DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species C, figs. 4C-4E, in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-20 read on the elected species as stated by applicant; thus, these claims will be examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4,5,11,12,14,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by Park (KR 102162705 B1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park (KR 102162705 B1) in view of Cheng (CN 108566843 A).
For claim 1, Park teaches a planter (40) configured to receive and grow a plant, comprising:
a container (40) having a main body (fig. 1, the top area is the main body) and a base (fig. 1, the lower area is the base) coupled to the bottom of the main body, the main body and base defining an interior space of the container with an opening at a top of the container, the container configured to receive and hold a grow medium for facilitating growth of a plant when planted in the grow medium,
the main body having an external surface (fig. 1, outer surface of the main body) and an internal surface (fig. 1, inner surface of the main body) in which the internal surface faces the interior space of the container, the external surface of the main body including a plurality of alternating main body ribs (45) and main body channels (41), such that each main body rib is between a pair of adjacent main body channels and each main body channel is between a pair of adjacent main body ribs, each main body rib including a plurality of vented openings (43) exposing the interior space of the container, and
the base having an external surface (fig. 1, outer surface of the base) and an internal surface (fig. 1, inner surface of the base) in which the internal surface faces the interior space of the container, the base including a conical portion (10,20) located at a substantially central location of the base (figs. 2,5), the conical portion extending into the interior space of the container from a base surface of the base, the base further including a plurality of base ribs (not numbered but can be seen in figs. 2,3 ribs extending from the conical portion 10) extending radially from an outer surface of the conical portion toward the interior surface of the main body, each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings (12) exposing the interior space of the container.
In the event that applicant disagrees with the examiner interpretation of Park teaching the base further including a plurality of base ribs extending radially from an outer surface of the conical portion toward the interior surface of the main body, each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings exposing the interior space of the container, Cheng teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a base (fig. 5) further including a plurality of base ribs (11) extending radially from an outer surface of a conical portion (6) toward the interior surface of a main body (1; see fig. 2), each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings (8) exposing the interior space of the container. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of base ribs as taught by Cheng extending radially from an outer surface of the conical portion toward the interior surface of the main body of Park, in order to provide reinforcement. Note that Park already teaches each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings (12) exposing the interior space of the container, thus, the examiner is not relying on Cheng for this feature.
For claim 2, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the planter according to claim 1, but is silent about wherein the base includes a plurality of feet located adjacent to an outer perimeter of the base, each foot of the base configured to be a reservoir for holding a liquid. In addition to the above, Cheng teaches the base includes a plurality of feet (7) located adjacent to an outer perimeter of the base, each foot of the base configured to be a reservoir for holding a liquid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of feet as taught by Cheng located adjacent to an outer perimeter of the base of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to elevate the planter off of the ground and at the same time provide a reservoir for drainage or irrigating the plant.
For claim 4, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the planter according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein each base rib has substantially flat opposing surfaces extending radially from the conical portion (figs. 2,3,16 of Park shows the ribs having substantially flat surfaces; also, as combined with Cheng, Cheng teaches in fig. 5 a substantially flat surface for each rib 11).
For claim 5, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the planter according to claim 1, and further teaches a lid (60 of Park) having a top surface and a bottom surface and an outer perimeter edge, wherein the lid is configured to fit on the main body at a top of the container.
For claim 11, Park teaches a method for forming a planter (40) configured to receive and grow a plant, comprising:
forming a container (40) to have a main body (fig. 1, the top area is the main body) and a base (fig. 1, the lower area is the base) coupled to the bottom of the main body, the main body and base defining an interior space of the container with an opening at a top of the container, the container configured to receive and hold a grow medium for facilitating growth of a plant when planted in the grow medium,
forming the main body to have an external surface (fig. 1, outer surface of the main body) and an internal surface (fig. 1, inner surface of the main body) in which the internal surface faces the interior space of the container, the external surface of the main body including a plurality of alternating main body ribs (45) and main body channels (41), such that each main body rib is between a pair of adjacent main body channels and each main body channel is between a pair of adjacent main body ribs, each main body rib including a plurality of vented openings (43) exposing the interior space of the container, and
forming the base to have an external surface (fig. 1, outer surface of the base) and an internal surface (fig. 1, inner surface of the base) in which the internal surface faces the interior space of the container, the base including a conical portion (10,0) located at a substantially central location of the base, the conical portion extending into the interior space of the container from a base surface of the base, the base further including a plurality of base ribs (not numbered but can be seen in figs. 2,3 ribs extending from the conical portion 10) extending radially from an outer surface of the conical portion toward the interior surface of the main body, each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings (12) exposing the interior space of the container.
In the event that applicant disagrees with the examiner interpretation of Park teaching the base further including a plurality of base ribs extending radially from an outer surface of the conical portion toward the interior surface of the main body, each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings exposing the interior space of the container, Cheng teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a base (fig. 5) further including a plurality of base ribs (11) extending radially from an outer surface of a conical portion (6) toward the interior surface of a main body (1; see fig. 2), each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings (8) exposing the interior space of the container. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of base ribs as taught by Cheng extending radially from an outer surface of the conical portion toward the interior surface of the main body in the method of Park, in order to provide reinforcement. Note that Park already teaches each portion of the base surface between adjacent base ribs including a plurality of vented openings (12) exposing the interior space of the container, thus, the examiner is not relying on Cheng for this feature.
For claim 12, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the method according to claim 11, but is silent about forming the base with a plurality of feet located adjacent to an outer perimeter of the base, each foot of the base configured to be a reservoir for holding a liquid. In addition to the above, Cheng teaches the base includes a plurality of feet (7) located adjacent to an outer perimeter of the base, each foot of the base configured to be a reservoir for holding a liquid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of feet as taught by Cheng located adjacent to an outer perimeter of the base in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to elevate the planter off of the ground and at the same time provide a reservoir for drainage or irrigating the plant.
For claim 14, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the method according to claim 11, and further teaches forming each base rib with substantially flat opposing surfaces extending radially from the conical portion (figs. 2,3,16 of Park shows the ribs having substantially flat surfaces; also, as combined with Cheng, Cheng teaches in fig. 5 a substantially flat surface for each rib 11).
For claim 15, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the method according to claim 11, and further teaches forming a lid (60 of Park) having a top surface and a bottom surface and an outer perimeter edge, wherein the lid is configured to fit on the main body at a top of the container.
Claims 3,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of KR 102476298 B1 (herein KR298).
For claim 3, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the planter according to claim 1, but is silent about wherein each external surface of the conical portion located between adjacent base ribs includes at least one vented opening exposing the interior space of the container.
KR298 teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a conical portion (20) having an external surface that includes at least one vented opening (21) exposing an interior space of a container (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one vented opening as taught by KR298 in the conical portion of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to provide ventilation.
For claim 13, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the method according to claim 11, but is silent about wherein the method further comprises forming, at each external surface of the conical portion located between adjacent base ribs, at least one vented opening exposing the interior space of the container.
KR298 teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a conical portion (20) having an external surface that includes at least one vented opening (21) exposing an interior space of a container (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one vented opening as taught by KR298 in the conical portion in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to provide ventilation.
Claims 6,7,9,16,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng as applied to claims 1,5 & 11,15 above, and further in view of Marshall (WO 2018069721 A1).
For claim 6, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the planter according to claim 5, but is silent about wherein the lid includes a central opening configured to surround a center part of the plant and an open channel extending from the central opening to a perimeter edge of the lid configured to enable the lid to slide over a base of the plant.
Marshall teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a lid (100) includes a central opening (146) configured to surround a center part of the plant and an open channel (162) extending from the central opening to a perimeter edge of the lid configured to enable the lid to slide over a base of the plant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an open channel as taught by Marshall extending from the central opening to a perimeter edge of the lid of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to accommodate various size plants by allow the lid to be opened or closed due to the channel.
For claim 7, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall teaches the planter according to claim 6, but is silent about wherein the lid includes a plurality of lid surface ribs extending radially from the central opening to an outer perimeter edge of the lid, each pair of adjacent lid surface ribs defining a reservoir on the top surface of the lid, and wherein each reservoir includes a lower surface in which a plurality of channels is defined, each channel extending below the top surface of the lid. In addition to the above, Marshall teaches wherein the lid includes a plurality of lid surface ribs (144a-e) extending radially from the central opening to an outer perimeter edge of the lid, each pair of adjacent lid surface ribs defining a reservoir on the top surface of the lid, and wherein each reservoir includes a lower surface in which a plurality of channels (channels are created between the ribs 144-144e) is defined, each channel extending below the top surface of the lid (the top surface of the lid is the topmost rim of ref. 140). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of lid surface ribs as taught by Marshall extending radially from the central opening to an outer perimeter edge of the lid of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall, each pair of adjacent lid surface ribs defining a reservoir as taught by Marshall on the top surface of the lid of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall, and wherein each reservoir includes a lower surface in which a plurality of channels is defined as taught by Marshall, each channel extending below the top surface of the lid of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall in order to help in control distribution of the liquid nutrient solution (para. 0096 of Marshall).
For claim 9, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall teaches the planter according to claim 7, but is silent about tubing positioned between the outer perimeter edge of the lid and ends of the lid surface ribs, the tubing including a plurality of openings to feed a liquid to respective reservoirs. In addition to the above, Marshall teaches tubing (104,120,106,112,108,128) positioned between the outer perimeter edge of the lid and ends of the lid surface ribs, the tubing including a plurality of openings (112a-b, and opening of nozzle 128) to feed a liquid to respective reservoirs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tubing as taught by Marshall positioned between the outer perimeter edge of the lid and ends of the lid surface ribs of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall, the tubing including a plurality of openings as taught by Marshall in order to provide liquid to respective reservoirs for irrigating the plant.
For claim 16, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the method according to claim 15, but is silent about wherein the method further comprises forming a central opening in the lid configured to surround a center part of the plant and an open channel extending from the central opening to a perimeter edge of the lid configured to enable the lid to slide over a base of the plant.
Marshall teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a lid (100) includes a central opening (146) configured to surround a center part of the plant and an open channel (162) extending from the central opening to a perimeter edge of the lid configured to enable the lid to slide over a base of the plant. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an open channel as taught by Marshall extending from the central opening to a perimeter edge of the lid in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to accommodate various size plants by allow the lid to be opened or closed due to the channel.
For claim 17, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall teaches the method according to claim 16, but is silent about wherein the method further comprises forming a plurality of lid surface ribs in the lid extending radially from the central opening to an outer perimeter edge of the lid, each pair of adjacent lid surface ribs defining a reservoir on the top surface of the lid, and forming each reservoir to have a lower surface in which a plurality of channels is defined, each channel extending below the top surface of the lid.
In addition to the above, Marshall teaches wherein the lid includes a plurality of lid surface ribs (144a-e) extending radially from the central opening to an outer perimeter edge of the lid, each pair of adjacent lid surface ribs defining a reservoir on the top surface of the lid, and wherein each reservoir includes a lower surface in which a plurality of channels (channels are created between the ribs 144-144e) is defined, each channel extending below the top surface of the lid (the top surface of the lid is the topmost rim of ref. 140). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of lid surface ribs as taught by Marshall extending radially from the central opening to an outer perimeter edge of the lid in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall, each pair of adjacent lid surface ribs defining a reservoir as taught by Marshall on the top surface of the lid of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall, and wherein each reservoir includes a lower surface in which a plurality of channels is defined as taught by Marshall, each channel extending below the top surface of the lid of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall in order to help in control distribution of the liquid nutrient solution (para. 0096 of Marshall).
Claims 8,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall as applied to claims 1,5,6,7 & 11,15,16,17 above, and further in view of Marshall (US 20220142057 A1, herein Marshall057).
For claim 8, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall teaches the planter according to claim 7, but is silent about wherein each channel includes one or more drip cones extending below the bottom surface of the lid, each drip cone having an opening configured to enable a liquid to drip down from a respective channel into the interior space of the container.
Marshall057 teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising one or more drip cones (138,142,144,136,146) extending below a bottom surface of a lid (110), each drip cone having an opening configured to enable a liquid to drip down from a surface of the lid into the interior space (112) of the container (14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one or more drip cones, each drip cone having an opening as taught by Marshall057 extending below the bottom surface of the lid of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall, in order to allow liquid to drip down from a respective channel into the interior space of the container.
For claim 18, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall teaches the method according to claim 17, but is silent about wherein the method further comprises forming each channel to have one or more drip cones extending below the bottom surface of the lid, each drip cone having an opening configured to enable a liquid to drip down from a respective channel into the interior space of the container.
Marshall057 teaches in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising one or more drip cones (138,142,144,136,146) extending below a bottom surface of a lid (110), each drip cone having an opening configured to enable a liquid to drip down from a surface of the lid into the interior space (112) of the container (14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one or more drip cones, each drip cone having an opening as taught by Marshall057 extending below the bottom surface of the lid in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Marshall, in order to allow liquid to drip down from a respective channel into the interior space of the container.
Claims 10,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of Kaminski et al. (US 20180132431 A1).
For claim 10, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the planter according to claim 1, but is silent about further comprising a liner covering at least the internal surface of the main body, the liner being formed of a biodegradable material and configured to enable air to pass through the vented openings to the interior space of the container.
Kaminski et al. teach in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a liner (54) covering at least the internal surface of the main body (10), the liner is configured to enable air to pass through the vented openings to the interior space of the container (para, 0041 stated that the liner is formed of a breathable material). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a liner as taught by Kaminski et al. covering at least the internal surface of the main body of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to provide ease of removal of the medium and plant therein and also provide better anchorage or support of the roots as the roots grow through the liner.
Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Kaminski et al. is silent about the liner being formed of a biodegradable material. However, in applicant’s specification, applicant stated that one can use a biodegradable material or a non-biodegradable material as desired as long as the material is breathable or allow air to pass through. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the liner of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Kaminski et al. be made out of a biodegradable material, depending on the user’s preference to select a biodegradable material if he/she wishes to better the environment, or a non-biodegradable material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
For claim 20, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the method according to claim 11, but is silent about wherein the method further comprises forming a liner covering at least the internal surface of the main body, the liner being formed of a biodegradable material and configured to enable air to pass through the vented openings to the interior space of the container.
Kaminski et al. teach in the same field of endeavor of a planter comprising a liner (54) covering at least the internal surface of the main body (10), the liner is configured to enable air to pass through the vented openings to the interior space of the container (para, 0041 stated that the liner is formed of a breathable material). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a liner as taught by Kaminski et al. covering at least the internal surface of the main body in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng in order to provide ease of removal of the medium and plant therein and also provide better anchorage or support of the roots as the roots grow through the liner.
Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Kaminski et al. is silent about the liner being formed of a biodegradable material. However, in applicant’s specification, applicant stated that one can use a biodegradable material or a non-biodegradable material as desired as long as the material is breathable or allow air to pass through. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the liner in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng and Kaminski et al. be made out of a biodegradable material, depending on the user’s preference to select a biodegradable material if he/she wishes to better the environment, or a non-biodegradable material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Marshall (as above).
For claim 19, Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng teaches the method according to claim 11, but is silent about wherein the method further comprises forming a tubing positioned between the outer perimeter edge of the lid and ends of the lid surface ribs, the tubing including a plurality of openings to feed a liquid to respective reservoirs.
As stated in the above, Marshall teaches tubing (104,120,106,112,108,128) positioned between the outer perimeter edge of the lid and ends of the lid surface ribs, the tubing including a plurality of openings (112a-b, and opening of nozzle 128) to feed a liquid to respective reservoirs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tubing as taught by Marshall positioned between the outer perimeter edge of the lid and ends of the lid surface ribs in the method of Park, alone, or as modified by Cheng, the tubing including a plurality of openings as taught by Marshall in order to provide liquid to respective reservoirs for irrigating the plant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of a planter and a method:
US 20180007848 A1 teaches automated planter apparatus
US 20230255136 A1 teaches planting system for optimization of plant growth with direct air injection
US 20040144026 A1 teaches Aerated plant pot
US 20030106262 A1 teaches Ventilation filter for flowerpot
US 20200146232 A1 teaches Flower Pot
US 20230067983 A1 teaches root pruning and air purifying plant pot
US 20210307256 A1 teaches type of planting pot
US 20190246574 A1 teaches planting dish and planting method
US 5107621 A teaches Hydroculture growing system with improved light/water meter
US 7690150 B2 teaches Planter
CN 104838927 A teaches A removable plant protection system
CN 115316149 A teaches Planting basin
NL 2008179 C2 teaches a plant tray for propagating plants, a tray, and methods.
DE 202014102244 U1 teaches Elastic plant pot
JP 5927332 B1 teaches Planter bottom member and planter using the bottom member
AU 2015243115 A1 teaches stackable pots for plants
/Son T Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643