DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without “significantly more”. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are directed to Abstract Idea such as an idea standing alone such as an instantiated concept, pan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper for example using measurement received from a mobile device, transmitting from the source relay node to a donor access node.
The apparatus and the method claim 1, 11, 16 and 20 recites limitation, “communicate with a mobile communication network via a non- third generation partnership program access network and via a third generation partnership program access network; transmits transmit a first message requesting a multi-access data connection with the mobile communication network, wherein the first message comprises a first port mapping list, each element in the first port mapping list comprises an internal port and a suggested external port, and the first port mapping list is to be applied by a proxy function in the mobile communication network; and receive a second message accepting the multi-access data connection, wherein the second message comprises a second port mapping list, each element in the second port mapping list comprises the internal port and an assigned external port, and the second port mapping list is applied by the proxy function in the mobile communication network”. Since the claim is directed to a process and a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The claim recites communicate with a mobile communication network via a non- third generation partnership program access network and via a third generation partnership program access network; transmit a first message requesting a multi-access data connection with the mobile communication network; and receive a second message accepting the multi-access data connection. The transmitting and receiving step recited in the claim is no more than an abstract idea i.e., mental process of sending and receiving data, etc. (Step 2A: Prong One Abstract Idea=Yes).
The claim is then analyzed if it requires an additional elements or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception – i.e., limitation that are indicative of integration into a practical application: improving to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. In the current claims, there is no additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A: Prong Two Abstract Idea=Yes).
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine if there are additional limitation recited in the claim such that the claim amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim requires the additional limitation of a computer with the central processing unit, memory, a printer, an input and output terminal and a program. These generic computer components are claimed to perform the basic functions of storing, retrieving and processing data through the program that enables. In the current scenario, there are no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B: No). Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Further, dependent claims do not add any positive limitation or step that recite within the scope of the claim and does not carry patentable weight they are also rejected for the same reasons as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZTE 3GPP TSG-CT WG4 Meeting #96 C4-200636 E-Meeting, 24th – 28th February 2020 (Refer to as ZTE)
Regarding Claim 1, ZTE teaches an user equipment (UE) (Sec 3, IP translation Model for MPTCP Fig. UE), comprising:
at least one memory (UE inherently has memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (UE inherently has a processor coupled with the memory) and configured to cause the UE to:
communicate with a mobile communication network via a non- third generation partnership program access network and via a third generation partnership program access network(Sec 2 Mechanism Specified in 3GPP and IETF Specification Clause 5.32.6 of 3GPP and Fig. 5.32.6.1.1 TS23.501 describes the MPTCP traffic routing mechanism in the UE side for an example. In this example, the IP@1, IP@2 corresponds to the UE link-specific IP@ over N3GPP access / 3GPP access, and the IP@3 corresponds to the IP@ of MA-PDU session and further teaches in Clause 5.36.6.2.1 of 3GPP TS23.501 that The MPTCP functionality in the UE may communicate with the MPTCP Proxy functionality in the UPF using the user plane of the 3GPP access, or the non-3GPP access, or both and then suggest that the network allocates to UE one IP address/prefix for the MA PDU Session and two additional IP addresses/prefixes, called "link-specific multipath" addresses/prefixes; one associated with 3GPP access and another associated with the non-3GPP access);
transmit a first message requesting a multi-access data connection with the mobile communication network , wherein the first message comprises a first port mapping list, each element in the first port mapping list comprises an internal port and a suggested external port, and the first port mapping list is to be applied by a proxy function in the mobile communication network(Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5, the Client may use PCP [RFC6887] to request the Transport Converter to create dynamic TCP mappings i.e., transmit a first message requesting a multi-access data connection with the mobile communication network for (internal IP address, internal port number, external IP address, external port number) i.e., wherein the first message comprises a first port mapping list, each element in the first port mapping list comprises an internal port and a suggested external port, and the first port mapping list is to be applied by a proxy function in the mobile communication network); and
receive a second message accepting the multi-access data connection, wherein the second message comprises a second port mapping list, each element in the second port mapping list comprises the internal port and an assigned external port, and the second port mapping list is applied by the proxy function in the mobile communication network (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5, When the Converter receives an incoming SYN from a remote host, it checks if it can provide the conversion service for the destination IP address and destination port number of that SYN. If the checking is successful, the Converter inserts the source IP address and source port number in the SYN packet, rewrites the source IP address to one of its IP address, and eventually (i.e., only when the Converter is configured in an address sharing mode), the destination IP address and port number in accordance with any information stored locally. The Transport Converter acts as a TCP proxy between the upstream connection and the downstream connection, based on stored information of transport session entry i.e., receive a second message accepting the multi-access data connection, wherein the second message comprises a second port mapping list, each element in the second port mapping list comprises the internal port and an assigned external port, and the second port mapping list is applied by the proxy function in the mobile communication network).
Regarding Claim 2, ZTE teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a connection request from the proxy function for a first internal port (Page 4 and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3, ZTE teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiates a connection with a local service after receiving the connection request, and the local service is determined based on the first internal port(Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4, ZTE teaches wherein the connection with the local service contains an internet protocol address and a port number of a remote host (Page 4 and 3rd Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 5, ZTE teaches wherein the connection request from the proxy function comprises a transmission control protocol(TCP) connection request packet containing a multi-path transmission control protocol MPTCP capable option and includes an internet protocol address and a port number of a remote host (Page 4 and 3rd Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, ZTE teaches wherein the first port mapping list is included in the first message for enabling inbound connections to the user equipment UE via the proxy function (Page 4 and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, ZTE teaches wherein the first port mapping list is included in the first message in response to the user equipment UE being configured to provide port forwarding (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, ZTE teaches wherein the proxy function is implemented in a user-plane function of the mobile communication network, and the user-plane function terminates the multi-access data connection (Page 2 Clause 5.32.6.2.1 of 3GPP TS23.501).
Regarding Claim 9, ZTE teaches wherein the first message comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message,and the first port mapping list is contained in the PDU session establishment request message (Page 2 Clause 5.32.6.2.1 of 3GPP TS23.501 ii).
Regarding Claim 10, ZTE teaches wherein the second message comprises a protocol data unit PDU session establishment accept message, and the second port mapping list is contained in a PDU session establishment request message (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, ZTE teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a connection request from a remote host, wherein the connection request is for an address of a UE and a first external port (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, ZTE teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to use the second port mapping list to derive a first internal port mapped to the first external port (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, ZTE teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit a connection request to the UE for the first internal port (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 15, ZTE teaches wherein the connection request comprises a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection request packet containing a multi-path transmission control protocol MPTCP capable option and includes an internet protocol address and a port number of the remote host (Page 4 and 3rd Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 18, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 19, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 20, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al. Patent No. US 12238790 B2 - MA PDU session and user plane resource establishment for data transmission
Zhu et al. Pub. No. US 20240259857 A1 - TECHNOLOGIES FOR CONTROL AND MANAGEMENT OF MULTIPLE TRAFFIC STEERING SERVICES
Jeong Pub. No. US 20230217323 A1 - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR IMPROVING VOICE SERVICE QUALITY IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
Wang et al. Pub. No. US 20230102655 A1 - METHODS, APPARATUS AND SYSTEMS FOR MULTI-ACCESS PROTOCOL DATA UNIT SESSIONS
Yi et al. Pub. No. US 20230078760 A1 - ENHANCED MULTI-ACCESS PROTOCOL DATA UNIT (PDU) SESSION
Xu Pub. No. US 20220061075 A1 - INFORMATION TRANSMISSION METHOD AND APPARATUS, AND NETWORK DEVICE
Lin et al. Pub. No. US 20220046742 A1 - MULTI-ACCESS PDU SESSION STATE SYNCHRONIZATION BETWEEN UE AND NETWORK
EP 4221445 A1 - ACCESS TRAFFIC STEERING, SWITCHING, AND SPLITTING WITH BRANCHING POINT OR UPLINK CLASSIFIER ON THE PATH
NIZAR N. SIVJI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/NIZAR N SIVJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647