DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-6 and 14-15, and of species microorganism deposited under accession number CECT 30381, and enzyme subtilisin, in the reply filed on 8/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 7-13 and 15 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 14 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of microorganism deposited under accession number CECT 30381, and enzyme subtilisin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is indefinite as it is unclear what microorganisms are being claimed that are deposited under the claimed accession numbers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laba et al (Waste Biomass Valor. 2017;8:527-537.) in view of Yu et al (US 2015/0197783 A1; 7/16/2015.).
The instant claims recite a process for converting keratin into a liquid mixture comprising peptides and/or amino acids comprising the following steps: a) decomposing a keratin containing material in presence of at least one species of microorganism apt to decompose keratin, said species of microorganism being a consortium of microorganisms able to grow using keratin as the sole carbon and nitrogen source, to obtain a decomposed keratin containing material; b) treating the decomposed keratin containing material to obtain a modified keratin containing material; c) treating said modified keratin containing material with at least a proteolytic enzyme to obtain a keratin hydrolysate, said keratin hydrolysate comprising a liquid fraction and a solid fraction, said solid fraction comprising two further fractions: a soluble fraction and a not-soluble fraction; and d) treating said keratin hydrolysate to obtain a liquid mixture comprising peptides and/or amino acids, said treating comprising a step of separating said liquid fraction from said solid fraction.
Laba teaches a method for converting pig bristle (pig hair) waste to a hydrolysate containing amino acids (Abstract), comprising culturing keratinolytic bacteria B. cereus with pig bristle (said species of microorganism being a consortium of microorganisms able to grow using keratin as the sole carbon and nitrogen source, to obtain a decomposed keratin containing material), performing autoclaving (steam sterilization, treating the decomposed keratin containing material to obtain a modified keratin containing material) (p.530 col left – para 1), culturing B. cereus, pig bristle and enzyme solution (treating said modified keratin containing material with at least a proteolytic enzyme to obtain a keratin hydrolysate, see Laba et al. Pol. J. Environ. Stud. 2013;22(4):1101-1109., which is fully incorporated in Laba 2017 as reference #16), filtering (said keratin hydrolysate comprising a liquid fraction and a solid fraction) and centrifuging the mixture (separating a liquid fraction from a solid fraction) (p.530 col left – para 2), and obtaining bristle hydrolysate containing amino acids (p.530 col right – para 2, Table 5).
Laba does not teach the method wherein said solid fraction comprising two further fractions: a soluble fraction and a not-soluble fraction (claim 1), and the enzyme is subtilisin (claim 6).
However, Laba does teach the method comprises treating a modified keratin containing material with at least a proteolytic enzyme to obtain a keratin hydrolysate. Since Laba does teach the same method step as claimed, the keratin hydrolysate of Laba comprises a solid fraction that further comprises a soluble fraction and a not-soluble fraction. In addition, Yu teaches a method of producing keratin hydrolysate (Title), comprising using a subtilisin as preferred protease (para 0091-0093), and separating hydrolysate samples into two fractions, a soluble fraction (the supernatant) and an insoluble fraction (the precipitate) (para 0370), wherein the degree of hydrolysis based on solubilized protein in the supernatant after centrifugation is determined (para 0381-0382).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate subtilisin, since Laba and Yu both disclose a method for producing keratin hydrolysate comprising the use of enzyme, and Yu specifically discloses that subtilisin is a preferred enzyme for hydrolyzing keratin. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate subtilisin with a reasonable expectation for successfully converting pig bristle waste to a hydrolysate containing amino acids.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laba et al (Waste Biomass Valor. 2017;8:527-537.) in view of Yu et al (US 2015/0197783 A1; 7/16/2015.) as applied to claims 1, 6 and 14 above, further in view of Zhao et al (Bioresource Technology. 2015;192:547-555.).
References cited above do not teach a solid-state microbial keratin decomposition step (claim 2), and steam explosion (claim 3).
However, Laba and Yu both teach a method for producing keratin hydrolysate, Laba does teach performing autoclaving (steam sterilization) (p.530 col left – para 1) and Yu does teach that steam sterilization facilitates the subsequent enzymatic hydrolysis (para 0060). Zhao teaches solid-state fermentation is considered as a promising process for production of various products (p.547 col right – para 1), and steam explosion sterilization shortens sterilization time, improves the fermentability of solid medium, and promote the economy of solid-state fermentation (p.554 col left – para 3).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a solid-state microbial keratin decomposition step and steam explosion, since Laba and Yu both disclose a method for producing keratin hydrolysate comprising steam sterilization, and Zhao specifically discloses that solid-state fermentation is considered as a promising process for production of various products, and steam explosion sterilization improves solid-state fermentation performance. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to incorporate a solid-state microbial keratin decomposition step and steam explosion, with a reasonable expectation for successfully converting pig bristle waste to a hydrolysate containing amino acids.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759