DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the filing 7/27/2026. Claims 12-16 and 20-24 are currently pending. No claims have been amended. Claims 1-11 and 17-19 have been previously canceled. Claim 24 is newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-16 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancaster (US 4302920) in view of Bugatti (US 1099587 A), Landis (US 0771077 A), and Xiang (CN 103089941 A).
Regarding claim 12, Lancaster discloses an unwinding apparatus associable with a wrapping machine and arranged to deliver a film (22 – Fig. 2) of extensible plastic material that is unwound from a reel (20 – Fig. 2), the unwinding apparatus comprising: a first pre-stretching roller (34 – Fig. 1) and a second pre-stretching roller (36 – Fig. 1) rotatable about respective longitudinal rotation axes (the longitudinal axes of 35 and 37, respectively) and arranged to unwind and pre-stretch the film (col. 5, lines 36-49); and a motion transmission system (50 – Fig. 1) configured to connect said first and second pre-stretching rollers to each other and transmit a rotation motion from said first-pre-stretching roller to said second pre-stretching roller with at least one defined transmission ratio (col. 6, lines 9-35), said motion transmission system comprising: at least two toothed driving wheels (38, 40, 42 – Fig. 1) having different respective number of teeth (see Fig. 1, the wheels each have a different radius from the others, hence there are different number of teeth), mounted coaxial and integral to each other (col. 6, lines 11-21), and rotated by said first pre-stretching roller (col. 6, lines 11-21); at least two toothed driven wheels (138, 140, 142 – Fig. 1) having different respective number of teeth (see Fig. 1, the wheels each have a different radius from the others, hence there are different number of teeth), mounted coaxial to said second pre-stretching roller and selectively couplable to said second pre-stretching roller (col. 6, lines 25-28), each toothed driven wheel meshing with a respective one of said toothed driving wheels in order to transmit the rotation motion of said first pre-stretching roller to said second pre-stretching roller with a corresponding transmission ratio when said toothed driven wheel is coupled to said second pre-stretching roller (col. 6, lines 25-35); and a selector device (56 – Fig. 1) that can be operated to couple one of said toothed driven wheels at a time to said second pre-stretching roller (col. 6, lines 43-54), a locking assembly (the portion of the shift mechanism that provides the locking, col. 6, line 51-54) acting on said selector pin and configured to reversibly lock said selector pin at least in said first operative position or in said second operative position (col. 6, lines 51-54).
However, Lancaster discloses a different selector device than that which is claimed in claim 1.
Bugatti teaches a selector device comprising a driven shaft (d – Fig. 1), rotatably supporting toothed driven wheels (a, b – Fig. 1) and provided with a longitudinal internal cavity (the cavity through d – Fig. 1) having at least one first lateral through opening (f – Fig. 1) and one second lateral through opening (f’ – Fig. 1) suitable for housing respective locking elements (g, g’ – Fig. 1); and a selector pin (i – Fig. 1) sliding inside said longitudinal internal cavity (pg. 1, lines 52-57) and provided with a transverse protrusion (at h – Fig. 1), said selector pin being movable between at least a first operative position (at the position of h depicted in Fig. 1), in which said transverse protrusion abuts and pushes at least one locking element (g – Fig. 1) to protrude externally from said first lateral through opening so as to engage a first seat of a first toothed driven wheel (a – Fig. 1) to couple the toothed wheel to said driven shaft (pg. 1, lines 52-61), and a second operative position (at the position of h depicted in shadow in Fig. 1), in which the transverse protrusion abuts and pushes at least one locking element (g’ – Fig. 1) to protrude externally from said second lateral through opening so as to engage a second seat of said a second toothed driven wheel (b – Fig. 1) and to couple the second toothed driven wheel to said driven shaft (pg. 1, lines 62-67), and an inoperative position in which said first transverse protrusion does not abut said locking elements (g, g’ – Fig. 1) and said toothed driven wheels idly rotate on said driven shaft (since the selector pin is capable of being slid to any position, it is capable of being slid to a position in which the protrusions do not engage any locking elements; this is supported by Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Bugatti, would have recognized that the selector device of Bugatti is analogous to the selector device of Lancaster since they both accomplish the same function, bringing gears into and out of engagement with each other to choose a gear ratio.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted the selector device of Lancaster with the selector device of Bugatti, with minor modifications to fit the number of gears of Lancaster, since the selector device of Bugatti is a known alternative.
However, Lancaster, as modified by Bugatti, does not disclose a second transverse protrusion.
Landis teaches a similar selector device comprising a selector pin (C – Fig. 1) having a first transverse protrusion (the rightmost C2 – Fig. 1) and a second transverse protrusion (the second from right C2 – Fig. 1), wherein in a first operative position (the position of C depicted in Fig. 1), the first transverse protrusion acts on a locking element (the rightmost C’ – Fig. 1) of a first gear (6 – Fig. 1) and in a second operative position (when the second from right C2 acts on the second from right C’ – Fig. 1, pg. 1, line 86 – pg. 2, line 3), the second transverse protrusion acts on another locking element (the second from right C’ – Fig. 1) of a second gear (7 – Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Landis, would have recognized that having more than one protrusion with each protrusion matching a locking element, would have provided the benefit over the selector device of Bugatti of allowing the selector pin to be shorter and thereby require less energy to actuate. Note that this would result in a configuration where the second transverse protrusion does not abut the locking elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the selector pin of Lancaster and Bugatti to include the same number of protrusions as locking elements and thus a second transverse protrusion as taught by Landis in order to require less energy to actuate the selector pin.
However, Lancaster, as modified by Bugatti and Landis, does not expressly teach the structure of the locking assembly.
Xiang teaches a similar invention comprising a locking assembly, where said locking assembly comprises at least one elastic pressing element (21 – Fig. 1) and at least a first groove (see annotated Fig. 1 below), a second groove (see annotated Fig. 1 below), and a third groove (see annotated Fig. 1 below) of a selector pin (11 – Fig. 1), said elastic pressing element being configured to engage said first annular groove in a first operative position or said second annular groove in a second operative position or the third groove in an inoperative position (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 1 below, when the pin is in the second groove, gear 9 is engaged; it is clear that when the selector pin is moved one translation to the left, the elastic pressing element enters the first groove and gear 105 is engaged; when the selector pin is moved one translation to the right, the elastic element enters the third groove and none of the gears are engaged since none of the protrusions engage any gear). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Xiang, would have recognized that the locking assembly of Xiang may be used as the locking assembly of Lancaster, Bugatti, and Landis since the selector pin of Xiang is similar to the selector pin of Bugatti.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have made the locking assembly of Lancaster, Bugatti, and Landis in the manner taught by Xiang since Lancaster, Bugatti, and Landis are silent with respect to the structure of the locking assembly and Xiang provides a known solution.
Annotated Fig. 1, taken from Xiang
Lancaster, as modified by Bugatti, Landis, and Xiang, further teaches:
Claim 13, said at least one lateral through opening (f – Fig. 1, Bugatti) and second at least one second lateral through opening (f’ – Fig. 1, Bugatti) are spaced along a direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of said driven shaft (see Fig. 1, Bugatti).
Claim 14, said longitudinal internal cavity (the cavity through d – Fig. 1, Bugatti) of said driven shaft comprises a plurality of first lateral through openings (f – Fig.1, Bugatti) angularly spaced about a longitudinal axis of said driven shaft and suitable for housing respective locking elements (see Fig. 2, there are four through openings, Bugatti) and a plurality of second lateral through openings (f’ – Fig. 1, Bugatti) angularly spaced about the longitudinal axis and suitable for housing respective locking elements (see Fig. 2, there are four through openings, Bugatti).
Claim 15, said selector pin (i – Fig. 1, Bugatti) has a cylindrical shape (see Fig. 1, i is a cylindrical rod, Bugatti) and each first and second transverse protrusion (at h – fig. 1, Bugatti) comprises a conical portion (the left and right sides of h – Fig. 1, Bugatti) and a cylindrical portion (the center of h – Fig. 1, Bugatti) respectively configured to push said locking element to protrude externally from said first and second lateral through openings and to keep said locking element protruding externally from said first and second lateral through openings (see Fig. 1, Bugatti).
Claim 16, said first toothed driven wheel (one of 138, 140, 142 – Fig. 1, Lancaster corresponding to one of a or b – Fig. 1, Bugatti) and said second toothed driven wheel (another one of 138, 140, 142 – Fig. 1 Lancaster corresponding to the other one of a, b – Fig. 1, Bugatti) comprise respective central openings (the respective central hole of 138, 140, 142 – Fig. 1, Lancaster) suitable for coupling with said driven shaft (see Fig. 1 of Lancaster, 138, 140 and 142 are mounted on driven shaft 37) and are provided with a plurality respectively of first seats (e – Fig. 1, Bugatti) and second seats (e’ – Fig. 1, Bugatti) suitable for receiving said locking elements (see Fig. 1, Bugatti).
Claim 20, said selector pin (i – Fig. 1, Bugatti) further comprises a gripping end (70 – Fig. 1, Lancaster; the combination of Lancaster and Bugatti suggests the obvious minor modification of 70 of Lancaster being a gripping end of i of Bugatti) which protrudes from an access opening of said longitudinal internal cavity and is arranged opposite to said second pre-stretching roller (see Fig. 1, Lancaster).
Claim 21, a motor arranged to rotate said first pre-stretching roller (although not expressly disclosed in Lancaster, there must necessarily be a motor somewhere to allow the film to be drawn through the rollers, since this drawing of film would result in the first pre-stretching roller being rotated, the motor is interpreted to rotate said first pre-stretching roller; furthermore, note that Official Notice was taken in the Office action dated 8/12/2025, since applicant has not challenged the Official Notice in the response dated 11/12/2025, it has become applicant admitted prior art that it is old and well-known in the art to provide a motor for drawing a web through rollers, for example, to rotate the turntable).
Claim 22, said motion transmission system comprises a number of said toothed driven wheels (138, 140, 142 – Fig. 1, Lancaster) that is equal to a number of said toothed driving wheels (38, 40, 42 – Fig. 1, Lancaster), each toothed driven wheel engaging a specific toothed driving wheel (col. 6, lines 31-35, Lancaster).
Claim 23, said first (f – Fig. 1, Bugatti) and second (f’ – Fig. 1, Bugatti) lateral through openings are orthogonal to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 1, Bugatti).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 24, Xiang is relied upon for teaching the locking assembly. As noted above in the rejection of claim 12, Xiang teaches a first groove, a second groove, and a third groove. However, Xiang does not teach that the third groove is located between the first groove and the second groove and it is not clear how to achieve this without further modifying Xiang and engaging in improper hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 12, applicant argues that the rejection of claim 12 is based on improper hindsight since there is not a rationale provided to support the legal conclusion of obviousness. Lancaster does not disclose the claimed selector device. The position is taken by examiner that Bugatti teaches the selector device and it would be obvious to combine but the fourth paragraph merely provides a conclusory statement, there is no rationale provided. Furthermore, applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been capable of replacing the selector device of Lancaster with the selector device of Bugatti since the shift mechanism of Lancaster would not work with Bugatti’s selector device and it is not clear how to move the selector pin in Bugatti.
In response, it is initially noted that the examiner agrees that Lancaster does not disclose the claimed selector device, hence the reliance on Bugatti for teaching the claimed selector device. Regarding the point that there is no rational for combining provided, applicant is pointed to paragraph 3 of the rejection of claim 12 where analogy is established and highlighting how the two selector devices provide the same function. This is the rationale right above the conclusion statement. Combined with the statement in the fourth paragraph, the rationale to combine is clearly provided. Since there are two selector devices that do the same thing, it would have been obvious to substitute one for the other. Regarding applicant’s secondary argument that it is not clear how to move the pin in Bugatti, the examiner takes that position that one of ordinary skill in the art would in fact have the requisite skill to implement a selector device for Bugatti, hence the “minor modifications” indication in the rejection. This is supported by Bugatti itself which does not expressly disclose a selector device implying that such a device would be routine. It is not clear why applicant thinks an engineer of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine how to move a shaft in a hollow tube. Therefore, applicant’s argument is found to be not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 12, applicant further argues that a rationale to combine Xiang with Lancaster and Bugatti is not provided.
However, similar to above, in the last lines of the paragraph directly above the conclusion statement, analogy and hence a rationale to combine is provided. Therefore, applicant’s argument is found to be not persuasive.
Regarding claim 24, applicant argues that the combination of Lancaster, Bugatti, and Xiang does not disclose that the third groove is located between the first groove and the second groove.
Agreed, hence the indication that claim 24 includes allowable subject matter above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (US 5799471) discloses an unwinding apparatus comprising two pre-stretching rollers (11, 21 – Fig. 1) and gearing (412, 413 – Fig. 1) for controlling the speed ratio between the rollers (col. 4, lines 42-45).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
9/19/2026