DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 05/13/2026, claims 1-3,5-9,11-16 and 18-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,7-9,13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHU et al. (US 2019/0373217 A1) in view of Bargetzi et al. (US 2016/0165056 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Chu teaches a wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 1: the videoconferencing unit 100. ¶ [0023]) comprising:
a transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal to at least one wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit sends the near-end audio from the loudest portable device along with near-end video to the far-end. See Abstract); and
a processor configured to control the transceiver (See Fig. 1 and its components. ¶ [0057]),
wherein, the transceiver is configured to:
after power on, repeatedly and periodically transmit a beacon frame including (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit 100 repeatedly sends an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address into the surrounding environment, as the unit 100 conducts the videoconference (Block 252). ¶ [0057]) available network address information (See Fig. 4B: the device's application (66) decodes the IP address (i.e., network address) from the ultrasonic beacon (Block 254). Using the decoded IP address and wireless network (134) and LAN (132), ¶ [0057]) in a vendor-specific element information, to the wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 with an IP address (i.e., vendor-specific device information) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]);
perform pairing between the wireless audio transmission device and the wireless sound output device based on a pairing request/response signal from the wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: …after using ultrasonic pairing, the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. The videoconference unit 100 transmits an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address using its loudspeaker 122. This IP address can be the unit's address in the local intranet. ¶ [0065]); and
after the pairing, receive selected network address information (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) from a paired wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]), and
transmit wireless audio data based on the selected network address information (See Fig. 4B: using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]).
Even though, Chu teaches transmitting a beacon frame including network address information, Chu doesn’t explicitly describe multiple network address information.
However, Bargetzi from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method wherein using multiple network address information (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide using multiple network address information as taught by Bargetzi to have incorporated in the system of Chu, so that it would provide to enable enterprise end users to easily and quickly utilize their portable electronic devices 13, such as smartphones, to connect to and efficiently utilize devices or equipment located within one or more areas in a facility, such as conference room devices 102 in meeting room 101. Bargetzi: ¶ [0533].
Regarding claim 2; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission device of claim 1, wherein the available multiple network address information (Bargetzi: a beacon ID 2502, one or more meeting room devices network addresses 2503, an enterprise server network address 2504, and any combinations thereof. ¶ [0549]) includes dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29: In certain embodiments of the portable electronic device 13, one or more accelerometers 141 may sense the movement or orientation (i.e., dynamic information) of the portable electronic device 13 ¶ [0367]).
Regarding claim 3; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to update part of the available multiple network address information after the pairing (Chu: Once the device 50 pairs with the unit 100, the participant can use the user interface application 66 to perform any of various functions, such as display the videoconference video with the portable device's display 82, reproduce the videoconference audio with the loudspeaker 72 or a headphone output, start and stop the videoconference, etc. ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 4; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission device of claim 1, wherein a vendor-specific element information in the beacon frame includes the available multiple network address information (Chu: videoconferencing vendors provide special microphones for placement on tables near the participants in a conference room. ¶ [0002-0003] and ¶ [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 7; Chu teaches a wireless sound output device (See Fig. 2: a portable device 50. ¶ [0031]) comprising:
a transceiver configured to wirelessly receive an audio signal from a wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 2: The portable devices obtain near-end audio and send the audio to the videoconferencing unit via a wireless connection. See Abstract);
an audio output device configured to output sound based on the audio signal received by the transceiver (See Fig. 2: The portable devices obtain near-end audio and send the audio to the videoconferencing unit via a wireless connection. In turn, the videoconferencing unit sends the near-end audio from the loudest portable device along with near-end video to the far-end. Abstract); and
a processor configured to control the audio output device,
wherein, the transceiver is configured to:
after power on, repeatedly and periodically transmit a beacon frame including (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit 100 repeatedly sends an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address into the surrounding environment, as the unit 100 conducts the videoconference (Block 252). ¶ [0057]) available network address information (See Fig. 4B: the device's application (66) decodes the IP address (i.e., network address) from the ultrasonic beacon (Block 254). Using the decoded IP address and wireless network (134) and LAN (132), ¶ [0057]) in a vendor-specific element information, from the wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 with an IP address (i.e., vendor-specific device information) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]);
perform pairing between the wireless audio transmission device and the wireless sound output device based on a pairing request/response signal from the wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: …after using ultrasonic pairing, the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. The videoconference unit 100 transmits an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address using its loudspeaker 122. This IP address can be the unit's address in the local intranet. ¶ [0065]); and
after pairing, transmits network address information selected from the available multiple network address information (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]) to the paired wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) and
receives wireless audio data based on the selected network address information from the wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]).
Even though, Chu teaches transmitting a beacon frame including network address information, Chu doesn’t explicitly describe multiple network address information.
However, Bargetzi from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method wherein using multiple network address information (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide using multiple network address information as taught by Bargetzi to have incorporated in the system of Chu, so that it would provide to enable enterprise end users to easily and quickly utilize their portable electronic devices 13, such as smartphones, to connect to and efficiently utilize devices or equipment located within one or more areas in a facility, such as conference room devices 102 in meeting room 101. Bargetzi: ¶ [0533].
Regarding claim 8; Chu in view of Bargetzi discloses the wireless sound output device of claim 7, wherein the available multiple network address information (Bargetzi: a beacon ID 2502, one or more meeting room devices network addresses 2503, an enterprise server network address 2504, and any combinations thereof. ¶ [0549]) includes dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29: In certain embodiments of the portable electronic device 13, one or more accelerometers 141 may sense the movement or orientation (i.e., dynamic information) of the portable electronic device 13 ¶ [0367]).
Regarding claim 9; Chu in view of Bargetzi discloses the wireless sound output device wherein the transceiver is configured to select information on one of the plurality of the available multiple network addresses information (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) on one of the plurality of the available multiple network addresses, based on the dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network, and transmit the selected network address information to the paired wireless audio transmission device (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Regarding claim 10; Chu teaches the wireless sound output device of claim 7, wherein a vendor- specific element information in the beacon frame includes the available multiple network address information (Chu: videoconferencing vendors provide special microphones for placement on tables near the participants in a conference room. ¶ [0002-0003] and ¶ [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 13; Chu teaches a wireless sound output system comprising:
a wireless audio transmission device; and
one wireless sound output device,
wherein, the transceiver is configured to:
after power on, repeatedly and periodically transmit a beacon frame including (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit 100 repeatedly sends an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address into the surrounding environment, as the unit 100 conducts the videoconference (Block 252). ¶ [0057]) available network address information (See Fig. 4B: the device's application (66) decodes the IP address (i.e., network address) from the ultrasonic beacon (Block 254). Using the decoded IP address and wireless network (134) and LAN (132), ¶ [0057]) in a vendor-specific element information, to the wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 with an IP address (i.e., vendor-specific device information) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]);
perform pairing between the wireless audio transmission device and the wireless sound output device based on a pairing request/response signal from the wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: …after using ultrasonic pairing, the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. The videoconference unit 100 transmits an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address using its loudspeaker 122. This IP address can be the unit's address in the local intranet. ¶ [0065]); and
wherein after the pairing, the wireless sound output device is configured to select network address information among the available multiple network addresses (See Fig. 4: detecting an ultrasonic beacon from a portable device 50, decoding the device's IP address, and establishing the network connection with the portable device 50 based on the decoded IP address. Moreover, the portable devices 50 can pair with one another using their IP addresses encoded in ultrasonic beacons. ¶ [0069]), transmit the selected network address information to the wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: the portable device's microphone 74 can capture audio and transmit it through the network interface 90, wireless network 134, and LAN 132 to the videoconferencing unit 100 for sending to the far-end 30. At the same time during the videoconference, the videoconferencing unit's loudspeaker 122 outputs audio at the near-end for the videoconference environment. ¶ [0071]).
Even though, Chu teaches transmitting a beacon frame including network address information, Chu doesn’t explicitly describe multiple network address information.
However, Bargetzi from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method wherein using multiple network address information (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide using multiple network address information as taught by Bargetzi to have incorporated in the system of Chu, so that it would provide to enable enterprise end users to easily and quickly utilize their portable electronic devices 13, such as smartphones, to connect to and efficiently utilize devices or equipment located within one or more areas in a facility, such as conference room devices 102 in meeting room 101. Bargetzi: ¶ [0533].
Regarding claim 14; Chu teaches the wireless sound output system wherein the wireless audio transmission device includes: a transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal to at least one wireless sound output device; and a processor configured to control the transceiver (See Fig. 4B: the portable device's microphone 74 can capture audio and transmit it through the network interface 90, wireless network 134, and LAN 132 to the videoconferencing unit 100 for sending to the far-end 30. At the same time during the videoconference, the videoconferencing unit's loudspeaker 122 outputs audio at the near-end for the videoconference environment. ¶ [0071]).
Regarding claim 15; Chu teaches the wireless sound output system wherein the wireless sound output device includes a second transceiver configured to wirelessly receive an audio signal from a wireless audio transmission device; an audio output device configured to output sound based on the audio signal received by the transceiver; and a second processor configured to control the audio output device (See Fig. 2: The portable devices obtain near-end audio and send the audio to the videoconferencing unit via a wireless connection. In turn, the videoconferencing unit sends the near-end audio from the loudest portable device along with near-end video to the far-end. Abstract).
Regarding claim 16; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission system wherein the transceiver is configured to update part of the available multiple network address information after the pairing (Chu: Once the device 50 pairs with the unit 100, the participant can use the user interface application 66 to perform any of various functions, such as display the videoconference video with the portable device's display 82, reproduce the videoconference audio with the loudspeaker 72 or a headphone output, start and stop the videoconference, etc. ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 17; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission system wherein a vendor-specific element information in the beacon frame includes the available multiple network address information (Chu: videoconferencing vendors provide special microphones for placement on tables near the participants in a conference room. ¶ [0002-0003] and ¶ [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 20; Chu in view of Bargetzi discloses the wireless sound output device wherein the transceiver is configured to select information (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) on one of the plurality of the available multiple network addresses, based on the dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network, and transmit the selected network address information to the paired wireless audio transmission device (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendment, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments:
Applicant argues that the cited prior art references, Chu et al. (US 2019/0373217 A1) in view of Bargetzi et al. (US 2016/0165056 A1), fail to teach the amended limitations "perform pairing between the wireless audio transmission device and the wireless sound output device based on a pairing request signal or a pairing response signal from the wireless sound output device."
Examiner’s responses:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. At the outset, Applicant fails to define the particular form or format of the claimed "pairing request signal" or "pairing response signal." The claims do not require any specific signaling protocol, message format, or dedicated pairing packet. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a pairing request signal or pairing response signal encompasses any signal exchanged between two devices for establishing a paired communication relationship.
Chu et al. teaches a wireless sound output system comprising:
after power-on, repeatedly and periodically transmitting a beacon frame including available network address information in a vendor-specific information element to a wireless sound output device. See Fig. 4B and ¶ [0057].
Chu further teaches that a portable device automatically connects or pairs with the videoconferencing unit using the received ultrasonic beacon information. See ¶ [0065].
More specifically, Chu discloses that, after detecting, selecting and decoding the ultrasonic beacon, the portable device sends a response to the videoconferencing unit via the network connection, and the two devices share a handshake so that the portable device can participate in the videoconference. See Fig. 4B and ¶ [0067].
The response transmitted by the portable device is a signal originating from the wireless sound output device and used by the videoconferencing unit to establish the paired connection. The subsequent handshake is performed based on that response. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the response transmitted by the portable device corresponds to the claimed pairing response signal, and the pairing operation is performed and selected based on that pairing response signal.
Applicant appears to interpret the claims as requiring a specifically named "pairing request signal" or "pairing response signal." However, the claims do not impose such a limitation. Rather, the claims broadly recite pairing based on a pairing request signal or pairing response signal. Chu expressly teaches that pairing is accomplished after the portable device transmits a response and the two devices complete a handshake. Therefore, Chu teaches or at least renders obvious the claimed limitation of performing pairing between the wireless audio transmission device and the wireless sound output device based on a pairing response signal from the wireless sound output device.
Although Chu teaches the disputed pairing limitation, Chu does not explicitly disclose using multiple network address information. For this additional limitation, Bargetzi et al. teaches selecting among multiple network address information. Specifically, Bargetzi discloses selecting the nearest beacon based on received signal strength and identifying the associated meeting room device network addresses. The meeting room device network addresses may comprise an IP address, URI, URL, host name, or other network address information. See Fig. 29 and ¶ [0571].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Bargetzi's teaching of multiple network address information into Chu's ultrasonic pairing system to enable enterprise users to efficiently discover and connect portable electronic devices with conference room devices and other networked equipment, thereby improving connection flexibility and usability, as expressly taught by Bargetzi. See ¶ [0533].
Accordingly, Chu alone teaches the disputed pairing limitation, while Bargetzi is relied upon solely for the additional limitation regarding multiple network address information. Therefore, Applicant's argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416