DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0225266).
-Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses a method implemented in a User Equipment (UE) for service recovery in a wireless communication network (abstract, FIG. 6), the method comprising: establishing a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) via a first cell corresponding to a network (PLMN and a radio resource control (RRC) connection, paragraph 29); transmitting, to the network, one of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) establishment request or a registration request for a service from the first cell using the first RRC connection (registration procedure and service request procedure, paragraph 28); receiving, from the network in response to the one of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) establishment request or a registration request, one of a PDU establishment failure message or a registration reject message based on at least location information of the UE (NAS message indicates that the UE is not permitted to access the first PLMN over a satellite communication along with at least one of a geographical indication or a timer indication, paragraph 28); performing a local release of the first RRC connection with the first cell based on one of the PDU establishment failure message or the registration reject message (sending, by the first network, at least one of a detach request, a deregistration request, or a radio resource control (RRC) connection release to the UE through at least one of a NAS signaling and access stratum (AS) signaling based on the detection, paragraph 29); and establishing a second RRC connection with one of the first PLMN via a second cell of one of another network or a second PLMN via the first cell corresponding to the network (handover of the UE to a target core network of the first network or a second network in a new serving area, paragraph 30, FIG. 8A-C).
-Regarding claim 2, Kumar further discloses adding the PLMN to a restricted list of PLMNs, the restricted list of PLMNs corresponding to a "PLMN not allowed to operate at the present UE location" list maintained by the UE based on the PDU establishment failure message (FPLMN, paragraph 121).
-Regarding claim 3, Kumar further discloses the first cell corresponds to a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) satellite cell and the second cell corresponds to a Radio Access Technology (RAT)-based cell different from the first cell (paragraphs 20-21, FIG. 1, 5).
-Regarding claim 4, Kumar further discloses performing a local deregistration with the first cell based on the PDU establishment failure message (paragraph 17, 29, 54).
-Regarding claim 5, Kumar further discloses performing mobility registration using available registration context with first PLMN via a second cell of another network or a second PLMN via the first cell corresponding to the network (the UE (100) may now try on other available PLMN(s) as per UE's physical location, paragraph 111).
-Regarding claim 6, Kumar further discloses selecting the second PLMN from among one or more PLMNs identified as a result of a PLMN selection procedure (performing by the UE, a PLMN selection and registration procedure on a second PLMN based on the determination, paragraph 20).
-Regarding claim 7, Kumar further discloses initializing a timer after the performing the local deregistration with the first cell; performing local release of the first RRC connection in response to determining the first RRC connection has not been released by the network by expiry of the timer; and performing PLMN selection after the performing the local release of the first RRC connection (paragraph 86).
-Regarding claim 9, Kumar discloses a method implemented in a User Equipment (UE) for service recovery in a wireless communication network (abstract, FIG. 6), the method comprising: establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) via a first cell corresponding to a network (PLMN and a radio resource control (RRC) connection, paragraph 29); transmitting, to the network, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) establishment request for a service from the first cell using the RRC connection (registration procedure and service request procedure, paragraph 28); receiving, from the network in response to the PDU establishment request, a PDU establishment failure message based on at least location information of the UE (NAS message indicates that the UE is not permitted to access the first PLMN over a satellite communication along with at least one of a geographical indication or a timer indication, paragraph 28); performing one or more other pending uplink signaling services with the first cell (handover of the UE to a target core network of the first network or a second network in a new serving area, paragraph 30, FIG. 8A-C).
-Regarding claim 10, Kumar further discloses adding the PLMN to a new list in response to the PDU establishment failure message, the new list mapping with the service which is failed based at least on the location information of the UE (FPLMN, paragraph 121).
-Regarding claim 11, Kumar further discloses the first cell corresponds to a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) satellite cell (paragraphs 20-21, FIG. 1, 5).
-Regarding claim 12, Kumar discloses a system for service recovery at a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication network (abstract, FIG. 6), comprising: a processing circuitry (processor 110, FIG. 3A) configured to: establish a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) via a first cell corresponding to a network (PLMN and a radio resource control (RRC) connection, paragraph 29); transmit, to the network, one of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) establishment request or a registration request for a service from the first cell using the first RRC connection (registration procedure and service request procedure, paragraph 28); receive, from the network in response to the one of Protocol Data Unit (PDU) establishment request or a registration request, one of a PDU establishment failure message or a registration reject message based on at least location information of the UE (NAS message indicates that the UE is not permitted to access the first PLMN over a satellite communication along with at least one of a geographical indication or a timer indication, paragraph 28); perform a local release of the first RRC connection with the first cell based on one of the PDU establishment failure message or the registration reject message (sending, by the first network, at least one of a detach request, a deregistration request, or a radio resource control (RRC) connection release to the UE through at least one of a NAS signaling and access stratum (AS) signaling based on the detection, paragraph 29); and establish a second RRC connection with one of the first PLMN via a second cell of one of another network or a second PLMN via the first cell corresponding to the network (handover of the UE to a target core network of the first network or a second network in a new serving area, paragraph 30, FIG. 8A-C).
-Regarding claim 13, Kumar further discloses the processing circuity is further configured to: add the PLMN to a restricted list of PLMNs, the restricted list of PLMNs corresponding to a "PLMN not allowed to operate at the present UE location" list maintained by the UE based on the PDU establishment failure message (FPLMN, paragraph 121).
-Regarding claim 14, Kumar further discloses the first cell corresponds to a Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) satellite cell and the second cell corresponds to a Radio Access Technology (RAT)-based cell different from the first cell (paragraphs 20-21, FIG. 1, 5).
-Regarding claim 15, Kumar further discloses the processing circuity is further configured to: perform mobility registration using available registration context with first PLMN via a second cell of another network/a second PLMN via the first cell corresponding to the network (the UE (100) may now try on other available PLMN(s) as per UE's physical location, paragraph 111).
-Regarding claim 16, Kumar further discloses the processing circuity is further configured to: perform a local deregistration with the first cell based on the PDU establishment failure message (paragraph 86).
-Regarding claim 17, Kumar further discloses the processing circuity is further configured to: selecting the second PLMN from among one or more PLMNs identified as a result of a PLMN selection procedure (performing by the UE, a PLMN selection and registration procedure on a second PLMN based on the determination, paragraph 20).
-Regarding claim 18, Kumar further discloses the processing circuity is further configured to: initialize a timer after the performing the local deregistration with the first cell; perform local release of the first RRC connection in response to determining the first RRC connection has not been released by the network by expiry of the timer; and perform PLMN selection after the performing the local release of the first RRC connection (paragraph 86).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0225266) in view of Watfa (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0232363).
-Regarding claims 8 and 19, Kumar is silent to teaching that the timer is a T3540 timer. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Watfa.
In the same field of endeavor, Watfa teaches the timer is a T3540 timer (paragraph 97).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kumar with the teaching of Watfa based on design preference.
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664