DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2023/0064880 A1)
Regarding claim(s) 1 and 12, Li discloses:
a station (STA) (fig.1 depicts wireless devices) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the device comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig.11 element 1020); and
at least one processor (fig.11 element 1010) connected to the at least one transceiver (fig.11 transceiver which is communicatively coupled with the processor), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a method performed by the station (STA) (fig.1 a plurality of Stations) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the method comprising:
generating a frame (par.[0022] which recites, in part, “a first device sends a bandwidth query report BQR to a second device, where the BQR includes channel state information of a basic service set BSS operating channel bandwidth; and after receiving a first request to send frame, the first device sends the BQR to the second device”) including information on an available frequency unit (par.[0022] the aforecited BQR, which is a bandwidth query report. The BQR comprises a bitmap or listing of available RUs which are available, par.[0079]); and
transmitting a physical protocol data unit (PPDU), including the frame (par.[0024] which recites, in part, “ the first device sends the BQR to the second device, where the BQR is carried in a non-high throughput physical layer protocol data unit PPDU or a non-high throughput duplicate physical layer protocol data unit PPDU.”), wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in an aggregated-control (A-Control) field of the frame (par.[0079] which recites, in part, “BQR control is a control type of the A-control subfield. A length of control information subfield corresponding to the BQR control is 10 bits. The first 8 bits in the 10 bits are an available channel bitmap (available channel bitmap) subfield.”), wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in a single control subfield (par.[0079] which recites, in part, “The first 8 bits in the 10 bits are an available channel bitmap (available channel bitmap) subfield.”), and
wherein the information on the available frequency unit is related to at least one of a primary channel or a secondary channel (fig.2 which indicates the frequency units which are available in the first or second channels, also par.[0083]).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses:
additional information indicating one of the primary channel or the secondary channel is further included in the single control subfield (fig(s). 6-7 wherein 1 bit is assigned for additional information about the other channel, par.[0130] which recites, in part, “In addition, the last 2 bits in the 10 bits are originally reserved bits, where one reserved bit (the first bit) is used to indicate busy/available state information of the second channel segment, and the another reserved bit may be used as a reserved bit or another user.”).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses:
additional information indicating that the information on the available frequency unit is related to the primary channel or the secondary channel other than 160MHz is further included in the single control subfield (fig(s).8which describes the additional information (par.[0142 - 0146] which describes the channel segment bit which indicates the primary or secondary channel which can be more or less than 160 MHz).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses:
wherein:
the information on the available frequency unit indicates an available frequency unit within an operation channel width of up to 320MHz (par.[0080] which recites, “A larger bandwidth in this embodiment of this application is a bandwidth greater than 160 MHz, for example, a 240 MHz bandwidth or a 320 MHz bandwidth”).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses:
the information on the available frequency unit indicates an available frequency unit within a primary 160MHz channel or a secondary 160MHz channel (fig.2 and par.[0130] as it relates to fig.6).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses:
The STA is an access point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA (fig.1 and par.[0003] which depict the AP, and non-AP STA, par.[0089]).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses:
The available frequency unit is related to an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission (fig.2 depicts the frequency units which are available for uplink and/or downlink transmissions, par.[0003], which recites, in part, “the AP is associated with a plurality of stations, and uplink and downlink communication is performed between the AP and the associated stations by using the IEEE 802.11 protocol.”).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses:
The frequency unit is defined in a 20 MHz unit or in a unit other than 20 MHz (fig.2 depicts the 20Mhz frequency units or combination of the 20 MHz frequency unit up to 160 MHz in multiples of the 20 MHz frequency unit).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Li discloses:
a station (STA) (fig.1 depicts wireless devices or AP) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the device comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig.11 element 1020); and
at least one processor (fig.11 element 1010) connected to the at least one transceiver (fig.11 transceiver which is communicatively coupled with the processor), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a method performed by the station (STA) (fig.1 depicts wireless devices element 104b) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the method comprising:
receive through a physical protocol data unit (PPDU), including the frame (par.[0024] which recites, in part, “ the first device sends the BQR to the second device, where the BQR is carried in a non-high throughput physical layer protocol data unit PPDU or a non-high throughput duplicate physical layer protocol data unit PPDU.”), wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in an aggregated-control (A-Control) field of the frame (par.[0079] which recites, in part, “BQR control is a control type of the A-control subfield. A length of control information subfield corresponding to the BQR control is 10 bits. The first 8 bits in the 10 bits are an available channel bitmap (available channel bitmap) subfield.”), wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in a single control subfield (par.[0079] which recites, in part, “The first 8 bits in the 10 bits are an available channel bitmap (available channel bitmap) subfield.”), and
wherein the information on the available frequency unit is related to at least one of a primary channel or a secondary channel (fig.2 which indicates the frequency units which are available in the first or second channels, also par.[0083]).
Claim(s) 1, 7-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Noh et al. (US 2022/0030604 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1 and 12, Li discloses:
a station (STA) (fig.1 depicts wireless devices) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the device comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig.2 element 240); and
at least one processor (fig.2 element 210) connected to the at least one transceiver (fig.2 element 210 which is communicatively coupled with the element 240), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a method performed by the station (STA) (fig.1 depicts wireless devices element 104b) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the method comprising:
generating a frame (par.[0061] as it pertains to fig.1 and recites, in part, “In one embodiment, the MAC layer of a wireless device 104 may initiate transmission of a frame to another wireless device 104 by passing a PHY-TXSTART.request (TXVECTOR) to the PHY layer.”.) including information on an available frequency unit (par.[0059] describes resource unit (RU) allocation, wherein the RU is a frequency unit which is available for uplink or downlink transmission); and
transmitting a physical protocol data unit (PPDU), including the frame (par.[0096] which recites, in part, “a STA (e.g., a wireless device 104) is capable of transmitting and receiving Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs) that are compliant with the mandatory PHY specifications”. Wherein the frame is comprised of a one or more PPDU(s) ), wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in an aggregated-control (A-Control) field of the frame (par.[0158] which recites, in part, “In one embodiment, an A-control frame includes a control information subfield according to one or more of: (1) an RU allocation field that consists of or otherwise includes the values defined in IEEE 802.11ax and new values for aggregated RUs (26+52RU, 26+106RU, or 242+484RU) at reserved states”. The A-Control field comprises a subfield (e.g. a field) which comprises the RU or allocation of RU(s) which can be allocated for uplink and/or downlink communications), wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in a single control subfield (par.[0158] which describes the subfield comprising the RU allocation field), and
wherein the information on the available frequency unit is related to at least one of a primary channel or a secondary channel (par.[0197] which recites, in part, “ the common information field includes an uplink bandwidth field that is composed of two bits and the set of user information fields includes a resource unit allocation field and a resource unit extension field, which indicates whether the primary 160 MHz channel or the secondary 160 MHz channel is allocated to a station.”. That is, the RU allocation is an RU of the primary or secondary channel).
Regarding claim 7, Noh discloses:
wherein:
the information on the available frequency unit indicates an available frequency unit within an operation channel width of up to 320MHz (par.[0115] which describes the 320 MHz, “the 6 GHz band (5.925-7.125 GHz) is being considered for unlicensed use. This would allow APs and STAs to become tri-band devices. Larger than 160 MHz data transmissions (e.g., 320 MHz) could be considered to increase the maximum PHY rate. For example, 320 MHz or 160+160 MHz data could be transmitted in the 6 GHz band. For example, 160+160 MHz data could be transmitted across the 5 and 6 GHz bands.”).
Regarding claim 8, Noh discloses:
the information on the available frequency unit indicates an available frequency unit within a primary 160MHz channel or a secondary 160MHz channel (with respect to the 6Ghz band the 160+160 in a primary and secondary channel as discussed above, and in par.[0115]).
Regarding claim 9, Noh discloses:
The STA is an access point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA (fig.1 depicts the AP 104(a) and the non-AP STA 104(b) in the wireless network, par.[0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Noh discloses:
The available frequency unit is related to an uplink transmission or a downlink transmission (as discussed above, the RU(s) are utilized for transmitting data on the uplink or the downlink. Par.[0197]).
Regarding claim 11, Noh discloses:
The frequency unit is defined in a 20 MHz unit or in a unit other than 20 MHz (par.[0152] which describes the 20 MHz/242 tone resource unit or 40 MHz/484 tone resource unit).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Noh discloses:
a station (STA) (fig.1 depicts wireless devices element 104b) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the device comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig.2 element 240); and
at least one processor (fig.2 element 210) connected to the at least one transceiver (fig.2 element 210 which is communicatively coupled with the element 240), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a method performed by the station (STA) (fig.1 depicts wireless devices element 104b) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (fig.1 depicts a wireless LAN system), the method comprising:
receive through at least one transceiver a physical protocol data unit (PPDU), including the frame (par.[0096] which recites, in part, “a STA (e.g., a wireless device 104) is capable of transmitting and receiving Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs) that are compliant with the mandatory PHY specifications”. Wherein the frame is comprised of a one or more PPDU(s) ), and perform a channel access (fig.5 and par.[0105 – 0111] describes carrier sensing for channel access) based on the information on the available frequency unit (par.[0158] which is described in further detail below, wherein the RU(s) MRU(s) assigned are utilized for channel access and transmission of information among the stations of the wireless network) wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in an aggregated-control (A-Control) field of the frame (par.[0158] which recites, in part, “In one embodiment, an A-control frame includes a control information subfield according to one or more of: (1) an RU allocation field that consists of or otherwise includes the values defined in IEEE 802.11ax and new values for aggregated RUs (26+52RU, 26+106RU, or 242+484RU) at reserved states”. The A-Control field comprises a subfield (e.g. a field) which comprises the RU or allocation of RU(s) which can be allocated for uplink and/or downlink communications), wherein the information on the available frequency unit is included in a single control subfield (par.[0158] which describes the subfield comprising the RU allocation field), and
wherein the information on the available frequency unit is related to at least one of a primary channel or a secondary channel (par.[0197] which recites, in part, “ the common information field includes an uplink bandwidth field that is composed of two bits and the set of user information fields includes a resource unit allocation field and a resource unit extension field, which indicates whether the primary 160 MHz channel or the secondary 160 MHz channel is allocated to a station.”. That is, the RU allocation is an RU of the primary or secondary channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh as applied to claim 1, in view of Lou et al. (US 2024/0333465 A1) with priority to 63/215,167 06/25/2021.
Regarding claim 4, the disclosure of Li teaches the aggregated control subfield, but does not disclose:
additional information indicating that the information on the available frequency unit is related to a region to which a subchannel selective transmission (SST) operation is applied is further included in the single control subfield.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Lou teaches:
additional information indicating that the information on the available frequency unit is related to a region to which a subchannel selective transmission (SST) operation is applied is further included in the single control subfield (par.[0151 – 0152] which describes the SST in the aggregated control subfield).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings Noh with the disclosure of Lou. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide more efficient SST which allows for better use of the bandwidth.
Regarding claim 5, the disclosure of Lou teaches:
wherein: based on a SST operation-related indication being transmitted or received before the information on the available frequency unit is transmitted, the information on the available frequency unit indicates an available frequency unit related to a region to which the SST operation is applied (par.[0004] which recites, in part, “The trigger frame may indicate a range of association identifiers (AIDs) and/or subchannel information. The subchannel information may identify one or more secondary subchannels for an SST. The STA may determine that the AID of the STA is within the range of AIDs indicted in the trigger frame. The STA may send feedback to the AP that indicates that the STA will monitor one or more of the secondary subchannels. The STA may receive the SST from the AP on a secondary subchannel of the one or more secondary subchannels. The STA may send an acknowledgment (ACK) to the AP on the secondary subchannel in response to receipt of the SST.” This provides an indication of which band the available resources reside on).
Regarding claim 6, Lou discloses:
wherein: based on the information on the available frequency unit being transmitted within a predetermined time period related to a SST operation, the information on the available frequency unit indicates an available frequency unit related to a region to which the SST operation is applied (par.[0103] which describes the SST with the Target Wake Time, and par.[0152] which recites, in part, “Individual SST negotiation using the A-Control field are described herein. A non-AP STA may transmit an SST request in an A-Control field in a data frame or management frame. On reception of the SST request in an A-Control field, an AP may respond with a full TWT element as SST response.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Asterjadhi et al. (US 2018/0205441 A1) “Short Uplink Feedback Related Methods and Apparatus”
Cariou et al. (US 2019/0349232 A1) “Control Fields for Null Data Packet Feedback Reports”
Min et al. (US 2020/0214036 A1) “Multi-Band Bandwidth Query Report (MB-BQR) Signaling in Extremely High Throughput (EHT) Systems”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411