Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (USPN 2019/0214440)
With regard to claim 1,
Lee et al. disclose a display panel, comprising: a display substrate (lower), comprising a first substrate (100) and a plurality of sub-pixels (P1, P2, P3) arranged on a main surface of the first substrate, wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels has a first opening (OW3), and light for generating a display image is emitted (by 220) from the first opening; and a light control panel (upper), stacked with the display substrate in a direction perpendicular to the main surface of the first substrate, and comprising a plurality of sub-light control units (600/610), wherein each of the plurality of sub-light control units has a second opening (OW2), and the plurality of sub-light control units correspond to the plurality of sub-pixels one by one (see figures), the light emitted from the first opening passes through the second openings of at least part of the light control sub-units in the plurality of light control sub-units and then exits the display panel (See figures), the at least part of the sub-light control units in the plurality of sub-light control units is configured to modulate the light emitted from the first opening (See paragraphs 79,80); an orthographic projection of the second opening of each of the sub-light control units on the main surface of the first substrate is substantially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the first opening of the corresponding sub-pixel on the main surface of the first substrate (see figures, paragraph 77).
With regard to claim 2,
Lee et al. disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of an area of a part of the second opening of each of the sub-light control units of which part an orthographic projection on the main surface of the first substrate is overlapped with the orthographic projection of the first opening of the corresponding sub-pixel on the main surface of the first substrate to an area of the orthographic projection of the first opening of corresponding the sub-pixel on the main surface of the first substrate is greater than or equal to 80% (see figures, paragraph 77).
With regard to claim 3,
Lee et al. disclose the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the orthographic projection of the second opening of each of the sub-light control units on the main surface of the first substrate completely coincides with the orthographic projection of the corresponding first opening of the sub-pixel on the main surface of the first substrate (See figures, paragraph 77).
With regard to claim 25,
Lee et al. disclose a display device, comprising the display panel according to claim 1.
With regard to claim 26,
Lee et al. discloses a control method of the display panel according to claim 1, comprising: utilizing at least part of the sub-light control units of the plurality of sub-light control units of the light control panel to modulate the light emitted from the first opening, so that the light emitted from the first opening passes through the second openings of at least part of the sub-light control units in the plurality of sub-light control units and then emit from the display panel (see paragraphs 79,80).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-14, 16-18, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose nor render obvious, in combination with the other limitations of the claims, a display panel where the light control panel is a liquid crystal panel having electrodes and lines arranged as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2024/0298498, 2020/0057330.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875