DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-3025111-A to Lyon (“Lyon_111”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lyon_111 ( embodiment in Col 4 line 50 to Col 5 line 20, Fig 5-6, having common features Col 1-Col 4, lines 1-49, Figs 1-4) discloses a wheel cover (10)for a wheel (11 “wheel body of the disk spider type”, Col 1 line to Col 2 line 13, Fig 1-3) of a vehicle (Col 1 line 11), the wheel cover comprising: a cover portion (10 “cover member” including 20 spider/spoke arms, Col 14-38, Figs 1-3, 5-6 comprising an interior surface (facing left Fig 5 and outward Fig 1, inward Fig 6) that faces inwardly towards the wheel and an exterior surface (facing right Fig 5, outward Fig 1 inward Fig 6) that faces outwardly away from the wheel; and a retention assembly (45 “retaining clip” on 20, attaching to groove adjacent to 15 “retaining shoulder” of 14 “cover retaining bumps/protrusions” on 10 ) disposed at the interior surface, the retention assembly being configured to operably couple the wheel cover to the wheel (Col 4 line 65 to Col 5 lines 20), the retention assembly comprising: a first retention clip (45 “retaining clip” of sheet metal in an inverted U-shape, Co 4 lines 58-64, Figs 5, 6 ) that extends perpendicularly away from ( Fig 5, 6) the interior surface and interfaces with a retention notch (groove adjacent to 15 “retaining shoulder” of 14 “cover retaining bumps/protrusions” ) of the wheel; and a first biasing member (49 “resiliently flexible retaining fingers…outwardly angled obliquely” Col 4 , lines 65-72, Fig 5) operably coupled to (being integral to 45) a front side (BRI: radially outer; i.e. 49 extending out towards ends with 50 “terminal”, Col 4, lines 65-72 Fig 5, 6) and a back side (BRI: radially inner; i.e. attached to 45 at bend at axially inner, Col 4, lines 65-72 Fig 5, 6) of the first retention clip, wherein the first biasing member biases the first retention clip to operably couple (Col 4 lines 65-72) with the retention notch by engaging the front side to urge (Col 5, lines 5-8) the back side in a radially outward direction with respect to the cover portion.
Regarding Claim 2, Lyon_111 discloses the wheel cover of claim 1, wherein the first retention clip comprises: a first leg (48 “side flange”, Col 4 line 62, left Fig 6) extending perpendicularly away from the interior surface; a second leg (48 “side flange”, Col 4 line 62, right Fig 6) extending perpendicularly away from the interior surface (48 extending axially [i.e. perpendicularly] from inner surface of 20 of 10, Fig 5,6); an engagement portion (radially inner edges of 48 extending to 50 “turned terminal” [i.e. distal end] Col 4 lines 65-72, Fig 5) disposed at a distal end (Fig 5) of the first and second legs, the engagement portion being configured to operably couple (Col 4, lines 65-72, Fig 5 ,6) with the retention notch and a base portion (47 ” clip body”) operably coupled to (body located between bent at edges of legs, Col 4 lines 66-72, Fig 5, 6) the first leg, the second leg, and the interior surface to support the first retention clip, wherein the first biasing member is operably coupled to (49 is integral to 45, thus to 47, and 48 and 50) each of the base portion and the engagement portion of the first retention clip to bias the engagement portion into the retention
Notch (Col 5 lines 65-72, Fig 5, 6 ).
Regarding Claim 3, Lyon discloses the wheel cover of claim 2, wherein the engagement portion comprises an engagement projection (50 “turned terminal” , 51 “inward projection” and 52 “inward extension” Col 4 lines 65-75 to Col 5 line 4, Fig 5, 6) that engages the retention notch of the wheel to retain the wheel cover ont he wheel.
Regarding Claim 4, Lyon_111 discloses the wheel cover of claim 2, wherein the base portion, the first leg, the second leg, and the engagement portion each comprise locking members (all integral to 45 clip, are locked in “Snap on” action, Col 4 line 65 to Col 5 line 8, Fig 5, 6) to operably couple to the first biasing member.
Regarding Claim 5, Lyon_111 discloses the wheel cover of claim 4, wherein the first biasing member operably couples to the locking members via a snap fit (“Snap on” action Col 5-8, Fig 5, 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Lyon_111 discloses the wheel cover of claim 2, wherein the base portion comprises a first flange (51 “flanges”, Col 5 lines 18, Fig 5, 6) operably coupled to (Fig 6) the first leg and a second flange (51 “flanges”, Col 5 lines 18, Fig 5, 6) operably coupled to (Fig 6) the second leg, wherein the first flange and the second flange distribute stress forces from the first and
second legs (forces on 48 14 to 52, 51 and 49 from of axially inward pressure during snap on, Col 5 lines 8 ).
Regarding Claim 7, Lyon discloses the wheel cover of claim 2, wherein the first leg and the second leg are operably coupled to each other (being integral to 45 on either side of 47 as described in paragraphs 4 and 5 of this document) at the engagement portion.
Regarding Claim 8, Lyon discloses the wheel cover of claim 2, wherein the first and second legs are symmetrical about a longitudinal axis of the first retention clip (Col 4, lines 58-64, Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Lyon discloses the wheel cover of claim 1, wherein the retention assembly comprises a plurality of retention clips and biasing members disposed at the interior surface (three one for each spoke arm in 20, Fig 1, 5, 6) and wherein each retention clip of the plurality of retention clips is operably coupled to (integral with as described a respective biasing member (as described in paragraph 10 of this document) .
Regarding Claim 10, Lyon discloses the wheel cover of claim 9, wherein the plurality of retention clips are disposed radially around the interior surface and spaced apart equidistantly from each other (as shown Fig 1, 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Lyon discloses the wheel cover of claim 1, wherein the retention assembly further comprises a plurality of spacer members (three 50 “terminal”, one for each 45, 50 acts a spacer between 45 of cover abutting 14 of wheel, Col 4, lines 65-72 Fig 5, 6) disposed radially around the interior surface, and wherein the spacer members contact the wheel (contacts 14 of wheel) to space apart the cover portion from the wheel.
Regarding Claim 12, Lyon_111 (embodiment in Col 4 line 50 to Col 5 line 20, Fig 5-6, having common features Col 1-Col 4, lines 1-49, Figs 1-4) discloses a retention assembly (45 “retaining clip” on 20, attaching to groove adjacent to 15 “retaining shoulder” of 14 “cover retaining bumps/protrusions” on 10 ) for operatively coupling a wheel cover (10) for a wheel (11 “wheel body of the disk spider type”, Col 1 line to Col 2 line 13, Fig 1-3) of a vehicle (Col 1 line 11), the retention assembly comprising: a first retention clip (45 “retaining clip” of sheet metal in an inverted U-shape, Co 4 lines 58-64, Figs 5, 6 ) that extends perpendicularly away from an interior surface of the wheel cover and interfaces with a retention notch (groove adjacent to 15 “retaining shoulder” of 14 “cover retaining bumps/protrusions” ) of the wheel; and a first biasing member (49 “resiliently flexible retaining fingers…outwardly angled obliquely” Col 4 , lines 65-72, Fig 5) operably coupled to (being integral to 45) a front side (BRI: radially outer; i.e. 49 extending out towards ends with 50 “terminal”, Col 4, lines 65-72 Fig 5, 6) and a back side (BRI: radially inner; i.e. attached to 45 at bend at axially inner, Col 4, lines 65-72 Fig 5, 6) of the first retention clip, wherein the first biasing member biases the first retention clip to operably couple (Col 4 lines 65-72) with the retention notch by engaging the front side to urge (Col 5, lines 5-8) the back side in a radially outward direction with respect to the cover portion.
Regarding Claim 13, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 12, wherein the first retention clip comprises: a first leg (48 “side flange”, Col 4 line 62, left Fig 6) extending perpendicularly away from the interior surface; a second leg (48 “side flange”, Col 4 line 62, right Fig 6) extending perpendicularly away from the interior surface (48 extending axially [i.e. perpendicularly] from inner surface of 20 of 10, Fig 5,6); an engagement portion (radially inner edges of 48 extending to 50 “turned terminal” [i.e. distal end] Col 4 lines 65-72, Fig 5) disposed at a distal end (Fig 5) of the first and second legs, the engagement portion being configured to operably couple (Col 4, lines 65-72, Fig 5 ,6) with the retention notch and a base portion (47 ” clip body”) operably coupled to (body located between bent at edges of legs, Col 4 lines 66-72, Fig 5, 6) the first leg, the second leg, and the interior surface to support the first retention clip, wherein the first biasing member is operably coupled to (49 is integral to 45, thus to 47, and 48 and 50) each of the base portion and the engagement portion of the first retention clip to bias the engagement portion into the retention notch (Col 5 lines 65-72, Fig 5, 6 ).
Regarding Claim 14, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 13, wherein the engagement portion comprises an engagement projection (50 “turned terminal” , 51 “inward projection” and 52 “inward extension” Col 4 lines 65-75 to Col 5 line 4, Fig 5, 6) that engages the retention notch of the wheel to retain the wheel cover on the wheel.
Regarding Claim 15, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 13, wherein the base portion, the first leg, the second leg, and the engagement portion each comprise locking members (all integral to 45 clip, are locked in “Snap on” action, Col 4 line 65 to Col 5 line 8, Fig 5, 6) to operably couple to the first biasing member.
Regarding Claim 16, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 13, wherein the base portion comprises a first flange (51 “flanges”, Col 5 lines 18, Fig 5, 6) operably coupled to (Fig 6) the first leg and a second flange (51 “flanges”, Col 5 lines 18, Fig 5, 6) operably coupled to (Fig 6) the second leg, wherein the first flange and the second flange distribute stress forces from the first and
second legs (forces on 48 14 to 52, 51 and 49 from of axially inward pressure during snap on, Col 5 lines 8 ).
Regarding Claim 17, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 13, , wherein the first and second legs are symmetrical about a longitudinal axis of the first retention clip (Col 4, lines 58-64, Fig 6).
Regarding Claim 18, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 12, wherein the retention assembly comprises a plurality of retention clips and biasing members disposed at the interior surface (three one for each spoke arm in 20, Fig 1, 5, 6) and wherein each retention clip of the plurality of retention clips is operably coupled to (being integral to 45 on either side of 47 as described in paragraphs 15 and 16 of this document) a respective biasing member.
Regarding Claim 19, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 18, wherein the plurality of retention clips are disposed radially around the interior surface and spaced apart equidistantly from each other (as shown Fig 1, 6).
Regarding Claim 20, Lyon_111 discloses the retention assembly of claim 12, wherein the retention assembly further comprises a plurality of spacer members (three 50 “terminal”, one for each 45, 50 acts a spacer between 45 of cover abutting 14 of wheel, Col 4, lines 65-72 Fig 5, 6) disposed radially around the interior surface, and wherein the spacer members contact the wheel (contacts 14 of wheel) to space apart the cover portion from the wheel.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Van Oort (US-20160221388-A1), Lyon (US-2711930-A, US-2916328-A, US-2317393-A), Marshall (US-4268091-A), Parker (US-20120074663-A1), and Bonafous (FR-2511306-A1) disclose wheel covers having retaining clips.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615