DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 10, 16 recites “first high voltage interface”. The term "high" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "high" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 1 recites “providing, from the signal generator, a first selection signal to selection logic configured to select the first battery cell for a first measurement operation;”. However it is not clear what this limitation means and is therefore indefinite. Claim 1 recites “providing, from the signal generator, a first selection signal to selection logic configured to select the first battery cell for a first measurement operation; obtaining, at a processing device, a first voltage measurement from the first battery cell; and” It is not clear if a measurement is performed and therefore it is not clear what is obtained. Examiner notes that selecting does not mean measuring. Claim 1 recites “providing, from the signal generator, a first selection signal to selection logic configured to select the first battery cell for a first measurement operation; obtaining, at a processing device, a first voltage measurement from the first battery cell; and deselecting the first battery cell by decoupling the processing device from the first high voltage interface.” This limitation uses the term select and deselect, which are opposite. When further defining deselecting it is not clear if selecting is also intended to be defined by further limiting deselecting and is therefore indefinite. Claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 2015/0316619 A1) in view of Gangsto (US 2006/0170398 A1).
With respect to Claim 1 Jeon teaches A method comprising: providing, from a signal generator, a first enable signal from a depowered state to a powered state (See Para[0023]); providing, from the signal generator, a first selection signal to selection logic configured to select the first battery cell for a first measurement operation (See Para[0014][[0015]); obtaining, at a processing device, a first voltage measurement from the first battery cell (See Para[0057]) and deselecting the first battery cell by decoupling the processing device from the first high voltage interface (See Fig 1 and Para[0063]). However Jeon is silent to the language of to a first high voltage interface coupled to a first battery cell, the first enable signal transitioning a first component of the first high voltage interface Nevertheless Gangsto teaches to a first high voltage interface coupled to a first battery cell, the first enable signal transitioning a first component of the first high voltage interface (See Abstract) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon and have a high voltage interface such as that of Gangsto. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon, because such an interface would allow for proper communication between the various components. With respect to Claim 3 Jeon teaches The method of claim 1 further comprising: providing, from the signal generator, a second enable signal to a second high voltage interface coupled to a second battery cell, the second enable signal transitioning a second component of the second high voltage interface from a depowered state to a powered state. (See Para[0097]) With respect to Claim 4 Jeon teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the providing of the second enable signal occurs prior to cancellation of the first selection signal. (See Para[0097] Examiner noted that Jeon does not require cancellation and thus would occur prior to cancellation) With respect to Claim 5 Jeon teaches The method of claim 3 further comprising: providing a second selection signal to selection logic configured to select the second battery cell for a second measurement operation (See Para[0055]). With respect to Claim 6 Jeon teaches The method of claim 5 further comprising: obtaining, at the processing device, a second voltage measurement from the second battery cell. (See Para[0057]) With respect to Claim 9 Jeon teaches The method of claim 1, wherein an output of the first high voltage interface is provided to the processing device via an analog to digital converter (ADC), and wherein the ADC is controlled via a separate set of control signals than the first enable signal and the first selection signal. (See Para[0013]) With respect to Claim 10 Jeon teaches A system comprising: a processing device configured to perform a first measurement operation to obtain a first voltage measurement from the first battery cell; (See Para[0057]) first selection logic configured to couple the first high voltage interface to the processing device (See Para[0103]); and a signal generator configured to: provide a first enable signal to the first high voltage interface, the first enable signal transitioning a first component of the first high voltage interface from a depowered state to a powered state; and (See Para[0014][[0015]); provide a first selection signal to the first selection logic to select the first battery cell for the first measurement operation. (See Para[0014][[0015]). However Jeon is silent to the language of a first high voltage interface configured to be coupled to a first battery cell; Nevertheless Gangsto teaches a first high voltage interface configured to be coupled to a first battery cell; (See Abstract) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon and have a high voltage interface such as that of Gangsto. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon, because such an interface would allow for proper communication between the various components. With respect to Claim 12 Jeon teaches The system of claim 10, wherein the signal generator is further configured to: provide a second enable signal to a second high voltage interface coupled to a second battery cell, the second enable signal transitioning a second component of the second high voltage interface from a depowered state to a powered state, and wherein the providing of the second enable signal occurs prior to cancellation of the first selection signal. (See Para[0097]) With respect to Claim 13 Jeon teaches The system of claim 12, wherein the signal generator is further configured to: provide a second selection signal to selection logic configured to select the second battery cell for a second measurement operation. (See Para[0097]) With respect to Claim 15 Jeon teaches The system of claim 10, wherein an output of the first high voltage interface is provided to the processing device via an analog to digital converter (ADC), and wherein the ADC is controlled via a separate set of control signals than the first enable signal and the first selection signal. (See Para[0013]) With respect to Claim 16 Jeon teaches A device comprising: first selection logic configured to couple the first high voltage interface to a processing device configured to perform a first measurement operation to obtain a first voltage measurement from the first battery cell; (See Para[0057])and a signal generator configured to: provide a first enable signal to the first high voltage interface, the first enable signal transitioning a first component of the first high voltage interface from a depowered state to a powered state; and(See Para[0023] Para[0014], [0015]) provide a first selection signal to the first selection logic to select the first battery cell for the first measurement operation (See Para[0014][[0015]). However Jeon is silent to the language of a first high voltage interface configured to be coupled to a first battery cell; Nevertheless Gangsto teaches a first high voltage interface configured to be coupled to a first battery cell; (See Abstract) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon and have a high voltage interface such as that of Gangsto. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon, because such an interface would allow for proper communication between the various components. With respect to Claim 18 Jeon teaches The device of claim 16, wherein the signal generator is further configured to: provide a second enable signal to a second high voltage interface coupled to a second battery cell, the second enable signal transitioning a second component of the second high voltage interface from a depowered state to a powered state, and wherein the providing of the second enable signal occurs prior to cancellation of the first selection signal. (See Para[0097])
With respect to Claim 19 Jeon teaches The device of claim 18, wherein the signal generator is further configured to: provide a second selection signal to second selection logic configured to select the second battery cell for a second measurement operation. (See Para[0097]) With respect to Claim 20 Jeon teaches The device of claim 16, wherein an output of the first high voltage interface is provided to the processing device via an analog to digital converter (ADC), and wherein the ADC is controlled via a separate set of control signals than the first enable signal and the first selection signal. (See Para[0013])
Claim(s) 2, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 2015/0316619 A1) in view of Gangsto (US 2006/0170398 A1) and further in view of Gangstoe (US 2007/0210755 A1).
With respect to Claim 2 Jeon is silent to the language of The method of claim 1, wherein the first component comprises a charge pump. Nevertheless Gangstoe teaches wherein the first component comprises a charge pump. (See Para[0044]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon and comprise a charge pump such as that of Gangstoe One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon because a charge pump would raise, lower, or invert a DC voltage from a single source. With respect to Claim 11 Jeon is silent to the language of The system of claim 10, wherein the first component comprises a charge pump. Nevertheless Gangstoe teaches wherein the first component comprises a charge pump. (See Para[0044]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon and comprise a charge pump such as that of Gangstoe One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon because a charge pump would raise, lower, or invert a DC voltage from a single source. With respect to Claim 17 Jeon is silent to the language of The device of claim 16, wherein the first component comprises a charge pump. Nevertheless Gangstoe teaches wherein the first component comprises a charge pump. (See Para[0044]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon and comprise a charge pump such as that of Gangstoe One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon because a charge pump would raise, lower, or invert a DC voltage from a single source.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (US 2015/0316619 A1) in view of Gangsto (US 2006/0170398 A1) and further in view of Yun (US 2022/0283232 A1). With respect to Claim 7 Jeon is silent to the language of The method of claim 1, wherein a duration of the first enable signal is determined by a user. Nevertheless Yun teaches wherein a duration of the first enable signal is determined by a user. (See Para[0044]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon wherein a duration of the first enable signal is determined by a user such as that of Yun. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon, to allow adjustability and improve robustness. With respect to Claim 8 Jeon is silent to the language of The method of claim 1, wherein a duration of the first enable signal is dynamically configurable based on one or more operational parameters. Nevertheless Yun teaches wherein a duration of the first enable signal is dynamically configurable based on one or more operational parameters (See Para[0044]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon w wherein a duration of the first enable signal is dynamically configurable based on one or more operational parameters such as that of Yun. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon, to allow adjustability and improve robustness. With respect to Claim 14 Jeon is silent to the language of The system of claim 10, wherein a duration of the first enable signal is determined by a user or is dynamically configurable based on one or more operational parameters. Nevertheless Yun teaches wherein a duration of the first enable signal is determined by a user or is dynamically configurable based on one or more operational parameters. (See Para[0044]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Jeon wherein a duration of the first enable signal is determined by a user such as that of Yun. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Jeon, to allow adjustability and improve robustness.
Conclusion
YOSHIHISA . ISHIZUKA
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857