DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 8/6/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mennicke et al. (US 5,158,841).
Regarding claim 11, Mennicke et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, an arrangement for an electrochemical energy store (ref 1), the arrangement comprising: a honeycomb structure (Figs 1-2) having: hollow-cylindrical tubular shapes (ref 3, C4/L57-61) having cavities (into which refs 2 are disposed, Figs 1-2) lying parallel to one another (Figs 1-3, 6); and secondary cavities (refs 5) disposed between (Figs 1-2) the hollow-cylindrical tubular shapes (ref 3, C4/L57-61); and electric cells (refs 2) positioned in (Figs 1-3) the hollow-cylindrical tubular shapes (ref 3, C4/L57-61); wherein at least some of the secondary cavities (refs 5) are arranged such that each is adjacent to three (Fig 2, below, A, B, C) of the hollow-cylindrical tubular shapes (ref 3, C4/L57-61), and each of the secondary cavities (refs 5) has, in a spatially alternating manner (Figs 1-2), a coolant duct (refs 4, 6) or an active heating device (ref 17, C7/L19-24, C3/L49-53).
Regarding claim 12, Mennicke et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the coolant duct (refs 4, 6) is connected to an active cooling device (C5/L31-38, Figs 5-6), refs 11, 24, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Mennicke et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the heating device (ref 17, C7/L19-24, C3/L49-53) is an electric heating device (ref 17, C7/L19-24, C3/L49-53).
Regarding claim 14, Mennicke et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the coolant duct (refs 4, 6) at an end side projects in relation (Fig 5, C6/L4-15) to the hollow-cylindrical tubular shapes (ref 3, C4/L57-61).
Regarding claim 15, Mennicke et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the honeycomb structure (Figs 1-2) comprises an electrical isolator and / or is made of a polymer (C4/L58-61).
Regarding claim 16, Mennicke et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses each of the hollow-cylinder tubular shapes (ref 3, C4/L57-61) is surrounded by six of the secondary cavities (depicted in Fig 2, below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jones (US 1,607,460) discloses in Fig 1, a battery (Title) including a casing (ref 1) holding a plurality of battery cells (refs 2) therein, stacked parallel to one another (Fig 1).
Cilliberti, Jr (US 3,784,411) discloses in Figs 1-4, a battery structure (Abstract) including a plurality of battery cells (refs 10) stacked parallel within a casing (ref 60, Fig 4). A grid of polymer material is disposed between (Abstract) the stacked cells (refs 10, Fig 4).
Clegg et al. discloses in Figs 1-2, a battery structure (Abstract) including hollow cylindrical openings (Fig 1) within a casing (ref 10) housing a plurality of battery cells (refs 11). Between the individual cells (refs 11) a matrix of material holds the cells (refs 11).
Nichols (US 2,209,927) discloses in Figs 1-6, a battery structure (Abstract) including a honeycomb tube structure (refs 10, Figs 1-2) for housing individual battery cells (refs 12), and housed in a casing (Figs 3-6).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725