DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 12/04/2024 havingclaims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 02/19/2024 is a CON of PCT/CN2022/110027 08/03/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS CHINA 202110963288.2 08/20/2021is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/19/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
2. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
3. The Oath/Declaration filed on 02/19/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 11, 14, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20160119888 A1 KAWAMOTO et al. (Hereinafter “KAWAMOTO ").
As per claim 1, KAWAMOTO teaches a communication method, comprising: receiving first indication information from a second communication device, wherein the first indication information is carried on a synchronization link, wherein the first indication information indicates that scheduling for a first communication device does not exist on an asynchronous link associated with the synchronization link (para 0051-0056], fig.6, receiving from the reception node an indication an indication that frame arrival confirmation is not sensed and the communication between transmitting node and receiving node doesn’t exist on data associated with synchronous data in an asynchronous link ); and stopping, based on the first indication information, detecting the asynchronous link (para 0051-0056], fig.6, based on the indication from the transmitting node ,transmitting node stops the synchronous transmission and detecting the asynchronous link). 20160119888
As per claim 4, KAWAMOTO teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the stopping, detecting the asynchronous link comprises: stopping, based on the first indication information after a first time offset, detecting the asynchronous link ((para 0051-0056], fig.6, based on the information received stopping, based on the first indication information after a first time offset, detecting the asynchronous link).
As per claim 7, KAWAMOTO teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after the stopping, detecting the asynchronous link, the method further comprises: receiving second indication information from the second communication device(para 0051, the algorithm process the incoming signal from the receiver whether it is first second or third ).; and starting, based on the second indication information, detecting the asynchronous link ((para 0051, within a given time frame waiting for a response and moves the asynchronous link ).
As per claim 10, KAWAMOTO teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the starting, detecting the asynchronous link comprises: starting, based on the second indication information after a second time offset, detecting the asynchronous link ((para 0051-0056], fig.6, detecting the asynchronous link comprises: starting, based on the second indication information after a second time offset, detecting the asynchronous link).
As per claim 11, KAWAMOTO teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to: receive first indication information from a second communication device, wherein the first indication information is carried on a synchronization link, wherein the first indication information indicates that scheduling for a first communication device does not exist on an asynchronous link associated with the synchronization link(para 0051-0056], fig.6, receiving from the reception node an indication an indication that frame arrival confirmation is not sensed and the communication between transmitting node and receiving node doesn’t exist on data associated with synchronous data in an asynchronous link ); and stop, based on the first indication information, detecting the asynchronous link(para 0051-0056], fig.6, based on the indication from the transmitting node ,transmitting node stops the synchronous transmission and detecting the asynchronous link)..
As per claim 14, KAWAMOTO teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to: stop, based on the first indication information after a first time offset, detecting the asynchronous link ((para 0051-0056], fig.6, based on the information received stopping, based on the first indication information after a first time offset, detecting the asynchronous link).
As per claim 17, KAWAMOTO teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: receive second indication information from the second communication device after stopping detecting the asynchronous link(para 0051, the algorithm process the incoming signal from the receiver whether it is first second or third ).;; and start, based on the second indication information, detecting the asynchronous link (para 0051, within a given time frame waiting for a response and moves the asynchronous link ).
As per claim 20, KAWAMOTO teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: start, based on the second indication information after a second time offset, detecting the asynchronous link((para 0051-0056], fig.6, detecting the asynchronous link comprises: starting, based on the second indication information after a second time offset, detecting the asynchronous link)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 2-3, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMOTO further view of US PG Pub US 20100316387 A1 to Suvakovic et al (hereinafter Suvakovic).
As per claim 2, KAWAMOTO teaches the method according to claim 1, Suvakovic teaches wherein the first indication information is comprised in a physical layer header of a first synchronization link frame (para 0020], when transmitting node receiving ack information from the receiving side); and the method further comprises: parsing the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame(para 0079], when transmitting node receives frame information and reads the information).; and obtaining the first indication information from the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame (para 0079], when transmitting node receives frame information and information from the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of KAWAMOTO by wherein the first indication information is comprised in a physical layer header of a first synchronization link frame; and the method further comprises: parsing the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame; and obtaining the first indication information from the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame. as suggested by Suvakovic, this modification would benefit KAWAMOTO for reducing power consumption in a wireless communication network devices.
As per claim 3, KAWAMOTO teaches the method according to claim 1, Suvakovic teaches wherein the first indication information is comprised in a higher layer payload header of a first synchronization link frame (para 0079], comprised in a higher layer payload header of a first synchronization link frame).; and the method further comprises: parsing the higher layer payload header of the first synchronization link frame ((para 0079], parsing the higher layer payload header of the first synchronization link frame).; and obtaining the first indication information from the higher layer payload header of the first synchronization link frame ((para 0079], obtaining the first indication information from the higher layer payload header of the first synchronization link frame ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 12, KAWAMOTO teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, Suvakovic teaches wherein the first indication information is comprised in a physical layer header of a first synchronization link frame(para 0020], when transmitting node receiving ack information from the receiving side);; and the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: parse the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame(para 0079], when transmitting node receives frame information and reads the information).;; and obtain the first indication information from the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame (para 0079], when transmitting node receives frame information and information from the physical layer header of the first synchronization link frame)..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
As per claim 13, KAWAMOTO teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, Suvakovic teaches wherein the first indication information is comprised in a higher layer payload header of a first synchronization link frame(para 0020], when transmitting node receiving ack information from the receiving side);;; and the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: parse the higher layer payload header of the first synchronization link frame(para 0079], when transmitting node receives frame information and reads the information); and obtain the first indication information from the higher layer payload header of the first synchronization link frame(para 0079], obtaining the first indication information from the higher layer payload header of the first synchronization link frame ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 2.
Claim(s) 5-6, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMOTO further view of US PG Pub US 20080228237 A1 to Bange et al (hereinafter Bange).
As per claim 5, KAWAMOTO teaches the method according to claim 1, Bange teaches wherein after the receiving first indication information from the second communication device, the method further comprises: starting a timer (para 0037],timer is started associated with synchronous transmission ); and starting detecting the asynchronous link when the timer runs out ((para 0037-(para 0038], when timer is expired detecting asynchronous transmission). 20080228237
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of KAWAMOTO by wherein after the receiving first indication information from the second communication device, the method further comprises: starting a timer; and starting detecting the asynchronous link when the timer runs out as suggested by Bange, this modification would benefit KAWAMOTO for enabling an efficient data transfer mechanism.
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 5.
As per claim 6, KAWAMOTO teaches the method according to claim 1, Bange teaches wherein after the receiving first indication information from the second communication device, the method further comprises: starting a timer (para 0051, starting a given time frame); and starting detecting the asynchronous link when second indication information is received from the second communication device during running of the timer (para 0051-0056], fig.6, detecting asynchronous link and stops synchronous transmission when second indication information is received from the second communication device during running of the timer).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 5.
As per claim 15, KAWAMOTO teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, Bange teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: start a timer after receiving the first indication information(para 0037],timer is started associated with synchronous transmission );; and start detecting the asynchronous link when the timer runs out(para 0037-(para 0038], when timer is expired detecting asynchronous transmission)..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 5.
As per claim 16, KAWAMOTO teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, Bange teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: start a timer after receiving the first indication information(para 0051, starting a given time frame);; and start detecting the asynchronous link when second indication information is received from the second communication device during running of the timer(para 0051-0056], fig.6, detecting asynchronous link and stops synchronous transmission when second indication information is received from the second communication device during running of the timer).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 5.
Claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMOTO, Bange further in view of Suvakovic.
As per claim 8, KAWAMOTO, Bange teaches the method according to claim 6, Suvakovic teaches wherein the second indication information is comprised in a physical layer header of a second synchronization link frame (((para 0079], second indication information is comprised in a physical layer header of a second synchronization link frame); and the method further comprises: parsing the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame ((((para 0079], parsing the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame); and obtaining the second indication information from the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame(para 0079], obtaining the second indication information from the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame);.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of KAWAMOTO by wherein the second indication information is comprised in a physical layer header of a second synchronization link frame; and the method further comprises: parsing the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame; and obtaining the second indication information from the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame as suggested by Suvakovic, this modification would benefit KAWAMOTO for reducing power consumption in a wireless communication network devices.
As per claim 9, KAWAMOTO, Bange teaches the method according to claim 6, Suvakovic teaches wherein the second indication information is comprised in a higher layer payload header of a second synchronization link frame(para 0079], higher layer payload header of a second synchronization link frame );; and the method further comprises: parsing the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame (para 0079], parsing the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame );.; and obtaining the second indication information from the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame(para 0079], obtaining the second indication information from the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame);.
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 8.
As per claim 18, KAWAMOTO, Bange teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the second indication information is comprised in a physical layer header of a second synchronization link frame ((para 0079], information is comprised in a physical layer header of a second synchronization link frame ); and the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: parse the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame ((para 0079], parse the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame); and obtain the second indication information from the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame(para 0079], obtaining the second indication information from the physical layer header of the second synchronization link frame);..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 8.
As per claim 19, KAWAMOTO, Bange teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the second indication information is comprised in a higher layer payload header of a second synchronization link frame(para 0079], higher layer payload header of a second synchronization link frame );;; and the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the communication apparatus to: parse the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame(para 0079], parsing the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame );.;; and obtain the second indication information from the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame(para 0079], obtaining the second indication information from the higher layer payload header of the second synchronization link frame);..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 8.
Response to Arguments
On page 9 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "greater detail below, Applicant submits that Kawamoto does not disclose: (1) "first indication information carried on a synchronization link, wherein the first indication information indicates that scheduling for a first communication device does not exist on an asynchronous link"; and also does not disclose (2) "stopping, based on the first indication information, detecting the asynchronous link." ". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Kawamoto in para [0051-0056], fig. 2-4, 6 Kawamoto teaches a system in which there is a transmitter and receiver, transmitter transmits wait for a feedback from the receiver, when there is no feedback from the receiver the transmitter transmits in asynchronosue way, when transmitter transmits and feedback is received from the receier transmitter transmitting in synchronouse, so the first indication information is the feedback from the reciver that causes the transmitter to transmit in synchronous way and shutting asynchronous way.
On page 9 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "Applicant submits that Kawamoto fails to "first indication information" that "indicates that scheduling for a first communication device does not exist on an asynchronous link." Rather, Applicant submits that Kawamoto actually teaches the opposite. More specifically, Kawamoto describes a transmission node detects the absence of an expected reception response signal (ACK). At paragraph 0051, Kawamoto states "[t]he frame arrival confirmation unit 13 senses that the frame arrival confirmation is not possible." This is not "indication information" sent by another device, and instead it is the failure to receive an expected ACK". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.Kawamoto in para [0051-0056], fig. 2-4, 6 Kawamoto teaches feedback from the receiver which is the first information which causes not transmits in asynchronous way and indicates that scheduling for a first communication device does not exist on an asynchronous link.
On page 10 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "Therefore, Kawamoto fails to describe "receiving first indication information from a second communication device, wherein the first indication information is carried on a synchronization link, wherein the first indication information indicates that scheduling for a first communication device does not exist on an asynchronous link associated with the synchronization link" (emphasis added), as recited in claim 1.". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Kawamoto in para [0051-0056], fig. 2-4, 6 Kawamoto teaches receiving first indication information from a second communication device such as feedback is received from the receier transmitter transmitting in synchronouse, so the first indication information is the feedback from the reciver that causes the transmitter to transmit in synchronous way and shutting asynchronous way.
On page 10 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "The claimed method requires a receiving device to "stop detecting the asynchronous link" in response to "based on the first indication information" (e.g., in response to affirmative indication information about the absence of scheduling. That is, Kawamoto teaches a transmitting device to change its transmission method after failing to receive an acknowledgment, which is a fundamentally different operation performed by different parties (receiver vs. transmitter) in response to different triggers (indication information vs. absence of ACK)..". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.Kawamoto in para [0051-0056], fig. 2-4, 6 Kawamoto teaches feedback from the receiver which is the first information which causes not transmits in asynchronous way and indicates that scheduling for a first communication device does not exist on an asynchronous link.
On page 10 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "Furthermore, claim 4 further requires that the stopping step include "stopping, based on the first indication information after a first time offset, detecting the asynchronous link." Applicant submits that Kawamoto fails to anticipate the invention as claimed in claim 4. The Office Action relies on the same paragraphs [0051] - [0056] and Figure 6 of Kawamoto. Kawamoto, however, is silent as to a first time offset measured from first indication information carried on a synchronization link to stopping detection of an asynchronous link. Kawamoto therefore does not anticipate the invention of claim 4.". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Kawamoto teaches 0051-0056], 2-4, 6 , based on the information received stopping, based on the first indication information after a first time offset, detecting the asynchronous link.
On page 12 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "Claim 7 further requires, after stopping detection of the asynchronous link, "receiving second indication information from the second communication device" and "starting, based on the second indication information, detecting the asynchronous link." Applicant submits that Kawamoto fails to anticipate the invention as claimed in claim 7. The Office Action cites Kawamoto at paragraph 0051. Paragraph 0051 of Kawamoto, however, describes no second indication information. That is, paragraph 0051 of Kawamoto only describes the frame arrival confirmation unit sensing that frame arrival confirmation is not possible because no ACK is received within a given time. This is not second indication information carried on the synchronization link that indicates starting reception of the asynchronous link, and Kawamoto therefore does not anticipate the invention of claim 7".Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.Kawamoto teaches 0051-0056], 2-4, 6 , when transmitter does not receive a second indication from the receiver that causes the transmitter to send in aysnchronouse way,receiving second indication information from the second communication device" and "starting, based on the second indication information, detecting the asynchronous link.
On page 13 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "Claim 10 further requires "starting, based on the second indication information after a second time offset, detecting the asynchronous link." Applicant submits that Kawamoto fails to anticipate the invention as claimed in claim 10. The Office Action cites paragraphs [0051] - [0056] and Figure 6 of Kawamoto. However, as discussed above, Kawamoto does not describe second indication information, and also does not describe a second time offset for starting detection of an asynchronous link based on such second indication information. That is, the first communication device may start receiving the asynchronous link based on the second indication information after a second time offset. Kawamoto, however, is silent as to these features, and therefore does not anticipate the invention of claim 10.". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.Kawamoto in para [0051-0056], fig. 2-4, 6 Kawamoto teaches a system in which there is a transmitter and receiver, transmitter transmits wait for a feedback from the receiver, when there is no feedback from the receiver the transmitter transmits in asynchronosue way, when transmitter transmits and feedback is received from the receier transmitter transmitting in synchronouse, so the first indication information is the feedback from the reciver that causes the transmitter to transmit in synchronous way and shutting asynchronous way.
On page 13 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamoto in view of Bange (US 2008/0228237). Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection. Bange is cited for teaching features related to timers and detecting asynchronous links when the timer runs out. See Office Action at pages 10-11. However, as explained above, Kawamoto fails to disclose the claimed first indication information indicating that scheduling does not exist on an asynchronous link. Bange does not remedy this deficiency. Bange describes timer-based transmission switching, but does not teach or suggest the specific indication information and asynchronous link detection stopping recited in claims 1 and 11. Accordingly, the combination of Kawamoto and Bange fails to render claims 5-6 and 15-16 obvious.". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.Kawamoto in para [0051-0056], fig. 2-4, 6 Kawamoto teaches a system in which there is a transmitter and receiver, transmitter transmits wait for a feedback from the receiver, when there is no feedback from the receiver the transmitter transmits in asynchronosue way, when transmitter transmits and feedback is received from the receier transmitter transmitting in synchronouse, so the first indication information is the feedback from the reciver that causes the transmitter to transmit in synchronous way and shutting asynchronous way.
On page 13 of applicant's argument, applicant argues that, "as per claim 8 and 9, As discussed above, neither Kawamoto, Suvakovic, nor Bange discloses the claimed first indication information indicating that scheduling does not exist on an asynchronous link, or the claimed stopping of asynchronous link detection based on such indication information. The addition of Suvakovic to the combination of Kawamoto and Bange does not remedy this deficiency. Suvakovic teaches header parsing but does not teach or suggest the specific". Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.Kawamoto in para [0051-0056], fig. 2-4, 6 Kawamoto teaches a system in which there is a transmitter and receiver, transmitter transmits wait for a feedback from the receiver, when there is no feedback from the receiver the transmitter transmits in asynchronosue way, when transmitter transmits and feedback is received from the receier transmitter transmitting in synchronouse, so the first indication information is the feedback from the reciver that causes the transmitter to transmit in synchronous way and shutting asynchronous way.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20190007496 A1; US Patent Publication US 20210377554 A1, US Patent Publication US 20200177898 A1
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467