed composition would prevent cachexia and muscle loss from ever occurring. Bae (Journal of Ethnopharmacology, 2020, IDS filed January 19, 2024, available online September 7, 2019) teaches the study of the anti-cachexic effect and mechanism of dried root of Paeonia lactiflora Pall. (Radix Paeoniae, RP) in mouse models of cancer cachexia (abstract). Bae teaches that RP comprises a paeoniflorin content of 8.9-13.5 % (w/w, pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Jang (Journal of Ethnopharmacology, 2021, IDS filed December 4, 2024) teaches Radix Paeoniae (RP) restored skeletal muscle function and mass in cisplatin-treated by mice by restoring muscle levels (abstract). Thus, in short, the art recognizes treatment including administering therapeutic compositions comprising paeoniflorin in the suppression/treatment of cachexia and muscle loss, but not in the absolute prevention thereof.
(4 & 6) The amount of direction provided by the inventor and the existence of working examples: Applicant has not provided examples that demonstrate that the composition claimed is effective at preventing cachexia and muscle loss. The instant specification has demonstrated the alleviation of tumor-induced cachexia and muscle loss (pg. 39-40, example 3). The instant specification demonstrates paeoniflorin improves body weight and muscle mass (pg.41, example 3-2). Applicant has not demonstrated that when the composition is administered to a subject having or at risk of having cachexia and muscle loss, it would prevent said condition from occurring.
(5) The level of predictability in the art: The prior art does not teach a method of preventing cachexia and muscle loss by administering a therapeutic composition. Although some methods may aid in the reduction of cachexia and muscle loss, there is nothing in the prior art that indicates that prevention is possible.
(7) The quantity of experimentation: Neither the instant specification nor the state of the art have demonstrated how therapeutic compositions, such as the composition claimed, can “prevent” cachexia and muscle loss from occurring. An undetermined number of experimental factors utilizing a composition and its method for preventing would have to be resolved by the practitioner and/or the patient for the following reasons: the factors are not sufficiently discussed in the specification to provide guidance to utilize the invention as claimed.
(8) The level of skill in the art: The level of skill in the art would be high, mostly likely at the Ph.D. /MD level.
Therefore, other than proposing an initial hypothesis, the entire burden of research
involved in utilizing the compounds claimed to treat or prevent all disease would fall on the shoulders of the skilled artisan attempting to practice the claimed invention, presenting an undue burden of unpredictable experimentation.
Genentech, 108 F.3d at 1366, sates that, “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a
reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.” And “patent protection is
granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general
ideas that may or may not be workable.”
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors, as discussed above, particularly the state of the art and the lack of guidance or working examples, Applicant fails to provide information sufficient to practice the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
It is noted that the term “prevent” does not necessarily mean that something is kept
from ever occurring, but such is an interpretation available to the Examiner that falls under
the “broad and reasonable” standard for claim term interpretation as set forth in the MPEP at §
2111 and thus is proper.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (d)
Claims 6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 6 and 12-15: Claims 6 are meant to limit the plant species of which the paeniflorin is to be isolated from. However claims 6 and 12-15 encompass all possible Paeonia species, of which claim 1 already does so. Thus, claims 6 and 12-15 by reciting all possible Paeonia species (as claim 1 already does so), fail to further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Modified/New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (Journal of Ethnopharmacology, 2020, IDS filed January 19, 2024, available online September 7, 2019), in view of Li (international Immunopharmacology, 2018, cited on PTO-892) and Chen (J. Chromatography A., 2004, cited on PTO-892),
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9-15: Bae teaches the study of the anti-cachexic effect and mechanism of dried root of Paeonia lactiflora Pall. (Radix Paeoniae, RP) in mouse models of cancer cachexia (abstract). Bae teaches that herbal medicines containing P. lactiflora enhance the efficacy of anticancer therapies and herbal therapeutics containing Paeonia was associated with significantly increased tumor response rates (i.e. use as an adjuvant, pg. 2, col. 1, para. 5). In lung and colon cancer bearing mice, RP significantly restored food intake and muscle mass, along with muscle function measured by grip strength and treadmill running time (abstract). In the skeletal muscle tissue of the cancer-bearing mice, RP suppressed NF-κB signaling and reduced inflammatory cytokines, including TNF-α, IL 6, and IL-1β; it also down-regulated the muscle-specific E3 ubiquitin ligases MuRF1 and MAFbx (abstract). Bae teaches that RP comprises a paeoniflorin content of 8.9-13.5 % (w/w, pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Bae teaches oral administration of lung cancer bearing mice 200 mg/kg of RP (pg. 5, col. 1, last para.).
Bae does not teach wherein paeoniflorin is isolated and purified from the extract and administered specifically.
However, Li teaches paeoniflorin (PF) as active compound in the Rhizoma Atractylodes macrocephala has been used for various diseases like cancer, splenic asthenia, anaphylaxis and anorexia (abstract). Li teaches that PF decreases inflammatory cytokines and inhibits NF-kB signaling pathways (abstract). Li teaches paeoniflorin decreases IL-6 and TNF-alpha (pg. 104, figure 2). Additionally, Chen teaches methods of separation and purification of paeoniflorin from Paeonia lactiflora Pall. (abstract). Chen teaches paeoniflorin is the principal bioactive component of Paeonia lactiflora Pall. (pg. 205, col. 1, para. 1).
Taken together it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the method of Bae such that paeoniflorin is purified and isolated for the treatment of cachexia as taught by Li and Chen. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as paeoniflorin is known as the art as the main active ingredient present in Paeonia lactiflora Pall and its isolation and purification are known techniques in the art. A person of ordinary skill in the art would expect paeoniflorin to alleviate cachexia as it is known in the art to mechanistically decrease inflammatory cytokines and inhibit NF-kb signaling pathways specifically of which Bae identifies as therapeutic routes for the alleviation of cachexic conditions.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (Journal of Ethnopharmacology, 2020, IDS filed January 19, 2024, available online September 7, 2019), Li (international Immunopharmacology, 2018, cited on PTO-892) and Chen (J. Chromatography A., 2004, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9-15 above in view of Yoon (WO 2019/168388, cited in previous action). The English language translation relied upon for Yoon has been provided in a previous action.
Regarding claim 3: As discussed above, the prior art teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the cachexia is caused by cancer. Bae teaches meta-analysis of oxaliplatin-based chemotherapy of colorectal cancer combined with traditional herbal medicine showed that the use of herbal therapeutics containing Paeonia was associated with significantly increased tumour response rates (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 5). Other traditional herbal formulations containing P. lactiflora, such as TJ-48 or PHY906, have reportedly improved the QOL of cancer patients by attenuating chemotherapy-induced side effects (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 5).
Bae does not teach wherein the cachexia is caused by an anticancer drug.
However, Yoon teaches a composition comprising Chinese peony extract as an active ingredient, the composition alleviating loss of appetite, weight loss, muscle loss, and fatigue and inhibiting hematopoietic toxicity, thereby effectively usable for alleviating or treating cachexia and muscle loss (English translation, abstract). Yoon teaches the peony extract is referred to as Paeoniae Radix (English translation, pg. 2, para. 6). Yoon teaches a food composition for cachexia and muscle loss comprising the peony extract (pg. 2, para. 7). Yoon teaches another aspect of the invention provides an anticancer adjuvant comprising the pharmaceutical composition for cachexia and muscle loss treatment (English translation, pg. 4, para. 3). Yoon teaches the peony extract is extracted from a solvent including C1 to C4 lower alcohol (i.e. ethanol, English translation, pg. 2, para. 10). Yoon specifically teaches extracting with ethanol (English translation, pg. 4, para. 10, example 1). Yoon teaches the cachexia can be caused by cancer or an anticancer agent (English translation, pg. 2, paras. 11-12).
Taken together, it would have prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the composition comprising paeoniflorin towards the treatment of cachexia in a subject that was caused by an anticancer drug as taught by Yoon. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as compositions comprising paeoniflorin, such as the extract of Yoon, is known in the art to treat cachexia, and subjects with anticancer drug induced cachexia are known in the art and are in need of treatment.
Modified/New Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,650 (cited in previous action) in view of Yoon (WO 2019/168388, cited in previous action, English translation relied upon provided by the Examiner in a previous action), Bae (Journal of Ethnopharmacology, 2020, IDS filed January 19, 2024, available online September 7, 2019), Li (international Immunopharmacology, 2018, cited on PTO-892), and Chen (J. Chromatography A., 2004, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1-6 and 9-15: Patented claim 1 teaches:
(claim 1). Patented claim 5 teaches wherein the composition is a pharmaceutical composition comprising the active ingredient (claim 5). Patented claim 6 teaches:
(claim 6). Patented claim 2 teaches wherein the Paeoniae radix extract is obtained by extraction with a solvent including C1 to C4 lower alcohols (i.e. ethanol, claim 2).
The patented claims do not teach wherein the method treats cachexia caused by cancer or an anticancer drug. The patented claims do not teach wherein the method inhibits an increase in TNF-α. The patented claims do not teach wherein paeoniflorin is isolated and purified from the extract and administered specifically.
However, Yoon teaches a composition comprising Chinese peony extract as an active ingredient, the composition alleviating loss of appetite, weight loss, muscle loss, and fatigue and inhibiting hematopoietic toxicity, thereby effectively usable for alleviating or treating cachexia and muscle loss (English translation, abstract). Yoon teaches the peony extract is referred to as Paeoniae Radix (English translation, pg. 2, para. 6). Yoon teaches a food composition for cachexia and muscle loss comprising the peony extract (pg. 2, para. 7). Yoon teaches another aspect of the invention provides an anticancer adjuvant comprising the pharmaceutical composition for cachexia and muscle loss treatment (English translation, pg. 4, para. 3). Yoon teaches the peony extract is extracted from a solvent including C1 to C4 lower alcohol (i.e. ethanol, English translation, pg. 2, para. 10). Yoon specifically teaches extracting with ethanol (English translation, pg. 4, para. 10, example 1). Yoon teaches the cachexia can be caused by cancer or an anticancer agent (English translation, pg. 2, paras. 11-12). Yoon teaches inflammatory cytokines in the muscle was reduced with administration of peony extract, such as IL-6 and TNF-α (English translation, pg. 6, last para., pg. 7-8, table). Bae teaches Radix Paeoniae (RP) is also known as Paeonia lactiflora Pall. (abstract). Bae teaches in the skeletal muscle tissue of the cancer-bearing mice, RP suppressed NF-κB signaling and reduced inflammatory cytokines, including TNF-α, IL 6, and IL-1β; it also down-regulated the muscle-specific E3 ubiquitin ligases MuRF1 and MAFbx (abstract). Bae teaches that ethanolic RP extract comprises a paeoniflorin content of 8.9-13.5 % (w/w, abstract, pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Li teaches paeoniflorin (PF) as active compound in the Rhizoma Atractylodes macrocephala has been used for various diseases like cancer, splenic asthenia, anaphylaxis and anorexia (abstract). Li teaches that PF decreases inflammatory cytokines and inhibits NF-kB signaling pathways (abstract). Li teaches paeoniflorin decreases IL-6 and TNF-alpha (pg. 104, figure 2). Additionally, Chen teaches methods of separation and purification of paeoniflorin from Paeonia lactiflora Pall. (abstract). Chen teaches paeoniflorin is the principal bioactive component of Paeonia lactiflora Pall. (pg. 205, col. 1, para. 1).
Taken together, it would have prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of the patented claims such that paeoniflorin is purified and isolated for the treatment of cachexia as taught by Li and Chen towards the treatment of cachexia in a subject that was caused by cancer or an anticancer drug as taught by Yoon. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as compositions comprising paeoniflorin, such as the extract of Yoon, is known in the art to treat cachexia, and subjects with cancer or anticancer drug induced cachexia are known in the art and are in need of treatment. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to isolate paeoniflorin with a reasonable expectation of success as paeoniflorin is known as the art as the main active ingredient present in Paeonia lactiflora Pall and its isolation and purification are known techniques in the art. A person of ordinary skill in the art would expect paeoniflorin to alleviate cachexia as it is known in the art to mechanistically decrease inflammatory cytokines and inhibit NF-kb signaling pathways specifically of which Bae identifies as therapeutic routes for the alleviation of cachexic conditions. Wherein the art establishes paeoniflorin suppresses NF-κB signaling and reduces inflammatory cytokines, including TNF-α, IL 6 the claimed inhibiting an increase in TNF-α necessarily flows as a result of practicing the method.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed October 1, 2026 with respect to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the instant specification demonstrates that paeoniflorin administration can prevent paeoniflorin against cachexia and muscle loss that is induced by cisplatin administration. On page 7 of Applicant’s response, Applicant points to para 0099 of the specification and the data presented in tables 3 and 4 as evidence of the data demonstrating preventative effects of paeoniflorin against cachexia and muscle loss (paras. 2-3).
However, the instant claims are not limited to preventing cachexia and muscle loss caused by cis-platin. There is no evidence in the prior art or presented by applicant that paeoniflorin would prevent cachexia and muscle loss from ever occurring in other conditions, such as those due to cancer. Additionally, based on the data presented in drawings (figs 1-20), which were obtained by following the method of para. 0099 of the specification and the data presented in tables 3 and 4, the data correlates with a reduction in cachexia (i.e. treatment), rather than absolute prevention thereof. For example looking figure 13 (drawings sheet 13), paeoniflorin decreases TNF-alpha compared to no paeoniflorin, but not the same extent as the control group which was not treated with cis-platin. Similarly, in figure 2 muscle weight from treatment of paeoniflorin was improved compared to no paeoniflorin, but not the same extent as the control group which was not treated with cis-platin. While treatment is enabled in view of prior art, the data presented in view of the prior art do not demonstrate enablement of prevention of cachexia and muscle loss.
On pages 8-16 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that the newly amended claims overcome the present rejections because the prior art teaches administration of extracts for cachexia, whereas the present claims are directed to an isolated and purified paeoniflorin. Applicant argues the prior art (Bae and Yoon) did not point to paeoniflorin specifically being the cause for therapeutic activity.
However, see modified/new 103 rejections above which address the limitation of purifying and isolating paeoniflorin from the plant species. Specifically Chen teaches methods of isolating paeoniflorin are known in the art. Li teaches that PF decreases inflammatory cytokines and inhibits NF-kB signaling pathways (abstract) as well as decrease IL-6 and TNF-alpha (pg. 104, figure 2). Bae attributes these mechanistic pathways as cause for treating cachexic conditions, and thus a person of ordinary skill in the art would attribute this activity to paeoniflorin, based on its known mechanistic action in the art.
Applicant’s reply is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response. The 35 USC § 112(a), 112(d), and 103 rejections are maintained for reason of record and foregoing discussion.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693