DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1, issue #1:
Claim 1 recites first node… comprising:
a first transmitter, transmitting a first signal;
a first receiver… the first receiver monitoring a first-type channel… the first-type channel being a Physical Downlink Control (PDCCH);
when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type
Because the first receivers monitoring first-type channel being a Physical Downlink Control (PDCCH); therefore the first signal has to be transmitted in uplink direction. However, the claim also recites type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, which is indicated as a downlink type (PDCCH).
The term PDCCH indicates a well-known name used by standards under 3GPP (see for example paragraph [0009] of the present specification) and is a downlink type only channel. It is unclear how a downlink type channel can also be an uplink type channel.
Claim 1, issue #2:
when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type
The claim indicates a single signal (first signal) being transmitted using different channels of the same channel of first type which is a PDCCH. It is unclear how this can be done.
Claim 4 recites the first type is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH). Claim 4 depends upon claim 1 which recites the first-type channel being a Physical Downlink Control (PDCCH).
PRACH, which is an uplink type and PDCCH which is a downlink type are two different channels defined by 3GPP. It is unclear how a PRACH and PDCCH are the same channel.
Claims 9 and 14 have the same issues as claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 11 and 17 have the same issue as claim 4 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 18-20 are rejected as being depending upon claims 1, 9 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2021/0409094) in view of Sun et al. (US 2024/0163065, “Sun”).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches a first node (FIG. 1- terminal device 120) for wireless communications, characterized in comprising:
a first transmitter (FIG. 15 -TX/RX 1540, [0137], [0138]), transmitting a first signal, the first signal used to indicate a first reference signal ([0069] “In response to a beam failure being detected, the terminal device 120 identifies a new candidate beam and transmits 240 a BFR request carrying information on the identified candidate beam to the network device 110.” [0055] “…The terminal device may assume that the dedicated CORESET (that is, the BFR-CORESET) is spatial quasi co-locationed with DL RS of the new candidate beam identified by the terminal device in the BFR request”. In other words, Yuan [0055] teaches BFR request includes information identifying beam of DL RS or Downlink Reference Signal); and
a first receiver (FIG. 15 -TX/RX 1540, [0137], [0138]), receiving a first signaling, the first signaling used to determine a first time ([0006] “transmitting information on the plurality of search spaces to a terminal device served by the network device” [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”);
the first receiver (FIG. 15 -TX/RX 1540, [0137], [0138]), monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset {with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal} after the first time, the first-type channel being a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ([0072] Accordingly, the terminal device 120 may monitor 260 the response to the BFR request in the plurality of search spaces. [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”);
wherein the first reference signal is one of M reference signals, M being a positive integer greater than 1 ([0053] The network device 110 may communicate data and control information to the terminal device 120 via a plurality of beams (also referred to as “DL beams”). Note: each beam is associated with a DL RS as indicated in [0055] “DL RS of the new candidate beam”);
{whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal}.
Yuan does not teach
monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal and
whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal.
However, Sun teaches monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal ([0094] “In 525, when a valid candidate beam is found, the UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (on the PRACH for an SpCell and via MAC-CE for an SCell) including the detected failure beam and the candidate beam”. [0095] “In 530, the UE monitors the PDCCH for an explicit reconfiguration of the beam, using the QCL parameters assumed for the beam failure recovery request. If two candidate beams are reported, the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” [0039] “each set of beams may include reference signals (e.g., Radio Link Monitoring RS (RLM RS)) configured for beam failure detection.” Note: QCL parameters of “candidate beams” teaches “spatial parameters of the as those of a target reference signal” ) and
whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal ([0094] “beam failure recovery request.. including the candidate beam” (corresponding to first reference signal) and [0095] “UE monitors the PDCCH… the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” (corresponding to the target signal being the same as the first reference signal). It should be noted, Sun teaches ([0095]) the beam failure recovery request being transmitted on PRACH or physical random access channel and including “the detected failure beam”
Although the Sun’s cited paragraphs above teaches the limitations, however, these limitations can be interpreted as follows:
The claim claims a first node performing steps. The phrases “whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type…; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal” seem to suggest conditions in which decisions are made but does not require the decisions to be performed by the first node. However, “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.” (see MPEP, 211.04). Therefore, the above limitations is interpreted as “the target reference signal is the first reference signal” as the conditional decision when/whether are not made by any entity. Also, the above limitations seem to corresponds to the embodiment of FIG. 9, paragraph [448]-[0463], however, there is no disclosure of the steps/decisions connected to/being made by any entity)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal and whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal, as taught by Sun in Yuan to provide a quick beam failure recovery using already identified valid beam.
Regarding claim 2, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 1 but fails to teach the M reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the target reference signal is a second reference signal.
Sun teaches the M reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset ([0039] “The UE may collect measurement data corresponding to these reference signals”); when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the target reference signal is a second reference signal ([0039] “The UE may collect measurement data corresponding to these reference signals”. It is understood reference signals are different signals corresponding to different signal subsets. [0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request.” BFR request is transmitted on PRACH which is different from PDCCH. [0094] “In 525, when a valid candidate beam is found, the UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (on the PRACH for an SpCell and via MAC-CE for an SCell) including the detected failure beam and the candidate beam”. [0095] “In 530, the UE monitors the PDCCH for an explicit reconfiguration of the beam, using the QCL parameters assumed for the beam failure recovery request. If two candidate beams are reported, the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” The QCL parameters of the candidate signal include in the BFR request is used for monitoring PDCCH, which teaches “the target reference signal is the first reference signal”
Although the Sun’s cited paragraphs above teaches the limitations, however, these limitations can be interpreted as follows:
The claim claims a first node performing steps. The phrases “when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset…; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset…” seem to suggest conditions in which decisions are made but does not require the decisions to be performed by the first node. However, “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.” (MPEP, 211.04). Therefore, the above limitations is interpreted as “the target reference signal is the first reference signal” as the conditional decision when/whether are not made by any entity. Also, the above limitations seem to corresponds to the embodiment of FIG. 9, paragraph [448]-[0463], however, there is no disclosure of the steps/decisions connected to/being made by any entity).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 1 but does not teach the second reference signal is configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, or, the second reference signal is indicated by a MAC Control Element (CE).
Sun teaches the second reference signal is configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, or, the second reference signal is indicated by a MAC Control Element (CE) ([0037] “A UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI state configurations within the higher layer parameters, e.g., M=8, which may be transmitted to the UE from the network in a medium access layer (MAC) control element (CE), a DCI message, or a radio resource control (RRC) activation command.” [0003] “from a serving base station, a configuration for a control resource set (CORESET) including two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a frequency resource, wherein a first TCI state is associated with a beam transmitted from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TCI state is associated with a beam transmitted from a second TRP, determining, for the beams transmitted from each of the first and second TRPs, respective one or more reference signal (RS) resources to monitor for radio link monitoring (RLM) or beam failure detection)(BFD) and monitoring the RS transmitted from the first TRP using the first TCI state and the RS transmitted from the second TRP using the second TCI state.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the second reference signal is configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, or, the second reference signal is indicated by a MAC Control Element (CE), as taught by Sun in Yuan to provide a quick beam failure recovery using already identified valid beam.
Regarding claim 4, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 1 and further teaches the first type is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) ([0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request”).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 1 and further teaches a search space set to which the first signaling belongs is related to the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal ([0006] “transmitting information on the plurality of search spaces to a terminal device served by the network device” [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH” [0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request”).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim and further teaches the first receiver monitors the first-type channel in a target resource set group {with same spatial parameters as those of the first reference signal} after the first time ([0072] Accordingly, the terminal device 120 may monitor 260 the response to the BFR request in the plurality of search spaces. [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”); {where the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group}.
Yuan does not teach monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal and where the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group
Sun teaches monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal ([0094] “In 525, when a valid candidate beam is found, the UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (on the PRACH for an SpCell and via MAC-CE for an SCell) including the detected failure beam and the candidate beam”. [0095] “In 530, the UE monitors the PDCCH for an explicit reconfiguration of the beam, using the QCL parameters assumed for the beam failure recovery request. If two candidate beams are reported, the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” [0039] “each set of beams may include reference signals (e.g., Radio Link Monitoring RS (RLM RS)) configured for beam failure detection.” Note: QCL parameters of “candidate beams” teaches “spatial parameters of the as those of a target reference signal”) and where the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group ([0088] “the serving gNB transmits a RadioLinkMonitoringConfig information element (IE) containing parameters including a list of RS resources (RLM RS) for detecting RLF and/or BF, and further transmits a BeamFailureRecoveryConfig IE (for SpCell) and/or a BeamFailureRecoverySCellConfig (for SCell) including a list of RS resources (CBD RS) for the UE to monitor as candidate beams.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal and where the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group, as taught by Sun in Yuan to provide a quick beam failure recovery using already identified valid beam.
Regarding claim 9, Yuan teaches a second node for wireless communications (FIG. 1 – network device 110), characterized in comprising:
a second receiver (FIG. 15 -TX/RX 1540, [0137], [0138]), receiving a first signal, the first signal used to indicate a first reference signal ([0069] “In response to a beam failure being detected, the terminal device 120 identifies a new candidate beam and transmits 240 a BFR request carrying information on the identified candidate beam to the network device 110.” [0055] “…The terminal device may assume that the dedicated CORESET (that is, the BFR-CORESET) is spatial quasi co-locationed with DL RS of the new candidate beam identified by the terminal device in the BFR request”. In other words, Yuan [0055] teaches BFR request includes information identifying beam of DL RS or Downlink Reference Signal); and
a second transmitter (FIG. 15 -TX/RX 1540, [0137], [0138]), transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling used to determine a first time ([0006] “transmitting information on the plurality of search spaces to a terminal device served by the network device” [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”);
the second transmitter (FIG. 15 -TX/RX 1540, [0137], [0138]), transmitting a first-type channel in a first resource subset after the first time, the first-type channel being a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ([0071] “In some embodiments, the plurality of BFR-SSs may include a CSS and a USS. The network device 110 may transmit a response to the BFR request” [0072] “Accordingly, the terminal device 120 may monitor 260 the response to the BFR request in the plurality of search spaces.” [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”); wherein the first reference signal is one of M reference signals, M being a positive integer greater than 1 ([0053] The network device 110 may communicate data and control information to the terminal device 120 via a plurality of beams (also referred to as “DL beams”). Note: each beam is associated with a DL RS as indicated in [0055] “DL RS of the new candidate beam”); after the first time ([0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”), {a transmitter of the first signal monitors the first-type channel in the first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal; whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal}.
Yuan does not teach
a transmitter of the first signal monitors the first-type channel in the first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal;
whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal.
However, Sun teaches a transmitter of the first signal monitors the first-type channel in the first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal ([0094] “In 525, when a valid candidate beam is found, the UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (on the PRACH for an SpCell and via MAC-CE for an SCell) including the detected failure beam and the candidate beam”. [0095] “In 530, the UE monitors the PDCCH for an explicit reconfiguration of the beam, using the QCL parameters assumed for the beam failure recovery request. If two candidate beams are reported, the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” [0039] “each set of beams may include reference signals (e.g., Radio Link Monitoring RS (RLM RS)) configured for beam failure detection.” Note: QCL parameters of “candidate beams” teaches “spatial parameters of the as those of a target reference signal” ) and
whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal ([0094] “beam failure recovery request.. including the candidate beam” (corresponding to first reference signal) and [0095] “UE monitors the PDCCH… the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” (corresponding to the target signal being the same as the first reference signal). It should be noted, Sun teaches ([0095]) the beam failure recovery request being transmitted on PRACH or physical random access channel and including “the detected failure beam”
Although the Sun’s cited paragraphs above teaches the limitations, however, these limitations can be interpreted as follows:
The claim claims a first node performing steps. The phrases “whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type…; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal” seem to suggest conditions in which decisions are made but does not require the decisions to be performed by the first node. However, “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.” (MPEP, 211.04). Therefore, the above limitations is interpreted as “the target reference signal is the first reference signal” as the conditional decision when/whether are not made by any entity. Also, the above limitations seem to corresponds to the embodiment of FIG. 9, paragraph [448]-[0463], however, there is no disclosure of the steps/decisions connected to/being made by any entity)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature a transmitter of the first signal monitors the first-type channel in the first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal and whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal, as taught by Sun in Yuan to provide a quick beam failure recovery using already identified valid beam.
Regarding claim 10, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 9 but fails to teach M reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the target reference signal is a second reference signal.
Sun teaches the M reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset ([0039] “The UE may collect measurement data corresponding to these reference signals”); when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the target reference signal is a second reference signal ([0039] “The UE may collect measurement data corresponding to these reference signals”. It is understood reference signals are different signals corresponding to different signal subsets. [0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request.” BFR request is transmitted on PRACH which is different from PDCCH. [0094] “In 525, when a valid candidate beam is found, the UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (on the PRACH for an SpCell and via MAC-CE for an SCell) including the detected failure beam and the candidate beam”. [0095] “In 530, the UE monitors the PDCCH for an explicit reconfiguration of the beam, using the QCL parameters assumed for the beam failure recovery request. If two candidate beams are reported, the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” The QCL parameters of the candidate signal include in the BFR request is used for monitoring PDCCH, which teaches “the target reference signal is the first reference signal”
Although the Sun’s cited paragraphs above teaches the limitations, however, these limitations can be interpreted as follows:
The claim claims a first node performing steps. The phrases “when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset…; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset…” seem to suggest conditions in which decisions are made but does not require the decisions to be performed by the first node. However, “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.” (MPEP, 211.04). Therefore, the above limitations is interpreted as “the target reference signal is the first reference signal” as the conditional decision when/whether are not made by any entity. Also, the above limitations seem to corresponds to the embodiment of FIG. 9, paragraph [448]-[0463], however, there is no disclosure of the steps/decisions connected to/being made by any entity).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 9 and further teaches the first type is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) ([0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request”).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan teaches method in a first node (FIG. 1- terminal device 120) for wireless communications, characterized in comprising:
transmitting a first signal, the first signal used to indicate a first reference signal ([0069] “In response to a beam failure being detected, the terminal device 120 identifies a new candidate beam and transmits 240 a BFR request carrying information on the identified candidate beam to the network device 110.” [0055] “…The terminal device may assume that the dedicated CORESET (that is, the BFR-CORESET) is spatial quasi co-locationed with DL RS of the new candidate beam identified by the terminal device in the BFR request”. In other words, Yuan [0055] teaches BFR request includes information identifying beam of DL RS or Downlink Reference Signal);
receiving a first signaling, the first signaling used to determine a first time ([0006] “transmitting information on the plurality of search spaces to a terminal device served by the network device” [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”); and
monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset {with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal} after the first time, the first-type channel being a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) ([0072] Accordingly, the terminal device 120 may monitor 260 the response to the BFR request in the plurality of search spaces. [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH”);
wherein the first reference signal is one of M reference signals, M being a positive integer greater than 1 ([0053] The network device 110 may communicate data and control information to the terminal device 120 via a plurality of beams (also referred to as “DL beams”). Note: each beam is associated with a DL RS as indicated in [0055] “DL RS of the new candidate beam”);
{whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal}.
Yuan does not teach
monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal and
whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal.
However, Sun teaches monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal ([0094] “In 525, when a valid candidate beam is found, the UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (on the PRACH for an SpCell and via MAC-CE for an SCell) including the detected failure beam and the candidate beam”. [0095] “In 530, the UE monitors the PDCCH for an explicit reconfiguration of the beam, using the QCL parameters assumed for the beam failure recovery request. If two candidate beams are reported, the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” [0039] “each set of beams may include reference signals (e.g., Radio Link Monitoring RS (RLM RS)) configured for beam failure detection.” Note: QCL parameters of “candidate beams” teaches “spatial parameters of the as those of a target reference signal” ) and
whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal ([0094] “beam failure recovery request.. including the candidate beam” (corresponding to first reference signal) and [0095] “UE monitors the PDCCH… the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” (corresponding to the target signal being the same as the first reference signal). It should be noted, Sun teaches ([0095]) the beam failure recovery request being transmitted on PRACH or physical random access channel and including “the detected failure beam”
Although the Sun’s cited paragraphs above teaches the limitations, however, these limitations can be interpreted as follows:
The claim claims a first node performing steps. The phrases “whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type…; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal” seem to suggest conditions in which decisions are made but does not require the decisions to be performed by the first node. However, “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.” (MPEP, 211.04). Therefore, the above limitations is interpreted as “the target reference signal is the first reference signal” as the conditional decision when/whether are not made by any entity. Also, the above limitations seem to corresponds to the embodiment of FIG. 9, paragraph [448]-[0463], however, there is no disclosure of the steps/decisions connected to/being made by any entity)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature monitoring a first-type channel in a first resource subset with same spatial parameters as those of a target reference signal and whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to a type/types of a channel/channels carrying the first signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal includes/include a first type, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to the first reference signal, as taught by Sun in Yuan to provide a quick beam failure recovery using already identified valid beam.
Regarding claim 15, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 14 but fails to teach the M reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the target reference signal is a second reference signal.
Sun teaches the M reference signals include a first reference signal subset and a second reference signal subset ([0039] “The UE may collect measurement data corresponding to these reference signals”); when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset, the target reference signal is the first reference signal; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset, the target reference signal is a second reference signal ([0039] “The UE may collect measurement data corresponding to these reference signals”. It is understood reference signals are different signals corresponding to different signal subsets. [0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request.” BFR request is transmitted on PRACH which is different from PDCCH. [0094] “In 525, when a valid candidate beam is found, the UE transmits a beam failure recovery request (on the PRACH for an SpCell and via MAC-CE for an SCell) including the detected failure beam and the candidate beam”. [0095] “In 530, the UE monitors the PDCCH for an explicit reconfiguration of the beam, using the QCL parameters assumed for the beam failure recovery request. If two candidate beams are reported, the UE uses the QCL parameters for one or both of the candidate beams” The QCL parameters of the candidate signal include in the BFR request is used for monitoring PDCCH, which teaches “the target reference signal is the first reference signal”
Although the Sun’s cited paragraphs above teaches the limitations, however, these limitations can be interpreted as follows:
The claim claims a first node performing steps. The phrases “when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type, whether the target reference signal is the first reference signal is related to whether the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset or the second reference signal subset; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the first reference signal subset…; when the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal does/do not include the first type and the first reference signal belongs to the second reference signal subset…” seem to suggest conditions in which decisions are made but does not require the decisions to be performed by the first node. However, “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure.” (MPEP, 211.04). Therefore, the above limitations is interpreted as “the target reference signal is the first reference signal” as the conditional decision when/whether are not made by any entity. Also, the above limitations seem to corresponds to the embodiment of FIG. 9, paragraph [448]-[0463], however, there is no disclosure of the steps/decisions connected to/being made by any entity).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 15 but does not teach the second reference signal is configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, or, the second reference signal is indicated by a MAC Control Element (CE).
Sun teaches the second reference signal is configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, or, the second reference signal is indicated by a MAC Control Element (CE) ([0037] “A UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI state configurations within the higher layer parameters, e.g., M=8, which may be transmitted to the UE from the network in a medium access layer (MAC) control element (CE), a DCI message, or a radio resource control (RRC) activation command.” [0003] “from a serving base station, a configuration for a control resource set (CORESET) including two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a frequency resource, wherein a first TCI state is associated with a beam transmitted from a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TCI state is associated with a beam transmitted from a second TRP, determining, for the beams transmitted from each of the first and second TRPs, respective one or more reference signal (RS) resources to monitor for radio link monitoring (RLM) or beam failure detection)(BFD) and monitoring the RS transmitted from the first TRP using the first TCI state and the RS transmitted from the second TRP using the second TCI state.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the second reference signal is configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, or, the second reference signal is indicated by a MAC Control Element (CE), as taught by Sun in Yuan to provide a quick beam failure recovery using already identified valid beam.
Regarding claim 17, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 14 and further teaches the first type is Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) ([0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request”).
Regarding claim 19, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 14 and further teaches a search space set to which the first signaling belongs is related to the type/types of the channel/channels carrying the first signal ([0006] “transmitting information on the plurality of search spaces to a terminal device served by the network device” [0056] “A terminal device can be provided with a CORESET through a link to a search space set provided by higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId for monitoring PDCCH in the CORESET. As used herein, a “search space” may indicate the start time and a periodicity for monitoring PDCCH” [0054] “(a) a terminal device initiates a dedicated PRACH transmission to a network device on contention-free physical random access channel (CFRA) as the BFR request”).
Claims 5, 7, 12, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Sun and further in view of Zheng et al. (US 2024/0137096, “Zheng”)
Regarding claim 5, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 1 but does not teach the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0.
Zheng teaches the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0 ([0064] “As shown by reference number 325, the UE may receive a BFR response based at least in part on transmitting the RACH BFR request.” [0065] “the UE may use the same QCL parameters as those associated with the selected reference signal index for PDCCH monitoring in a CORESET with index 0”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0, as taught by Zheng in Yuan to reduce unnecessary beam reconfigurations, which may increase network data rate and reliability and decrease latency.
Regarding claim 7, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 1 but does not teach the first receiver receives a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality: where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted.
Zheng teaches the first receiver receives a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality: where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted ([0061] “the UE may detect a beam failure based at least in part on the BFD reference signals. The physical layer in the UE may assess radio link quality by measuring RSRP of the BFD reference signals and comparing the RSRP measurements with a threshold (Qout). If the RSRP measurements are less than Qout, the physical layer may provide a beam failure indication (e.g., out of service indication) to a higher layer of the UE (e.g., the medium access control (MAC) layer), which may increment a beam failure indicator counter. The UE may detect beam failure based at least in part on a threshold number of beam failure indications within a certain time duration (e.g., a BFD timer).” [0062] “the UE may perform candidate beam detection to select a candidate beam for BFR. The UE may perform candidate beam detection based at least in part on periodic CSI-RSs and/or SSBs configured for a number of beam candidates. In some examples, CSI-RS/SSB resources may be configured for up to 16 beam candidates with corresponding random access preamble indices. Upon a request from a higher layer (e.g., the MAC layer), the physical layer of the UE may detect a reference signal with an RSRP that satisfies a threshold (Qin) and provide the reference signal index to the higher layers.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the first receiver receives a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality: where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted, as taught by Zheng in Yuan to reduce unnecessary beam reconfigurations, which may increase network data rate and reliability and decrease latency.
Regarding claim 12, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 9 but does not teach the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0.
Zheng teaches the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0 ([0064] “As shown by reference number 325, the UE may receive a BFR response based at least in part on transmitting the RACH BFR request.” [0065] “the UE may use the same QCL parameters as those associated with the selected reference signal index for PDCCH monitoring in a CORESET with index 0”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0, as taught by Zheng in Yuan to reduce unnecessary beam reconfigurations, which may increase network data rate and reliability and decrease latency.
Regarding claim 13, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 9 but does not teach the second transmitter performs at least one of transmitting a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality; where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted; or transmitting the first-type channel in a target resource set group after the first time; where the transmitter of the first signal monitors the first-type channel in the target resource set group with same spatial parameters as those of the first reference signal after the first time; the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group.
Zheng teaches the second transmitter performs at least one of transmitting a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality; where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted; or transmitting the first-type channel in a target resource set group after the first time; where the transmitter of the first signal monitors the first-type channel in the target resource set group with same spatial parameters as those of the first reference signal after the first time; the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group ([0061] “the UE may detect a beam failure based at least in part on the BFD reference signals. The physical layer in the UE may assess radio link quality by measuring RSRP of the BFD reference signals and comparing the RSRP measurements with a threshold (Qout). If the RSRP measurements are less than Qout, the physical layer may provide a beam failure indication (e.g., out of service indication) to a higher layer of the UE (e.g., the medium access control (MAC) layer), which may increment a beam failure indicator counter. The UE may detect beam failure based at least in part on a threshold number of beam failure indications within a certain time duration (e.g., a BFD timer).” [0062] “the UE may perform candidate beam detection to select a candidate beam for BFR. The UE may perform candidate beam detection based at least in part on periodic CSI-RSs and/or SSBs configured for a number of beam candidates. In some examples, CSI-RS/SSB resources may be configured for up to 16 beam candidates with corresponding random access preamble indices. Upon a request from a higher layer (e.g., the MAC layer), the physical layer of the UE may detect a reference signal with an RSRP that satisfies a threshold (Qin) and provide the reference signal index to the higher layers.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the second transmitter performs at least one of transmitting a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality; where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted; or transmitting the first-type channel in a target resource set group after the first time; where the transmitter of the first signal monitors the first-type channel in the target resource set group with same spatial parameters as those of the first reference signal after the first time; the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group, as taught by Zheng in Yuan to reduce unnecessary beam reconfigurations, which may increase network data rate and reliability and decrease latency.
Regarding claim 18, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 14 but does not teach the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0.
Zheng teaches the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0 ([0064] “As shown by reference number 325, the UE may receive a BFR response based at least in part on transmitting the RACH BFR request.” [0065] “the UE may use the same QCL parameters as those associated with the selected reference signal index for PDCCH monitoring in a CORESET with index 0”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature the first resource subset is a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with an index 0, as taught by Zheng in Yuan to reduce unnecessary beam reconfigurations, which may increase network data rate and reliability and decrease latency.
Regarding claim 20, Yuan in view of Sun teaches claim 14 but does not teach at least one of the first receiver receiving a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality: where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted; or monitoring the first-type channel in a target resource set group with same spatial parameters as those of the first reference signal after the first time; where the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group.
Zheng teaches receiving a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality: where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted; or monitoring the first-type channel in a target resource set group with same spatial parameters as those of the first reference signal after the first time; where the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group ([0061] “the UE may detect a beam failure based at least in part on the BFD reference signals. The physical layer in the UE may assess radio link quality by measuring RSRP of the BFD reference signals and comparing the RSRP measurements with a threshold (Qout). If the RSRP measurements are less than Qout, the physical layer may provide a beam failure indication (e.g., out of service indication) to a higher layer of the UE (e.g., the medium access control (MAC) layer), which may increment a beam failure indicator counter. The UE may detect beam failure based at least in part on a threshold number of beam failure indications within a certain time duration (e.g., a BFD timer).” [0062] “the UE may perform candidate beam detection to select a candidate beam for BFR. The UE may perform candidate beam detection based at least in part on periodic CSI-RSs and/or SSBs configured for a number of beam candidates. In some examples, CSI-RS/SSB resources may be configured for up to 16 beam candidates with corresponding random access preamble indices. Upon a request from a higher layer (e.g., the MAC layer), the physical layer of the UE may detect a reference signal with an RSRP that satisfies a threshold (Qin) and provide the reference signal index to the higher layers.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving a first reference signal subgroup and a second reference signal subgroup, a measurement of the first reference signal subgroup being used to determine a first received quality subgroup, while a measurement of the second reference signal subgroup being used to determine a second received quality subgroup, each of the first reference signal subgroup and the second reference signal subgroup respectively comprising at least one reference signal, and each of the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup respectively comprising at least one second-type received quality: where the first received quality subgroup and the second received quality subgroup are used to determine whether a second condition set is satisfied, and whether the second condition set is satisfied is used to determine whether the first signal is to be transmitted; or monitoring the first-type channel in a target resource set group with same spatial parameters as those of the first reference signal after the first time; where the target resource set group is a first resource set group or a second resource set group; the first reference signal is used to determine the target resource set group, as taught by Zheng in Yuan to reduce unnecessary beam reconfigurations, which may increase network data rate and reliability and decrease latency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Design of PRACH-based beam failure recovery", R1-1719508, Huawei, HiSilicon, 5 pages, 2017.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642