DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/21/2026.
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-11, 16-20, in the reply is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: REPLACE “two or more engagement member” WITH -- two or more engagement members --Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the conduit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The scope is unclear. Examiner interprets that this claim is meant to depend on claim 5.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the clamping nut" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The scope is unclear.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the passageway wall" in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The scope is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-11, 16-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Yang (PGPub 2012/0172185).
Re Claim 1, Yang discloses a rapid change automatic tool change (ATC) magazine comprising: a base 3 having an exterior side and an interior side opposite the exterior side, and one or more passageways 313 extending between the exterior side and the interior side, each of the one or more passageways defined by an interior opening and an exterior opening (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 14-16);a spring 43 disposed within each of the one or more passageways of the base, the spring having a distal end facing the exterior opening of each of the one or more passageways, and a proximal end facing the interior opening of each of the one or more passageways (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 17);a socket 61 disposed within each of the one or more passageways, the socket having a body, an exterior surface, and an interior surface opposite the exterior surface with two or more engagement members disposed on the interior surface, wherein the exterior surface circumscribes the interior surface (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 19); anda retaining cap 5 having an upper side and a lower side opposite the upper side, wherein the retaining cap is fixed to the interior side of the base, and wherein the retaining cap includes one or more channels extending through the upper side and the lower side, each of the one or more channels being defined by an upper opening and a lower opening, wherein each of the one or more channels aligns with one of the one or more passageways (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 18).
Re Claim 2, Yang discloses each one or more passageways of the base includes a socket shelf and a spring shelf 42 (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 17).
Re Claim 3, Yang discloses a passageway wall between the interior side of the base and the socket shelf is shaped to correspond to the shape of the exterior surface of the socket (Fig. 1, 3, 5).
Re Claim 8, Yang discloses the shape of the interior surface of the socket is generally rounded (Fig. 1, 3, 5).
Re Claim 10, Yang discloses each channel within the retaining cap is generally rounded (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 11, Yang discloses the shape of the interior surface of the socket is non-hexagonal (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 16, Yang discloses a rapid change automatic tool change (ATC) magazine comprising: a base 3 having an exterior side and an interior side opposite the exterior side, and one or more passageways 313 extending between the exterior side and the interior side, each of the one or more passageways defined by an interior opening and an exterior opening (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 14-16);a spring 43 disposed within each of the one or more passageways of the base (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 17);a socket 61 disposed within each of the one or more passageways, the socket having a body, an exterior surface, and an interior surface opposite the exterior surface (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 19); anda retaining cap 5 having an upper side and a lower side opposite the upper side wherein the retaining cap includes one or more channels extending through the upper side and the lower side, each of the one or more channels being defined by an upper opening and a lower opening, wherein each of the one or more channels aligns with one of the one or more passageways (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 18).
Re Claim 17, Yang discloses the spring has a distal end facing the exterior opening of each of the one or more passageways and a proximal end facing the interior opening of each of the one or more passageways, wherein the exterior surface of the socket circumscribes the interior surface, wherein two or more engagement members (fasteners; Fig. 3) are disposed on the interior surface, and wherein the retaining cap is fixed to the interior side of the base (Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. 18).
Re Claim 20, Yang discloses the shape of the interior surface of the socket is non-hexagonal (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Re Claim 4, Yang does not disclose a height of the passageway wall between the interior side of the base and the socket shelf is greater than a depth of the socket. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the depths of desired size in order to optimize connection of the components and since one of ordinary skill in the art could easily make depths different to accommodate proper connection of the components and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re Claim 9, Yang does not disclose the shape of the exterior surface of the socket is non-rounded. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the shape of the exterior surface of the socket is non-rounded in order to coordinate with the shape of the passageway and since one of ordinary skill in the art could easily make the exterior surface of the socket non-rounded to accommodate proper connection of the components and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the exterior surface of the socket of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Re Claim 18, Yang does not disclose the two or more engagement members are spherically shaped. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the two or more engagement members spherically shaped such as using a spherical bearing instead of fasteners since these are well known in the art and would not be a novel replacement for the fasteners and also since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a fastener of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Re Claim 19, Yang does not disclose a height of the passageway wall between the interior side of the base and a socket shelf is greater than a depth of the socket. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the depths of desired size in order to optimize connection of the components and since one of ordinary skill in the art could easily make depths different to accommodate proper connection of the components and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 6-7 are objected based on interpretation that claim 6 is meant to depend on claim 5.
Conclusion
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799