DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 20160238307 (“Lee”) in view of KR 20050102818”(“KIM”) and US 20090051257 (Picken et al.).
Regarding Claim 30, LEE discloses a refrigerator (1) comprising:
a cabinet (10) having a storage compartment (12) formed therein; and
a storage assembly (23) installed in the storage compartment (12) and having a storage space defined therein,
wherein the storage assembly (23) comprises:
a guide frame (50) disposed in the storage compartment (12) and provided with a shelf guide part (52, 53); and
a plurality of shelves (30, 40) disposed on the storage space, wherein each of the shelves (30, 40) comprises:
a shelf frame (31, 42) coupled to the shelf guide part (52, 53), and
a top plate (36, 47) coupled to an upper surface of the shelf frame (31, 42), and wherein the upper surface of the shelf frame (31, 42) is open toward a lower surface of the top plate (36, 47) and has therein such that adhesive is filed in the adhesive part (as known in the art for securing the glass panel to the frame).
The combination discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the guide frame having a drawer guide part with a drawer; and a depressed adhesive part on the upper surface of the shelf frame with a first side adhesive groove and a parallel second side adhesive groove.
Kim discloses a refrigerator with a storage assembly comprising storage assembly with a guide frame having shelf guide part (5) with a drawer guide part (10) and a shelf guide part (5) having heights different from each other; a storage drawer (11) which has the storage space defined therein and moves along the drawer guide part (10).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the storage assembly taught by LEE could be improved with by providing the guide frame with a drawer guide part and drawer (11) which has the storage space defined therein and moves along the drawer guide part (10), as demonstrated by KIM to provide that storage assembly with additional storage capacity.
Picken et al. demonstrates it is known in the art to form the upper frame of a shelf with an adhesive part depressed therein (along opening 416b’, as seen in Fig. 19); and wherein the depressed adhesive part on the upper surface of the shelf frame (on the both parallel sides of the frame) includes a first side adhesive groove (larger groove along 416b’) and a parallel second side adhesive groove (smaller groove along 416c’) disposed outward with respect to the first side adhesive groove (on each side of the shelf frame).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that top plate could be secured to the shelf frame could be improved with parallel first and second adhesive grooves depressed in the upper surface around the shelf frame, similar the upper shelf frame taught by Picken et al. to provide improved adhesion between the top plate and the shelf frame and to provide a channel a groove for excess adhesive ([0068])
Regarding Claim 31, the combination disclose (LEE) wherein the shelf comprises: a first shelf (40) coupled rotatably to the shelf guide part (52, 53), and comprising a first shelf frame (42) and a first top plate (47) coupled to an upper end of the first shelf frame (42); and a second shelf (30) which moves along the shelf guide part (52, 53) and the first shelf frame (42) and comprises a second shelf frame (31) and a second top plate (36) coupled to an upper end of the second shelf frame (31), and wherein a first adhesive part and a second adhesive part are recessed in upper surfaces of the first shelf frame (31) and the second shelf frame (31), respectively, the first adhesive part and the second adhesive part being open toward lower surfaces of the first top plate (47) and the second top plate (36), respectively (in the manner taught by Picken et al.)
Regarding Claim 32, the combination discloses (Picken et al.) wherein the first adhesive part( along the upper surface of the frame) comprises: a side adhesive groove (along 416b’) formed in an upper surface of each of a pair of first shelf bodies (along each side frame)
disposed respectively on opposite sides of the first shelf frame (see Fig. 18) ; and
a front adhesive groove formed in an upper surface of a first front body disposed on a front of the first shelf. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the upper surface of each pair of shelf bodies and the first front body could be improved with adhesives grooves to secure the top plate to the respective shelf bodies or to provide a grove for excess adhesive, in the same manner as the sides.
Regarding Claim 33, the combination discloses (Picken et al.) the side adhesive groove (along each side frame 416b’) extending along a longitudinal direction of each of the first shelf bodies.
Regarding Claim 34, the combination discloses (Picken et al.), wherein the second side adhesive groove (smaller groove 416c’) is disposed at each of opposite sides of the first side adhesive groove. would be obvious to one having ordinary and additional side adhesives grooves could be provide on each side of the larger groove to provide an addition channel or groove for excess adhesive. to
Regarding Claim 35, the combination discloses (Picken et al.) wherein the first side adhesive groove ( long 416b’) is configured to be wider in a left-to-right width than the second side adhesive groove (smaller groove 416 c’), and the second side adhesive groove is configured to be deeper in a depressed depth than the first side adhesive groove (as seen in Fig. 19). .
Regarding Claim 36, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein the first shelf frame (31, 42) comprises:
a pair of first shelf bodies( 43, at each side) disposed at opposite sides thereof, respectively, by being spaced apart from each other; and
a first front body located between the pair of first shelf bodies( 43, at each side) to connect the pair of shelf bodies to each other, the first front body being disposed on a front of the first shelf frame (31, 42), and
wherein the first adhesive part is continuously formed in upper surfaces of the first shelf bodies and an upper surface of the first front body.
Regarding Claim 37, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein connecting guide parts (45, at each side) are formed in the pair of first shelf bodies ( 43, at each side), respectively, to face each other, and the second shelf slides forward and rearward along the shelf guide part (52, 53) and each of the connecting guide parts (45, at each side), and when the second shelf moves from the shelf guide part (52, 53) to the connecting guide parts (45, at each side), the second shelf overlaps the first shelf.
Regarding Claim 38, the combination discloses (Picken et al.) wherein the second adhesive part comprises:
a main adhesive groove (416b’, larger groove) depressed in an upper surface of a second shelf body disposed on each of opposite sides of the second shelf frame (31, 42) and extending along a longitudinal direction of the second shelf body; and
an auxiliary adhesive groove (416c, smaller groove) formed in parallel with the main adhesive groove and disposed at a more outer side than the main adhesive groove.
Regarding Claim 39, the combination discloses (Picken et al.)wherein the main adhesive groove (416b) is configured to be wider in a left-to-right width than the auxiliary adhesive groove, and the auxiliary adhesive groove(416 c) is configured to be deeper in a depressed depth than the main adhesive groove.
Regarding Claim 40, the combination discloses (LEE) a guide fence (along 34) frame protrudes on the upper surface of the second shelf body along the front edge, and extends in a direction parallel with the second adhesive part.
Regarding Claim 41, LEE discloses a refrigerator (1) comprising:
a cabinet (10) having a storage compartment (12) formed therein; and
a storage assembly (23) installed in the storage compartment (12) and having a storage space defined therein,
wherein the storage assembly (23) comprises:
a guide frame (50) disposed in the storage compartment (12) and provided with a drawer guide part and a shelf guide part (52, 53) having heights different from each other;
a first shelf (40) which covers a rear part of an upper part of the storage space and is provided with connecting guide parts (45, at each side), each of the connecting guide parts (45, at each side) being connected to the shelf guide part (52, 53); and
a second shelf (30) which covers a front part of the upper part of the storage space and slides forward and rearward along the shelf guide part (52, 53) and the connecting guide part (45) of the connecting guide parts (at each side),
wherein when the second shelf (30) moves from the shelf guide part (52, 53) to the connecting guide part (45, at each side), the second shelf (30) overlaps the first shelf (40), and
wherein the first shelf (40) is coupled rotatably to the guide frame (50) such that the first shelf and the second shelf (30) overlapping the first shelf rotate together (as seen in Fig. 14C); and the second shelf (30) is positioned in front of the first shelf (40) the two glass top plates are coplanar.
The combination discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the drawer guide part with a drawer, and the coplanar shelves bonded to the shelf bodies by an adhesive.
Kim discloses a refrigerator with a storage assembly comprising a drawer guide part (10) and a shelf guide part (5) having heights different from each other; a storage drawer (11) which has the storage space defined therein and moves along the drawer guide part (10)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the storage assembly taught by LEE could be improved with by providing the guide frame with a drawer guide part and drawer (11) which has the storage space defined therein and moves along the drawer guide part (10), as demonstrated by KIM to provide that storage assembly with additional storage capacity.
Picken et al demonstrates it is known in the art to bond a glass top plate to the upper frame of a shelf ( on each side of the shelf frame ) via an adhesive( 417, along the upper frame, best seen in Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the glass top plate of the first and second bonded to the pair of shelf bodies by an adhesive, similar to the manner taught by Picken et al. to provide improved adhesion between the top plate and the shelf frame. As modified, wherein each of the first shelf and the second shelf includes a glass top plate bonded to paired shelf bodies by an adhesive, and when the second shelf is positioned in front of the first shelf, the two glass top plates are coplanar.
Regarding Claim 42, the combination discloses (KIM) wherein a moving rail (along 11) of the storage drawer is coupled to the drawer guide part, and a shelf rail of the second shelf is coupled to the shelf guide part (52, 53).
Regarding Claim 43, the combination discloses (KIM) wherein each of the drawer guide part and the shelf guide part (52, 53) is provided on the same surface of the guide frame (50), and the drawer guide part is provided at a position Lower than a position of the shelf guide part (52, 53).
Regarding Claim 44, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein the shelf guide part (52, 53) comprises:
a first shelf guide (52,)assembled with the first shelf; and
a second shelf guide (53)connected to the first shelf guide and assembled with the second shelf, and
wherein the first shelf guide (52) is configured to be larger in a vertical width than the second shelf guide (53) such that a step part is formed between the first shelf guide and the second shelf guide.
Regarding Claim 45, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein a rotation recess (54) into which a rotating protrusion part (44) of the first shelf is inserted is recessed in the first shelf guide.
Regarding Claim 46, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein a front of the connecting guide part directed toward the second shelf is open, and a guide protrusion part inserted into the connecting guide part protrudes on a side surface of the second shelf.
Regarding Claim 47, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein when the second shelf (30) is extended from the first shelf, an upper surface of the first shelf (40) and an upper surface of the second shelf constitute the same plane.
Regarding Claim 48, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein an upper part of the first shelf guide (52) is open upward, and each of the first shelf (40) and the second shelf (30)is assembled with the guide frame (50) through the upper part of the first shelf guide.
Regarding Claim 49, the combination discloses (LEE) wherein the guide frame (50) comprises:
a pair of side bodies (511) disposed to be spaced apart from each other, each of the side bodies being provided with the first shelf guide (52) and the second shelf guide (53); and
a rear body (512) whose opposite ends are connected to the pair of side bodies, respectively, with a rear end part of the first shelf (40)being disposed on the rear body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 30-49 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection as applied above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT whose telephone number is (571)270-3328. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 12:30-6:30.
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637