DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 09/22/2025. The 35 U.S.C. 112B rejection and drawing objection are withdrawn. Claims 2 and 8 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7 and 9 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault (US 20190330045 A1) in view of Kang et al (US 20160243509 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Breault teaches a refrigerator (refrigerator 20) comprising a beverage preparation module (as shown on figure 4), wherein the beverage preparation module comprises: a storage portion (syrup cartridge 70) for placing ingredients to prepare beverages of different flavors (different tastes to select any flavor syrup cartridge without limitation to a limited number of internal syrup flavors, abstract); an ice water portion (water supply 82) for providing ice water (cold fluid that is stored within the refrigerator, paragraph 0014); a carbonated water portion (CO2 reservoir 86) for obtaining ice water from the ice water portion (as shown on figure 4) and preparing carbonated water based on the ice water (the flow of water from the carbonated water tank 86, paragraph 0084); and an output portion (manifold 94) connected to the ice water part or the carbonated water part (via pump 88, figure 4), for controlling the flow of carbonated water (pumps 88 pump water from the carbonated water tank 86, paragraph 0084) or ice water through the storage portion (syrup cartridge 70) to dispense beverages of different flavors (the refrigerator with carbonated drink spout to provide an option for carbonated water or for delivery of flat water. This option for the water type gives a consumer the ability to quickly change the type of water that is being dispensed or dispensed with the syrup, paragraph 0012).
Breault teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the ice water portion and the carbonated water portion are connected to the output portion through a pipe with multiple channels or multiple pipes, and wherein the ice water portion comprises: a water tank for storing ice water, the water tank is located above the output portion and the carbonated water portion to dispense ice water from the water tank under the influence of gravity to both the output portion and the carbonated water portion.
However, Kang teaches wherein the ice water portion (via water purifier 260) and the carbonated water portion (via container 2) are connected to the output portion (discharge part 256) through a pipe (as shown on figure 5) with multiple channels or multiple pipes (via 256a/b, as shown on figure 5), and wherein the ice water portion (via water purifier 260) comprises: a water tank (tank 262) for storing ice water (paragraph 0153), the water tank (tank 262) is located above the output portion and the carbonated water portion (as shown on figure 8) to dispense ice water from the water tank under the influence of gravity to both the output portion and the carbonated water portion (as shown on figure 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Breault to include wherein the ice water portion and the carbonated water portion are connected to the output portion through a pipe with multiple channels or multiple pipes, and wherein the ice water portion comprises: a water tank for storing ice water, the water tank is located above the output portion and the carbonated water portion to dispense ice water from the water tank under the influence of gravity to both the output portion and the carbonated water portion in view of the teachings of Kang in order to yield the predictable results of supplying water to the tank when command of carbonated water is received.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault (US 20190330045 A1), Kang et al (US 20160243509 A1) in view of An et al (US 10190817 B2).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the water tank is located directly above the output portion and the carbonated water portion, with the carbonated water portion and the output portion arranged side by side beneath the water tank, an output space is formed below the output portion.
However, An teaches wherein: the water tank (the purified water supply module 210 may include a purifying water filter 73 which purifies water supplied by a water source 212, a purified water tank 71 which stores the purified water, col 5 lines 54-57) is located directly above the output portion (above dispenser module 120, as shown on figure 3) and the carbonated water portion (above production module 250, as described in col 8 lines 21-25 and as shown on figure 3), with the carbonated water portion (production module 250) and the output portion (dispenser module 120) arranged side by side (next to each other, figure 3) beneath the water tank (beneath water supply module 210 which includes a purified water tank 71, col 5 lines 54-57 and as shown on figure 3), an output space (water-dispensing space 132) is formed below the output portion (as shown on figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Breault to include wherein: the water tank is located directly above the output portion and the carbonated water portion, with the carbonated water portion and the output portion arranged side by side beneath the water tank, an output space is formed below the output portion. in view of the teachings of An in order to yield the predictable result of providing purified water to be converted to carbonated water.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault (US 20190330045 A1), Kang et al (US 20160243509 A1), An et al (US 10190817 B2) in view of Zhang (CN 207471912 U).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach the storage portion is located below the output portion.
However, Zhang teaches the storage portion (cylinder 21, figures 3-4) is located below the output portion (located below cylinder 30 which includes control valve 36, as shown on figures 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include the storage portion is located below the output portion in view of the teachings of Zhang in order to yield the predictable results of providing the multi-flavour beverage to be naturally dispended by the control valves.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault (US 20190330045 A1), Kang et al (US 20160243509 A1) in view of Hwang et al (US 20170240403 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein a pressure relief valve (relief valve 150 of An) is provided at the top of the mixing container (top portion of carbonated water container 170, as shown on figure 3 of An).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the carbonated water portion comprises: a carbon dioxide container for storing carbon dioxide; and a mixing container for obtaining carbon dioxide and ice water respectively from the carbon dioxide container and the ice water portion to prepare carbonated water, and providing carbonated water to the output portion.
However, Hwang teaches wherein the carbonated water portion (carbonated water production module 100) comprises: a carbon dioxide container (carbon dioxide gas cylinder 120) for storing carbon dioxide (paragraph 0116); and a mixing container (carbonated water tank 110) for obtaining carbon dioxide and ice water respectively from the carbon dioxide container and the ice water portion to prepare carbonated water (as described in paragraph 0117), and providing carbonated water to the output portion (to the dispenser module 90, as shown on figure 5 and paragraph 0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Breault to include wherein the carbonated water portion comprises: a carbon dioxide container for storing carbon dioxide; and a mixing container for obtaining carbon dioxide and ice water respectively from the carbon dioxide container and the ice water portion to prepare carbonated water, and providing carbonated water to the output portion in view of the teachings of Hwang in order to yield the predictable results of providing to allow the user to put out carbonated water from the outside of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein: the output portion (dispenser module 90, as shown on figure 5 of Hwang) is provided with an input pipe (pipe after valve 191, figure 5 of Hwang), one end of the input pipe extends into the bottom of the mixing container (extending to the bottom of carbonated water tank 110, as shown on figure 5 of Hwang) to supply carbonated water to the output portion under the pressure in the mixing container (integrated discharge flow path 190 may be integrally formed by a purified water discharge flow path 190a to discharge carbonated water discharge flow path 190b to discharge carbonated water, paragraph 0150 of Hwang).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault (US 20190330045 A1), Kang et al (US 20160243509 A1), Hwang et al (US 20170240403 A1) in view of Bilskie et al (US 6234349 B1).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the bottom of the water tank is provided with a pipeline connected to the mixing container, and the pipeline is provided with a switch; and a float is provided in the mixing container, when the water level in the mixing container is not within the predetermined range, the float controls the switch to open or close to ensure the water level in the mixing container stays within a predefined range.
However, Bilskie teaches wherein: the bottom of the water tank (bottom of water tank 52, figure 1) is provided with a pipeline (line 36 via line 50, figure 1) connected to the mixing container (as shown on figure 1), and the pipeline is provided with a switch (water level switch line 36 is connected to a carbonator tank water level switch 40, col 3 lines 42-43); and a float (float member 88) is provided in the mixing container (as shown on figures 2-4), when the water level in the mixing container is not within the predetermined range (carbonator tank 16 to initially not contain water, the float member 88 contained therein is positioned near the bottom of the tank 76, col 7 lines 36-38), the float controls the switch to open or close to ensure the water level in the mixing container stays within a predefined range (the carbonator tank 16 to initially not contain water, the float member 88 contained therein is positioned near the bottom of the tank 76 and the water tank level switch 40 is in the activated position shown in FIG. 3. When the water tank level switch 40 is in this activated position, pneumatic pressure is provided to the water valve 64, keeping it in the open position so that water can flow into the carbonator tank 16, col 7 lines 37-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Breault to include wherein: the bottom of the water tank is provided with a pipeline connected to the mixing container, and the pipeline is provided with a switch; and a float is provided in the mixing container, when the water level in the mixing container is not within the predetermined range, the float controls the switch to open or close to ensure the water level in the mixing container stays within a predefined range in view of the teachings of Bilskie in order to yield the predictable results of allowing the beverage dispenser valve to dispense carbonated water held in the at least one liquid reservoir when activated by the operator.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breault (US 20190330045 A1), Kang et al (US 20160243509 A1) in view of Crisp et al (US 20060157505 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the output portion is further provided with a selection switch for adjusting the flow of carbonated water or ice water through the ingredients according to a user's operation.
However, Crisp teaches wherein: the output portion (fluid directors 34) is further provided with a selection switch (beverage requesters 36) for adjusting the flow of carbonated water or ice water through the ingredients (one or more suitable beverage requesters 36 (such as indicators, buttons, actuators, sensors, a keyboard, touch panel, touch screen or any combination thereof) for enabling a user to request one of a plurality of beverages, paragraph 0082) according to a user's operation (enabling a user to request one of a plurality of beverages, paragraph 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include wherein: the output portion is further provided with a selection switch for adjusting the flow of carbonated water or ice water through the ingredients according to a user's operation in view of the teachings of Crisp in order to yield the predictable results of enabling a user to request one of a plurality of beverages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763