DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, and 24-25 have been amended. Claims 1-25 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 9/17/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 24, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niizuma (U.S. 2013/0098034) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Niizuma (U.S. 2013/0098034) and Frank et al. (U.S. 2005/0050887).
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“present a charge air cooler” in line 4 should be --present at a charge air cooler--.
“present any fluid connection” in line 5 should be --present at any fluid connection--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13, 15-16, 18, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niizuma (U.S. 2013/0098034) in view of Frank et al. (U.S. 2005/0050887).
Re claim 1:
Niizuma discloses a turbocharger (Fig. 1 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of turbocharger is shown in Fig. 1 as shown and as described in Paras 65-66)) comprising:
a compressor (8, compressor - Para 39) configured to compress intake air for an engine (Para 52 and Para 66 - "...the compressor 8 of the same shaft as the electric motor 7 also rotates, and the air to be fed to the heat engine is compressed.");
an electric motor (7, electric motor - Para 39) configured to power the compressor (8)(see Fig. 1 and Para 52);
a turbine (1, turbine - Para 39) configured to receive exhaust air from the engine (see Fig. 1, Para 40, and Paras 65-66); and
an electric generator (2, generator - Para 39) configured to be driven by the turbine (1) to generate electric power (see Fig. 1 and Paras 40-42).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the compressor is operated, based on at least altitude, to approach a target intake air pressure for the engine.
Frank teaches a turbocharger (28, turbocharger - Para 33) comprising a compressor (32, compressor portion - Para 33) configured to compress intake air for an engine (12, internal combustion engine - Para 31)(see Fig. 1, Para 33 - “…compressor portion 32 of the turbocharger 22 is in fluid communication with the intake manifold 16 of the ICE 12…”, Para 35 - “…pressure sensor 52 is provided to monitor the pressure output of the compressor section 32 of the turbocharger…”, and Para 40 - “…turbocharger is capable of providing ample boost…”), wherein the compressor (32) is operated, based on at least altitude (Para 40 - “…maintain the intake manifold pressure at a set value at all altitudes up to 12,000-ft above sea level…” (also see Fig. 3 and Para 43)), to approach a target intake air pressure (Para 40 - “…a set value…the pressure value for the intake manifold is established as one and one-tenths atmospheres…”) for the engine (12)(see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Para 40, and 42-43(“…providing ample boost to maintain the intake manifold pressure at a set value at all altitudes up to 12,000-ft above sea level (corresponding to a pressure of 0.54 atm). Moreover, the pressure value for the intake manifold is established as one and one-tenths atmospheres (1.1 atm)… FIG. 3 shows the pressure ratio across the compressor, or boost, required to maintain the intake manifold pressure at 1.1 atm as a function of the ambient air pressure…”)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the compressor of Niizuma after that of Frank, thereby operating the compressor of Niizuma, based on at least altitude, to approach a target intake air pressure for the engine of Niizuma, all in the way taught by Frank, for the advantage of being able to increase volumetric efficiency of the engine (Frank; Para 40).
Re claim 2:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein there is no shaft connecting the compressor (8) and the turbine (1)(see Fig. 1, and Para 67 - "...Therefore, when the heat engine (not shown) operates, the operation becomes similar to that of a conventional turbo charger in which the turbine is directly connected to the compressor via the shaft." (also see Paras 5-9)).
Re claim 3:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein a first shaft (8a, shaft - Para 39) of the compressor (8) rotates independent of a second shaft (1a, shaft - Para 39) of the turbine (1)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 64-68 (especially para 68)).
Re claim 4:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 3 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the first shaft (8a) of the compressor (8) is driven by the electric motor (7)(see Fig. 1 and Para 52).
Re claim 5:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 3 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the second shaft (1a) of the turbine (1) drives the electric generator (2)(see Fig. 1 and Para 40).
Re claim 6:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the electric motor (7) is configured to receive the electric power from a power bus (5, direct current bus - Para 39)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 39-49 (especially Para 47)).
Re claim 7:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 6 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the power bus (5) is a direct current (DC) bus (Paras 39 and 48) and the electric power is DC power (see Fig. 1 and Paras 43-48).
Re claim 8:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the electric generator (2) is configured to output electric power (see Fig. 1 at "+" and "-" exiting element 4) to a power bus (5, direct current bus - Para 39)(See Fig. 1 and Paras 39-49 (especially Para 47)).
Re claim 9:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 8 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the power bus (5) is a direct current (DC) bus (Paras 39 and 48) and the electric power is DC power (see Fig. 1 and Paras 43-48).
Re claim 13:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the turbine (1) is configured to operate without receiving any indication of charge pressure present at the compressor (8)(see Fig. 1 and Para 39 - "... the turbine 1 rotated by an exhaust gas from a heat engine (not shown) via the shaft 1a...."), the turbine is configured to operate without receiving any indication of charge pressure present a charge air cooler, or the turbine is configured to operate without receiving any indication of charge pressure present any fluid connection between the compressor and the charge air cooler.
Re claim 15:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein during operation of the turbocharger (Fig. 1), the electric power generated by the electric generator is greater than the power generated by the electric motor to power the compressor (see Fig. 1 and Paras 60-67 (especially Para 63; structure of Fig. 1 is described capable of performing claimed function)).
Re claim 16:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the electric power generated by the electric generator (2) is converted from alternating current (AC) power to direct current (DC) power for output to a DC bus (5, direct current bus - Para 39)(See Fig. 1 and Paras 39-49 (especially Para 43)).
Re claim 18:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 16 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the DC bus (5) supplies power to the electric motor (7)( see Fig. 1 and Paras 39-49 (especially Para 47)).
Re claim 21:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses the turbocharger (Fig. 1) comprising a controller (13, rotation speed command unit - Para 39) or a processor configured to control an amount of electric power delivered by the electric generator (2) to the electric motor (7)(see Fig. 1 and Para 49 (detail of Para 49 described in Paras 57-62)).
Re claim 22:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 21 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the controller (13) or the processor is configured to control the amount of electric power to maintain or set a desired rotation per minute RPM of the compressor (2)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 57-68 (see especially Paras 63 and 68)).
Re claim 23:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 21 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the controller (13) or the processor is configured to control the amount of electric power to maintain or set a desired manifold air pressure at an air outlet (see Fig. 1 at element 8 and Para 52 - "...the compressor 8 which compresses air to be fed to the heat engine..." (for element 8 to compress air to be fed to the engine requires an air outlet)) of the compressor (8)(see Fig. 1 and Paras 57-68 (see especially Para 66 - "...Then, the compressor 8...rotates, and the air to be fed to the heat engine is compressed.")).
Re claim 24:
Niizuma discloses a method of using a turbocharger (Fig. 1 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of turbocharger is shown in Fig. 1 as shown and as described in Paras 65-66)) having a split shaft configuration (see Fig. 1 at elements 1a and 8a and Para 39) comprising:
powering a compressor (8, compressor - Para 39) of the turbocharger (Fig. 1) with an electric motor (7, electric motor - Para 39)(see Fig. 1 and Para 52);
receiving intake air at the compressor (8)(see Fig. 1 and Para 52 - "...compressor 8 which compresses air to be fed to the heat engine (not shown)...");
outputting compressed air from the compressor to an engine (Para 52 - "...heat engine...")(see Fig. 1 and Para 52);
receiving exhaust air from the engine at a turbine (1, turbine - Para 39) of the turbocharger (Fig. 1)(see Fig. 1 and Para 40 - "...the turbine 1 rotated by an exhaust gas from a heat engine..."); and
generating electric power at an electric generator (2, generator - Para 39)(see Fig. 1 and Para 40), wherein a shaft (1a, shaft - Para 39) of the electric generator (2) is driven by the turbine (1)(see Fig. 1 and Para 40).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the compressor is operated, based on at least altitude, to adjust the intake air to approach a target intake air pressure.
Frank teaches a method (Figs. 1-3) of using a turbocharger (28, turbocharger - Para 33) comprising receiving intake air at a compressor (32, compressor portion - Para 33)(see Fig. 1, Para 33 - “…compressor portion 32 of the turbocharger 22 is in fluid communication with the intake manifold 16 of the ICE 12…”, Para 35 - “…pressure sensor 52 is provided to monitor the pressure output of the compressor section 32 of the turbocharger…”, and Para 40 - “…turbocharger is capable of providing ample boost…”), wherein the compressor (32) is operated, based on at least altitude (Para 40 - “…maintain the intake manifold pressure at a set value at all altitudes up to 12,000-ft above sea level…” (also see Fig. 3 and Para 43)), to adjust the intake air to approach a target intake air pressure (Para 40 - “…a set value…the pressure value for the intake manifold is established as one and one-tenths atmospheres…”)(see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Para 40, and 42-43(“…providing ample boost to maintain the intake manifold pressure at a set value at all altitudes up to 12,000-ft above sea level (corresponding to a pressure of 0.54 atm). Moreover, the pressure value for the intake manifold is established as one and one-tenths atmospheres (1.1 atm)… FIG. 3 shows the pressure ratio across the compressor, or boost, required to maintain the intake manifold pressure at 1.1 atm as a function of the ambient air pressure…”)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the compressor of Niizuma after that of Frank, thereby operating the compressor of Niizuma, based on at least altitude, to adjust the intake air of Niizuma to approach a target intake air pressure in the way taught by Frank, for the advantage of being able to increase volumetric efficiency of the engine (Frank; Para 40).
Re claim 25:
Niizuma discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a compressor (8, compressor - Para 39) configured to compress intake air for an engine (Para 52 - "...heat engine...")(see Fig. 1 and Para 52);
an electric motor (7, electric motor - Para 39) configured to power the compressor (8)(see Fig. 1 and Para 52);
a turbine (1, turbine - Para 39) configured to receive exhaust air from the engine (see Fig. 1 and Para 40 - "...the turbine 1 rotated by an exhaust gas from a heat engine..."); and
an electric generator (2, generator - Para 39) connected by a shaft (1a, shaft - Para 39) to the turbine (1)(see Fig. 1 and Para 40),
wherein the turbine (1) and the compressor (8) are not connected by a shaft (see Fig. 1, and Para 67 - "...Therefore, when the heat engine (not shown) operates, the operation becomes similar to that of a conventional turbo charger in which the turbine is directly connected to the compressor via the shaft." (also see Paras 5-9)).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the compressor is operated, based on at least altitude, to approach a target intake air pressure.
Frank teaches an apparatus (28, turbocharger - Para 33) comprising a compressor (32, compressor portion - Para 33) configured to compress intake air for an engine (12, internal combustion engine - Para 31)(see Fig. 1, Para 33 - “…compressor portion 32 of the turbocharger 22 is in fluid communication with the intake manifold 16 of the ICE 12…”, Para 35 - “…pressure sensor 52 is provided to monitor the pressure output of the compressor section 32 of the turbocharger…”, and Para 40 - “…turbocharger is capable of providing ample boost…”), wherein the compressor (32) is operated, based on at least altitude (Para 40 - “…maintain the intake manifold pressure at a set value at all altitudes up to 12,000-ft above sea level…” (also see Fig. 3 and Para 43)), to approach a target intake air pressure (Para 40 - “…a set value…the pressure value for the intake manifold is established as one and one-tenths atmospheres…”)(see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Para 40, and 42-43(“…providing ample boost to maintain the intake manifold pressure at a set value at all altitudes up to 12,000-ft above sea level (corresponding to a pressure of 0.54 atm). Moreover, the pressure value for the intake manifold is established as one and one-tenths atmospheres (1.1 atm)… FIG. 3 shows the pressure ratio across the compressor, or boost, required to maintain the intake manifold pressure at 1.1 atm as a function of the ambient air pressure…”)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the compressor of Niizuma after that of Frank, thereby operating the compressor of Niizuma, based on at least altitude, to approach a target intake air pressure in the way taught by Frank, for the advantage of being able to increase volumetric efficiency of the engine (Frank; Para 40).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niizuma (U.S. 2013/0098034) in view of Frank et al. (U.S. 2005/0050887), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crever (U.S. 2,454,038).
Re claim 10:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma further discloses wherein the compressor (8) is configured to compress air and output the compressed air (see Fig. 1 and Para 52).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the compressor is configured to compress air and output the compressed air to a charge air cooler.
Crever teaches a turbocharger (17, exhaust gas-driven supercharger - Col. 1, Lines 47-48) wherein a compressor (19, compressor - Col. 1, Lines 55-56) is configured to compress air and output the compressed air to a charge air cooler (see Fig. and Col. 2, Lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the turbocharger of Niizuma/Frank after that of Crever (thereby configuring the compressor of Niizuma to output the compressed air of Niizuma to a charge air cooler in the way taught by Crever) for the advantage of being able to maintain temperature of air for best airplane performance (Crever; Col. 2, Lines 1-7).
Re claim 20:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the turbocharger is used with an aircraft engine.
Crever teaches wherein a turbocharger (17, exhaust gas-driven supercharger - Col. 1, Lines 47-48) is used with an aircraft engine (10, aircraft internal combustion engine - Col. 1, Lines 40-41).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the engine of Niizuma/Frank after that of Crever (thereby making the engine of Niizuma an aircraft engine as taught by Crever such that the turbocharger of Niizuma is used with an aircraft engine as taught by Crever) for the advantage of providing best airplane performance (Crever; Col. 2, Lines 1-7).
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niizuma (U.S. 2013/0098034) in view of Frank et al. (U.S. 2005/0050887), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aori et al. (U.S. 2021/0199044).
Re claim 11:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the turbine does not have a wastegate valve or wastegate bypass.
Aori teaches a turbocharger (2, electrified exhaust gas turbocharger - Para 40) wherein a turbine (7, exhaust gas turbine - Para 38) does not have a wastegate valve or wastegate bypass (see Figs. 1-2 and Para 40 - "... FIG. 2 differs from that in FIG. 1 in that the boost pressure control device 12 is formed by a variable turbine geometry 14..." and Para 15 - "...The electrified exhaust gas turbocharger further comprises a boost pressure control device, which expediently can be a wastegate valve, and/or a variable turbine geometry...").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the turbocharger of Niizuma/Frank after that of Aori (thereby including no wastegate valve as taught by Aori) for the advantage a reduction in number of components and reduced footprint (see Aori Figs. 1-2).
Re claim 12:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the turbine is configured to operate without actuation of a wastegate.
Aori teaches a turbocharger (2, electrified exhaust gas turbocharger - Para 40) wherein a turbine (7, exhaust gas turbine - Para 38) is configured to operate without actuation of a wastegate (see Figs. 1-2 and Para 40 - "... FIG. 2 differs from that in FIG. 1 in that the boost pressure control device 12 is formed by a variable turbine geometry 14..." and Para 15 - "...The electrified exhaust gas turbocharger further comprises a boost pressure control device, which expediently can be a wastegate valve, and/or a variable turbine geometry...").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the turbocharger of Niizuma/Frank after that of Aori (thereby configuring the turbine of Niizuma to operate without actuation of a wastegate as taught by Aori) for the advantage a reduction in number of components and reduced footprint (see Aori Figs. 1-2).
Re claim 14:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 1 (as described above).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the compressor does not have a charge pressure outlet for indicating charge pressure to a wastegate of the turbine.
Aori teaches a turbocharger (2, electrified exhaust gas turbocharger - Para 40) wherein compressor (9, compressor - Para 38) does not have a charge pressure outlet for indicating charge pressure to a wastegate of a turbine (7, exhaust gas turbine - Para 38)(see Figs. 1-2 and Para 40 - "... FIG. 2 differs from that in FIG. 1 in that the boost pressure control device 12 is formed by a variable turbine geometry 14..." and Para 15 - "...The electrified exhaust gas turbocharger further comprises a boost pressure control device, which expediently can be a wastegate valve, and/or a variable turbine geometry..." (evidence that turbine 7 does not have a wastegate and thereby compressor 9 cannot have a charge pressure outlet for indicating charge pressure to a non existent wastegate)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the turbocharger of Niizuma/Frank after that of Aori (thereby including no wastegate as taught by Aori) for the advantage a reduction in number of components and reduced footprint (see Aori Figs. 1-2).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niizuma (U.S. 2013/0098034) in view of Frank et al. (U.S. 2005/0050887), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Solodovnik et al. (U.S. 11,128,251).
Re claim 17:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 16 (as described above).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the DC bus supplies power to components of an aircraft propulsion system.
Solodovnik teaches wherein a DC bus (38, DC bus - Col. 8, Line 59) supplies power to components of an aircraft propulsion system (15, propulsor - Col. 8, Line 38)(see Fig. 2 and Col. 8, Lines 37-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the DC bus of Niizuma/Frank after that of Solodovnik (thereby suppling components of an aircraft propulsion system with the DC bus of Niizuma in the way taught by Solodovnik) for the advantage of being able to provide electric propulsion (Col. 8, Lines 30-37).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niizuma (U.S. 2013/0098034) in view of Frank et al. (U.S. 2005/0050887), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Stahlhut et al. (U.S. 7,047,743).
Re claim 19:
Niizuma in view of Frank teaches the turbocharger (Niizuma; Fig. 1) of claim 16 (as described above).
Niizuma fails to disclose wherein the engine is configured to supply rotational power to a second electric generator, and the second electric generator is configured to output power to the DC bus.
Stahlhut teaches wherein an engine (12, internal combustion engine - Col. 1, Line 56) is configured to supply rotational power to a second electric generator (14, electric generator - Col. 1, Lines 56-57)(see Fig. 2, Col. 1, Lines 55-56, and Col. 2, Lines 23-31), and the second electric generator (14) is configured to output power to a DC bus (54, DC bus - Col. 2, Lines 34-35)(see Fig. 2, Col. 1, Lines 55-56, and Col. 2, Lines 23-31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the engine of Niizuma/Frank after that of Stahlhut (thereby configuring the engine of Niizuma to supply rotational power to a second electric generator and configuring the second electric generator to output power to the DC bus in Niizuma in the way taught by Stahlhut) for the advantage of permitting maximization of power output for a given engine size, and optimization of total system efficiency (Stahlhut; Col. 2, Lines 51-55).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 11/7/25