DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 02/20/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takase et al., (hereafter Taskase) (US 2014/0204476 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Taskase discloses an image pickup lens (10, Figure 1) comprising: a first lens (12, Figure 1), the first lens (12, Figure 1) having a lens body (11a-15a, Figure 2) and a frame (22, Figure 1) located around a perimeter of the lens body (11a-15a, Figure 2); and a second lens (11, Figure 1) located at a position closer to an object than the first lens (12, Figure 1), the second lens (11, Figure 1) having a lens surface and an abutting portion (11b, Figure 2), the lens surface facing the lens body (11a-15a, Figure 2), the abutting portion (11b, Figure 2) being located on a rim of the lens surface (see Figure 2) and abutting on the frame (22, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 5, Taskase further discloses comprising a third lens (13, Figure 1) located at a position closer to an image-forming plane (see 13, Figure 1) than the first lens (12, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 6, Taskase further discloses a camera module (lens unit 10 is used in a camera module, ¶[0030]) comprising: the image pickup lens (10, Figure 1) according to claim 1; and an image pickup element (image sensor, ¶[0030]) that receives light (a subject image is formed on an image sensor of the camera module when the lens unit 10 is mounted on the camera module, ¶[0030]) having passed through the image pickup lens (10, Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taskase (US 2014/0204476 A1).
With respect to Claim 2, Taskase teaches the image pickup lens according to claim 1, wherein the abutting portion (11b, Figure 2) is constituted by two or more protrusions (see both sides of 11b, Figure 2), and the two or more protrusions (see both sides of 11b, Figure 2) each protrude toward the frame (22, Figure 1).
Taskase discloses the claimed invention except for the abutting portion constituted by three or more protrusions, and the three or more protrusions each protrude toward the frame. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have the abutting portion constituted by three or more protrusions, and the three or more protrusions each protrude toward the frame, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to have the abutting portion constituted by three or more protrusions, and the three or more protrusions each protrude toward the frame for the purpose of additional protection of the lens surface. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 3, Taskase further teaches wherein tips of the protrusions are each located at a position closer to the first lens (12, Figure 1) than a whole of the lens surface.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taskase (US 2014/0204476 A1) in further view of Hashimoto (US 2013/0188264 A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Taskase teaches the image pickup lens according to claim 1 and the lens body (11a-15a, Figure 2).
Taskase fails to teach a polymer lens.
Taskase teaches a lens unit with a holding frame and Hashimoto teaches and image pickup lens.
Hashimoto teaches a polymer lens (the first lens L1, the third lens L3 and the fourth lens L4 are formed of cycloolefin polymer, and the second lens L2 is formed of polycarbonate, ¶[0062]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Taskase having the image pickup lens with the teachings of Hashimoto having a polymer lens for the purpose of stable mass production and facilitate cost reduction, ¶[0064].
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872