DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR WITH A MOVEABLE VISUAL INDICATOR TO VERIFY PROPER ELECTRICAL CONTACT--.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2 line 2, the phrase “and inner diameter” should read --and the inner diameter--. In claim 2 line 3, the phrase “is to slide” should read --is configured to slide--. In claim 4 line 1, the phrase “wherein lead” should read --wherein the lead--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sommer et al. (2003/0143895).
With regard to claim 1, Sommer teaches, as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraph 97: “A connector apparatus 1510 and 5100 of a medical device (taught in the Abstract) to provide electrical contact to at least one conductive lead 1510, the apparatus comprising: at least one lead receptacle 5150 including an opening (where 1510 is received in 5100 in figure 20) to receive the at least one conductive lead 1510, wherein the at least one lead receptacle 5150 includes: at least a first electrode 5114 to contact the at least one conductive lead 1510 when the conductive lead 1510 is inserted into the lead receptacle 5150; and a moveable visual indicator 1526 to be moved to become visible through the connector apparatus when the at least one conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the lead receptacle 5150 and contacts the at least one electrode 5114”.
With regard to claim 3, Sommer teaches: “The apparatus of claim 1”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches, as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraph 97: “wherein the visual indicator 1526 is to move from a non-visible position in the lead receptacle to a visible position (when 1526 is protruding from 5100, as described in paragraph 97) in the lead receptacle 5150 when the at least one conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the lead receptacle 5150 to an end of the lead receptacle 5150”.
With regard to claim 4, Sommer teaches: “The apparatus of claim 1”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97: “wherein lead receptacle 5150 includes a cylindrical opening (where 1510 is inserted into 5150 in figure 18) that includes a non-conductive material (paragraph 86 teaches the lead receptacle formed of plastic), and the visual indicator 1526 includes a cylindrical shape and includes silicone (paragraph 76 teaches the indicator made from material including silicone)”.
With regard to claim 5, Sommer teaches: “The apparatus of claim 1”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97: “wherein the visual indicator 1526 includes a color (color of 1526 in figure 20) visible through an end of the lead receptacle 5150 when the at least one conductive lead 1510 contacts the at least one electrode 5114”.
With regard to claim 7, Sommer teaches: “The apparatus of claim 1”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97: “wherein the connector apparatus includes a header connector 5100 for the medical device, and the header connector 5100 includes a mold layer 5106 covering the lead receptacle 5150 and the visual indicator 1526 is moveable to be visible through the mold layer 5106 when the at least one conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the lead receptacle 5150 and contacts the at least one electrode 5114”.
With regard to claim 8, Sommer teaches: “The apparatus of claim 1”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97: “wherein the at least one lead receptacle 5150 includes a ridge (where 5150 covers 1526 before 1526 is exposed as shown in figure 20) to hold the moveable visual indicator 1526 in a non-visible position in the lead receptacle 5150 until the at least one conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the lead receptacle 5150”.
With regard to claim 9, Sommer teaches, as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraph 97: “A method of making a connector assembly 1510 and 5100 for a medical device (taught in the Abstract), the method including: forming a lead receptacle 5150 to receive a conductive lead 1510, including: forming a cylindrical tube having a bore (where 1510 is received in 5100 in figure 20) to receive an end of the conductive lead 1510; forming at least one electrode 5114 in the bore to contact the conductive lead 1510 when the conductive lead 1510 is inserted into the bore; and arranging a moveable visual indicator 1526 within the bore in a first position with the visual indicator not visible external to the lead receptacle 5150, wherein the visual indicator 1526 is moveable to a second position in the bore with the visual indicator 1526 visible external to the lead receptacle 5150 when the end of the conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the bore and contacts the at least one electrode 5114”.
With regard to claim 12, Sommer teaches: “The method of claim 9”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97: “including forming a ridge (where 5150 covers 1526 before 1526 is exposed as shown in figure 20) in the bore to hold the moveable visual indicator 1526 in the first position in the bore”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommer et al. (2003/0143895).
With regard to claim 10, Sommer teaches: “The method of claim 9”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches, as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 86 and 97: “each lead receptacle 5150 including at least one electrode 5114 and a visual indicator 1526; attaching conductive wires 1510 to the electrodes 5114… and forming a mold layer 5106 covering the lead receptacles 5150 and conductive wires 1510, and wherein the visual indicators 15262 are visible within the mold layer 5106 when the visual indicators 1526 are in the second position in the bore”.
Sommer does not specifically teach the assembly having multiple receptacles. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the parts of Sommer to have multiple receptacles in order to connect multiple types of conductors to the header connector assembly. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claim 14, Sommer teaches, as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 86 and 97: “A header connector assembly 1510 and 5100 of a medical device (taught in the Abstract), the assembly comprising… lead” receptacle 5150 “each lead receptacle 5150 including: a cylindrical tube having a bore (where 1510 is received in 5100 in figure 20) to receive an end of a conductive lead 1510; at least one electrode 5114 to contact the conductive lead 1510 when the conductive lead 1510 is inserted into the bore; and a moveable visual indicator 1526; and a header block 5100 including a mold layer 5106, wherein the… lead” receptacle 5150 “arranged within the mold layer 5106 and the header block 5100 further includes… conductive” wire 1510 “to contact the electrodes 5114 of the lead” receptacle 5150 “and wherein the moveable visual indicator 1526 of a lead receptacle 5150 is configured to move from a non-visible position in the header block 5100 to a visible position (when 1526 is protruding from 5100, as described in paragraph 97) in the header block 5100 when the conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the lead receptacle 5150 and contacts the at least one electrode 5114”.
Sommer does not specifically teach the assembly having multiple receptacles. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the parts of Sommer to have multiple receptacles in order to connect multiple types of conductors to the header connector assembly. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claim 16, Sommer teaches: “The assembly of claim 14”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches, as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraph 97: “wherein the moveable visual indicator 1526 is to move from a non-visible position in the header connector 5100 to a visible position (when 1526 is protruding from 5100, as described in paragraph 97) in the header connector 5100 when the conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the lead receptacle 5150 to an end of the lead receptacle 5150”.
With regard to claim 17, Sommer teaches: “The assembly of claim 14”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97 and as modified above: “wherein cylindrical tubes of the lead receptacles 5150 that include a non-conductive material (paragraph 86 teaches the lead receptacle formed of plastic), and the visual indicator 1526 of each lead receptacle 5150 includes a cylindrical shape and includes silicone (paragraph 76 teaches the indicator made from material including silicone)”.
With regard to claim 18, Sommer teaches: “The assembly of claim 14”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97 and as modified above: “wherein the visual indicator 1526 of each lead receptacle 5150 is visible through an end of the lead receptacle 5150 when the conductive lead 1510 is inserted to contact the at least one electrode 5114 of the lead receptacle 5150”.
With regard to claim 20, Sommer teaches: “The assembly of claim 14”, as shown above.
Sommer also teaches as shown in figures 1A-22 and taught in the Abstract and paragraphs 76, 86, and 97 and as modified above: “wherein each lead receptacle 5150 includes a ridge (where 5150 covers 1526 before 1526 is exposed as shown in figure 20) within the bore to hold the moveable visual indicator 1526 in the non-visible position in the header block 5100 until the conductive lead 1510 is inserted in the lead receptacle 1510”.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommer et al. (2003/0143895) in view of Carson (5,626,626).
With regard to claim 6, Sommer teaches: “The apparatus of claim 1”, as shown above.
Sommer does not teach: “wherein the lead receptacle includes a clear end cap, and the visual indicator includes a color visible through the clear end cap when the at least one conductive lead is inserted in the lead receptacle and contacts the at least one electrode”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Carson teaches, as shown in figures 2-4: “wherein the lead receptacle 70 includes a clear end cap 60, and the visual indicator includes a color (color of 48) visible through the clear end cap 60 when the at least one conductive lead 48 is inserted in the lead receptacle 70 and contacts the at least one electrode 36”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Carson with the invention of Sommer in order to determine the lead is properly installed (Carson, column 3 lines 48-51).
With regard to claim 19, Sommer teaches: “The assembly of claim 14”, as shown above.
Sommer does not teach: “wherein each lead receptacle includes a clear end cap, and the visual indicator of each lead receptacle is to become visible through the clear end cap when the conductive lead is inserted in the lead receptacle and contacts the at least one electrode”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Carson teaches, as shown in figures 2-4: “wherein each lead receptacle 70 includes a clear end cap 60, and the visual indicator 48 of each lead receptacle 70 is to become visible through the clear end cap 60 when the conductive lead 48 is inserted in the lead receptacle 70 and contacts the at least one electrode 36”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Carson with the invention of Sommer in order to determine the lead is properly installed (Carson, column 3 lines 48-51).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13, and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831