DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending in this application and have been examined under the priority date of 01/08/2021 in accordance with the applicants’ claim for foreign priority.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1; claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea, mental process or steps of mere data gathering without significantly more. The claim recites the following limitations which could practically be performed as a human mental process or step of mere data gathering;
“An inspection image acquisition unit that acquires an inspection image that is a captured image of an object to be inspected; (Mere data gathering of collecting an image)
and a prediction unit that applies the inspection image acquired by the inspection image acquisition unit to a prediction model trained by using training data, (Mental process, where the model constitutes abstract math)
and performs prediction whether the object to be inspected is a normal product (Mental process of making a decision),
and prediction of a defect type in a case where the object to be inspected is a defective product, (Mental process of making a decision)
wherein the training data is configured by assigning a normal product ground truth label that does not include a label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a defective product and includes only a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a normal product to a learning image of the normal product, (Mental process of making a decision regarding whether or not data appears normal)
and by assigning a defective product ground truth label that does not include a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to the normal product and includes a plurality of defective type labels indicating a possibility of correspondence to a plurality of defect types, (Mental process of making a decision regarding classification of data)
and a weight for each of the defect type labels to a learning image of a defective product. (Mental process by which a person could look at an image and arbitrarily rank the image to assign a weight)”
The above limitations are steps which could practically be performed as a human mental process or step of mere data gathering performed by a human, under step 2A prong 1 (MPEP 2106). Under step 2A prong 2, the claim recites the additional elements of “A defect inspection device”, “an inspection image acquisition unit”, “a prediction unit”, and “a prediction model”, which fail to integrate the claimed steps into practical application, or significantly more. Further, under step 2B, the claim does not include any limitations which amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Dependent claim 2 does not add limitations that further meaningfully translate the abstract ideas into practical application or amount to significantly more.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites the limitations;
“Wherein the training data is configured by assigning a maximum weight to the normal label of the normal product ground truth label, (Mental process by which a person could look at an image and arbitrarily rank the image to assign a weight)
and assigning a weight less than the maximum weight to each of the plurality of defect type labels of the defective product ground truth label. (Mental process by which a person could look at an image and arbitrarily rank the image to assign a weight)”
The above limitations are recited with a high level of generality, and are drawn to mental processes or steps of mere data gathering without significantly more.
Regarding claim 3; claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea, mental process or steps of mere data gathering without significantly more. The claim recites the following limitations which could practically be performed as a human mental process or step of mere data gathering;
“a first step of acquiring an inspection image that is a captured image of an object to be inspected by an inspection image acquisition unit of a computer; (Mere data gathering of collecting an image)
and a second step of applying the inspection image acquired by the inspection image acquisition unit to a prediction model trained by using training data, (Mental process, where the model constitutes abstract math)
and performing prediction whether the object to be inspected is a normal product, (Mental process of making a decision)
and prediction of a defect type in a case where the object to be inspected is a defective product by a prediction unit of the computer, (Mental process of making a decision)
wherein the training data is configured by assigning a normal product ground truth label that does not include a label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a defective product and includes only a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a normal product to a learning image of the normal product, (Mental process of making a decision regarding whether or not data appears normal)
and by assigning a defective product ground truth label that does not include a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to the normal product and includes a plurality of defective type labels indicating a possibility of correspondence to a plurality of defect types, (Mental process of making a decision regarding classification of data)
and a weight for each of the defect type labels to a learning image of a defective product, (Mental process by which a person could look at an image and arbitrarily rank the image to assign a weight)”
The above limitations are steps which could practically be performed as a human mental process or step of mere data gathering performed by a human, under step 2A prong 1 (MPEP 2106). Under step 2A prong 2, the claim recites the additional elements of “A defect inspection device”, “an inspection image acquisition unit”, “a prediction unit”, “a prediction model” and a “computer” containing one or more of the units. The recited additional elements fail to integrate the claimed steps into practical application, or significantly more. Further, under step 2B, the claim does not include any limitations which amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Regarding claim 4; claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea, mental process or steps of mere data gathering without significantly more. The claim recites the following limitations which could practically be performed as a human mental process or step of mere data gathering;
“a first step of inputting training data to which a ground truth label is assigned by a training data input unit of a computer; (Mere data gathering of collecting an image)
and a second step of applying the inspection image acquired by the inspection image acquisition unit to a prediction model trained by using training data, (Mental process, where the model constitutes abstract math)
and performing prediction whether the object to be inspected is a normal product, (Mental process of making a decision)
and prediction of a defect type in a case where the object to be inspected is a defective product by a prediction unit of the computer, (Mental process of making a decision)
wherein the training data is configured by assigning a normal product ground truth label that does not include a label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a defective product and includes only a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a normal product to a learning image of the normal product, (Mental process of making a decision regarding whether or not data appears normal)
and by assigning a defective product ground truth label that does not include a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to the normal product and includes a plurality of defective type labels indicating a possibility of correspondence to a plurality of defect types, (Mental process of making a decision regarding classification of data)
and a weight for each of the defect type labels to a learning image of a defective product, (Mental process by which a person could look at an image and arbitrarily rank the image to assign a weight)”
The above limitations are steps which could practically be performed as a human mental process or step of mere data gathering performed by a human, under step 2A prong 1 (MPEP 2106). Under step 2A prong 2, the claim recites the additional elements of “A defect inspection device”, “an inspection image acquisition unit”, “a prediction unit”, “a prediction model” and a “computer” containing one or more of the units. The recited additional elements fail to integrate the claimed steps into practical application, or significantly more. Further, under step 2B, the claim does not include any limitations which amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
Inspection image acquisition unit in claim 1, 3, and 4.
Prediction unit in claim 1, 3, and 4
Prediction model in claim 1, 3, and 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He (US 20190073568 A1).
Regarding claim 1 He discloses; A defect inspection device (He, [0010] the defect inspection system has a computer and subsystems for executing a program), comprising:
an inspection image acquisition unit that acquires an inspection image that is a captured image of an object to be inspected (He, [0043] the system has image capturing devices such as cameras (image acquisition unit) to capture images, [0028] defects are classified in the images at the pixel level);
and a prediction unit that applies the inspection image acquired by the inspection image acquisition unit to a prediction model trained by using training data (He, [0029] the system is configured to train a neural network (prediction model) to classify and annotate defects at the pixel level of an image, where [0030] the system takes in one or more images of the specimen to be reviewed, and detects and classifies defects on it, [0082] the model is trained on defect and non-defect images (training data)),
and performs prediction whether the object to be inspected is a normal product (He, [0030] the system is trained to review images and detect whether defects are present, [0082] the system is trained on defective and non-defective images to determine whether it can differentiate between the two),
and prediction of a defect type in a case where the object to be inspected is a defective product (He, [0080] the system may be trained to determine the defect type or defect pattern after a defect is detected),
wherein the training data is configured by assigning a normal product ground truth label that does not include a label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a defective product and includes only a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a normal product to a learning image of the normal product (He, [0082] the model is trained on defect and non-defect images (training data), [0083] where images without defects are only labeled as being defect free),
and by assigning a defective product ground truth label that does not include a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to the normal product and includes a plurality of defective type labels indicating a possibility of correspondence to a plurality of defect types (He, [0080] the defective products are labeled as defective, as well as labeled with defect types),
and a weight for each of the defect type labels to a learning image of a defective product (He, [0101] weights are obtained after training the second part of the network which classified defect type, [0105] the defect labels are used to generate the weights, which can be used to train other networks or fine tune the network to detect defect types, indicating the defect types each have a weight).
Regarding claim 3 He discloses;
A defect inspection method (He, [0012] computer implemented defect classification method), comprising:
a first step of acquiring an inspection image that is a captured image of an object to be inspected by an inspection image acquisition unit of a computer (He, [0043] the system has image capturing devices such as cameras (image acquisition unit) to capture images, [0028] defects are classified in the images at the pixel level);
and a second step of applying the inspection image acquired by the inspection image acquisition unit to a prediction model trained by using training data (He, [0029] the system is configured to train a neural network (prediction model) to classify and annotate defects at the pixel level of an image, where [0030] the system takes in one or more images of the specimen to be reviewed, and detects and classifies defects on it, [0082] the model is trained on defect and non-defect images (training data)),
and performing prediction whether the object to be inspected is a normal product (He, [0030] the system is trained to review images and detect whether defects are present, [0082] the system is trained on defective and non-defective images to determine whether it can differentiate between the two),
and prediction of a defect type in a case where the object to be inspected is a defective product by a prediction unit of the computer (He, [0080] the system may be trained to determine the defect type or defect pattern after a defect is detected),
wherein the training data is configured by assigning a normal product ground truth label that does not include a label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a defective product and includes only a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a normal product to a learning image of the normal product (He, [0082] the model is trained on defect and non-defect images (training data), [0083] where images without defects are only labeled as being defect free),
and by assigning a defective product ground truth label that does not include a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to the normal product and includes a plurality of defective type labels indicating a possibility of correspondence to a plurality of defect types (He, [0080] the defective products are labeled as defective, as well as labeled with defect types),
and a weight for each of the defect type labels to a learning image of a defective product (He, [0101] weights are obtained after training the second part of the network which classified defect type, [0105] the defect labels are used to generate the weights, which can be used to train other networks or fine tune the network to detect defect types, indicating the defect types each have a weight).
Regarding claim 4 He discloses; A prediction model generation method (He, [0012] computer implemented defect classification method), comprising:
a first step of inputting training data to which a ground truth label is assigned by a training data input unit of a computer (He, [0029] the system is configured to train a neural network (prediction model) to classify and annotate defects at the pixel level of an image, where [0030] the system takes in one or more images of the specimen to be reviewed, and detects and classifies defects on it, [0082] the model is trained on defect and non-defect images (training data));
and a second step of performing machine learning processing by a prediction model generation unit of the computer by using the training data input by the training data input unit to generate a prediction model that outputs a prediction result as to whether an object to be inspected is a normal product (He, [0030] the system is trained to review images and detect whether defects are present, [0082] the system is trained on defective and non-defective images to determine whether it can differentiate between the two),
and a prediction result of a defect type in a case where the object to be inspected is a defective product when an inspection image that is a captured image of the object to be inspected is input (He, [0080] the system may be trained to determine the defect type or defect pattern after a defect is detected),
wherein the training data is configured by assigning a normal product ground truth label that does not include a label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a defective product and includes only a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to a normal product to a learning image of the normal product (He, [0082] the model is trained on defect and non-defect images (training data), [0083] where images without defects are only labeled as being defect free),
and by assigning a defective product ground truth label that does not include a normal label indicating a possibility of correspondence to the normal product and includes a plurality of defective type labels indicating a possibility of correspondence to a plurality of defect types (He, [0080] the defective products are labeled as defective, as well as labeled with defect types),
and a weight for each of the defect type labels to a learning image of a defective product (He, [0101] weights are obtained after training the second part of the network which classified defect type, [0105] the defect labels are used to generate the weights, which can be used to train other networks or fine tune the network to detect defect types, indicating the defect types each have a weight).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 20190073568 A1) in view of Kooman (US 20220342316 A1).
Regarding claim 2 He does not teach; The defect inspection device according to claim 1, wherein the training data is configured by assigning a maximum weight to the normal label of the normal product ground truth label,
and assigning a weight less than the maximum weight to each of the plurality of defect type labels of the defective product ground truth label.
However, in the same field of endeavor of defect detection, Kooman teaches;
wherein the training data is configured by assigning a maximum weight to the normal label of the normal product ground truth label (Kooman, [0213] the weights can be assigned to map out the defects, where a weight or value of 1 is assigned to no defect images, and a weight of 0 corresponds to a non-defective pixel or image),
and assigning a weight less than the maximum weight to each of the plurality of defect type labels of the defective product ground truth label (Kooman, [0213] the weights can be assigned to map out the defects, where a weight or value of 1 is assigned to no defect images, and a weight of 0 corresponds to a non-defective pixel or image).
The combination of He and Kooman would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. He and Kooman both teach defect detection, however Kooman teaches weighting according to defect. The addition of this feature would be advantageous because assigning a higher weight to non-defective images or pixels can be used to favor non-defective predictions in the model and assure accuracy when making parameter adjustments. (Kooman, [0213] and [0215])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For a listing of analogous prior art, please see the attached PTO 892 Notice of References Cited form.
/J.M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666