DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 14-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZTE 3GPP TSG-CT WG4 Meeting #96 C4-200636 E-Meeting, 24th – 28th February 2020 (Refer to as ZTE)
Regarding Claim 1, ZTE teaches an user equipment (UE) (Sec 3, IP translation Model for MPTCP Fig. UE), comprising:
at least one memory (UE inherently has memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (UE inherently has a processor coupled with the memory) and configured to cause the UE to:
communicate with a mobile communication network via a non- third generation partnership program access network and via a third generation partnership program access network(Sec 2 Mechanism Specified in 3GPP and IETF Specification Clause 5.32.6 of 3GPP and Fig. 5.32.6.1.1 TS23.501 describes the MPTCP traffic routing mechanism in the UE side for an example. In this example, the IP@1, IP@2 corresponds to the UE link-specific IP@ over N3GPP access / 3GPP access, and the IP@3 corresponds to the IP@ of MA-PDU session and further teaches in Clause 5.36.6.2.1 of 3GPP TS23.501 that The MPTCP functionality in the UE may communicate with the MPTCP Proxy functionality in the UPF using the user plane of the 3GPP access, or the non-3GPP access, or both and then suggest that the network allocates to UE one IP address/prefix for the MA PDU Session and two additional IP addresses/prefixes, called "link-specific multipath" addresses/prefixes; one associated with 3GPP access and another associated with the non-3GPP access);
transmit a first message requesting a multi-access data connection with the mobile communication network , wherein the first message comprises a first port mapping list, each element in the first port mapping list comprises an internal port and a suggested external port, and the first port mapping list is to be applied by a proxy function in the mobile communication network(Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5, the Client may use PCP [RFC6887] to request the Transport Converter to create dynamic TCP mappings i.e., transmit a first message requesting a multi-access data connection with the mobile communication network for (internal IP address, internal port number, external IP address, external port number) i.e., wherein the first message comprises a first port mapping list, each element in the first port mapping list comprises an internal port and a suggested external port, and the first port mapping list is to be applied by a proxy function in the mobile communication network); and
receive a second message accepting the multi-access data connection, wherein the second message comprises a second port mapping list, each element in the second port mapping list comprises the internal port and an assigned external port, and the second port mapping list is applied by the proxy function in the mobile communication network (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5, When the Converter receives an incoming SYN from a remote host, it checks if it can provide the conversion service for the destination IP address and destination port number of that SYN. If the checking is successful, the Converter inserts the source IP address and source port number in the SYN packet, rewrites the source IP address to one of its IP address, and eventually (i.e., only when the Converter is configured in an address sharing mode), the destination IP address and port number in accordance with any information stored locally. The Transport Converter acts as a TCP proxy between the upstream connection and the downstream connection, based on stored information of transport session entry i.e., receive a second message accepting the multi-access data connection, wherein the second message comprises a second port mapping list, each element in the second port mapping list comprises the internal port and an assigned external port, and the second port mapping list is applied by the proxy function in the mobile communication network);
receive a connection request (Page 4 and Para 4, Figure 5 describes the establishment of an incoming TCP connection through a Transport Converter. In order to support incoming connections from remote hosts, the Client may use PCP [RFC6887] to request the Transport Converter to create dynamic TCP mappings for (internal IP address, internal port number, external IP address, external port number) i.e., receive a connect request from the proxy function for a first internal port (Page 4 and 4th Para and Fig. 5 Step 2 where transport converter acts as a TCP proxy between the upstream connection and the downstream connection and it include Remote Host:Port info refer to as first internal port); and
initiates a connection with a local service after receiving the connection request (Fig. 5 Step 3 SYN+ACT and Page 4 Para 5, When the Converter receives an incoming SYN from a remote host, it checks if it can provide the conversion service for the destination IP address and destination port number of that SYN. If the checking is successful, the Converter inserts the source IP address and source port number in the SYN packet, rewrites the source IP address to one of its IP address, and eventually (i.e., only when the Converter is configured in an address sharing mode), the destination IP address and port number in accordance with any information stored locally i.e., initiates a connection with a local service after receiving the connection request), and the local service is determined based on the first internal port ((Fig. 5 Step 3 SYN+ACT and Page 4 Para 5, the Converter inserts the source IP address and source port number in the SYN packet, rewrites the source IP address to one of its IP address, and eventually (i.e., only when the Converter is configured in an address sharing mode), the destination IP address and port number in accordance with any information stored locally i.e., he local service is determined based on the first internal port).
Regarding Claim 4, ZTE teaches wherein the connection with the local service contains an internet protocol address and a port number of a remote host (Page 4 and 3rd Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 5, ZTE teaches wherein the connection request from the proxy function comprises a transmission control protocol(TCP) connection request packet containing a multi-path transmission control protocol MPTCP capable option and includes an internet protocol address and a port number of a remote host (Page 4 and 3rd Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, ZTE teaches wherein the first port mapping list is included in the first message for enabling inbound connections to the user equipment UE via the proxy function (Page 4 and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, ZTE teaches wherein the first port mapping list is included in the first message in response to the user equipment UE being configured to provide port forwarding (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, ZTE teaches wherein the proxy function is implemented in a user-plane function of the mobile communication network, and the user-plane function terminates the multi-access data connection (Page 2 Clause 5.32.6.2.1 of 3GPP TS23.501).
Regarding Claim 9, ZTE teaches wherein the first message comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request message,and the first port mapping list is contained in the PDU session establishment request message (Page 2 Clause 5.32.6.2.1 of 3GPP TS23.501 ii).
Regarding Claim 10, ZTE teaches wherein the second message comprises a protocol data unit PDU session establishment accept message, and the second port mapping list is contained in a PDU session establishment request message (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, ZTE teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit a connection request to the UE for the first internal port (Page 4 and 3rd and 4th Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 15, ZTE teaches wherein the connection request comprises a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection request packet containing a multi-path transmission control protocol MPTCP capable option and includes an internet protocol address and a port number of the remote host (Page 4 and 3rd Para and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 18, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 19, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 20, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is arguing that current reference does not teach specifically “wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a connection request from the proxy function for a first internal port and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to initiate a connection with a local service after receiving the connection request, and the local service is determined based on the first internal port and suggest that nothing in the text of paragraph 4 teaches anything about a connection request or a “connection request from the proxy function for a first internal port. However, examiner disagrees and bring it to the attention of the applicant that during patent examination claims must be given broadest reasonable interpretation (See MPEP 2111). Having said that ZTE teaches from Page 4 and Para 4, Figure 5 describes the establishment of an incoming TCP connection through a Transport Converter. In order to support incoming connections from remote hosts, the Client may use PCP [RFC6887] to request the Transport Converter to create dynamic TCP mappings for (internal IP address, internal port number, external IP address, external port number) i.e., receive a connect request from the proxy function and then further teach from Page 4 and 4th Para and Fig. 5 Step 2 where transport converter acts as a TCP proxy between the upstream connection and the downstream connection and it include Remote Host:Port info refer to as first internal port). ZTE further teaches from Fig. 5 Step 3 SYN+ACT and Page 4 Para 5, When the Converter receives an incoming SYN from a remote host, it checks if it can provide the conversion service for the destination IP address and destination port number of that SYN. If the checking is successful, the Converter inserts the source IP address and source port number in the SYN packet, rewrites the source IP address to one of its IP address, i.e., only when the Converter is configured in an address sharing mode), the destination IP address and port number in accordance with any information stored locally i.e., initiates a connection with a local service after receiving the connection request) and then further teaches from Fig. 5 Step 3 SYN+ACT and Page 4 Para 5, the Converter inserts the source IP address and source port number in the SYN packet, rewrites the source IP address to one of its IP address, and eventually (i.e., only when the Converter is configured in an address sharing mode), the destination IP address and port number in accordance with any information stored locally i.e., he local service is determined based on the first internal port. For at least the above reasons applicant argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant is further arguing that since claim 1 is allowable, claims 11, 16 and 20 are also allowable. However, as discussed above, claim 1 is rejectable. For at least the above reasons, claim 11, 16 and 20 are also rejectable. However, if applicant add detail of Fig. 2A into the claim specifically step 2-5, the claim might be allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NIZAR N. SIVJI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/NIZAR N SIVJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647