DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 16, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: “…and 0.4≤f1/f2≤0. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of examination this was interpreted as, “-0.4≤f1/f2≤0”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20220365317 A1).
Re Claim 1, Chen discloses, on Fig. 1, Table 1 and 21, an optical lens comprising: a first lens (Fig. 1: lens E1) having an Abbe number vd1 and a refractive index nd1; and a second lens (Fig. 1: lens E2) having an Abbe number vd2 and a refractive index nd2, wherein the first lens and second lens are sequentially arranged from an object side to an image side in an optical axis direction (see Fig. 1), an object side surface of the first lens and an object side surface of the second lens are convex surfaces (See Fig. 1 and Table 1: surface S1 and S3 have positive curvature) , wherein 60≤vd1≤90 (Table 1: vd1=61.16), 1.65≤nd2≤2 (Table 1: nd2=1.93), 0.2≤nd2−nd1≤0.5 (Table 1: nd2-nd1=1.93-1.59=0.34), and 40<vd1−vd2 (Table 1: vd1-vd2=61.16-20.88=40.72), and a total track length TTL of the optical lens and a half-image height IH of the optical lens have a relationship of 0.45≤TTL/(2*IH)≤0.6 (TTL/(2*IH)=7.5/(12.9)=0.58) [Par 72].
Re Claim 2, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 1, and further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein 0.52≤TTL/(2*IH)≤0.58 (TTL/(2*IH)=7.5/(12.9)=0.58) [Par 72].
Re Claim 3, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 1, and further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the optical lens has a focal length f, the first lens has a focal length f1, and 0<f1/f≤1.2 (f1/f=5.69/6.62=0.86] [Par 72]
Re Claim 4, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 1, and Chen further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the first lens has a focal length f1, the second lens has a focal length f2, and -0.4≤f1/f2≤0 (Table 1: f1/f2=5.69/-17.06=-0.33).
Re Claim 6, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 1, and further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, further comprising: a plurality of additional lenses sequentially arranged from the second lens to the image side in the optical axis direction (lenses E3-E7)[Par 69], and an additional lens closest to the image side has negative focal power (See Table 1 Surface S13 and S14: lens E7 is negative).
Re Claim 9, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 6, and Chen further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the plurality of lenses comprises a third lens (lens E3), a fourth lens (lens E4), a fifth lens (Lens E5), a sixth lens (lens E6), and a seventh lens (lens E7) [Par 69] sequentially arranged from the second lens to the image side in the optical axis direction, the third lens has negative focal power (Table 1: f3=-46.18 mm) and a focal length f3, wherein the optical lens has a focal length f, and −0.4<f/f3<0 (Table 1: f/f3=6.62/-46.18=-0.14).
Re Claim 11, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 7, and Chen further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the third lens (lens E3) has an Abbe number vd3, and |vd2−vd3|<25 (Table 1: |Vd2-Vd3|=|20.88-19.2|=1.68).
Re Claim 13, Chen discloses, on Fig. 1 and Table 1, a camera module (digital camera) [Par 64] comprising: an optical lens (lens of Fig. 1) [Par 68-69]; and a photosensitive element (CCD or CMOS) [Par 64] located on an image side of the optical lens, wherein light passing through the optical lens is projected to the photosensitive element [Par 64], and the photosensitive element is configured to convert the light projected to the photosensitive element to an image signal (CCD or CMOS would both perform this) [Par 64], wherein the optical lens comprises: a first lens (lens E1) having an Abbe number vd1 and a refractive index nd1; and a second lens (lens E2) having an Abbe number vd2 and a refractive index nd2, wherein the first lens and second lens are sequentially arranged from an object side to an image side in an optical axis direction, an object side surface of the first lens and an object side surface of the first lens and an object side surface of the second lens are convex surfaces (See Fig. 1 and Table 1: surface S1 and S3 have positive curvature) , wherein 60≤vd1≤90 (Table 1: vd1=61.16), 1.65≤nd2≤2 (Table 1: nd2=1.93), 0.2≤nd2−nd1≤0.5 (Table 1: nd2-nd1=1.93-1.59=0.34), and 40<vd1−vd2 (Table 1: vd1-vd2=61.16-20.88=40.72), and a total track length TTL of the optical lens and a half-image height IH of the optical lens have a relationship of 0.45≤TTL/(2*IH)≤0.6 (TTL/(2*IH)=7.5/(12.9)=0.58) [Par 72].
Re Claim 14, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 13, and Chen further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein 0.52≤TTL/(2*IH)≤0.58 (TTL/(2*IH)=7.5/(12.9)=0.58) [Par 72].
Re Claim 15, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 13, and further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the optical lens has a focal length f, the first lens has a focal length f1, and 0<f1/f≤1.2 (f1/f=5.69/6.62=0.86] [Par 72]
Re Claim 16, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 13, and Chen further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the first lens has a focal length f1, the second lens has a focal length f2, and -0.4≤f1/f2≤0 (Table 1: f1/f2=5.69/-17.06=-0.33).
Re Claim 17, Chen discloses, on Fig. 1 and Table 1, a camera module (digital camera) [Par 64] comprising: a photosensitive element (CCD or CMOS) [Par 64], and an optical lens (lens of Fig. 1) [Par 68-69]; and an image processor communicatively connected to the photosensitive element of the camera module, wherein the image processor is configured to process an image signal output by the photosensitive element (digital camera in a mobile phone would inherently include an image processor to display or save said image on the phone) [Par 64], wherein the photosensitive element is located on an image side of the optical lens (CCD or CMOS would be on image side of optical lens to perform its role as a imaging device) [Par 64].
wherein light passing through the optical lens is projected to the photosensitive element [Par 64], and the photosensitive element is configured to convert the light projected to the photosensitive element to an image signal (CCD or CMOS would both perform this) [Par 64], wherein the optical lens comprises: a first lens (lens E1) having an Abbe number vd1 and a refractive index nd1; and a second lens (lens E2) having an Abbe number vd2 and a refractive index nd2, wherein the first lens and second lens are sequentially arranged from an object side to an image side in an optical axis direction, an object side surface of the first lens and an object side surface of the first lens and an object side surface of the second lens are convex surfaces (See Fig. 1 and Table 1: surface S1 and S3 have positive curvature) , wherein 60≤vd1≤90 (Table 1: vd1=61.16), 1.65≤nd2≤2 (Table 1: nd2=1.93), 0.2≤nd2−nd1≤0.5 (Table 1: nd2-nd1=1.93-1.59=0.34), and 40<vd1−vd2 (Table 1: vd1-vd2=61.16-20.88=40.72), and a total track length TTL of the optical lens and a half-image height IH of the optical lens have a relationship of 0.45≤TTL/(2*IH)≤0.6 (TTL/(2*IH)=7.5/(12.9)=0.58) [Par 72].
Re Claim 18, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 17, and Chen further discloses on Fig. 1, wherein 0.52≤TTL/(2*IH)≤0.58 (TTL/(2*IH)=7.5/(12.9)=0.58) [Par 72].
Re Claim 19, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 17, and further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the optical lens has a focal length f, the first lens has a focal length f1, and 0<f1/f≤1.2 (f1/f=5.69/6.62=0.86] [Par 72]
Re Claim 20, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 17, and Chen further discloses on Fig. 1 and Table 1, wherein the first lens has a focal length f1, the second lens has a focal length f2, and -0.4≤f1/f2≤0 (Table 1: f1/f2=5.69/-17.06=-0.33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kuo (US 20200012078 A1).
Re Claim 5, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 1.
But Chen does not explicitly disclose, wherein the optical lens has an F-value F #, and 1.55≤F #≤2.1.
Kuo teaches that in the prior art, f-number is a variable which achieves a recognized result, and that by changing f-number (or F-value or Fno) one can better control the depth of field or the exposure speed [Par 84], further Kuo teaches such optimizing of f-number to result in various embodiments with Fno between 1.70 and 1.84 (See Tables 1, 3, 5, etc.). Thus, it is known in the prior art to adjust or change the f-value of a lens system, and that it is known that doing so provides the benefit of controlling the depth of field [Kuo: Par 84].
Optimizing f-value or f-number is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting f-number and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize F# such that, 1.55≤F #≤2.1, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Re claim 12, Chen discloses, the optical lens according to claim 1.
But Chen does not explicitly disclose, wherein the second lens has a central thickness d2, the object side surface of the second lens has a curvature radius R3, an image side surface of the second lens has a curvature radius of R4, and 1<d2(R3+R4)/(R3–R4)<5.
Optimizing the thickness of a second lens and the radius of curvature of of the object side surface of the second and lens and the image side surface of the second lens, is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Chen teaches R3 and R4 as variables, which achieves a recognized result, balancing spherical aberration [Par 11 and 56] and general lens thickness (which would apply to d2) as a variable which would achieve a recognized result, balancing field curvature [Par 59]. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting the radiuses R3 and R4 as well as lens thickness (such as d2) and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize the teaching of Chen such 1<d2(R3+R4)/(R3–R4)<5, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wenren (US 20210263287 A1) teaches an optical system with a large image height at least two lenses.
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881