DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 09/10/25.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection of claims 1, 6 and 11 (see applicant’s arguments; pages 13-15) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, the examiner has introduced Wei to disclose the amended limitations of “randomly generating a sortition lot and proposing a particular block to be added to the distributed ledger in which the security data is to be written” and “conducting a lottery amongst the remaining others of the IoT devices of the voting set according to each randomly generated sortition lot”, as shown in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trim et al. (U.S. 2020/0302562 A1) in view of Wei et al. (U.S. 2025/0200172 A1), and further in view of Soundararajan et al. (U.S. 2021/0126796 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 11, Trim discloses a trust decisioning method amongst a collection of Internet of Things (IoT) devices in an IoT ecosystem (see Trim; paragraphs 0029, 0055 and 0071; Trim discloses a plurality of IoT devices in a IoT system using a blockchain ledger), the method comprising:
establishing a common distributed ledger for the collection of IoT devices in the IoT ecosystem (see Trim; paragraphs 0025, 0029 and 0055; Trim discloses a blockchain ledger can be a distributed ledger, i.e. “common distributed ledger”, that can be distributed among members of devices, such as, a plurality of IoT sensor devices, i.e. “collection of IoT devices in the IoT ecosystem”);
selecting a voting set of remaining others of the IoT devices, the voting set mediating a selection of one of the IoT devices in the voting set of the remaining others of the IoT devices to specify a creation of a block in the common distributed ledger to which the security data is to be written by each one of the IoT devices in the collection, the mediation comprising, in each IoT device of the voting set (see Trim; paragraphs 0023, 0026, 0027, 0029, 0052-0056 and 0075; Trim discloses a distributed ledger can be distributed to be associated with each of a plurality of members, e.g. IoT enterprise members, of devices , i.e. “IoT devices”, in a blockchain network. An authority can mediate, i.e. “mediating a selection of… “, rights of different classifications of members with respect to the blockchain ledger, such as, granting transaction authoring. A consensus of members is used for voting in which certain members are permissioned as validators, i.e. “selecting a voting set of remaining others of the IoT devices”, based on a ratings decision process to validate a candidate block to be added by a authoring member, i.e. “one of the IoT devices…to specify a creation of a block…”, to the distributed ledger, i.e. “…in the common distributed ledger”, to store transaction data);
a winning one of the IoT devices of the lottery communicating to the remaining ones of the IoT devices in the collection a correspondingly proposed particular block in which to store the security data (see Trim; paragraphs 0025, 0052, 0053, 0055, 0079, 0122 and 0136; Trim discloses in the IoT sensor system, the member with the highest reputation, based on the accumulated rating process, i.e. “winning one of the IoT device of the lottery”, may author the candidate block by adding the candidate block, i.e. “proposed particular block”, to the blockchain ledger which is distributed to all members, i.e. “communicating to the remaining ones of the IoT devices in the collection a correspondingly proposed particular block”);
storing the security data by each the IoT devices in the collection in the corresponding local copy of the common distributed ledger in the particular block proposed by the winning one of the IoT device (see Trim; paragraphs 0024, 0025, 0079, 0094 and 0139; Trim discloses cryptographic transaction data, i.e. “security data”. The member with the highest reputation, i.e. “winning one of the IoT device”, authors the candidate block by sending the transaction data and the received transaction data is processed in the candidate block, i.e. “in the particular block proposed by the winning one of the IoT device”, of the distributed blockchain ledger by each member in the IoT system, i.e. “storing the security data by each the IoT devices…in the corresponding local copy of the common distributed ledger”).
While Trim discloses “conducting a lottery amongst the remaining others of the IoT devices of the voting set” (see Trim; paragraphs 0075, 0078, 0079 and 0122; Trim discloses from a pool of ratings, i.e. “conducting a lottery” by pooling the ratings together, determining which member, i.e. the “amongst the remaining others of the IoT devices”, has the highest reputation by accumulating the reputations, based on a rating process, i.e. “…devices of the voting set”), Trim does not explicitly disclose randomly generating a sortition lot and proposing a particular block to be added to the distributed ledger in which the security data is to be written; and conducting a lottery amongst the remaining others of the IoT devices of the voting set according to each randomly generated sortition lot.
In analogous art, Wei discloses randomly generating a sortition lot and proposing a particular block to be added to the distributed ledger in which the security data is to be written (see Wei; paragraphs 0031, 0032 and 0036; Wei discloses in a committee selection a cryptographic sortition scheme is used to randomly choose a subset of validators, i.e. “randomly generating a sortition lot”. And a validator proposes new blocks to be added to a blockchain of a distributed ledger to achieve security guarantees, i.e. “proposing a particular block to be added to the distributed ledger in which the security data is to be written”); and
conducting a lottery amongst the remaining others of the IoT devices of the voting set according to each randomly generated sortition lot (see Wei; paragraphs 0027, 0031, and 0037; Wei discloses a voting based mechanism among the random formation of committee members for IoT systems, i.e. “the remaining others of the IoT devices of the voting set”. The sortition scheme i.e. “randomly generated sortition lot”, to randomly choose, i.e. “conducting a lottery” a subset of validators from the committee members).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Trim and Wei because they both disclose features of blockchains being used by IoT devices, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated Wei’s feature a sortition scheme into the system of Trim in order to provide the benefit of improved verification by allowing the consensus vote for a candidate block (Trim; paragraph 0075) to be done from a randomly selected subset of validators using proof-of-credit voting for the consensus protocol (see Wei; paragraphs 0031 and 0037).
While Trim discloses “establishing a common distributed ledger for the collection of IoT devices in the IoT ecosystem”, as discussed above, the combination of Trim and Wei does not explicitly disclose invoking in only one of the IoT devices of the collection of IoT devices, a directive to write security data to a corresponding local copy of the common distributed ledger for all of the IoT devices of the collection.
In analogous art, Soundararajan discloses invoking in only one of the IoT devices of the collection of IoT devices, a directive to write security data to a corresponding local copy of the common distributed ledger for all of the IoT devices of the collection (see Soundararajan; paragraphs 0018, 0019, 0024, 0025, 0027 and 0029; Soundararajan discloses a blockchain system may include any number of blockchain IoT devices, i.e. “collection of IoT devices in an IoT system”, that are participating nodes in the system in which a blockchain IoT device, i.e. “only one of the IoT devices”, generates and sends event data in response to an event. The event data may be a transaction, i.e. “security data”, that the blockchain IoT device, e.g. participating node, writes on a distributed ledger and each participating node includes a copy of a distributed ledger, i.e. “write security data to a corresponding local copy of a common distributed ledger”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Trim, Wei and Soundararajan because they all disclose features of blockchains being used by IoT devices, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated Soundararajan’s feature of generating event data for copies of a distributed ledger into the combined system of Trim and Wei in order to provide the benefit of improved verification by allowing the consensus vote for a candidate block (Trim; paragraph 0075) to include a consent from a majority of participating nodes for approval (see Soundararajan; paragraphs 0041 and 0058).
Further, Trim discloses the additional limitations of claim 6, host computing platform comprising a computer with memory and one or processing units including one or more processing cores (see Trim; paragraph 0007; Trim discloses the system can include program instructions executable by the one or more processor via the memory to perform); network communications circuitry adapted to communicate data to and from the memory over a global data communications network (see Trim; paragraph 0007; Trim discloses the system can include program instructions executable by the one or more processor via the memory to perform); and a trust decisioning module comprising computer program instructions stored in the memory enabled while executing by at least one of the processing units of the host computing platform (see Trim; paragraph 0006; Trim discloses a computer readable storage medium readable by one or more processing circuit and storing instructions for execution by one or more processor for performing).
Further, Trim discloses the additional limitations of claim 11, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having program instructions stored therein, the instructions being executable by at least one processing core of a processing unit to cause the processing unit to perform (see Trim; paragraph 0006; Trim discloses a computer readable storage medium readable by one or more processing circuit and storing instructions for execution by one or more processor for performing).
Regarding claims 2, 7, and 12, Trim, Wei and Soundararajan disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11, as discussed above, and further the combination of Trim, Wei and Soundararajan discloses wherein the IoT devices of the voting set are selected from amongst the IoT devices of the collection according to each of the selected ones of the IoT devices having a threshold reputation value (see Trim; paragraphs 0054, 0079 and 0080; Trim discloses reputation of a members exceeding a threshold and classification of the members as validators, i.e. “selected from amongst the IoT device”, based on the reputation, i.e. “according to each of the selected ones of the IoT devices having a threshold reputation value”).
Regarding claims 3, 8 and 13, Trim, Wei and Soundararajan disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11, as discussed above, and further the combination of Trim, Wei and Soundararajan discloses wherein the distributed ledger is a blockchain (see Trim; paragraphs 0023 and 0025; Trim discloses the blockchain ledger can be a distributed ledger that can be distributed to each of a plurality of members of the blockchain network).
Regarding claims 4, 9 and 14, Trim, Wei and Soundararajan disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11, as discussed above, and further the combination of Trim, Wei and Soundararajan clearly discloses wherein the randomly generated sortition lot is randomly generated utilizing a distributed verifiable randomization function (VRF) (see Wei; paragraph 0031; Wei discloses a Verifiable Random Function (VRF) based cryptographic sortition scheme, i.e. “randomly generated sortition lot”, to randomly choose a subset of validators).
Regarding claims 5, 10 and 15, Trim, Wei and Soundararajan disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 11, as discussed above, and further the combination of Trim, Wei and Soundararajan discloses wherein the winning IoT device has a randomly generated sortition lot with a highest value amongst other randomly generated sortition lots of the IoT devices of the voting set (see Trim; paragraphs 0075, 0078, 0079, 0122 and 0136; Trim discloses in a pool of ratings determining which member, i.e. “winning IoT device”, has the highest reputation, i.e. “a highest value”, by accumulating the reputations, based on the rating process among all the validator members, i.e. “amongst other IoT devices of the voting set”; Further, Wei discloses the use of “randomly generated sortition lots” by a sortition scheme randomly choosing a subset of validators for proposing a block to be added to the blockchain of the distributed ledger; see Wei; paragraphs 0031, 0032 and 0036).
The prior art used in the rejection of the current claim is combined using the same motivation as was applied in claims 1, 6 and 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ahuja et al. (U.S. 2024/0323030 A1) discloses a cryptographic sortition and a consensus protocol that makes sure that every new block that is added to the blockchain is the one and only version of the truth that is agreed upon by all the nodes.
Deng et al. (U.S. 2020/0233858 A1) discloses sortition scheme for a distributed ledger.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2458 12/03/25
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458