DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 2/19/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaffer et al, (Shaffer), (USNO.2021/0408811).
As for claim 1, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a connector configured to electrically connect a battery to a charger, the connector comprising: a body (combination of the marine charger and coupled units); first and second electrical terminals (via ref’s ring terminal) supported by the body; a first electrical conductor electrically connected to the first electrical terminal; a second electrical conductor electrically connected to the second electrical terminal; and a fuse electrically connected in series with the first electrical conductor, between the first electrical terminal and the first electrical conductor or between two segments of the first electrical conductor; wherein the fuse is located at least partially within the body (par.[0016-0019]).
As for claim 2, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the fuse is fully located within the body.
As for claim 3, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the body is molded over the fuse and over ends of the first and second electrical conductors.
As for claim 4, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a first portion of the fuse is located within the body and a second portion (via ref’s respective fuse) of the fuse is located external to the body.
As for claim 5, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the second portion of the fuse is located within a housing.
As for claim 6, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the housing includes a first housing portion, at least part of the first housing portion being configured for insertion into a cavity in the body.
As for claim 7, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 in the housing includes a second housing portion that is configured to connect the first housing portion to the body.
As for claim 8, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the body is molded over at least one of an end of the first electrical conductor and an end of the second electrical conductor.
As for claim 9, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a charger cable comprising: the connector of claim 1; a cable jacket extending from the body and surrounding the first and second electrical conductors (par.[0016-0019]).
As for claim 10, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a system comprising: a battery; a charger; and the charger cable of claim 9 electrically connecting the battery to the charger (par.[0016-0019]).
As for claim 11, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the battery has a battery port; and the first and second electrical terminals are configured to be electrically connected to the battery port.
As for claim 12, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a charger for a battery, the charger comprising: a charger housing; a charging circuit (within the marine charger) within the charger housing; a charger cable mechanically connected to the charger housing and electrically connected to the charging circuit; and a connector on a free end of the charger cable, the connector comprising: a body (combination of the marine charger and coupled units); an electrical terminal supported by the body; and a fuse electrically connected between the charging circuit and the electrical terminal; wherein the fuse is located at least partially within the body of the connector (par.[0016-0019]).
As for claim 13, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the fuse is fully located within the body of the connector.
As for claim 14, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the connector further comprises an electrical conductor having an end;
wherein the fuse is located between the end of the electrical conductor and the electrical terminal; and
wherein the body is molded over the fuse and over the end of the electrical conductor.
As for claim 15, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the electrical terminal is a first electrical terminal, the electrical conductor is a first electrical conductor, and the connector further comprises: a second electrical terminal; and a second electrical conductor having an end connected to the second electrical terminal; wherein the body is molded over the end of the second electrical conductor.
As for claim 16, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a first portion of the fuse is located within the body and a second portion of the fuse is located external to the body.
As for claim 17, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the second portion of the fuse is located within a housing.
As for claim 18, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the housing includes a first housing portion, at least part of the first housing portion being configured for insertion into a cavity in the body.
As for claim 19, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the housing includes a second housing portion that is configured to connect the first housing portion to the body.
As for claim 20, Shaffer discloses and shows in Fig. 1 system comprising: a battery having a battery port; and the charger of claim 12; wherein the connector on the free end of the charger cable is configured to be connected to the battery port (par.[0016-0019])
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859