DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I(B), II(A), and III(A) in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner did not copy and paste the advantages provided by each disclosed species—i.e., the reasons that the species are independent and distinct—from the cited specification portions into the Detailed Action requiring the election. This is not found persuasive because the specification citations clearly point to the reasons the species are independent and distinct and, therefore, that the election requirement is proper. The applicant further states that the examiner did not provide anything that would support any conclusion of undue burden for searching all species together. However, the applicant is applying the incorrect standard for whether an election requirement is proper: the standard is not “undue burden,” but rather “serious search and/or examination burden.” See, e.g., MPEP § 808.02. The examiner stated on page 6 of that Detailed Action the reason that a serious search and/or examination burden exists. Therefore, the election requirement is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 will undergo substantive examination in accordance with the applicant’s recommendation.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS/IDSs) submitted on 5/14/2025 & 3/21/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS/IDSs is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20230296652 to Hoffman et al.
Regarding claim 1, Hoffman teaches a current sensor system for use in measuring an electrical measurand that is dependent on current in a current carrying conductor, the current sensor system comprising:
a first measurement coil (left side of figure 25; ¶ [0248]);
a second measurement coil (right side of figure 25; ¶ [0249]), wherein the first measurement coil and the second measurement coil are configured for positioning relative to each other and the current carrying conductor so as to at least partially surround the current carrying conductor (¶¶ [0248]-[0249]);
a first electronic circuit comprising a first input coupled to the first measurement coil and a first output for coupling to a measurement circuit, the first electronic circuit being configured to generate a first actively processed signal based on a first sensor signal received from the first measurement coil and output the first actively processed signal from the first output (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2602); and
a second electronic circuit comprising a second input coupled to the second measurement coil and a first output for coupling to the measurement circuit, the first electronic circuit being configured to generate a second actively processed signal based on a second sensor signal received from the second measurement coil and output the second actively processed signal from the second output (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2604),
wherein the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal are for combining to measure the electrical measurand that is dependent on current in a current carrying conductor (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2606).
Regarding claim 2, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, wherein the first electronic circuit comprises a first amplifier configured to generate an amplified version of the first sensor signal (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2602), and
wherein the second electronic circuit comprises a second amplifier configured to generate an amplified version of the second sensor signal (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2604).
Regarding claim 6, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, wherein the first electronic circuit comprises a first voltage-to-current converter, wherein the first sensor signal is a voltage signal and the first voltage-to-current converter is configured to generate a first current signal that is dependent on the first sensor signal (¶ [0122]), and
wherein the second electronic circuit comprises a second voltage-to-current converter, wherein the second sensor signal is a voltage signal and the second voltage-to-current converter is configured to generate a second current signal that is dependent on the second sensor signal (¶ [0122]).
Regarding claim 7, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, further comprising:
a combining circuit for coupling the first output of the first electronic circuit to the measurement circuit and coupling the second output of the second electronic circuit to the measurement circuit (¶ [0254]; figure 26), wherein the combining circuit is configured to generate a combined signal for outputting to the measurement circuit by combining the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal (¶ [0254]; figure 26).
Regarding claim 9, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 7, wherein the combining circuit is an active circuit configured to actively combine the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal (¶ [0254]; figure 26).
Regarding claim 10, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 9, wherein the combining circuit comprises an amplifier comprising: inputs to receive the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal; and an output to output the first combined signal (¶ [0254]; figure 26).
Regarding claim 12, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, wherein the first measurement coil is formed on a first printed circuit board, PCB, and wherein the second measurement coil is formed on a second PCB (¶ [0251]).
Regarding claim 13, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 12, wherein the first electronic circuit is on the first PCB and the second electronic circuit is on the second PCB (¶ [0251]).
Regarding claim 14, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, further comprising: the measurement circuit coupled to the first electronic circuit and the second electronic circuit and configured to measure the electrical measurand that is dependent on current in the current carrying conductor based on a combination of the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal (¶ [0123]).
Regarding claim 15, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, wherein the electrical measurand that is dependent on current in the current carrying conductor comprises any one or more of: a rate of change of the current in the current carrying conductor (¶ [0129]); an amplitude of the current in the current carrying conductor; electrical energy associated with the current in the current carrying conductor; electrical power associated with the current in the current carrying conductor.
Regarding claim 16, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, wherein the first measurement coil is for subtending a first perimeter portion of the current carrying conductor (figure 9a); and the second measurement coil is for subtending a second perimeter portion of the current carrying conductor (figure 9b).
Regarding claim 17, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 16, wherein the first measurement coil and the second measurement coil are configured such that when they are in use, positioned relative to the current carrying conductor, they together subtend a combined perimeter portion of the current carrying conductor that is greater than each of the first perimeter portion and the second perimeter portion (¶ [0121]).
Regarding claim 18, Hoffman teaches a measurement system for measuring an electrical measurand that is dependent on current in a current carrying conductor, the measurement system comprising:
a combining circuit for coupling to a first measurement coil and a second measurement coil that are arranged to at least partially surround the current carrying conductor (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2606), wherein the combining circuit is configured to generate a combined signal by combining:
a first actively processed signal that is dependent on a first sensor signal output by the first measurement coil (left side of figure 25; ¶ [0248]); and
a second actively processed signal that is dependent on a second sensor signal output by the second measurement coil (right side of figure 25; ¶ [0249]); and
a measurement circuit coupled to the combining circuit, wherein the measurement circuit is configured to measure the electrical measurand based on the combined signal (¶¶ [0248]-[0249]).
Regarding claim 19, Hoffman teaches a utility meter for measuring electrical energy supplied by a current carrying conductor, the utility meter comprising:
a first measurement coil (left side of figure 25; ¶ [0248]);
a second measurement coil (right side of figure 25; ¶ [0249]), wherein the first measurement coil and the second measurement coil are configured for positioning relative to each other and the current carrying conductor so as to at least partially surround the current carrying conductor (¶¶ [0248]-[0249]);
a measurement circuit (the circuitry in figure 26, collectively);
a first electronic circuit comprising a first input coupled to the first measurement coil and a first output coupled to the measurement circuit, the first electronic circuit being configured to generate a first actively processed signal based on a first sensor signal received from the first measurement coil and output the first actively processed signal from the first output (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2602); and
a second electronic circuit comprising a second input coupled to the second measurement coil and a first output coupled to the measurement circuit, the first electronic circuit being configured to generate a second actively processed signal based on a second sensor signal received from the second measurement coil and output the second actively processed signal from the second output (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2604),
wherein the measurement circuit is configured measure the electrical energy based on a combination of the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal (¶ [0254]; differential amplifier 2606).
Regarding claim 20, Hoffman teaches the utility meter of claim 19, further comprising a combining circuit arranged to couple the first electronic circuit to the measurement circuit, and the second electronic circuit to the measurement circuit, wherein the combining circuit is configured to: generate a combined signal for outputting to the measurement circuit by combining the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal (¶ [0254]; figure 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20220082590 to Steuer et al.
Regarding claim 3, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 2, but does not teach explicitly wherein a gain of the first amplifier is the same as a gain of the second amplifier.
However, selecting an appropriate gain to provide the appropriate tradeoff point between, e.g., signal strength and noise suppression, is a results-effective variable typical in the art (see, e.g., Steuer ¶ [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the gain selection of Steuer with the system of Hoffman in order to select the most appropriate gain for the specific application in use.
Regarding claim 4, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 2, but does not teach explicitly wherein a gain of the first amplifier is different to a gain of the second amplifier.
However, selecting an appropriate gain to provide the appropriate tradeoff point between, e.g., signal strength and noise suppression, is a results-effective variable typical in the art (see, e.g., Steuer ¶ [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the gain selection of Steuer with the system of Hoffman in order to select the most appropriate gain for the specific application in use.
Regarding claim 5, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 1, but does not teach explicitly wherein the first electronic circuit comprises a first analog to digital converter, ADC, arranged to generate a first digital signal that is dependent the first sensor signal, and wherein the second electronic circuit comprises a second analog to digital converter, ADC, arranged to generate a second digital signal that is dependent the second sensor signal.
However, Steuer teaches wherein the first electronic circuit comprises a first analog to digital converter, ADC, arranged to generate a first digital signal that is dependent the first sensor signal, and wherein the second electronic circuit comprises a second analog to digital converter, ADC, arranged to generate a second digital signal that is dependent the second sensor signal (ADC 1302 is used to convert sensor data into digital signals for ease of processing; ¶ [0117]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the ADC of Steuer with the system of Hoffman in order to digitize the measurement signals, thereby allowing for more efficient processing of those signals.
Regarding claim 11, Hoffman teaches the current sensor system of claim 7, but does not teach explicitly wherein the combining circuit comprises a digital circuit for digitally combining the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal.
However, Steuer teaches wherein the combining circuit comprises a digital circuit for digitally combining the first actively processed signal and the second actively processed signal (ADC 1302 is used to convert sensor data into digital signals for ease of processing; ¶ [0117]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the ADC of Steuer with the system of Hoffman in order to digitize the signals, thereby allowing for more efficient processing of those signals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20230417800 to Bartlett et al. discloses a combined shunt and multi-segmented rogowski-coil current sensor.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20190079117 to Hurwitz et al. discloses a current measurement circuit.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20170356935 to Hurwitz et al. discloses a current sensor and a method of manufacturing a current sensor.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20050248430 to Dupraz et al. discloses a current transformer with Rogowski-type windings, comprising an association of partial circuits forming a complete circuit.
/ROBERT P ALEJNIKOV JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857