Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that cited references failed to disclose a system for contextual modification of media content based on multimodal extraction of metadata from said media, wherein said metadata is extracted by processing one or more scenes in said media to extract metadata corresponding to multiple extraction modes, and an embedding model for each extraction mode wherein an aggregated embedding model responsive to said extracted metadata for each mode formulates an aggregated embedding comprising: a process controller including an embedding extractor responsive to a control input wherein said control input specifies one or more features defining a media modification opportunity and wherein said embedding extractor includes an embedding model coordinated with said embedding model for one or more of said embedding modes to generate an opportunity embedding in the form of a vector; a vector comparison processor for determining the distance between said opportunity embedding and said aggregated embedding to determine a media modification opportunity; wherein said process controller is responsive to said vector comparison processor to generate edit control instructions indicating a modification of said media upon detection of said media modification opportunity; a media content editor responsive to said edit control instructions to modify said media and having a modified media output wherein said media content editor uses generative AI techniques to modify said media content
However, Nandi et al disclose a system being able to provide metadata related to media content as location of the ad in webpage and metadata related to the webpage and the system can retrieve or extract metadata associated with ads from database and the system can use embedding model for managing metadata as disclosed in para. 0038; 0074 ;0038 ;0083;0064; abstract; 0025.
And the system contains processors for processing data and users have the capability to input data and users have the capability of interacting with metadata and the system can provide temporal data related to advertising opportunity and the system can predict advertising opportunity data based on embedding data and vectors associated with embeddings can be used to represent locations of metadata as disclosed 0036;0074 ; 0003; 0021 ; 0054; 0049; 0044.
And the system can determine advertising opportunity based on embedding data and the system can provide ads based on metadata and based on geographic location of a specific audience as disclosed in para. 0005;0007;0058; abstract.
And regarding “ wherein said process controller is responsive to said vector comparison processor to generate edit control instructions indicating a modification of said media upon detection of said media modification opportunity; a media content editor responsive to said edit control instructions to modify said media and having a modified media output wherein said media content editor uses generative Al techniques to modify said media content”, Hitching et al disclose a system that can edit video content in order to generate video clips for a target audience and the system is able to use specific algorithm to edit video content in selecting candidate video clips as disclosed in para. 0033-0034;0088;0020-0022;0037;0077;0043; 0006-0007.
And the system can dynamically adjust the streaming manifest in order to upload or insert advertisements in the main video stream according to specified criteria matching specific category or group of users or audience members and finally, the system is able to use a machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence in order to process and edit media content in selecting candidate video clips and the machine learning is used to establish relationship between feature vector and the video metadata as disclosed in para.0086;0067-0068;0021-0022;0034;0038. This action is made final.
Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandi(US.Pub.Non.20250156896) in view of Hitching(US.Pub.No.20190182565).
Regarding claim 1, Nandi et al disclose a system for contextual modification of media content based on multimodal extraction of metadata from said media( the system provides metadata related to media content as location of the ad in webpage and metadata related to the webpage;0083;0064 ; abstract; 0025), wherein said metadata is extracted by processing one or more scenes in said media to extract metadata(the system can retrieve or extract metadata associated with ads from database;0038) corresponding to multiple extraction modes and an embedding model (the system can use embedding model for managing metadata; 0038; 0074) for each extraction mode wherein an aggregated embedding model responsive to said extracted metadata for each mode formulates an aggregated embedding comprising(the system is able to group series of metadata;0066-0067;0038);
a process controller(the system contains processors for processing data; 0044) including an embedding extractor(embedding model for processing metadata; abstract) responsive to a control input wherein said control input (users have the capability to input data and users have the capability of interacting with metadata; 0054; 0049) specifies one or more features defining a media modification opportunity(the system can provide temporal data related to advertising opportunity; 0003; 0021) and wherein said embedding extractor includes an embedding model(the system contains a plurality of embeddings models;0036) coordinated with said embedding model for one or more of said embedding modes to generate an opportunity embedding in the form of a vector(the system can predict advertising opportunity data based on embedding data and vectors associated with embeddings can be used to represent locations of metadata; 0036;0074);
a vector comparison processor(the system is capable of comparing data; 0022) for determining the distance between said opportunity embedding(the system is able to compute distance between two embeddings;0092) and said aggregated embedding to determine a media modification opportunity(the system can determine advertising opportunity based on embedding data and the system can provide ads based on metadata and based on geographic location of a specific audience; abstract; 0005;0007;0058).
But did not explicitly disclose wherein said process controller is responsive to said vector comparison processor to generate edit control instructions indicating a modification of said media upon detection of said media modification opportunity; a media content editor responsive to said edit control instructions to modify said media and having a modified media output wherein said media content editor uses generative Al techniques to modify said media content.
However, Hitching et al disclose wherein said process controller is responsive to said vector comparison processor to generate edit control instructions indicating a modification of said media(the system can edit video content in order to generate video clips for a target audience; 0006-0007) upon detection of said media modification opportunity(the system is able to use specific algorithm to edit video content in selecting candidate video clips; 0033-0034;0088;0020-0022;0037;0077;0043); a media content editor responsive to said edit control instructions to modify said media and having a modified media output(the system can dynamically adjust the streaming manifest in order to upload or insert advertisements in the main video stream according to specified criteria matching specific category or group of users or audience members;0038) wherein said media content editor uses generative Al techniques to modify said media content(the system is able to use a machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence in order to process and edit media content in selecting candidate video clips and the machine learning is used to establish relationship between feature vector and the video metadata; 0086;0067-0068;0021-0022;0034).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in “ wherein said process controller is responsive to said vector comparison processor to generate edit control instructions indicating a modification of said media upon detection of said media modification opportunity; a media content editor responsive to said edit control instructions to modify said media and having a modified media output wherein said media content editor uses generative Al techniques to modify said media content” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, Nandi et al did not explicitly disclose further comprising a creative library, wherein said creative library stores one or more templates creatives and said edit control instructions specify said generative Al techniques to said template creative retrieved from said creative library application for use by said media content editor.
However, Hitching et al disclose further comprising a creative library, wherein said creative library stores one or more templates creatives(data store 112; 0032-0033) and said edit control instructions specify said generative Al techniques( one or more machine learning algorithms,0067-0068; 0086) to said template creative retrieved from said creative library application for use by said media content editor(candidate clip editor algorithm,0085;0033-0034).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in “ further comprising a creative library, wherein said creative library stores one or more templates creatives and said edit control instructions specify said generative Al techniques to said template creative retrieved from said creative library application for use by said media content editor ” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly
Regarding claim 3, Nandi et al did not explicitly disclose wherein said edit control instructions cause said media content editor to apply said generative AI techniques based on triggering embeddings.
However, Hitching et al disclose wherein said edit control instructions cause said media content editor to apply said generative AI techniques(machine learning algorithms;0068) based on triggering embeddings(the system is able to use trigger event in order to select video clips to edit the main video content; abstract; 0007; 0020-0021).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in “wherein said edit control instructions cause said media content editor to apply said generative AI techniques based on triggering embeddings ” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly
Regarding claim 4, Nandi et al did not explicitly disclose wherein said edit control instructions include triggering embeddings.
However, Hitching et al disclose wherein said edit control instructions include triggering embeddings(the system can execute instruction based on triggers; 0037; 0075-0076;0090;0088).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in“wherein said edit control instructions include triggering embeddings ” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly.
Regarding claim 5, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Nandi et al did not explicitly disclose wherein said triggering embeddings are based in part on metadata concerning viewers, and further comprising a viewer database for viewer metadata.
However, Hitching et al disclose wherein said triggering embeddings are based in part on metadata concerning viewers(the system discloses preferences associated with the users; 0039; 0078; 0059) and further comprising a viewer database for viewer metadata(the system stores metadata related to the users in the database 111; 0059; 0039).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in“ wherein said triggering embeddings are based in part on metadata concerning viewers, and further comprising a viewer database for viewer metadata ” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly
Regarding claim 7, Nandi et al did not explicitly disclose wherein said edit control instructions are dynamically generated based on said viewer database and scene content embeddings in said modified media content.
However, Hitching et al disclose wherein said edit control instructions are dynamically generated based on said viewer database( the system stores metadata related to the users in the database 111; 0059; 0039) and scene content( frames and scenes,0046) embeddings in said modified media content(0044-0046; 0033-0035;0038).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in “wherein said edit control instructions are dynamically generated based on said viewer database and scene content embeddings in said modified media content ” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly
Regarding claim 8, Nandi et al did not explicitly disclose further comprising a modification selection server responsive to said opportunity to select a modification to apply to said media.
However, Hitching et al disclose further comprising a modification selection server responsive to said opportunity to select a modification to apply to said media(the system provides an editing server 106 for selecting candidate clips of video content for modifying video content; 0033-0034;0037).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in “ further comprising a modification selection server responsive to said opportunity to select a modification to apply to said media” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly
Regarding claim 9, Nandi et al did not explicitly disclose wherein said modification selection server is a competitive bid processor.
However, Hitching et al disclose wherein said modification selection server is a competitive bid processor(the system is able to use probability technique and engagement metrics to select a candidate clip to modify the video content; 0083; 0086;0020; 0035).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hitching to modify Nandi by providing options to adjust streaming manifest to upload advertisements or edit video clips with respect to metadata of Hitching to the system of Nandi resulting in “wherein said modification selection server is a competitive bid processor ” for the purpose of improving viewing experiences of the users accordingly
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425