Detailed Action
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Response to Amendment
This Non-Final Office action is responsive to the communication filed under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 on September 17, 2026 (hereafter “Response”). The amendments to the claims are acknowledged and have been entered.
Claims 1 and 20 are now amended.
Claims 1–20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Response to Double Patenting Arguments
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1 and 20 over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 8,643,598 B2 ('598 patent) stands. The Applicant’s traversal of the rejection has been considered in light of the narrowing amendment, but is not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant contends that the ‘598 patent does not claim a gesture that both executes a function, and terminates the user interface when the gesture ends.
The Examiner agrees that the ‘598 patent does not recite that the command issued by the issuing means is a different command from the one that the issuing means issues to terminate the display of the plurality of user interfaces in the claim. However, the relevant question in a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is whether or not the claimed invention is obvious over the patented claim, in view of the current state of the art. To that end, Majid explictly teaches a gesture that executes a command that is different from terminating the user interface, and yet, also terminates the user interface. The findings for this, as well as the rationale for the combination, are presented in the updated rejection herein. Accordingly, this argument does not persuade the examiner to withdraw the rejection.
The Examiner is also not persuaded to withdraw the rejection based on the Applicant’s argument that “[a] single recited means in the reference claim cannot supply two structurally distinct features of the examined claim.” (Response 7). This is not true, because by invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), “the “issuing means” may include both hardware and all of the corresponding functions that the hardware is said to perform, as described in the specification. Furthermore, while the Examiner does not agree with the Applicant’s argument, the rejection has also been updated so as not to map to the issuing means to multiple elements of the claims.
Accordingly, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Response to Prior Art Arguments (Tsurumi)
The 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of the claims over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0073117 A Tsurumi’s disclosure is hereby withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s narrowing amendment. As the Applicant explains, “Tsurumi requires separate gestures for substantive operations and for termination, which is contrary to the amended claims.” (Response 7).
In place of the rejection, a new ground of rejection is raised, using a second reference to show why the amended version of claims 1 and 20 was obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Prior Art Arguments (Hildreth)
Claim(s) 1–14, 17, and 20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0217211 A1 (“Hildreth”). The Applicant’s traversal of this rejection has been considered in light of the narrowing amendment, but it is not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments seem to misunderstand the position taken in the previous Office Action, characterizing the rejection as one where the user performs a gesture that is directly meant to terminate the user interface. See Response 7 (“in the Final Office Action, the position is taken that selecting an element could disable (i.e., terminate) the control”). But that is not the position taken in the Office Action.
Rather, the Examiner’s position is that Hildreth discloses gestures that are meant to perform actions other than terminating the user interface, e.g., “a web browser function,” “a user-specific photo album function,” or “a VOLUME DOWN function,” Hildreth ¶ 28, and that selecting one of those controls both invokes the underlying function of the particular interaction element and “the control may become disabled,” Hildreth ¶ 80, with the word “Disabled” in Hildreth including the control “completely disappearing.” Hildreth ¶ 83.
Accordingly, since Hildreth discloses the amended version of the claim, the rejection stands.
Response to Prior Art Arguments (Van Der Westhuizen with Majid)
Claim(s) 1, 2, 15, 16, and 18–20 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0108998 A1 (“Van Der Westhuizen”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0362294 A1 (“Majid”). The Applicant’s traversal of the rejection has been considered in view of the amendment, but it is no longer relevant, because the rejection is now based on a different embodiment of Van Der Westhuizen’s disclosure along with a further teaching in Majid that shows that the idea of selecting and performing a function in a GUI other than terminating the GUI, but then also terminating the GUI upon performing the function, was indeed known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Accordingly, the aforementioned claims stand rejected over Van Der Westhuizen in view of Majid.
Concluding Remarks
Since all of the claims are rejected the Applicant’s request for a notice of allowance is respectfully denied.
Claim Interpretation
The broadest reasonable interpretation of “set a gesture serving as a starting point gesture” in claims 1 and 20 does not include, let alone require, the user to set or customize whichever gesture shall serve as the starting point. It simply means that the circuitry of claim 1 (or control process in claim 20) puts the information processing system in a state where the criteria for the starting point gesture is set as the particular “gesture” in the claim.
It is important to ensure that this distinction is clear on the Record, because the Applicant previously asserted that this limitation requires the user to set or configure the starting point gesture. (See Request for Continued Examination filed May 13, 2026, page 7). There, the Applicant pointed to paragraph 66 of the specification as filed as supporting this feature. However, the text of the claim language and the text of paragraph 66 do not say anything about a user configuring the starting point gesture. Instead, paragraph 66 is merely an instruction or guidance for the person implementing the disclosed invention.
[0066] While the gesture serving as the starting point gesture has been assumed to be the open hand gesture in the description above, another gesture using a hand, such as a fist gesture or a gesture of raising one finger, may be set as the starting point gesture. A gesture using not only one hand but also both hands may be set as the starting point gesture.
In other words, paragraph 66 is merely a scope disclaimer that says the claimed starting point gesture is not limited to the open hand gesture, and may be any other type of gesture. It clearly does not stand for the idea of the user configuring the starting point gesture himself.
To be sure, a prior art disclosure of the user configuring his own starting point gesture would still fall within the scope of “set a gesture serving as a starting point gesture”—not because the claim language or specification requires it, but because the act of a user manually setting a gesture as the starting point gesture necessarily cause the machine to “set” the user-chosen gesture as the starting point gesture, in the same way that an automated version would set a default gesture as the starting point gesture.
Nevertheless, it is understood from reading the specification that the scope of “set a gesture serving as a starting point gesture” is that the information processing system sets the gesture, with or without the user’s input.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim(s) 1–14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0217211 A1 (“Hildreth”).
Claim 1
Hildreth discloses:
An information processing system comprising circuitry configured to:
“FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a device 200 used to implement enhanced input.” Hildreth ¶ 32. Reference is also made to FIG. 3, which illustrates a process 300 performed by the device 200. Hildreth ¶ 41.
set a gesture serving as a starting point gesture;
As will be discussed below, process 300 begins by recognizing starting gestures, see Hildreth ¶ 42, and to that end, “specific hand gestures used may be adjusted so that signified commands feel natural to a user.” Hildreth ¶ 87. For example, while “palm-forward, fingers-extended hand poses” are used as the engagement gesture, “other configurations are possible.” Hildreth ¶ 87.
detect a first gesture a user,
“[W]hen the process 300 begins (S301), a user’s gesture is recognized from first and second images (S302).” Hildreth ¶ 42.
the first gesture corresponding to the starting point gesture;
“The user’s gesture in a single image or between two images may be expressive of an enabling or ‘engagement’ gesture.” Hildreth ¶ 44. “An engagement gesture activates or invokes functionality that monitors other images for gesture-based command inputs, and ignores random or background body motions.” Hildreth ¶ 48.
cause a graphic user interface (GUI) responsive to detection of the first gesture be displayed
“Returning briefly to FIG. 3, a representation of the user may be displayed in a central region of a control that further includes interaction elements disposed radially in relation to the central region, such as when the enabling gesture is performed and recognized (S304).” Hildreth ¶ 57. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 1, “[a]n enhanced control 114 is displayed.” Hildreth ¶ 28. Further examples are disclosed in at least FIGS. 6–10, 12, and 16.
that is superimposed on currently displayed video content while the video content continues to be displayed;
Enhanced control 114 is not displayed on its own, but rather, “is displayed in a user interface 112,” Hildreth ¶ 28, while “the user interface 112 displays other objects than the enhanced control.” Hilderth ¶ 30. Enhanced control 114 is displayed in the user interface 112 a manner such that, prior to a correction, “other objects than the enhanced control or regions of the user interface 112 become obfuscated” by the enhanced control 114. Hildreth ¶ 30.
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture and execute a control command, other than a command to terminate the GUI, corresponding to the identified operation;
“Based on the recognized user’s gesture, an interaction with the control occurs (S305),” causing an on-screen “representation” to “move away from the center region of the control in a direction and magnitude based on the direction and magnitude of the users motion in free-space,” and “overlap one or more interaction elements.” Hildreth ¶ 78.
“An interaction element includes any portion of the control that is associated with one or more functions or applications. For instance, each interaction element may include an icon that, when selected, invokes an application.” Hildreth ¶ 64. Enhanced control 114 provides several further examples of interaction elements that perform functions other than a command to terminate the GUI: “For instance, interaction element 115a is associated with a web browser function, interaction element 115c is associated with a user-specific photo album function, interaction element 115d is associated with a VOLUME DOWN function, interaction element 115e is associated with an e-mail function,” etc.” Hildreth ¶ 28.
and terminate the GUI when the second gesture ends.
“[W]hen the representation overlaps or selects a particular interaction element,” in addition to invoking the underlying function of the particular interaction element disclosed earlier, “the control may become disabled.” Hildreth ¶ 80. And in Hildreth’s disclosure, the word “Disabled” includes the control “completely disappearing.” Hildreth ¶ 83.
Claim 2
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the GUI in which a plurality of command icons corresponding to operation content of a device is arranged to be displayed.
“[A] representation of the user may be displayed in a central region of a control that further includes interaction elements disposed radially in relation to the central region, such as when the enabling gesture is performed and recognized (S304).” Hildreth ¶ 57.
Claim 3
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the GUI that includes a first command icon, which is the command icon arranged at a position in a first direction with a reference position as a center, and a second command icon, which is the command icon arranged at a position in a second direction opposite to the first direction, to be displayed,
“FIG. 6 illustrates several example shapes and configurations of the enhanced control. Control 601 is a circular control including eight icons 602a to 602h emanating, hub-and-spoke fashion, from a central region 604.” Hildreth ¶ 61. It should be understood, by looking at FIG. 6 (and also explicitly via the “hub-and-scope” disclosure in the text), that for any given icon on the wheel mapped to the claimed first command icon, the claimed second command icon likewise reads on whichever icon is opposite to that first icon.
and the circuitry is further configured to accept the action toward the first direction or the action toward the second direction as the second gesture.
“Based on the recognized user’s gesture, an interaction with the control occurs (S305). The recognized user’s gesture may cause the representation to move away from the center region of the control in a direction and magnitude based on the direction and magnitude of the users motion in free-space, causing the representation to overlap one or more interaction elements.” Hildreth ¶ 78.
Claim 4
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 3,
wherein the first command icon and the second command icon are arranged linearly.
“Although the enhanced control 114 is illustrated with a two-dimensional wheel with a hub-and-spoke appearance, in other implementations other shapes can be used. For instance, the enhanced control 114 may be linear.” Hildreth ¶ 29.
That said, claim 4 also reads on the main embodiment where “circular control including eight icons 602a to 602h emanating, hub-and-spoke fashion, from a central region 604,” Hildreth ¶ 61, because any two icons on opposite spokes are necessarily arranged linearly. For example, looking at FIG. 6, the mail icon 602a is clearly on a perfect line in opposite directions with the Vol- icon.
Claim 5
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause a boundary of a region assigned to the operation indicated by each of the command icons to be displayed on the GUI.
“Control 611 is a square-shaped control including eight icons 612a to 612h located in block-shaped interaction regions 614a to 614h around a center region that is generally aligned with the center of the user interface 615.” Hildreth ¶ 62 (referring to FIG. 6).
Claim 6
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to identify the operation presented on the GUI in response to an action of moving a hand in a predetermined direction being performed as the second gesture following the first gesture made using the hand.
“Based on the recognized user’s gesture, an interaction with the control occurs (S305). The recognized user’s gesture may cause the representation to move away from the center region of the control in a direction and magnitude based on the direction and magnitude of the users motion in free-space, causing the representation to overlap one or more interaction elements.” Hildreth ¶ 78. Careful readers should observe that the gesture recognized in S305 is a different gesture performed subsequent to the one mentioned in the rejection of claim 1 for invoking the menu.
Claim 7
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 6,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to identify the operation corresponding to the command icon arranged in the same direction as the predetermined direction.
“FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary gesture and concomitant control interaction. Specifically, a user 801 gesticulates his arm from a first position 802 to a second position 803, thereby causing representation 805 in user interface 806 to move right from the center position 807 and to highlight icon 809 of an interaction element disposed to the right of the center region.” Hildreth ¶ 81.
Claim 8
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 6,
the first gesture includes a different finger movement from another finger movement performed as the second gesture.
For the first gesture, “[t]he media hub 103 recognizes the palm-forward, finger extended pose of the user’s right hand 106 as signifying that a gesture-based control input is forthcoming.” Hildreth ¶ 26; see also Hildreth ¶¶ 50 and 56.
For the second gesture, instead of the finger extended pose, the user makes a “pointing finger hand pose 904,” and points in the direction of the desired icon. Hildreth ¶¶ 82–83.
Claim 9
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 6,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause an icon that represents the first gesture to move in the same direction as the predetermined direction in response to the second gesture being made.
As shown in FIG. 8, “a user 801 gesticulates his arm from a first position 802 to a second position 803, thereby causing representation 805 in user interface 806 to move right from the center position 807 and to highlight icon 809 of an interaction element disposed to the right of the center region.” Hildreth ¶ 81.
Claim 10
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 6,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to present the direction in which the second gesture is made by an image that indicates a track of movement of an icon that represents the first gesture or by an image that indicates the predetermined direction.
As shown in FIG. 8, “a user 801 gesticulates his arm from a first position 802 to a second position 803, thereby causing representation 805 in user interface 806 to move right from the center position 807 and to highlight icon 809 of an interaction element disposed to the right of the center region.” Hildreth ¶ 81.
Claim 11
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 6,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to repeatedly execute the control command in a case where a state in which the hand is moved in the predetermined direction is maintained.
“As illustrated in FIG. 12, to effect a mouse-drag event, the user may keep their hand in the ‘mouse down’ pose while moving their hand around the tracking region to move the mouse accordingly. Specifically, a user 1201 moves his arm down and to the left from a first position 1202 to a second position 1204 while holding the mouse-down, finger-pointed pose, to grab the desktop icon 1205 and move it toward the center of the user interface 1206.” Hildreth ¶ 88.
Claim 12
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to switch a type of the command icons included in the GUI depending on a state of the device to be controlled.
In one example, “the face of the user 101 is detected and recognized, identifying the user 101 as ‘Bob.’” Hildreth ¶ 27. Thus, with device 200 (which is the device to be controlled, per the rejection of claim 1) in a state where “Bob” is the current recognized user, “interaction element 115c is associated with a user-specific photo album function,” and “interaction element 115g is associated with a user-specific music function.” Hildreth ¶ 28. That is, as shown in FIG. 1, interaction element 115c is displayed as “Bob’s Music,” while interaction element 115g is displayed as “Bob’s Photos.”
Claim 13
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to terminate the display of the GUI in a case where an action different from the second gesture is performed during the display of the GUI.
“In FIG. 13, for example, the user 1301 drops his arms from a controlling, first position 1302 to a collapsed or relaxed position adjacent to his torso 1305. Such a motion causes the control to disappear from the user interface 1306.” Hildreth ¶ 90.
Claim 14
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to switch a display position of the GUI depending on content of video on which the GUI is superimposed and displayed.
“[A]s the user interface 112 displays other objects than the enhanced control or regions of the user interface 112 become obfuscated, the enhanced control may dynamically reposition itself, change [its] shape, or change the number of interaction elements displayed.” Hildreth ¶ 30.
Claim 17
Hildreth discloses the information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to present the second gesture being recognized.
“[W]hen the representation overlaps or selects a particular interaction element, the control may become disabled [and] the underlying interaction element or icon may become highlighted.” Hildreth ¶ 80.
Claim 20
Claim 20 recites exactly the same method that the information processing system of claim 1 is programmed to perform as part of its normal operation. “Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device.” MPEP § 2112.02. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected as anticipated by the same findings and rationale as provided above for claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
I. Tsurumi and Faulkner teach claims 1–10, 12, 13, 17, and 20.
Claim(s) 1–10, 12, 13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0073117 A1 (“Tsurumi”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0096726 A1 (“Faulkner”).
Claim 1
Tsurumi discloses:
An information processing system comprising circuitry configured to:
As shown in FIG. 2, Tsurumi discloses an image processing apparatus 11 corresponding to the claimed information processing system, comprising several functional elements 12–13 and 31–39, each of which may be embodied as a program that causes a computer to execute the functionality described for that unit. See Tsurumi ¶¶ 16 and 70–71.
set a gesture serving as a starting point gesture;
The above claim language does not say anything about a user setting the gesture, and there are several paragraphs in the disclosure that do not mention a user setting the gesture, when the gesture is set, either. See, e.g., Spec. ¶¶ 66–68. The apparatus includes a trigger detection unit 33 that is programmed (and thus set) to detect “a trigger indicating that the user has waved their hand to the camera 12.” Tsurumi ¶ 74.
detect a first gesture of a user, the first gesture corresponding to the starting point gesture;
Following its programming during execution, “[t]he trigger detection unit 33 detects, based on [a] captured image” that was captured by camera 12 and stored in frame buffer 32, “a trigger indicating that the user has waved their hand to the camera 12.” Tsurumi ¶ 74; see also Tsurumi ¶ 95 (describing the same in the example of FIGS. 4–5).
cause a graphic user interface (GUI) responsive to detection of the first gesture to be displayed that is superimposed on currently displayed video content while the video content continues to be displayed;
“The trigger detection unit 33 supplies area information indicating an area where the waving of the hand of the user has been detected within the captured image to [a] feature point extraction unit 34,” Tsurumi ¶ 74, initiating a cascade of steps that culminate with a “combining unit 39” combining content obtained from a tuner or via a network” together with “UI images” that are generated by a UI drawing unit 36, the UI images being responsive to the trigger. Tsurumi ¶¶ 86–88.
For example, “as shown in FIG. 5, on the display unit 13, a mirrored image of a captured image is displayed in a translucent manner on an image-viewing screen on which an image of the television program of channel 1 is being currently displayed, and the feature-point pointer 14 and the UIs 15 are displayed on the basis of the feature point.” Tsurumi ¶ 96.
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture and execute a control command
“Then, as shown in FIG. 9, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 to the right with respect to the camera 12. Then, as shown in FIG. 10, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 downward with respect to the camera 12 so as to move the feature-point pointer 14 outside the circle defined by the UIs 15. Thus, a command for terminating the interface display process is issued.” Tsurumi ¶ 100.
and terminate the GUI when the second gesture ends.
“As a result, as shown in FIG. 11, the captured image, the feature-point pointer 14, and the UIs 15 are deleted from the display unit 13. That is, only the image of the target, i.e., the television program of channel 3, is displayed on the image-viewing screen of the display unit 13.” Tsurumi ¶ 101.
In addition to the foregoing, Tsurumi’s known circuitry is further configured to:
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture and execute a control command, other than a command to terminate the GUI, corresponding to the identified operation
As shown in FIGS. 5–8, the GUI includes several icons 15-1 to 15-6, each corresponding to respective channels to tune the television (rather the function of dismissing the GUI), and the user may perform a gesture to execute a channel change, e.g., from channel 1 to channel 3, by performing a gesture that moves the feature-point pointer 14 to one of the menu options. Tsurumi ¶¶ 98–99.
In other words, based on the foregoing, Tsurumi teaches a device configured to receive gestures for and execute commands other than terminating the GUI, and further teaches a device configured to receive a gesture for terminating a GUI and execute non-GUI-terminating. The only difference between Tsurumi and the claimed invention is that Tsurumi does not combine these two steps into a single gesture. That is, the user may perform a single gesture to execute a control command other than a command to terminate the GUI, or the user may the user may perform a different gesture to execute a command of terminating the GUI, but there is no gesture that performs a separate command and terminates the GUI in one fell swoop.
However, closing a menu upon item selection while executing the chosen function is a ubiquitous user interface behavior. As just one example, Faulkner teaches a device with circuitry configured to:
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture and execute a control command, other than a command to terminate the GUI, corresponding to the identified operation; and terminate the GUI when the second gesture ends.
“In response to the thumb tap gesture in FIG. 7G part A-3, and in accordance with user’s gaze being directed toward the predefined physical object (e.g., hand 7200), currently-selected user interface object 7190 is activated and an operation corresponding to user interface object 7190 is performed (e.g., menu 7170 ceases to be displayed, a user interface object 7306 (e.g., a preview or control panel, etc.) associated with user interface object 7190 is displayed, and/or an application corresponding to user interface object 7190 is launched).” Faulkner ¶ 152.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two existing concepts in Tsurumi (selecting and performing a function in the GUI other than terminating the GUI on one hand, and performing the separate function of terminating the GUI on the other hand), particularly in light of Faulkner’s explicit teaching of doing exactly that (i.e., performing a function selected from the menu, and dismissing the menu). One would have been motivated to improve Tsurumi’s GUI in the manner suggested by Faulkner because this technique reduces unnecessary clutter on the screen (since the user has completed his task), thereby reducing the cognitive burden on the user. See Faulkner ¶ 4.
Claim 2
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
cause the GUI in which a plurality of command icons corresponding to operation content of a device is arranged to be displayed.
“The UI drawing unit 36 determines, based on the extracted-position information supplied from the feature point extraction unit 34, an arrangement of UIs so that the UIs can be arranged around a feature point. The UI drawing unit 36 supplies UI information indicating the arrangement of UIs and the UI images stored therein in advance to the combining unit 39,” Tsurumi ¶ 82, which then displays the “UIs” on the display unit 13 as described in the rejection of claim 1 above. Importantly, the term “UIs” in this context refers to the “UIs 15-1 to 15-7” shown throughout the figures. Tsurumi ¶ 69. For example, “as shown in FIG. 1, a feature-point pointer 14 indicating a feature point of the captured image and user interfaces (UIs) 15-1 to 15-7 to be operated to select each channel are displayed over an image of the television program of channel 1 on the display unit 13.” Tsurumi ¶ 65.
Claim 3
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein
the circuitry is further configured to cause the GUI that includes a first command icon, which is the command icon arranged at a position in a first direction with a reference position as a center, and a second command icon, which is the command icon arranged at a position in a second direction opposite to the first direction, to be displayed,
“The UIs 15-1 to 15-7 are arranged along a circumference of a predetermined circle surrounding the original feature-point pointer 14.” Tsurumi ¶ 65.
and the circuitry is further configured to accept the action toward the first direction or the action toward the second direction as the second gesture.
“The image processing apparatus 11 detects the position of the feature point indicated by the feature-point pointer 14 grabbed by the user from the image captured using the camera 12, and a command corresponding to one of the UIs 15-1 to 15-7 that is located at the position of the feature point is issued.” Tsurumi ¶ 67.
Claim 4
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 3,
wherein the first command icon and the second command icon are arranged linearly.
As shown in FIG. 1 (among others), there are several examples of pairs of “UIs” that are arrange linearly, including UI 15-1 with UI 15-5, UI 15-2 with UI 15-6, and UI 15-3 with UI 15-7. Tsurumi FIG. 1.
Claim 5
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
cause a boundary of a region assigned to the operation indicated by each of the command icons to be displayed on the GUI.
“The UIs 15-1 to 15-7 are arranged along a circumference of a predetermined circle surrounding the original feature-point pointer 14.” Tsurumi ¶ 65.
Claim 6
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
identify the operation presented on the GUI in response to an action of moving a hand in a predetermined direction being performed as the second gesture following the first gesture made using the hand.
“Then, as shown in FIG. 9, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 to the right with respect to the camera 12. Then, as shown in FIG. 10, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 downward with respect to the camera 12 so as to move the feature-point pointer 14 outside the circle defined by the UIs 15. Thus, a command for terminating the interface display process is issued.” Tsurumi ¶ 100.
Claim 7
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 6, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
identify the operation corresponding to the command icon arranged in the same direction as the predetermined direction.
“Then, as shown in FIG. 9, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 to the right with respect to the camera 12. Then, as shown in FIG. 10, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 downward with respect to the camera 12 so as to move the feature-point pointer 14 outside the circle defined by the UIs 15. Thus, a command for terminating the interface display process is issued.” Tsurumi ¶ 100.
Claim 8
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 6,
wherein the first gesture includes a different finger movement from another finger movement performed as the second gesture.
“As shown in FIG. 4, first, a user waves their hand to the camera 12 during the watching of, for example, a television program on channel 1” as the trigger, Tsurumi ¶ 95, in contrast to the moving and grasping gesture discussed earlier.
Claim 9
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 6, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
cause an icon that represents the first gesture to move in the same direction as the predetermined direction in response to the second gesture being made.
“Then, for example, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 to the left with respect to the camera 12 in a manner shown in FIG. 8, while viewing the feature-point pointer 14 and UIs 15 being currently displayed on the display unit 13, so that the feature-point pointer 14 can be superimposed on the UI 15-2 on the image-viewing screen of the display unit 13.” Tsurumi ¶ 98.
Claim 10
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 6, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
present the direction in which the second gesture is made by an image that indicates a track of movement of an icon that represents the first gesture or by an image that indicates the predetermined direction.
“As the user moves the hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14, an optical flow indicating the motion of the hand is calculated as the optical flow of the feature point. As a result, the user can use the hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 as a pointing device.” Tsurumi ¶ 91. “Accordingly, the image processing apparatus 11 is configured to, instead of recognizing a user’s hand based on the shape thereof or the like to detect a motion of the hand, recognize a feature point that is indicated by the feature-point pointer 14 grabbed with a user’s hand and that moves along with the user’s hand, and to detect a motion of the feature point as a motion of the user’s hand.” Tsurumi ¶ 92.
Claim 12
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
switch a type of the command icons included in the GUI depending on a state of the device to be controlled.
“In FIGS. 4 to 11, the target to be viewed is a television program by way of example, and the use of a pointing device to change a channel of a television program to be viewed has been described. However, the target to be viewed is not limited to a television program,” Tsurumi ¶ 103, and instead, “as shown in FIGS. 12 to 20, the target to be viewed may be a Web page.” Tsurumi ¶ 104. In the case of the web page, “UIs 91 to 93 are displayed on the basis of the feature point,” in a menu displayed along the bottom of the display unit 13. Tsurumi ¶ 105 and FIG. 13.
Claim 13
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
terminate the display of the GUI in a case where an action different from the second gesture is performed during the display of the GUI.
In addition to Tsurumi’s circuitry being configured to terminate the interface in the manner discussed in the rejection of claim 1 (e.g., by moving the feature-point pointer 14 outside the circle), Tsurumi’s circuitry is also configured, in the case of the web browser interface shown in FIG. 13, “to terminate the interface display process” in response to an operation moving the feature-point pointer 83 to UI 93. Tsurumi ¶ 105.
Claim 17
Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to
present the second gesture being recognized.
“[A]s shown in FIG. 10, the user moves their right hand grabbing the feature-point pointer 14 downward with respect to the camera 12 so as to move the feature-point pointer 14 outside the circle defined by the UIs 15.” Tsurumi ¶ 100.
Claim 20
Claim 20 is directed to the same method that the apparatus of claim 1 performs as part of its normal operation. Since Tsurumi and Faulkner teach the apparatus for the reasons given in the rejection of claim 1, Tsurumi necessarily discloses the method that the apparatus performs. See MPEP § 2112.02. Additionally, Tsurumi explicitly discloses that method as a process. See Tsurumi FIG. 21.
II. Van Der Westhuizen and Majid teach claims 1, 2, 15, 16, and 18–20.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 15, 16, and 18–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0108998 A1 (“Van Der Westhuizen”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0362294 A1 (“Majid”).
Claim 1
Van Der Westhuizen teaches:
An information processing system comprising circuitry configured to:
As shown in FIGS. 4A to 4I, Van Der Westhuizen teaches a mobile device 401 that falls within the scope of the claimed invention. Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 91.
set a gesture serving as a starting point gesture;
The device includes a user interface (100) with programming (a “control region component (110)”) that establishes “a control region of the user interface (100).” Van Der Westhuizen ¶¶ 63, 64, and 66. As shown in FIG. 3B, the user interface (100) may be programmed ahead of time to recognize “crossing of the predefined threshold (322)” as “a predefined interaction which initiates display of a number of interactive items (324) in the display region (304).” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 75.
detect a first gesture a user, the first gesture corresponding to the starting point gesture;
As shown in FIG. 3B, at stage 320, the user interface actually detects when “the pointer (302) crosses a predefined threshold (322) in the control region (303),” and thereby recognizes that the user has performed the predefined interaction mentioned above. Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 75.
cause a graphic user interface (GUI) responsive to detection of the first gesture be displayed
In response, “FIG. 3B illustrates spawning of a first subset of interactive items (324) in the display region (304).” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 75.
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture and execute a control command, other than a command to terminate the GUI, corresponding to the identified operation;
“At a final stage (380), the pointer (302) is moved so as to reach a zero value in the z-axis and interactive item ‘F’ is selected. The selected interactive item may, for example, be an application which is opened on selection. In this embodiment, the interactive item ‘F’ is an application which is opened and displayed in the remainder of the display of the mobile phone (301), as illustrated in FIG. 3H.
and terminate the GUI
Van Der Westhuizen further teaches that it is possible to terminate the user interface under certain conditions involving a gesture, e.g., upon removing the pointer from the control region. Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 106. However, it is not clear whether this would be part of the same gesture that launched application “F.”
Accordingly, the only differences between Van Der Westhuizen and the claimed invention is that Van Der Westhuizen does not say (1) whether the category interface is actually superimposed over the home screen, or if the category interface simply replaces it, and (2) whether the terminating the GUI occurs in response to the same gesture that executes a control command other than a command to terminate the GUI (e.g., performing the function of launching application “F”).
Majid, however, teaches an analogous information processing system with circuitry configured to:
detect a first gesture of a user
“As shown, the input selection process is initiated by the receipt of an input selection command (operation 602), such as with the depression of a dedicated input button or selection of an input option in a graphical user interface.” Majid ¶ 51.
cause a graphic user interface (GUI) responsive to detection of the first gesture be displayed that is superimposed on currently displayed video content while the video content continues to be displayed;
The input selection command at operation 602 causes operations 604–606 to obtain information relevant to displaying a user interface, see Majid ¶ 51, and then, “[t]he information obtained for the on-screen display is [] provided within a display of the on-screen interface (operation 608).” Majid ¶ 52. For example, in FIG. 4, “the video display 404 overlays the user interface over the active audiovisual source with a series of input source indications and previews.” Majid ¶ 34.
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture
“With the on-screen display, the display device can receive an input selection command for a particular source (operation 610).” Majid ¶ 53.
and execute a control command corresponding to the identified operation, other than a command to terminate the GUI; and
“Upon receipt of the input selection command, the display device can then switch to the particular input source (operation 612).” Majid ¶ 53.
terminate the GUI when the second gesture ends.
“In further examples, content from multiple inputs may be displayed simultaneously with use of picture in picture or overlaid video, until the user selects a particular input source.” Majid ¶ 53.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Van Der Westhuizen’s user interface with Majid’s technique of overlaying the user interface onto the underlying input source, so that the user could continue to consume content while navigating the menu. One would have been motivated to apply Majid’s technique to Van Der Westhuizen’s user interface because this would prevent the user from missing out on content while he is navigating the menu.
Claim 2
Van Der Westhuizen and Majid teach the information processing system according to claim 1,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the GUI in which a plurality of command icons corresponding to operation content of a device is arranged to be displayed.
“Entering of the predefined zone (422) is a predefined interaction which initiates display of the categories (415, 416, 417, 418) on the display of the mobile phone (401). The spawning of the categories is illustrated in FIG. 4C. The predefined interaction may also be provided by the pointer simply entering the control region (403).” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 95.
Claim 15
Van Der Westhuizen and Majid teach the information processing system according to claim 2,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to change a size of the GUI depending on a distance to a part of the user used for the first gesture.
“Entering of the predefined zone (422) is a predefined interaction which initiates display of the categories (415, 416, 417, 418) on the display of the mobile phone (401),” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 95, but “once the pointer (402) reaches the virtual button (408), the categories are fully displayed on the display (406).” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 96 (emphasis added).
Claim 16
Van Der Westhuizen and Majid teach the information processing system according to claim 15,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to switch a type of the command icons or a number of the command icons included in the GUI depending on the distance to the part.
“Entering of the predefined zone (422) is a predefined interaction which initiates display of the categories (415, 416, 417, 418) on the display of the mobile phone (401),” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 95, whereas, “once the pointer (402) reaches the virtual button (408), the categories are fully displayed on the display (406), with a first category (415) being displayed in the display region (404), as indicated in FIG. 4D.” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 96. With this full display, “[e]ach category contains a subset of interactive items.” Van Der Westhuizen ¶ 97.
Claim 18
Van Der Westhuizen and Majid teach the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein
in a case where the command icon related to control of an external device that serves as a source of video is selected by the second gesture, the circuitry is further configured to cause an icon that represents the external device to be displayed together with the GUI.
FIG. 4 illustrates a case where operation 610 (the claimed second gesture) triggers operation 612 of switching to HDMI 2 as the current source of video. See Majid ¶ 35. In this state, “[n]ames of the respective input and output sources are provided in selectable indications arranged according to the position of the input/output source,” Majid ¶ 36, including the selectable indication 434A for HDMI 2. Majid ¶ 37 and FIG. 4. The display also provides “an active input source indication 406 (e.g., a label indicating that the current source is ‘HDMI 2’ with a known ‘Satellite’ label).” Majid ¶ 35.
To be clear, either indication 434A or active input source indication 406 individually and independently anticipate the claimed icon.
Claim 19
Van Der Westhuizen and Majid teach the information processing system according to claim 18,
wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause a preview image of the video output from the external device or an instruction command for the external device to be displayed together with the GUI.
“In the example of FIG. 4, the video display 404 overlays the user interface over the active audiovisual source with a series of input source indications and previews.” Majid ¶ 34.
Claim 20
Claim 20 recites exactly the same method that the information processing system of claim 1 is programmed to perform as part of its normal operation. “Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device.” MPEP § 2112.02. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected as anticipated by the same findings and rationale as provided above for claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 8,643,598 B2 in view of Majid.
Claim 1
The elements of claim 1 correspond to the patented claim as follows:
Pending Claim 1
Patented Claim 1
1. An information processing system comprising circuitry configured to:
An image processing apparatus comprising:
set a gesture serving as a starting point gesture; detect a first gesture of a user, the first gesture corresponding to the start point gesture;
extracting means for extracting a feature point from a captured image; recognizing means for recognizing a position of the feature point;
cause a graphic user interface (GUI) responsive to detection of the first gesture to be displayed
display control means for performing control, based on the position of the feature point, to display a feature-point pointer indicating the feature point, and a plurality of predetermined user interfaces;
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture
and execute a control command, other than a command to terminate the GUI, corresponding to the identified operation; and
gesture recognizing means for recognizing a grab gesture, wherein a volume of space is enclosed within a user’s palm, the volume of space corresponding to a volume of space surrounding the feature-point pointer;
issuing means for issuing, based on the position of the feature point, a command corresponding to the position of the feature point or a motion of the feature point
terminate the GUI when the second gesture ends.
wherein the command issued by the issuing means is capable of terminating the display of the plurality of user interfaces
As mentioned above, Patented Claim 1 does not explicitly recite that the user interface “is superimposed on currently displayed video content while the video content continues to be displayed;
Majid, however, teaches an analogous information processing system with circuitry configured to:
detect a first gesture of a user
“As shown, the input selection process is initiated by the receipt of an input selection command (operation 602), such as with the depression of a dedicated input button or selection of an input option in a graphical user interface.” Majid ¶ 51.
cause a graphic user interface (GUI) responsive to detection of the first gesture be displayed that is superimposed on currently displayed video content while the video content continues to be displayed;
The input selection command at operation 602 causes operations 604–606 to obtain information relevant to displaying a user interface, see Majid ¶ 51, and then, “[t]he information obtained for the on-screen display is [] provided within a display of the on-screen interface (operation 608).” Majid ¶ 52. For example, in FIG. 4, “the video display 404 overlays the user interface over the active audiovisual source with a series of input source indications and previews.” Majid ¶ 34.
identify an operation presented on the GUI on a basis of a second gesture made following the first gesture
“With the on-screen display, the display device can receive an input selection command for a particular source (operation 610).” Majid ¶ 53.
and execute a control command corresponding to the identified operation, other than a command to terminate the GUI; and
“Upon receipt of the input selection command, the display device can then switch to the particular input source (operation 612).” Majid ¶ 53.
terminate the GUI when the second gesture ends.
“In further examples, content from multiple inputs may be displayed simultaneously with use of picture in picture or overlaid video, until the user selects a particular input source.” Majid ¶ 53.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve the patented user interface with Majid’s technique of overlaying the user interface onto the underlying input source, so that the user could continue to consume content while navigating the menu. One would have been motivated to apply Majid’s technique to the patented user interface because this would prevent the user from missing out on content while he is navigating the menu.
Claim 20
Claim 20 is rejected over patented claim 6 as combined with Majid, based on the substantially the same mapping and rationale as provided above for claim 1 with respect to patented claim 1.
Conclusion
Justin R. Blaufeld
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2151
/Justin R. Blaufeld/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151