DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeineddine et al. (US 2023/0198602 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0104036 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Zeineddine discloses:
a user equipment (UE) (fig.1 the UE in the wireless communications network) for performing beam failure recovery (BFR) (par.[0069] the BFR) in a wireless communications system (fig.1 the wireless communications system), the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig.2 element 210 – 212); and
at least one processor (fig.2 element 202) coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform:
a method for beam failure recovery (BFR) (par.[0046] describes a beam failure recovery for recovering a link between a gNodeB and a User Equipment (UE), fig.1 elements 104 and 102 respectively and par.[0069] describes a UE performing a beam failure recovery procedure) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (fig.1 depicts a user equipment element 102 in a wireless communications system), the method comprising:
identifying a first control resource set (CORESET) pool (par.[0098] describes a first CORESET pool) and a second CORESET pool (par.[0098] describes a secondary CORESET pool) based on configuration information (par.[0098] describes “In some embodiments, a UE may be configured with a first list of CORESETs that form a first BFD CORESET pool and a second list of CORESETs that form a second BFD CORESET pool.”);
based on detecting beam failure for a spatial parameter associated with the first CORESET pool (par.[0098] which recites, in part, “In such embodiments, the BFD-RSs may be explicitly configured to be SSBs or periodic CSI-RSs that are quasi co-located with the PDCCH DM-RS or configured implicitly based on the activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring—if a TCI state includes two RSs, the UE selects the RS that is configured with QCL-typeD if the QCL type is configured. The UE physical layer may indicate a BFI indication to a MAC entity (e.g., higher layers) if a quality of all configured BFD reference signals in a CORESET pool is below a configured threshold Q.sub.out_LR. The UE physical layer may also indicate an indication of which CORESET pool (e.g., CORESET pool index) to the MAC entity. The physical layer may inform the higher layers if a radio link quality is worse than the threshold Q.sub.out,LR with a periodicity that is different for a first CORESET pool and a second CORESET pool.” That is, the UE measures the SSBs or CSI-RS which are quasi-co-located with the PDCCH DM-RS or configured on the TCI states, to provide Beam Failure Indicator (BFI) which leads to Beam Failure Detection (BFD) for the CORESET pool), transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) for the BFR based on a spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (par.[0098] which recites, in part, “In certain embodiments, a UE indicates to a gNB that beam failure has been declared and a new candidate beam for recovery for a failed CORESET pool using an uplink channel (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, and/or PRACH) associated with another CORESET pool that has not failed—e.g., based on beams or spatial filters that have the same spatial relation as that associated with the activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring (e.g., RS that is configured with QCL-typeD) for a non-failed CORESET pool.”, wherein the beam is a spatial parameter);
While the disclosure of Zeineddine substantially discloses the claimed invention, it may not disclose:
receiving a response to the PRACH based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool;
transmitting a MAC-CE for the BFR based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool; and
receiving a response to the MAC-CE based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Zhou discloses:
receiving a response to the PRACH based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (fig.9 the UE detects the BFD in element 906, and in element 908 performs CBD and then RACH, element 910, par.[0100], also par.[0091] which recites, in part, “In some examples, this may include updating various quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships. For example, UE 120 may determine that the new candidate beam is associated with the first CORESET pool index value and, therefore, update the QCL relationship for a CORESET with index 0 (e.g., the CORESET that is used for common search space procedures). The updated QCL relationship may correspond to the QCL configuration of the new candidate beam.” The formed beam being a type of spatial parameter);
transmitting a MAC-CE for the BFR based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (fig.10 element 1014 and element 1016 BFR MAC CE); and
receiving a response to the MAC-CE based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (fig.3b and BFR response based on new candidate beam associated with second pool index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Zeineddine for performing BFR, with the disclosure of Zhou for performing BFR. The motivation/suggestion would have been to allow for BFR in a multi-TRP scenario.
Regarding claim 2, the Zeineddine discloses:
wherein at least one of a CORESET or a search space for receiving the response to the PRACH is pre-configured for the UE (par.[0082] which teaches that the UE is pre-configured with PRACH resources for TX and RX).
Regarding claim 3, Zeineddine discloses:
wherein a PRACH resource on which the PRACH transmitted is configured in association with a specific downlink RS (par.[0082] which recites, in part, “For PRACH transmission in slot n and according to antenna port quasi co-location parameters associated with periodic CSI-RS resource configuration or with SS/PBCH block associated with index g.sub.new provided by higher layers”.).
Regarding claim 4, the disclosure of Zeineddine teaches:
wherein the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool and the specific downlink RS are based on different physical cell identifiers (PCIs) (as discussed above, the CORESET pool/group correspond to a same or different TRP, wherein the different TRP may have a same or different PCI if they are configured to operate different cells).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses:
wherein the response to the PRACH includes at least one of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) allocation information for the transmission of MAC-CE, timing advance (TA) related information, or spatial parameter for transmission of the MAC-CE (par.[0085] which describes the MSG2 or MSGB comprising the PUSCH resource allocation).
Regarding claim 6, the disclosure of Zhou teaches:
based on the response to the PRACH not including the spatial parameter, transmission of the MAC-CE is based on a spatial parameter applied to transmission of the PRACH (par.[0072] which recites, in part, “UE 310 may receive, a BFR response based on a beam group BFD parameter or a cell-level BFD parameter. In some cases, the UE 310 may monitor PDCCH in a search space set provided by a RRC parameter (e.g., recoverySearchSpaceId) for detection of a DCI format……..Following the BFR response, the UE 310 may use quasi co-located (QCL) RS assumptions that the same QCL parameters are associated with reference signal index q_new until the UE 310 receives an activation for a TCI state.”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses:
wherein the MAC-CE includes one or more of i) information indicating whether beam failure is performed for at least one of the first CORESET pool or the second CORESET pool, ii) information of a component carrier (CC) in which beam failure occurred, or iii) whether a new spatial parameter for at least one of the first CORESET pool or the second CORESET pool is identified (fig.6a or 6b, par.[0130 – 0131]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses:
wherein based on a new spatial parameter for at least one of the first CORESET pool or the second CORESET pool being identified, the MAC-CE further include identification information on the new spatial parameter (fig.6a or 6b, par.[0130 – 0131]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses:
based on the response to the MAC-CE, resetting a spatial parameter for at least one of the first CORESET pool or the second CORESET pool, after a pre-configured time based on a timing of receiving the response (par.[0085] which recites, in part, “after 28 symbols from the end of the BFR response (end of PDCCH), the UE 344 may use a QCL assumption that only the CORESETs with the same value of CORESET pool index are reset to the new beam (e.g., q.sub.new) in the Scell 346.”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses:
based on a new spatial parameter for the first CORESET pool being identified, a spatial parameter for downlink reception or uplink transmission of the UE is configured with the new spatial parameter (par.[0086] this would apply to the first and/or second CORESET pool whichever is indicated “the UE 344 may use a QCL assumption that only the CORESETs with the same value of CORESET pool index are reset to the new beam”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses:
based on a new spatial parameter for the first CORESET pool not being identified and a new spatial parameter for the second CORESET pool being identified, a spatial parameter for downlink reception or uplink transmission of the UE is configured with the new spatial parameter for the second CORESET pool (par.[0086] this would apply to the first and/or second CORESET pool whichever is indicated “the UE 344 may use a QCL assumption that only the CORESETs with the same value of CORESET pool index are reset to the new beam”).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses:
wherein synchronization or transmission and reception of the UE is based on the spatial parameter associated with the first CORESET pool (par.[0086] the UE may assume QCL for CORESETS with the same value of CORESET pool index, thus if CORESET pool index 1 spatial parameter are indicated then the UE would utilize those for synchronization or transmission).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses:
method of wherein the PRACH corresponds to a contention free based PRACH (par.[0071] the CF RACH).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou discloses:
a base station (fig.1 depicts a base station) for performing beam failure recovery (BFR) in a wireless communication system (as discussed in claim 1 the UE and base station perform BFR), the base station comprising:
at least one transceiver (fig.3 element 310 and 312); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver (fig.3 element 302), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
based on detecting beam failure for a spatial parameter associated with the first CORESET pool (par.[0098] which recites, in part, “In such embodiments, the BFD-RSs may be explicitly configured to be SSBs or periodic CSI-RSs that are quasi co-located with the PDCCH DM-RS or configured implicitly based on the activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring—if a TCI state includes two RSs, the UE selects the RS that is configured with QCL-typeD if the QCL type is configured. The UE physical layer may indicate a BFI indication to a MAC entity (e.g., higher layers) if a quality of all configured BFD reference signals in a CORESET pool is below a configured threshold Q.sub.out_LR. The UE physical layer may also indicate an indication of which CORESET pool (e.g., CORESET pool index) to the MAC entity. The physical layer may inform the higher layers if a radio link quality is worse than the threshold Q.sub.out,LR with a periodicity that is different for a first CORESET pool and a second CORESET pool.” That is, the UE measures the SSBs or CSI-RS which are quasi-co-located with the PDCCH DM-RS or configured on the TCI states, to provide Beam Failure Indicator (BFI) which leads to Beam Failure Detection (BFD) for the CORESET pool), transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) for the BFR based on a spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (par.[0098] which recites, in part, “In certain embodiments, a UE indicates to a gNB that beam failure has been declared and a new candidate beam for recovery for a failed CORESET pool using an uplink channel (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, and/or PRACH) associated with another CORESET pool that has not failed—e.g., based on beams or spatial filters that have the same spatial relation as that associated with the activated TCI states for PDCCH monitoring (e.g., RS that is configured with QCL-typeD) for a non-failed CORESET pool.”, wherein the beam is a spatial parameter);
While the disclosure of Zeineddine substantially discloses the claimed invention, it may not disclose:
transmitting a response to the PRACH based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool;
receiving a MAC-CE for the BFR based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool; and
transmitting a response to the MAC-CE based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Zhou discloses:
transmitting a response to the PRACH based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (fig.9 the UE detects the BFD in element 906, and in element 908 performs CBD and then RACH, element 910, par.[0100], also par.[0091] which recites, in part, “In some examples, this may include updating various quasi-colocation (QCL) relationships. For example, UE 120 may determine that the new candidate beam is associated with the first CORESET pool index value and, therefore, update the QCL relationship for a CORESET with index 0 (e.g., the CORESET that is used for common search space procedures). The updated QCL relationship may correspond to the QCL configuration of the new candidate beam.” The formed beam being a type of spatial parameter);
receiving a MAC-CE for the BFR based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (fig.10 element 1014 and element 1016 BFR MAC CE); and
transmitting a response to the MAC-CE based on the spatial parameter associated with the second CORESET pool (fig.3b and BFR response based on new candidate beam associated with second pool index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Zeineddine for performing BFR, with the disclosure of Zhou for performing BFR. The motivation/suggestion would have been to allow for BFR in a multi-TRP scenario.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kwak et al. (US 2023/0144010 A1) “Methods, Apparatus and Systems Directed to Beam Management in Connection with Multiple Cells and/or Multiple Transmission Reception Points”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411