DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 01/19/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/19/2024 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 01/19/2024 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claim 1 recites “transmitting a beacon frame including available multiple network address information”, and “receiving selected network address information”.
However, the claim fails to define or recite any step, rule, or entity responsible for selecting the network address. It is unclear whether the “selected network address information” is selected from amount the available multiple network address information transmitted in the beacon frame, or whether it is selected from another source. The claim also fails to clarify which device performs the selection, or when and based on what information the selection occurs.
After applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, this renders the scope of the claim ambiguous and leaves the metes and bounds of the claimed invention indeterminate. Thus, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. It is recommended that the claim language be amended such that the exact meaning of the above quoted limitation is clear. Independent claims 7 and 13 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 2, based on the same/similar reason as discussed in above. Dependent claims 2-20 are also rejected as being dependency upon the rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHU et al. (US 2019/0373217 A1) in view of Bargetzi et al. (US 2016/0165056 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Chu teaches a wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 1: the videoconferencing unit 100. ¶ [0023]) comprising:
a transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal to at least one wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit sends the near-end audio from the loudest portable device along with near-end video to the far-end. See Abstract); and
a processor configured to control the transceiver (See Fig. 1 and its components. ¶ [0057]),
wherein, after power on, the transceiver:
transmits a beacon frame including (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit 100 repeatedly sends an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address into the surrounding environment, as the unit 100 conducts the videoconference (Block 252). ¶ [0057]) available network address information (See Fig. 4B: the device's application (66) decodes the IP address (i.e., network address) from the ultrasonic beacon (Block 254). Using the decoded IP address and wireless network (134) and LAN (132), ¶ [0057]), and
after pairing, receives selected network address information (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) from a paired wireless sound output device (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]), and
transmits wireless audio data based on the selected network address information (See Fig. 4B: using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]).
Even though, Chu teaches transmitting a beacon frame including network address information, Chu doesn’t explicitly describe multiple network address information.
However, Bargetzi from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method wherein using multiple network address information (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide using multiple network address information as taught by Bargetzi to have incorporated in the system of Chu, so that it would provide to enable enterprise end users to easily and quickly utilize their portable electronic devices 13, such as smartphones, to connect to and efficiently utilize devices or equipment located within one or more areas in a facility, such as conference room devices 102 in meeting room 101. Bargetzi: ¶ [0533].
Regarding claim 2; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission device of claim 1, wherein the available multiple network address information (Bargetzi: a beacon ID 2502, one or more meeting room devices network addresses 2503, an enterprise server network address 2504, and any combinations thereof. ¶ [0549]) includes dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29: In certain embodiments of the portable electronic device 13, one or more accelerometers 141 may sense the movement or orientation (i.e., dynamic information) of the portable electronic device 13 ¶ [0367]).
Regarding claim 3; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission device of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to update part of the available multiple network address information after the pairing (Chu: Once the device 50 pairs with the unit 100, the participant can use the user interface application 66 to perform any of various functions, such as display the videoconference video with the portable device's display 82, reproduce the videoconference audio with the loudspeaker 72 or a headphone output, start and stop the videoconference, etc. ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 4; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission device of claim 1, wherein a vendor-specific element information in the beacon frame includes the available multiple network address information (Chu: videoconferencing vendors provide special microphones for placement on tables near the participants in a conference room. ¶ [0002-0003] and ¶ [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 7; Chu teaches a wireless sound output device (See Fig. 2: a portable device 50. ¶ [0031]) comprising:
a transceiver configured to wirelessly receive an audio signal from a wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 2: The portable devices obtain near-end audio and send the audio to the videoconferencing unit via a wireless connection. See Abstract);
an audio output device configured to output sound based on the audio signal received by the transceiver (See Fig. 2: The portable devices obtain near-end audio and send the audio to the videoconferencing unit via a wireless connection. In turn, the videoconferencing unit sends the near-end audio from the loudest portable device along with near-end video to the far-end. Abstract); and
a processor configured to control the audio output device,
wherein, after power on, the transceiver receives a beacon frame including available multiple network address information from the wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit 100 repeatedly sends an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address into the surrounding environment, as the unit 100 conducts the videoconference (Block 252). ¶ [0057]), and
after pairing, transmits network address information selected from the available multiple network address information (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]) to the paired wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) and
receives wireless audio data based on the selected network address information from the wireless audio transmission device (See Fig. 4B: using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]).
Even though, Chu teaches transmitting a beacon frame including network address information, Chu doesn’t explicitly describe multiple network address information.
However, Bargetzi from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method wherein using multiple network address information (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide using multiple network address information as taught by Bargetzi to have incorporated in the system of Chu, so that it would provide to enable enterprise end users to easily and quickly utilize their portable electronic devices 13, such as smartphones, to connect to and efficiently utilize devices or equipment located within one or more areas in a facility, such as conference room devices 102 in meeting room 101. Bargetzi: ¶ [0533].
Regarding claim 8; Chu in view of Bargetzi discloses the wireless sound output device of claim 7, wherein the available multiple network address information (Bargetzi: a beacon ID 2502, one or more meeting room devices network addresses 2503, an enterprise server network address 2504, and any combinations thereof. ¶ [0549]) includes dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29: In certain embodiments of the portable electronic device 13, one or more accelerometers 141 may sense the movement or orientation (i.e., dynamic information) of the portable electronic device 13 ¶ [0367]).
Regarding claim 9; Chu in view of Bargetzi discloses the wireless sound output device wherein the transceiver is configured to select information on one of the plurality of the available multiple network addresses information (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) on one of the plurality of the available multiple network addresses, based on the dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network, and transmit the selected network address information to the paired wireless audio transmission device (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Regarding claim 10; Chu teaches the wireless sound output device of claim 7, wherein a vendor- specific element information in the beacon frame includes the available multiple network address information (Chu: videoconferencing vendors provide special microphones for placement on tables near the participants in a conference room. ¶ [0002-0003] and ¶ [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 13; Chu teaches a wireless sound output system comprising:
a wireless audio transmission device; and
one wireless sound output device,
wherein, after power on, the wireless audio transmission device transmits a beacon frame including (See Fig. 4B: the videoconferencing unit 100 repeatedly sends an ultrasonic beacon encoding its IP address into the surrounding environment, as the unit 100 conducts the videoconference (Block 252). ¶ [0057]) available network address information (See Fig. 4B: the device's application (66) decodes the IP address (i.e., network address) from the ultrasonic beacon (Block 254). Using the decoded IP address and wireless network (134) and LAN (132), ¶ [0057]), after pairing, the wireless sound output device transmits selected network address information to the wireless auction transmission device (See Fig. 4B: a portable device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) can automatically connect or pair with the videoconferencing unit 100 using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]),
the wireless audio transmission device transmits wireless audio data based on the selected network address information (See Fig. 4B: using ultrasonic pairing so the portable device 50 and videoconferencing unit 100 can communicate with one another through the network connection. ¶ [0065]), and
the wireless sound output device outputs a sound corresponding to the received wireless audio data (See Fig. 4B: the portable device's microphone 74 can capture audio and transmit it through the network interface 90, wireless network 134, and LAN 132 to the videoconferencing unit 100 for sending to the far-end 30. At the same time during the videoconference, the videoconferencing unit's loudspeaker 122 outputs audio at the near-end for the videoconference environment. ¶ [0071]).
Even though, Chu teaches transmitting a beacon frame including network address information, Chu doesn’t explicitly describe multiple network address information.
However, Bargetzi from the same or similar fields of endeavor further discloses a method wherein using multiple network address information (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide using multiple network address information as taught by Bargetzi to have incorporated in the system of Chu, so that it would provide to enable enterprise end users to easily and quickly utilize their portable electronic devices 13, such as smartphones, to connect to and efficiently utilize devices or equipment located within one or more areas in a facility, such as conference room devices 102 in meeting room 101. Bargetzi: ¶ [0533].
Regarding claim 14; Chu teaches the wireless sound output system wherein the wireless audio transmission device includes: a transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit an audio signal to at least one wireless sound output device; and a processor configured to control the transceiver (See Fig. 4B: the portable device's microphone 74 can capture audio and transmit it through the network interface 90, wireless network 134, and LAN 132 to the videoconferencing unit 100 for sending to the far-end 30. At the same time during the videoconference, the videoconferencing unit's loudspeaker 122 outputs audio at the near-end for the videoconference environment. ¶ [0071]).
Regarding claim 15; Chu teaches the wireless sound output system wherein the wireless sound output device includes a second transceiver configured to wirelessly receive an audio signal from a wireless audio transmission device; an audio output device configured to output sound based on the audio signal received by the transceiver; and a second processor configured to control the audio output device (See Fig. 2: The portable devices obtain near-end audio and send the audio to the videoconferencing unit via a wireless connection. In turn, the videoconferencing unit sends the near-end audio from the loudest portable device along with near-end video to the far-end. Abstract).
Regarding claim 16; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission system wherein the transceiver is configured to update part of the available multiple network address information after the pairing (Chu: Once the device 50 pairs with the unit 100, the participant can use the user interface application 66 to perform any of various functions, such as display the videoconference video with the portable device's display 82, reproduce the videoconference audio with the loudspeaker 72 or a headphone output, start and stop the videoconference, etc. ¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 17; Chu teaches the wireless audio transmission system wherein a vendor-specific element information in the beacon frame includes the available multiple network address information (Chu: videoconferencing vendors provide special microphones for placement on tables near the participants in a conference room. ¶ [0002-0003] and ¶ [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 20; Chu in view of Bargetzi discloses the wireless sound output device wherein the transceiver is configured to select information (See Fig. 4B: As noted above, the device 50 (i.e., paired wireless sound output device) having a microphone 74 detects the beacon, decodes the IP address based on the AFSK modulation, sends a response to the videoconferencing unit 100 via the network connections, and the two devices 50 and 100 share a handshake so the device 50 can be used in the videoconference. ¶ [0067]) on one of the plurality of the available multiple network addresses, based on the dynamic information for the wireless sound output device to select a network, and transmit the selected network address information to the paired wireless audio transmission device (Bargetzi: See Fig. 29, selecting the nearest beacon by comparing the received signal strengths and determining which beacon 2404 has the strongest signal according to RSSI…, using the transmitted beacon ID to identify the meeting room 2401 associated with the beacon 2404, and particularly, the meeting room device network addresses of the meeting room devices present in the meeting room 2401. The meeting room device network address may comprise an IP address, a URI address, a URL address, a host name, or the like. ¶ [0571])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cowan et al. (US 8,578,493 B1 to discuss BotNet Beacon Detection).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416