DETAILED ACTION
Status
This communication is responsive to applicant’s patent application filed February 20, 2024 claiming priority to US Prov. Pat. App. 63/486,483 field February 23, 2023.
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claims 4-9 and 13- 18 were previously objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
Claims 3 and 12 have been amended in response to an objection. The amendments have been entered. Examiner appreciates the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the rejection cites Manolakos in paragraphs [0112]-[0113], which discloses the bin allocation to reduce reporting overhead/data volume. Applicant argues, “Specifically, Manolakos teaches to utilize a Doppler shift value calculated by the UE 115 (e.g., +50 Hz) and allocate the Doppler shift value into a specific bin, thereby reducing data transmission overhead during reporting, which is analogous to the feature "the delay and sum approach is determined based on linear convolution and frequency binning in a time domain of the plurality of RS patterns". Applicant argues that the Manolakos is not analogous to “frequency binning” of claim 1 and that claim 1 is directed to “performing frequency binning in the time domain of the plurality of RS patterns to divide a spectrum into a plurality of frequency bins within the time-frequency domain.” However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has paraphrased claim 1 to include limitations that are not present. Specifically, claim 1 does not state “to divide a spectrum into a plurality of frequency bins within the time-frequency domain.” Rather, claim 1 recites that the RS patterns are according to a delay and Doppler shift detection, and that “delay and sum approach is determined based on linear convolution and frequency binning in a time domain of the plurality of RS patterns; wherein the plurality of RS patterns are for a comb structure.”
Manolakos teaches in para. [0007] that Doppler shift parameters are associated with a “number of time durations over which the UE is configure to measure for estimating the one or more Doppler shift parameters” which is in the time domain, and “a number of time durations” is per se a “frequency” determination under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims. Furthermore, Manolakos teaches in paras. [0112]-[0113] as recited in the office action, the UE allocates values in bins according to estimate parameters over multiple instances of a time duration which is a frequency determination of the estimate of Doppler shift parameters over that time.
Therefore, Manolakos teaches the current claim 1. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite the language recited in applicant’s arguments made which are not currently in the claims. For at least these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. 20230141785 to Alexandros Manolakos et al (hereinafter Manolakos) in view of US Pat. Pub. 20240151811 to David Gonzalez et al. (hereinafter Gonzalez), further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20220171016 to Alexandros Manolakos, Weimin Duan et al. (hereinafter Manolakos II).
Regarding claim 1, Manolakos in view of Gonzalez and Manolakos II teach A joint sensing method for an orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) communication system, comprising:
configuring a plurality of reference signal (RS) patterns according to a delay and Doppler shift detection of a measured signal; (Manolakos teaches in para. [0112]-[0113] that after transmitting a number of reference signals, “the UE 115 may estimate the Doppler shift parameters over the single time duration (e.g., a single “shot”) or the UE may average a number of estimated Doppler shift parameters over multiple instances of the time duration (e.g., multiple “shots”) in accordance with the measurement restriction parameter.”)
and
Manolakos does NOT teach determining a two-dimensional (2D) self-ambiguity function according to a delay and sum approach;
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gonzalez teaches determining a two-dimensional (2D) self-ambiguity function according to a delay and sum approach; (Gonzalez teaches in para. [0021] “The output of the 2-D matched filter in Eq. 3, i.e. the radar ambiguity function, is a two-dimensional function of time delay and Doppler frequency. The peaks in the radar ambiguity function A(τ, f) occur at the L points corresponding to the range and velocity (dl, vl) of the L targets. Hence, the ambiguity function A(τ, f) contains all the information that is required for the extraction of delay and Doppler information of the object.”
Further, Gonzalez teaches that in computing an ambiguity function, “as an output of comparing the reflected data payload with the sent data payload and/or the reflected preamble part with the sent preamble part. For this method, following channel model for the radar processing is assumed:
where L is the number of objects that reflect the transmitted signal. αl and τl are the attenuations and delays due to the lth target. The delay τl between the transmitted signal and the received signal is related to the distance and velocity of the lth moving object. The received signal is given by the convolution (denoted by an asterisk) of the transmit signal u(t) and the wireless channel h(t) of Eq. 1:
”
Therefore, Gonzalez teaches a sum and delay approach to a two dimensional ambiguity function.”)
wherein the delay and sum approach is determined based on linear convolution (Gonzalez teaches convolution in Equation 2 above (the star denotes a linear convolution in the equation) and para. [0019] wherein the received signal is given by the convolution of the transmit signal and the wireless channel. Further, Gonzalez Fig. 5 illustrates an ambiguity function (AF) via linear convolution:
)
Gonzalez para. [0079] teaches with regard to Fig. 5, “The final AF is obtained by taking point-wise minima of the AF at each delay and Doppler bin, according to Eq. 13.” which illustrates a sum and delay via convolution as shown.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez to teach a sum and delay approach to a two dimensional ambiguity function. Each of Manolakos and Gonzalez are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez in order to provide flexibility in implementing radar solutions as provided in para. [0017] of Gonzalez.
and
Manolakos, the primary reference, teaches frequency binning in a time domain of the plurality of RS patterns; (Manolakos teaches in para. [0112]-[0113] “UE 115 may allocate Doppler shift values to various bins according to a range of Doppler shift values or the reported Doppler shift being above or below a determined threshold Doppler shift value”, and UE allocates values in bins according to estimate parameters over multiple instances of a time duration which is a frequency determination of the estimate of Doppler shift parameters over that time. Further, Manolakos teaches that the binning is responsive to transmitted RS.)
Manolakos does NOT teach wherein the plurality of RS patterns are for a comb structure.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications Manolakos II teaches RS patterns and wherein the plurality of RS patterns are for a comb structure. (Manolakos II teaches RS patterns and comb structure in Table 2:
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Manolakos and Manolakos II. Each of Manolakos and Manolakos II are in the field of wireless communications and Doppler shift measurements. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos and Manolakos II in order to benefit from flexible utilization of bandwidth allocated for wireless communications as taught in Manolakos II, para. [0287].
Regarding claim 2, Manolakos does NOT teach The joint sensing method of claim 1, wherein a 2D unambiguous range in a 2D ambiguity function is formed according to a true delay and a Doppler frequency pair of the measured signal.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless computing, Gonzalez teaches wherein a 2D unambiguous range in a 2D ambiguity function is formed according to a true delay and a Doppler frequency pair of the measured signal. (Gonzalez teaches in Fig. 5, above, illustrates a 2D ambiguity function that is formed according to a true delay and Doppler frequency pair. Gonzalez para. [0043]-[0044] teaches that the “AF of a good time domain and the AF of a good frequency domain waveform may be combined to obtain a fused AF with good performance in both the delay and Doppler domain” ... “wherein the final AF is obtained by taking the point-wise minima of the absolute value of the two AFs at each delay and Doppler bin”. Gonzalez teaches in para. [0045] “matched filtering” defining regions of unambiguous detection, which Examiner interprets as the unambiguous detection as the results of the matched filtering illustrated and described with respect to Fig. 5 and para. [0045] and [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez to teach a sum and delay approach to a two dimensional ambiguity function. Each of Manolakos and Gonzalez are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez in order to provide flexibility in implementing radar solutions as provided in para. [0017] of Gonzalez.
Regarding claim 10, Manolakos in view of Gonzalez and Manolakos II teach A user equipment (UE) (Manolakos Fig. 2, UE 115a) of an orthogonal frequency domain multiplexing (OFDM) communication system, comprising:
a wireless transceiver, (Manolakos Fig. 5, receiver/transceiver 510 taught in para. [0152] configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from a service network;
and
a controller, (Manolakos Fig. 5 communications manager 515, taught in para. [0154] to include processor components) configured to configure a plurality of reference signal (RS) patterns according to a delay and Doppler shift detection of a measured signal; (Manolakos teaches in para. [0112]-[0113] that after transmitting a number of reference signals, “the UE 115 may estimate the Doppler shift parameters over the single time duration (e.g., a single “shot”) or the UE may average a number of estimated Doppler shift parameters over multiple instances of the time duration (e.g., multiple “shots”) in accordance with the measurement restriction parameter.”)
and
Manolakos does NOT teach to determine a two-dimensional (2D) self-ambiguity function according to a delay and sum approach;
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gonzalez teaches to determine a two-dimensional (2D) self-ambiguity function according to a delay and sum approach; (Gonzalez teaches in para. [0021] “The output of the 2-D matched filter in Eq. 3, i.e. the radar ambiguity function, is a two-dimensional function of time delay and Doppler frequency. The peaks in the radar ambiguity function A(τ, f) occur at the L points corresponding to the range and velocity (dl, vl) of the L targets. Hence, the ambiguity function A(τ, f) contains all the information that is required for the extraction of delay and Doppler information of the object.”
Further, Gonzalez teaches that in computing an ambiguity function, “as an output of comparing the reflected data payload with the sent data payload and/or the reflected preamble part with the sent preamble part. For this method, following channel model for the radar processing is assumed:
where L is the number of objects that reflect the transmitted signal. αl and τl are the attenuations and delays due to the lth target. The delay τl between the transmitted signal and the received signal is related to the distance and velocity of the lth moving object. The received signal is given by the convolution (denoted by an asterisk) of the transmit signal u(t) and the wireless channel h(t) of Eq. 1:
”
Therefore, Gonzalez teaches a sum and delay approach to a two dimensional ambiguity function.”)
wherein the delay and sum approach is determined based on linear convolution (Gonzalez teaches convolution in Equation 2 above (the star denotes a linear convolution in the equation) and para. [0019] wherein the received signal is given by the convolution of the transmit signal and the wireless channel. Further, Gonzalez Fig. 5 illustrates an ambiguity function (AF) via linear convolution:
)
Gonzalez para. [0079] teaches with regard to Fig. 5, “The final AF is obtained by taking point-wise minima of the AF at each delay and Doppler bin, according to Eq. 13.” which illustrates a sum and delay via convolution as shown.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez to teach a sum and delay approach to a two dimensional ambiguity function. Each of Manolakos and Gonzalez are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez in order to provide flexibility in implementing radar solutions as provided in para. [0017] of Gonzalez.
and
Manolakos, the primary reference, teaches frequency binning in a time domain of the plurality of RS patterns; (Manolakos teaches in para. [0112]-[0113] “UE 115 may allocate Doppler shift values to various bins according to a range of Doppler shift values or the reported Doppler shift being above or below a determined threshold Doppler shift value” the UE allocates values in bins according to estimate parameters over multiple instances of a time duration which is a frequency determination of the estimate of Doppler shift parameters over that time. Further, Manolakos teaches that the binning is responsive to transmitted RS.)
Manolakos does NOT teach wherein the plurality of RS patterns are for a comb structure.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications Manolakos II teaches RS patterns and wherein the plurality of RS patterns are for a comb structure. (Manolakos II teaches RS patterns and comb structure in Table 2:
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Manolakos and Manolakos II. Each of Manolakos and Manolakos II are in the field of wireless communications and Doppler shift measurements. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos and Manolakos II in order to benefit from flexible utilization of bandwidth allocated for wireless communications as taught in Manolakos II, para. [0287].
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos does NOT teach The UE of an OFDM communication system of claim 10, wherein a 2D unambiguous range in a 2D ambiguity function is formed according to a true delay and a Doppler frequency pair of the measured signal.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless computing, Gonzalez teaches wherein a 2D unambiguous range in a 2D ambiguity function is formed according to a true delay and a Doppler frequency pair of the measured signal. (Gonzalez teaches in Fig. 5, above, illustrates a 2D ambiguity function that is formed according to a true delay and Doppler frequency pair. Gonzalez para. [0043]-[0044] teaches that the “AF of a good time domain and the AF of a good frequency domain waveform may be combined to obtain a fused AF with good performance in both the delay and Doppler domain” ... “wherein the final AF is obtained by taking the point-wise minima of the absolute value of the two AFs at each delay and Doppler bin”. Gonzalez teaches in para. [0045] “matched filtering” defining regions of unambiguous detection, which Examiner interprets as the unambiguous detection as the results of the matched filtering illustrated and described with respect to Fig. 5 and para. [0045] and [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez to teach a sum and delay approach to a two dimensional ambiguity function. Each of Manolakos and Gonzalez are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos with Gonzalez in order to provide flexibility in implementing radar solutions as provided in para. [0017] of Gonzalez.
Claims 3 and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Gonzalez further in view of Manolakos II further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20210167924 to Jingchao Bao et al. (hereinafter Bao).
Regarding claims 3 and 12 Manolakos does NOT teach wherein Ssub unit in a subcarrier number denotes a spacing of a plurality of non-zero resource elements (RE) in a frequency domain, Ssym unit in a symbol number denotes the spacing of the RS symbol in the time domain, Fi unit in a subcarrier numbers denotes a staggering offset in the frequency domain of an ith RS symbol, Fj unit in the subcarrier numbers denotes the staggering offset in the frequency domain of an jth RS symbol, Ts denotes an OFDM duration, Tcp denotes a cyclic prefix (CP) duration, and T=TS+Tcp denotes a sum of the OFDM symbol duration and the CP duration.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Bao teaches wherein Ssub unit in a subcarrier number denotes a spacing of a plurality of non-zero resource elements (RE) in a frequency domain, (Bao teaches RS subcarriers in Fig. 4A that are mapped to specific indices as follows:
Examiner notes that the designation Ssub unit is a design choice).
Ssym unit in a symbol number denotes the spacing of the RS symbol in the time domain, (Bao teaches RS allocation across the time axis and RS symbols in the time dimension in Fig. 4A, as shown OFDM symbols are taught in Fig. 4A as well as “symbol” spaced in a grid. Examiner notes that the designation Ssym unit is a design choice.)
Ts denotes an OFDM duration, Tcp denotes a cyclic prefix (CP) duration, and T=TS+Tcp denotes a sum of the OFDM symbol duration and the CP duration. (Bao teaches in Fig. 4B above and para. [0084]staggering offsets in RS symbols as shown in “R” staggered elements above. As taught in Bao para. [0084] “An RE may correspond to one symbol length in the time domain and one subcarrier in the frequency domain. In the numerology of FIGS. 4A and 4B, for a normal cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and seven consecutive symbols in the time domain, for a total of 84 REs. For an extended cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and six consecutive symbols in the time domain, for a total of 72 REs” ....
“An RE may correspond to one symbol length in the time domain and one subcarrier in the frequency domain. In the numerology of FIGS. 4A and 4B, for a normal cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and seven consecutive symbols in the time domain, for a total of 84 REs. For an extended cyclic prefix, an RB may contain 12 consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain and six consecutive symbols in the time domain, for a total of 72 REs” Examiner notes that variables used in equations in reference taught are design choice.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Manolakos with Bao. Each of Manolakos and Bao are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos with Bao in order to take advantage of the flexibility of NR in mapping of reference signals as taught in Bao para. [0115] and [0116] and signaling efficiencies and reduced latency as taught in para. [0004].
Manolakos also does NOT teach Fi unit in a subcarrier numbers denotes a staggering offset in the frequency domain of an ith RS symbol, Fj unit in the subcarrier numbers denotes the staggering offset in the frequency domain of an jth RS symbol.
Manolakos II teaches Fi unit in a subcarrier numbers denotes a staggering offset in the frequency domain of an ith RS symbol, Fj unit in the subcarrier numbers denotes the staggering offset in the frequency domain of an jth RS symbol, (Manolakos II teaches in para. [0330] and Figs. 18A-18H “ 18A-18H has at least one sounded RE in each of the subcarriers and is thus a fully-staggered transmission pattern:
(Examiner notes that how the pattern is denoted is design choice.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Manolakos and Manolakos II. Each of Manolakos and Manolakos II are in the field of wireless communications and Doppler shift measurements. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Manolakos and Manolakos II in order to benefit from flexible utilization of bandwidth allocated for wireless communications as taught in Manolakos II, para. [0287].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 13- 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein Fi=Fj for any i, j, the plurality of side peak locations are
in the 2D ambiguity function, and no side peak at
, where l =
-Ssub,-(Ssub-1),…0,…Ssub-1, Ssub, k=-Ssym,-(Ssym-1),…0, …Ssym-1,Ssym,(k,l)≠ (0,0) wherein (τ,f) denotes the true delay and the Doppler frequency pair of the measured signal.
The prior art does not teach or suggest wherein a maximum 2D unambiguous range around the true delay and the Doppler frequency pair (0, 0) is:
The prior art does not teach or suggest method of claim 3, wherein when the staggering offset is similar to positions of the plurality of RSs, a maximum 2D unambiguous range around the true delay and the Doppler frequency pair (0, 0) is:
The prior art does not teach or suggest wherein when Ssub is even and staggered on two RS symbols, a maximum 2D unambiguous range around the true delay and the Doppler frequency pair (0, 0) is: when Ssym>1 and time delay from 0 to
, the Doppler frequency from I to
, where I is a specified value and
0; when Ssym=1, for time delay from 0 to
, the Doppler frequency from I to I+N/T, where I is a specified value and -N/T ≤ I ≤ 0, where N is subcarrier number; with the time delay from 0 to
, the Doppler frequency from J to
, where J is a specified value and
.
The prior art also does not teach wherein
The prior art also does not teach wherein when Fi =
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412