Detailed Action
IDS
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 20, 2025 and December 3, 2025 are being considered by the Examiner.
Drawing
The drawing filed on February 19, 2024 is accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on June 14, 2024 is accepted by the Examiner. The Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 20-21, and 23-41 by the amendment. Claims 1-19 and 22 are pending in the application.
Claim rejection – 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bloemer et al. (WO 2022/266451, hereon Bloemer).
In reference to claim 1: Bloemer discloses an indoor air quality monitoring system (see Bloemer, Fig. 4, unit 400) comprising:
a control circuit (see Bloemer, Fig. 4, air quality controller); a memory circuit (unit 406), wherein the memory circuit is in electronic communication with the control circuit (communication interface, 410 allows communication among sensors, memory and processor including user interface); and
a sensor channel interface (communication interface, 410), wherein the sensor channel interface is in electronic communication with the control circuit (air quality controller, 400 is inclusive of communication interface 410, and paragraph [0063]);
wherein the system is configured
to store a model set of data reflecting information on air quality determining features within a physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0063] and [0118]);
receive sensor data regarding air quality at discrete points within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0050]); and
evaluate the sensor data regarding air quality and perform operations to generate one or more outputs relating to air quality within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, page 78, claim 1 exclusively highlights the evaluation system or method as described)
With regard to claim 2: Bloemer further discloses that the operations to generate one or more outputs comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of
executing airflow modeling calculations using the model set of data reflecting the air quality determining features and estimating air quality values at discrete geolocation points within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0040]),
evaluating the sensor data regarding air quality to determine whether changes to the air quality determining features or the operating parameters thereof are needed in a present state or a future state to maintain one or more predetermined air quality standards (see Bloemer, paragraph [0179]), and
generating one or more recommendations regarding maintaining or enhancing air quality within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0065] and claim 5 for instance).
With regard to claim 3: Bloemer further discloses that the predetermined air quality standards include at least one selected from the group consisting of levels of particulates, levels of VOCs, levels of CO2, levels of CO, levels of NO2, and levels of SO2 (see Bloemer, paragraph [0067]).
With regard to claim 4: Bloemer further discloses that the air quality determining features comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of airborne contaminant removal devices, air flow generating devices or systems, airborne contaminant generating devices or zones, and air exchange features (see Bloemer, paragraph [0068]).
With regard to claim 5: Bloemer further discloses that the airborne contaminant removal devices comprising dust collectors (see Bloemer, paragraph [0044]).
With regard to claim 6: Bloemer further discloses that the airborne contaminant removal devices comprising VOC removal devices (see Bloemer, paragraph [0126]).
With regard to claim 7: Bloemer further discloses that the model set of data comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an air volume of the physical indoor environment and a physical configuration of the indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0068]).
With regard to claim 8: Bloemer further discloses that the sensor data regarding air quality comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of current levels of particulates, current levels of VOCs, current levels of CO2, current levels of CO, current levels of SO2, current levels of NO2, and current temperature (see Bloemer, paragraph [0067]).
With regard to claim 9: Bloemer further discloses that the system is configured to validate the model set (base line values) of data by evaluating the sensor data regarding air quality in comparison with expected measures of air quality (see Bloemer, paragraphs [0037] and [0065]).
With regard to claim 10: Bloemer further discloses that the system is configured to validate the model set of data by evaluating the sensor data regarding air quality in comparison with expected measures of air quality at discrete points within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0065]).
With regard to claim 11: Bloemer further discloses that the system is configured to update the model set of data by evaluating the sensor data regarding air quality in comparison with expected measures of air quality at discrete points within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0065]).
With regard to claim 12: Bloemer further discloses that the system executes airflow modeling calculations (see Bloemer, paragraph [0060]) using the model set of data reflecting the air quality determining features and estimates air quality values at discrete geolocation points within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0071]); wherein the system compares the estimated air quality values at discrete geolocation points against sensor data related to the same discrete geolocation points; and wherein the system adjusts further estimates based on the compared values (see Bloemer, paragraph 0092]).
With regard to claim 13: Bloemer further discloses that the control circuit generates a user interface output (see Bloemer, claim 9, specifically using user interface for the output).
With regard to claim 14: Bloemer further discloses that the user interface output (see Bloemer, claim 9, user interface) comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of graphical objects representing the air quality determining features, values representing air quality measures, and a graphical representation of the physical indoor environment (it includes AIR Quality Index).
With regard to claim 15: Bloemer further discloses that the system is configured to track estimated air quality at discrete geolocations within the physical indoor environment over time (see Bloemer, paragraph [0179]).
With regard to claim 16: Bloemer further discloses that the system is configured to calculate estimated exposure values to airborne contaminants (such as particulate) associated with a presence at discrete geolocations or zones within the physical indoor environment longitudinally over time (see Bloemer, paragraph [0060]) .
With regard to claim 17: Bloemer further discloses that the operations to generate one or more outputs comprising identifying one or more discrete geolocations or zones within the physical indoor environment wherein air quality has worsened unexpectedly (changes in condition indoor air quality) (see Bloemer, paragraph [0067]).
With regard to claim 18: Bloemer further discloses that the operations to generate one or more outputs comprising:
identifying one or more discrete geolocations or zones within the physical indoor environment wherein air quality has decreased by an amount exceeding a threshold value over a period of time (see Bloemer, paragraph [0067], operation 502); and
issuing a notification regarding the identified one or more discrete geolocations or zones (see Bloemer, paragraph [0076]).
With regard to claim 19: Bloemer further discloses that the operations to generate one or more outputs comprising identifying a likely source of air contamination (i.e., such as carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide level and so on) based on information regarding one or more discrete geolocations or zones within the physical indoor environment wherein air quality has worsened unexpectedly, the sensor data regarding air quality, and the stored set of model data (see Bloemer, paragraphs [0067]-[0068]).
In reference to claim 22: Bloemer discloses a method of monitoring indoor air quality (see Bloemer, Fig. 4, unit 400) comprising:
storing a model set of data reflecting information on air quality determining features within a physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraphs [0063] and [0118]);
receiving sensor data regarding air quality at discrete points within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, paragraph [0050]); and
evaluating the sensor data regarding air quality and performing operations to generate one or more outputs relating to air quality within the physical indoor environment (see Bloemer, page 78, claim 1 exclusively highlights the evaluation system or method as described).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Risbeck et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,584,648) discloses system for executing an IAQ analysis of a building. The system includes a controller including memory and one or more processors configured to obtain IAQ data from one or more sensors within the building, wherein the IAQ data is associated with at least one of a plurality of environment species, obtain BAS data, identify one or more unknown parameters from the IAQ data and BAS data of two or more of the plurality of environment species, estimate the one or more unknown parameters based on inputting the IAQ data and the BAS data into an optimization model.
Sinha et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,571,558) discloses an environmental control system for a building, the system including a vent. The vent includes one or more louvers configured to change position between an open position and a closed position to permit air from the air duct to enter a zone of the building or stop the air from entering the zone and a vent circuit configured to operate the one or more louvers based on one or more control commands. The system includes a controller device including a processing circuit configured to receive a selection of an operating profile from a plurality of predefined operating profiles for the vent, each of the plurality of predefined operating profiles indicating an intended use of the zone, determine, based on the operating profile, the one or more control commands, and cause the vent circuit to operate the one or more louvers based on the one or more control commands.
Lutz et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,466,880) discloses an environmental control system includes a transmitting device for signaling to a receiver to activate an environmental control unit (ECU). The transmitting device includes a connector for removably installing and connecting to electrical power in the vehicle and a transmitter for transmitting a signal to a remote receiver. The ECU comprises of an exterior control panel and microprocessor-based controller for operating environmental devices within a facility or other defined space.
/ELIAS DESTA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857